Players To Improve The County Panel in 2016?

With the championships coming to a close in the next few weeks I was just wondering if anyone has seen players who could improve the current county team?

Goals was an obvious weak point with Ray Galligan coming in for the championship... A player who I seen in a few games this year who could be worth a look at is Ryan Carroll from Cootehill. Very good shot-stopper with a good kick-out as well. Looked very solid when I seen him.

Any other suggestions?

gaa365 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 01/10/2015 19:07:22    1794903

Kevin Tierney
Eugene Keating
David Giveny

Simple as mate....

Dr.Phil (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 01/10/2015 19:26:31    1794915

Oisin O Connell

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 01/10/2015 20:59:26    1794950

Stephen cooney, fergal Reilly

clownonthetown (Cavan) - Posts: 41 - 02/10/2015 08:57:06    1794980

Caoimhin O'Reilly

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 02/10/2015 08:57:08    1794981

Enda Hessin - this lad has everything and should be given a chance
Declan McKiernan - would like to see him have another crack at county because he is easily the best club player in the county
kevin bouchier - very skilful, cavan could do with a playmaker like him
Joe masterson made some very good saves against castlerathan in semi final, he saved them from a hammering. his kickouts maybe let him down a bit but hes the best keeper ive seen so far.

This is just my opinion lads there is lots of talent in cavan, I could name a few more that deserve a shot

5seniormedals (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 02/10/2015 10:56:49    1795046

Talking to some people who attended the Dublin Championship games over the weekend. All spoke highly of Nesty Smiths performance for Plunketts. Should we be looking at him again knows how to score?
The reports about David Givney playing for Ballymum werent great. Wasnt in the game at all.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 05/10/2015 10:27:59    1795833

Think Nesty Smith lacks pace for Inter County. He played well when he was on the Cavan panel in the McKenna Cup and early stages of the league, when the ground got harder his lack of pace began to show.

Givney has played very little football this year with Ballymun after the operation.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 05/10/2015 12:15:46    1795903

surprised Givney was playing. He had surgery this year and news was that he would be out for the year and that's why he didn't commit to panel.
Not surprised he was off the pace as I'd say he wouldn't be too fit.
Just shows that Ballymun don't have a great depth of squad if he makes starting 15 and not fully fit.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 05/10/2015 13:58:14    1795982

Gaa365 cavan arent looking for shot stoppers or goalkeeper with good kickouts they had that in gilsenan cavan came out in the championship with a statement on hogan stand saying they need a free taker in goals ray galligan was supposed to be that he neither scored frees and he let in more goals in one game then i care to mention cavan need to cop on and get proper selectors choose players for their ability not who they are

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 06/10/2015 09:38:57    1796224

Conor Mc Caffrey

Dara10 (Cavan) - Posts: 404 - 06/10/2015 09:43:16    1796226

5seniormedals
agree mckiernan should get another crack at county heard hessin not interested in county bouchier will make it i would imagine wouldnt agree materson best keeper ive seen good shot stopper but not good enough for county cant understand why barry tully or barry reilly not mentioned more tully has impressed me last few years

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 06/10/2015 10:27:44    1796250

Conor Mc Caffrey - Kill
Enda Hessin - Cootehill
Johnny Leddy - Butlersbridge
Johnny McCabe - Arva

4 class forwards for the county panel.
The problem is though especially with Enda Hessin, Terry doesnt want them.
He'll bring them in & keep them away from their clubs but wont give them game time. Waste of space

Dara10 (Cavan) - Posts: 404 - 06/10/2015 11:52:30    1796296

Difference between being a class forward at club to County level. Hessin ia talented but wasn't making the u21 team in 2014.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 06/10/2015 13:36:12    1796367

Exactly Foolsgold. He also played on the Cavan Junior team.

Does anyone really think that Hyland isn't aware of these players or isn't seeing them playing?

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 06/10/2015 14:55:04    1796429

You need all your County Players playing Senior Football to have any impact - saw a few of the current County players playing intermediate football, none of them stood out at all. Its alright playing club football, but to make the step up to County level is a difference kettle of fish.

Declan McKiernan had a great year, deserves another chance, a better all round footballer than McKiernan at midfield, Enda Hessin had a good championship, but wouldn't give the commitment

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 06/10/2015 15:40:50    1796452

Not one so far including the current county players so sad future ahead.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 06/10/2015 17:34:45    1796503

Ask most senior full backs and they'll say ado cole is the hardest man to handle but I couldn't see him living the life of a county footballer.Aaron Farrelly deserves a shot in goals,mc kenna cup try out maybe.hessin very good but also enjoys his soccer so prob not commit.

CR7 (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 06/10/2015 19:41:33    1796553

Mowbar you're some craic. Not one county footballer has stood out? Have you being to games?

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 06/10/2015 19:56:12    1796561

doratheexplorer

Mowbar you're some craic. Not one county footballer has stood out? Have you being to games?

I would say the majority of them out from James Masterson to be honest I have not seen any. This year my sympathies are with the management there is nothing there.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 06/10/2015 21:36:16    1796606