Division One 2013

Mayo v Kerry is a great game so far!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 03/02/2013 14:22:48    1327489

Cheers waynoI

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 03/02/2013 14:52:07    1327499

Aidan O Shea your watching to much Spanish football buddy.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/02/2013 14:54:49    1327501

Lads someone explain this one to me please, just after Maher is sent off Kerry have a free near the Mayo goal but can't shoot cause the play was stopped for the Maher sending off, so the Kerry free kick taker is trying to find a man but the ref reckons he's taking to long so throws up the ball?? Kerry are losing the game and are two points down so what did the ref think the player was trying to do?? Probably the weirdest throw up ball I've ever seen. Good man ref

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/02/2013 15:29:31    1327510

kerry were hopless in that 2nd half, johnny buckley was by far our best player, still though now is the time to be trying all these different players so overall it wasnt a bad run out against the beaten AI finalists. Just a side, when bryan sheehan and the mayo 2 were on the ground having a bit of a wrestle the mayo 18 was standing over them and didnt get involved with the usual rushing in and pulling the opposition player off by the coller of his jersey and making matters worse, he just waited for the ref to spot it, when he did the lads stopped wrestleing and both got yellow cards and the game moved on, no hassle, more players should take a leaf outta this guys book.

dubes (Kerry) - Posts: 69 - 03/02/2013 16:01:59    1327543

Can't remember the last time i seen such an inept Kerry performance. Also did Kerry fail to score for the whole of the second half? Granted they we're missing some important players. I'd be expecting a back-lack of sorts in Killarney next Sunday!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 03/02/2013 16:09:12    1327555

seany16

Yes seanie, no score in the 2nd half. our forwards were well beaten, way too small and lightweight im afraid, but to be fair that was no where near a first 15 for kerry.

dubes (Kerry) - Posts: 69 - 03/02/2013 16:16:05    1327565

Dire 2nd half by Kerry and thats without Mayo building up a sweat. I suppose its early days but the promise of the first half completly evaporated. I am not sure what Eamon Fitzmaurice learnt from this game. Of the younger players coming up James O Donoaghue, just like last year, shows form......Stam played well in the first half but made errors in the 2nd half, maybe Maher and Buckley could be a partnership.

Dublin played very well with a younger team last night..........big test for Eamon next week

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 03/02/2013 16:31:57    1327582

Any chance of ye playing that bad next weekend? No? Didn't think so : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 03/02/2013 16:36:39    1327588

Didn't expect a Kerry win with that lineup, had alot of new players playing. James O'Donoghue is a fantastic player and deserves to prove himself in the league. The other O'Donoghue who was playing wing forward was impressive aswell, first time I've seen him play.

Cox and Geaney were both average but are young and should get more chances, I like that Fitzmaurice is really trying to blood in the new guys and change things up. Buckley was very good in midfield aswell.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 03/02/2013 16:42:50    1327598

I think the HS main page sums it up perfectly: Mayo ease past dreadful Kingdom the only positives is Buckley and Lynn's performance. Our forward 6 were shocking but the ball in was worse. Leaderless. A massive improvement is required of we have any chance of beating an on form Dublin team, but with so many forwards like Cooper, Star, Declan, Paul I cannot see where the scores will come from. Lets hope fro a backlase

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 03/02/2013 17:04:02    1327612

Several comments about the Mayo/Kerry game and not even a word on Mayos performance. It is getting quite ridiculous but we shall march on once again without compliment nut when we lose, the place will be bursting at the seems.

Ger Caff was outstanding, Richie Feenny unreal top drawer, Doc and conroy were class and Varley brilliant when coming on, O sheas done well in midfield , aidens strength is incredible, it takes a lot out of the opposition just with lads simply bouncing off him.

Salthill 19th May...cant wait. Mayo for the nestor.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 03/02/2013 18:22:25    1327687

Ye were good alright 51; a way fitter with more leadership than Kerry.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 03/02/2013 18:32:33    1327700

doublehop

Donegal looked very rusty to me. Some serious work to be done there if they are to avoid relegation

Exactly what I've been saying here for ages. Losing McFadden so early was a big blow, Neil Gallagher & Lacey were also missing. McHugh coming on improved them to no end so I am happy enough as I suspect is JMcG.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/02/2013 18:33:05    1327704

What a dreadful performance by Kerry. Apart from J.Buckley the rest were not at the races. It was a poor spectacle as a game. Mayo were deserving winners but they were not a whole lot better in my opinion. We are very dependent on our first 15. There is a serious lack of depth in our panel. We are in a relegation battle. I fear for us next Sunday.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 03/02/2013 18:58:33    1327730

This could be of interest here lads, using a tactics board to break down Mark Donnelly's goal from last night http://action81.com/blog/?p=6645

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 03/02/2013 19:17:42    1327748

51longago

Several comments about the Mayo/Kerry game and not even a word on Mayos performance. It is getting quite ridiculous but we shall march on once again without compliment nut when we lose, the place will be bursting at the seems.
-------------------------------------------------------------

Doesn't bother me and more importantly it won't bother Horan and the lads. Nice win against admittedly a poor Kerry side. Mayo nowhere near full strength either though so lots of positives.

You're right though in a way, had we lost lads wouldn't be able to type quick enough.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 03/02/2013 19:18:28    1327749

It was a good performance from Mayo 51longago,
they looked impressive and will do well in the league.
Hopefully yis have an off day next Sunday though! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 03/02/2013 19:21:15    1327752

Dublin looked very impressive last night. some savage scores and all round high intensity stuff...great to watch.
Donegal looked flat but it's probably more to do with the all ireland hangover plus mcfadden and lacey injured. Kildare were very sharp though and punished sloppy play with some strong scores.

As for us....nothing to get excited about. the usual suspects were very good with a surprise of Doherty showing what he can do. It was only a Kerry second string though. We badly need a bernard brogan/gooch or long range kicker type as we struggle for options/an outlet once inside the opposition 45. Not sure about A Freeman and this highlights our lack of forward options.

Agree with Clondalkin dub or whoever said it about the diving, not nice to see at all and he didn't need to do it as he was playing well.

TylerDurden (Mayo) - Posts: 155 - 03/02/2013 19:40:18    1327771

3 minutes highlights of the Tyrone v Down game,
while the other div 1 games get 15 minute each!
Nothing has changed at Montrose anyway! :(

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 03/02/2013 19:51:55    1327787