Sixmilebridge GAA Club Notes

April 30, 2013
Three club teams were in action over the weekend with contrasting results the outcome. Of course this weekend sees the focus switch to the U21 grade with Clonlara providing the opposition in the final at Cusack Park on Sunday 5th May.

First into action were the seniors who entertained our near neighbours Newmarket-on-Fergus at O'Garney Park on Saturday last. This was an exciting game of hurling with the scores level at the break, 0-6 to 0-6. The winning of the game was outscoring the Blues by 0-9 to 0-1 from the 40th to the 55th minute as we picked up our first points of the season on a score of 0-15 to 1-10.

Sixmilebridge: Derek Fahy; Brian Carey, Paidí Fitzpatrick, Tadgh Keogh; Noel Purcell, Caimin Morey, Sam O'Sullivan; Shane Golden (Capt) (0-1), Trevor Purcell; Rory Shanahan, Alan Mulready (0-2), Danny Morey (0-2); Niall Gilligan (0-5; 0-2fs), Kevin Lynch (0-1), Pa Sheehan (0-4). Sub: Declan Morey for Shanahan.


Inagh/Kilnamona provided the opposition at O'Garney Park on Sunday in the division 2 league with an early Ronan Mullane goal setting the 'Bridge up for a 1-8 to 0-5 interval lead. The second half was an even affair but the 'Bridge held firm to record a 1-16 to 1-10 win.

Sixmilebridge: Pa Freeman; Eanna Burns, Cathal Walsh, Barry Fitzpatrick; Jonathan Downes, Anthony Liddane, Dylan Fleming; Christy Griffin, Evan McInerney (0-1); David Murphy, Ronan Mullane (1-4), Brian Corry; Paul Corbett (0-3), David O'Connor (0-7; 0-5fs), Thomas Liddy (0-1). Subs: Darragh Fitzgerald for Corry, Conor Murphy for Downes.

Junior B

Our third string were in action on Saturday night against All-Ireland Junior B finalists Tubber. At half time it was all square, 1-9 to 0-12 with Sean Lynch grabbing the goal with Joe O'Halloran harshly sent off near the interval. Tubber finished the second half the strongest to run out 1-19 to 1-16 victors.

Sixmilebridge: Gerry O'Halloran; Kieran Liddane, Keith Walker, Darragh McNamara; Mark Quinn, David O'Meara, Conor Murphy; Jonathan Hayes (0-1), Daniel Collins; Barry Deasy (0-4), Errol Tuohy (0-1), Barry Corbett; Paul Corbett (Capt), Joe O'Halloran, Sean Lynch (1-10; 0-7fs). Sub: Barry Donnellan for Liddane.

Poker Classic

Thanks to all those that entered the poker classic on Friday evening last. Your support was greatly appreciated.

Most Read Stories