Leinster MHC: Cats, Laois, Kildare and Meath making winning starts

April 08, 2017

Kilkenny, Laois, Kildare and Meath opened their Leinster minor hurling championship campaigns with comfortable wins this afternoon.

In the early throw-in at TEG Cusack Park, Kilkenny romped to a 3-22 to 0-4 victory over Westmeath. The Cats led by 1-13 to 0-3 at the break with Niall Brennan raising their first green flag after 15 minutes.

Laois put neighbours Offaly to the sword with a 2-22 to 0-14 success at O'Moore Park, Kildare trumped Carlow by 3-17 to 1-15 in Newbridge, while Meath were emphatic 4-28 to 0-13 winners over Wicklow in Trim.

The action continues next Saturday with Laois taking on Dublin, Kilkenny facing Wexford, Meath meeting Westmeath and Kildare squaring up to Offaly in round two. Venues will be confirmed in due course.

Kilkenny - B Maher; T Ronan, M Carey, D Walsh; J Brennan, J Dowd, B Staunton (0-1f); N Brassil (0-1), J Molloy; A Mullen (0-12, 8f), E O'Shea (0-2), N Brennan (1-2); S Ryan (1-2), T Drea (1-0), D Barron (0-1). Subs: E Moylan for J Brennan, R Hennessy for J Molloy, S Boyd for D Barron, R Connolly (0-1) for N Brassil, J Kelly for S Ryan.

Westmeath - B McHugh; D O'Loughlin, C Shaw, P Tormey; C Flynn, C O'Brien, L Broderick; F Heeney, E Aherne; A Ennis, C McKeogh, O Dowdall; S Broughan (0-4f), P Keane, J Smyth. Subs: K Carey for J Smyth, R Coyne for D O'Loughlin, R Moore for P Tormey, A Kennedy for O Dowdall, J Williams for P Keane.

Referee - T Gleeson.


Laois - C Dunne; D Breen, D Conway, J Maher; R Murphy, P Delaney (0-3f), E O'Connor; PJ Daly (0-1), L Senior (0-1); C Comerford (0-6), J McCormack, D Comerford (0-1); J Keyes (0-3), O Bennett (1-6, 0-6f), J Phelan (1-0). Subs: B McGinley (0-1) for J Phelan, E Gaughan for E O'Connor, C Duggan for J McCormack, P Dunne for R Murphy, C Rigney for O Bennett.

Offaly - C Flynn; L O'Connor, C O'Meara, A King; C Guinan, B Keeley, R Hogan; C Langton (0-1), K McDermott; A Maher (0-1), O Hickey (0-2), D Nally (0-3f); L Kavanagh (0-1), A Kenny (0-4f), S O'Toole (0-1). Subs: J Keenaghan (0-1) for S O'Toole, P Cantwell for R Hogan.

Referee - M O'Sullivan.


Kildare - M Doyle; E Prizeman, R Hogan, A Deegan; H Carroll, J Dolan (0-1), L Conroy (0-1); I Blackburne, S MacDonnacha; R Monaghan, C Tobin (0-10, 7f), L O'Flynn (0-1); K Aherne (0-2), S Cullen (1-2), B Tobin (2-0). Subs: P Hogan for R Hogan, S Whelan for B Tobin, R Goodfellow for L Conroy, M Barea for S Cullen, P Tierney for L O'Flynn.

Carlow - K Curran; E Kavanagh, D Jordan, J Ryan; D Nolan, T Lawlor, E Holland; D Sheehan, R Joyce; C Whelan, J Nolan (0-9, 7f), D O'Toole; S Meaney, M Kavanagh, J O'Neill (1-6, 0-1f). Subs: B Molloy for R Joyce, N Whelan for M Kavanagh, N Martin for S Meaney, F White for D Nolan.

Referee - A Devine, B Nea.


Meath - A Dunne; B O'Reilly, C Butler, S Coffey; J Connolly, D McGowan, B Kelly (0-2); E Fitzgerald (0-4), D Hennessy (1-0); J Ryan (2-4), A Murphy (0-2), J Leavy (1-1); B Dowling (0-2, 1f, 1'65), T Fadden, M Mullen (0-10, 5f, 1'65). Subs: N Potterton (0-1f) for A Murphy, V Ward for J Connolly, D Gilmartin (0-1) for T Fadden, C O'Farrell for D Hennessy, M Farrell (0-1) for M Mullen.

Wicklow - C Staunton; K Hannon, B Kearney, M Moran; A Hughes, C Deering, I Clancy (0-1); P O'Toole (0-3, 2f, 1'65), A Byrne; S Mellon, G Hughes (0-2, 1f), P McGing (0-1); J McDonald, J O'Neill (0-6, 2f), S Sommers. Subs: S Slattery for S Sommers, K Moules for K Hannon.

Referee - S Stack.

Most Read Stories