13 million sitting in Mayo's Bank account?

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=206126

Treasurer PJ Lambe revealed that total income was €2,118,858, up €170,000 from 2012. The closing balance of the county board is €13,233,502.

Please tell me this isn't true. If so you can see why some people call us the grab all association. Some counties have no money to upgrade facilities / support their teams etc and here are mayo sitting with 13 million in the bank. Unless I'm missing something.

People who are calling for Dublin's sponsorship to be shared should be making noise about this too. Fair play to Mayo if true but can someone answer how the hell have they got so much money in the bank. Has "Inda" been up to more devilry?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/12/2013 15:54:36    1521867

I would say that it could be the balance sheet total, which should include all assets and liabilities. This would include land, buildings etc. It might even just be the total of their assets as I am pretty sure they would have a lot of loans on the books also. I would be amazed if they had cash reserves anywhere near this.

walshie78 (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 09/12/2013 16:04:54    1521871

Imagine the amount of apartments they could buy and rent out to new players with that money?

It'd be like playing as Real Madrid or Man City on Football Manager.

Seriously though, it's enough to pay for at least thirty Games Development Officers for the next decade or so, underage teams in Mayo could be extremely strong in the coming years if the county board want it.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 09/12/2013 16:06:28    1521872

Surprising alright. I didnt think any county would have that, outside dublin or maybe tyrone.

Considering mayo are viewed as a county short of money, maybe we should hear what all counties have in their balance and their yearly expenditure before commenting further.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/12/2013 16:07:06    1521873

I don't think that Mayo should be punished for being thrifty while other counties fritter their money away. Using Mayo's money they have worked hard for to cover the losses of for example Wexford who made appalling financial decisions would be wrong.

However the likes of Dublin with their preferential treatment by the GAA and huge jersey sponsorship, I think that it would be fair to spread some of that money around.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 09/12/2013 16:19:46    1521881

So maybe it's just a list of all their assets? Can anybody confirm?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/12/2013 16:22:50    1521886

Wonder will Kathleen O'Neill ask for this money to be thrown into a pot and equally divided out amoung the counties....

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 09/12/2013 16:27:31    1521888

You are probably right, walshie78. I cant see mayo having that kind of money, unfortunately!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/12/2013 16:38:16    1521893

It would make quite a swing in two years:

St.John (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 09/12/2013 16:47:07    1521899

while the county's hurling teams accrued expenses of €90,000.
Now that's money well spent!!

pcworld (Mayo) - Posts: 549 - 09/12/2013 17:10:08    1521909

The best part of 650 Thousand on one team...

To think that themaster has played the poor mouth on this site regarding Dublins "advantages"

While his own county have lorded it over other teams in Connacht

It seems it's one rule for some

He has spoke about fairness / he has belittled Dublins achievements based on such

He has called for Dublin to be split and has called for Dublins revenue to be shared

While his own county lords it over nearly every other county in the country

Not many other counties spent 650 on their senior footballers

Maybe Dublin / Cork being the only counties to perhaps pay more?

The massive gulf in Connacht is clear as day

Yet do you hear any other posters from Connacht counties looking for Mayo to share their revenue?

Do you hear them talking about splitting Mayo based on their population advantages?

Do you hear them bringing Mayo's achievements into question?

Do you hear them complaining about Mayo enjoying home advantage almost entirely throughout the Connacht Championship?

themaster's stance regarding "fairness" has been very badly exposed ( as it has many times before)

Seemingly it's one rule for his own county

Maybe for someone who has championed "fairness" on this site a d directed thousands of posts on this subject alone

Maybe just maybe he should be far more concerned about his own county and their own massive advantages?

Rather than playing the constant poor mouth regarding Dublin GAA

He really should be looking at his own County

But given his rather blatant and disingenuous ideals on fairness... I very much doubt it.

This has been put to him numerous times

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/12/2013 18:11:17    1521934

i read there team holiday to Florida cost 150,000. If you bring say 30 people that's 5 grand each, some holiday.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 09/12/2013 18:15:08    1521937

I think Mayo should share that money among the other 31 counties.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 09/12/2013 18:47:22    1521951

To think that themaster has played the poor mouth on this site regarding Dublins "advantages"

In the same way you claim everyone is obsessed with Dublin wile once again you're showing on you're obsessed with multiple counties?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 09/12/2013 19:07:09    1521964

Hahahaha listen to the hypocrisy from the master who says maybe we should wait and see other counties accounts but yet jumps in with not only both feet but head arms the lot whenever there's an article regarding Money and dublin

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/12/2013 19:08:40    1521966

Hypocracy on a truly grande scale, wasting out time us Dubs coming on here having to justify our very existence when this malarky is going on.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 09/12/2013 19:09:45    1521969

It's always good to hear counties are in surplus instead of the other was around.

Well done to Mayo.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 09/12/2013 19:13:27    1521971

Hang on there lads.

Mayo aren't that well off. If I recall correctly, the county had massive debts there a few years ago due to land deals for clubs and county facilities. I'm pretty sure that those particular deals finally came through this year. It might say they have 13+ million to their name, but they still have them projects go through as planned. As far as I know, they've managed their finances well enough in recent years, but that 13+ million is already spent, if you get what I mean.

dblackandamber (Kilkenny) - Posts: 92 - 09/12/2013 19:16:05    1521973

Ice honesty

Mayo shouldn't be punished for having their ship in order while everyone thought they were in debt but Dublin should be punished for having their ship in order and putting the money into growing the game and promoting themselves in which had brought in the sponsorship deals

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/12/2013 19:16:32    1521974

It's Mayo's money to spend as they so wish

But hopefully certain posters can stop playing the poor mouth now...

And whinging about fairness... pfffh

It only exposes their true intention and confirms their own utterly disingenuous platform

Especially when they hail from a county that very much enjoy all the things that they've campaigned against

This release only confirms what Ive been saying for some time now

One rule for the whingy poor mouths...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/12/2013 19:22:47    1521977