Donegal v Dublin

All the talk on here is mostly about how much Dublin will win by. Now what about the other side of the coin and this will probably shock many that I should even mention it.

Well here goes now seeing nobody has raised this topic at all.

WHAT IF DONEGAL HAMMER DUBLIN ????

I'm talking anything from 6 to 10 points. Everybody should know how sport goes , all the shock results and things happening that you could never have foreseen happening.
Now it's highly unlikely to happen, it could be Dublin that hammer Donegal. But there is still a possibility it could happen.
Don't think many posters will agree with me.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/08/2014 21:09:48    1638599

Tbf Sam from what we've seen so far you can't blame posters from thinking Dublin will win with a few to spare, now imagine how happy you will be if Donegal do hammer us so I wouldn't mind what posters are saying, plus it suits Donegal to be completely written off so you should be happy with that aswell.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2014 21:16:46    1638603

Christ Sam steady on. I'll take a dodgy 1 point win. Is the air thin in London this evening ???

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 18/08/2014 21:39:42    1638626

Dublin will hammer this donegal side out the gate!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 18/08/2014 21:58:11    1638652

18/08/2014 21:58:11
lilypad

Dublin will hammer this donegal side out the gate!

Jaysus man will ya stop. There will be no hammering handed out here. This is going to be as tight as a badgers arse.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 19/08/2014 09:01:35    1638668

Dublin have 2 much firepower and will out score donegal. Given the fact all 6 dublin forwards will probaly get a score + 3 forwards off the bench also capable of kicking serious scores. Donegla are too reliant on Murphy & Mcfaden

dicey12 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 19/08/2014 09:53:01    1638686

feck all this pussyfooting around and this "i dont want to offend anyone" etc etc
look at it as if it was 2 teams who have nothing to do with u .....if it was cork v derry with the exact same circumstances and players, then call it in your head and give your honest opinion

Call me whatever ye like lads, but how do I really see this game going? I think Dublin will embarrass Donegal next weekend. I reckon ten plus.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 19/08/2014 10:04:13    1638698

Liamwalkinstown that very well may be the case BUT you can never write off this Donegal team. It all depends on what Donegal show up. Donegal got a tough enough run so far playing all Ulster teams. Our style does not suit ulster teams. Dublins style is good against anybody.

But if Donegal get the tactics correct and they play to potential (Im not buying this game of their lives, just to what we know they are capable of) then Donegal can cause an upset.

1/10 are the odds and maybe they are correct but what about that 1 game?

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 19/08/2014 10:51:26    1638740

Dublin have to be red hot favourites. They are as a complete an outfit as you can get. Donegal have been in a lot of competitive close games so far which will stand to them. However, if the Dubs have an off day, or if Donegal make them have an off day with their defensive play and the 3 M's have their kicking boots on, then maybe....

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 19/08/2014 10:55:58    1638746

Re: "Call me whatever ye like lads, but how do I really see this game going? I think Dublin will embarrass Donegal next weekend. I reckon ten plus"

I recall you predicting that Derry would beat us by ten points earlier in the summer as well Liam! Keep it up! :)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9903 - 19/08/2014 11:02:49    1638749

Would be hilarious though if Donegal did one over Dublin after all this talk.
God, that would bring them down to earth with a bang.:)

But its alright Dublin, were only Donegal. Blanket defence wont be able to handle the "6 scoring forwards" or the unbelieveable bench you have. 10 plus? I reckon 15 plus to the blue machine.

Dont mind us.
Keep your eye on the final. ;)

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 19/08/2014 11:17:05    1638761

Liam
The thing is that we were embarrassed last year in Croke Park by 10+ by a decent(ish) Mayo team, however this Dublin team are on a different level to that Mayo team so I wouldn't really be that embarrassed to be beat by that score against Dublin.
The performance is what all Donegal fans want. We didn't perform last year in the Ulster Final or the Quarter Final and that was the most disappointing aspect of those defeats. I am hoping for a good performance from our lads against Dublin and if they do perform to their best and Dublin win by any margin I will be happy enough knowing we just weren't good enough but there is nothing worse than showing up in Croke Park and watching your team under perform.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 19/08/2014 11:21:31    1638764

Good enough analysis Tir Connaill, but I would disagree that last year Mayo were decentish. They were seasoned and hurt. It was tough to watch, thats the truth of it. My dread is that we ever go to croke park and see that happening a donegal team again. Thats what worries me about the dublin match on sunday week, that there is potentially a catastrophe unless we are at our very best.

Thats not to say that we wont be. A lot of players will be having their last chance to play against dublin, as well as possibly a champoinship game. So that is not the way they would like to go out of their careers. We will see. It is daunting.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 19/08/2014 11:58:39    1638798

Lockjaw

Dhears sure, you know the craic at this stage mo chara!
I dont recognise most of the names here you see :)

Best of luck either way my friend!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 19/08/2014 12:58:45    1638837

Tir Conaill Abu

"The thing is that we were embarrassed last year in Croke Park by 10+ by a decent(ish) Mayo team"

If Mayo were only decent (ish) what does it say for the 0ther 30 counties that didn't make the final. Also Mayo were better last year than in 2012. Does that mean Donegal won a soft All Ireland?

You obviously still cant get over the one time Donegals "system" got found out. We have heard nothing but excuses from Donegal since. Dublin match will be the first time Donegal have played one of the top 4 teams since last years quarter final. If Dublin go a few points up, Donegal will have to attack and a similar result will be on the cards. Donegal cannot come from behind, the Big Yellow Bus has only one gear.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1521 - 19/08/2014 16:20:02    1638927

Yeah Liam we'll see! Is there not even a tiny fear that Donegal could win this? Or have ye total faith that you will beat us well?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9903 - 19/08/2014 16:39:56    1638938

Dublin will win this one, by how much depends on how long Donegal can hold out. Monaghan held out for 25mins. Donegal???
You can't play ultra defensive against this Dublin team. Why? Because unlike other teams if a team defends with 13 players, Dublin will attack with 13 players, they will not leave 5/6 minding 2 forwards. You have to go toe to toe like Mayo and Kerry did last year, where both had their chances to win albeit with Mayo meeting an under par Dublin in the final. This option is not open to Donegal though as they have invested all their efforts in a defensive counter attacking system. Am still looking forward to this game though as it will be interesting to see the styles collide again. However it's a Dublin win for me and probably with plenty to spare.

garden123 (Mayo) - Posts: 62 - 19/08/2014 16:44:12    1638942

I'd put my house car wife and kids on Dublin winning as they like.
I'm not been disrespectful to Donegal but if you keep it to less than a 15 point loss it'll be a good day at the office.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/08/2014 16:59:07    1638957

I think Donegal can and will win this game. Dublin are the best team in the country, and beating them is challenge of monumental scale.

However I said earlier this year, Donegal are the only current team to have loads of All Ireland winners in their ranks. They've been to the top, and they actually got over that line and that experiences is priceless. They have played in high pressure matches, they know the pain of losing as well as winning.

Their system has evolved from 2012, which has been a concious effort to address some weaknesses exposed last year. Not only have they addressed those weakness, they have made their attacks more difficult to predict.
In 2013 the 80-90% of scores were coming from Colm McFaddeen and Michael Murphy, however this season has seen that percentage dramatically reduced.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 19/08/2014 17:37:41    1638985

If and I think it will work, Donegal's defensive system will stop Dublin playing and that system can hold out for the duration of the game. This Dublin team is being hyped like there is no tomorrow, and that a team who won two All Ireland's in 3years by a total of 2 points and also beating a team ( Mayo last year) by one point who have failed every time they stepped into an All Ireland final over the last 25 years.
Now they could beat Donegal easily( that's if things go wrong for Donegal) but I doubt it. The best thing happened to us was to struggle against Armagh , I can easily see us being a different team next time out. I'll have no worries on Donegal's fitness , mental strength, ability to last out the game ( none whatsoever ever) and physical wise they are a match for any team.

Tirawleybaron
As regards last year (Donegal vMayo) our system was not found out ,as a matter of fact we had no system v Mayo We were at sixes and sevens plus a season that left us with so many injured players. So we were unable to compete like 2012 when we easily beat very good teams on the way to the final. ( Kerry, Cork)
As regards winning a soft All Ireland I for one would not call it SOFT Don't forget we came through the pleminary round in Ulster ( few teams win Ulster coming from that round) plus six other games. No back door with us
As regards the final we probably met the right team as that is one day that Mayo seem incapable of winning a game History tells us that over the last quarter of a century. So instead of worrying about Donegal getting hammered( I for one am not and I'm going to be there to support Donegal hammering or no hammering) take a lesson from us ::: We only got to two finals in our time but we made sure we lifted Sam That's where we are different from Dublin/Kerry ::we do not know what it's like to loose an All Ireland.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 19/08/2014 21:21:23    1639099