FL4 round-up: Laois, Leitrim and Antrim secure the points

February 25, 2018

Ballylinan and Laois star Gary Walsh.
©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Laois, Leitrim and Antrim were the winners in the three Allianz FL Division 4 games that were down for decision today.

Laois got the better of Wicklow by 1-16 to 0-10 in Aughrim.

The game was effectively over as a contest at the halfway stage with the O'Moore County 1-10 to 0-4 to the good.

Gary Walsh netted the game's only goal in the opening period.

Leitrim manager Brendan Guckian.

Meanwhile, Leitrim secured their first win of the campaign with an impressive 2-18 to 1-9 victory over Limerick in Pairc Sean MacDiarmada.

Keith Beirne bagged a brace of goals for the winners who led by 1-10 to 0-5 at the change of ends.

Antrim remain in third position on the table behind Laois and Carlow following their 0-17 to 0-13 victory over London in Ruislip.

Lenny Harbinson's side overturned a 0-7 to 0-8 half-time deficit to claim the spoils.

Laois - G Brody; F Crowley, S Neary, R Fennell; T Collins (0-1), C Begley (0-1), G Dillon; J O'Loughlin, K Lillis (0-1); A Farrell, P Kingston, N Donoher; R Munnelly (0-6, 3f), G Walsh (1-3, 0-2f), E O'Carroll (0-4, 2f). Subs: B Glynn for A Farrell, D Kingston for N Donoher, E Lowry for G Walsh, D Holland for T Collins, B Carroll for J O'Loughlin, J Farrell for P Kingston.

Wicklow - M Jackson (0-3, 2f, 1'45); H Wilson, J Snell, P Merrigan; K Murphy, R O'Brien, P Burke; R Finn (0-2), J Stafford (0-1); J Crowe, D Healy, C Healy; C Byrne, S Furlong (0-1), D Hayden (0-2f). Subs: T Smith for C Healy, M Kenny (0-1) for K Murphy, G Murphy for C Byrne, P O'Toole for S Furlong (BC), E Murtagh for P Merrigan, PJ O'Keeffe for J Crowe.

Referee - F Smyth.


Leitrim - D McKiernan; D Wrynne, M McWeeney, L Ryan; O Madden, K Keegan, S Quinn; E Ward, J Rooney; J Heslin (0-3), K McGloin, B Gallagher (0-3); R O'Rourke (0-2), K Beirne (2-8, 0-3f, 0-1'45), D Rooney. Subs: D McGovern (0-2) for K Keegan, A Flynn for K McGloin, N McGovern for E Ward, M Murphy for S Quinn, N McWeeney for J Heslin, A Armstrong for L Ryan.

Limerick - D O'Sullivan; C McWeeney, S O'Dea (0-1), B Fanning; J Ryan (0-3, 1'45), P White, J Liston; D Treacy, D Ward; D Connolly, C Fahy, T McCarthy; P Nash, D Neville (0-2), J Lee (0-2). Subs: S O'Carroll for B Fanning, R Bourke (1-0) for D Ward, S McSweeney (0-1) for T McCarthy, P Scanlon for P Nash, T Griffin for J Lee, P De Brun for J Ryan.

Referee - S Mulhare.


Antrim - C Kerr; P Healy, P Gallagher, N Delargy; K O'Boyle, M Sweeney, J Laverty (0-1); S Burke, P McAleer (0-1); M Fitzpatrick, C Murray, P McBride (0-3, 2f); CJ McGourty (0-3, 2f), C Duffin (0-1), R Murray (0-8, 2f). Subs: K Healy for M Sweeney, R Johnston for S Burke, P Branagan for P Healy, R McCann for P Gallagher, S McVeigh for J Laverty, S Beatty for C Duffin.

London - G McEvoy; Colin Dunne, M Mangan, C O'Neill; M Walsh, R Jones (0-1), A Moyles (0-3, 2f); A McDermott, J Moran; E Murray, L Gavaghan (0-3, 2f), S McManus; R Elliott (0-1), M Gottsche (0-2f), F McMahon (0-2). Subs: C Doran (0-1) for E Murray, Ciaran Dunne for S McManus, G Byrne for M Mangan, J Daly for R Elliott, M Carroll for A Moyles.

Referee - E O'Grady.

Most Read Stories