McKenna Cup: Stalemate in opener between Fermanagh and UU

December 15, 2018

Fermanagh's Conall Jones struck the game's only goal early in the second-half

Fermanagh 1-9
Ulster University 0-12

Conditions were tough as Fermanagh and Ulster University played out a drab draw at Derrygonnelly to open the 2019 Dr McKenna Cup.

The Belfast students kicked the last five points to snatch a point against the hosts whom has looked to be in cruise control once Conall Jones flicked in the game’s only goal early in the second-half, opening up a six-point margin.

However, UU had a reliable marksman in Lee Brennan and despite losing Michael McKernan to a second caution from Joe McQuillan late on, Brennan was able to snatch a point with an injury-time free.

Rory Gallagher’s side made the far better start at Canon Maguire Park, with points from Cian McManus, Ryan Jones, Kevin McDonnell and ‘Man of the Match’ Darragh McGurn putting them 0-4 to 0-1 after Tyrone forward Brennan had put the students in front early.

McGurn and Brennan traded frees to keep the gap at three and it was the difference at the break (0-8 to 0-5), before Conall Jones handed last year’s beaten Ulster finalists the best possible restart by flicking in Eoin Donnelly’s pass the net.

As it turned out, it was the Jordanstown lads that grew into the game after that and it was Brennan’s sublime finishing (one of the points can be watched below) in the closing quarter that ensured them a share of the spoils.

Fermanagh - T Treacy; J Cassidy, T Daly, C McManus (0-1); K McDonnell (0-1), D McCusker, L Cullen; R Lyons, U Kelm; R O'Callaghan, R Jones (0-1), T Clarke; D Teague, C Jones (1-0), D McGurn (0-6f). Subs: E Donnelly for R O'Callaghan, C Corrigan for D Teague, A Breen for R Lyons, C McGee for T Clarke, K Connor for K McDonnell.

Ulster University - T McConville; M Magee, M McKernan, S Fegan (0-1); D Gallagher, M McEvoy, P Durcan; T O'Brien, P Teague; N Donnelly, C O'Hagan, J Doherty; L Brennan (0-9, 7f), D Kerr (0-2), L Harney. Subs: P Laverty for J Doherty, R Beatty for M Magee, O Duffin for C O'Hagan, C Quinn for D Teague, N Jones for L Harney.

Referee - J McQuillan.

Most Read Stories