Division One 2013

kildare 2-14 donegal 1-13 kildare played really well fought hard and done well to deserve the win the new lad kelly is a super player and crazy goal by johnny doyle all credit to him too 14 seasons hats off too him..
dublin 1-18 cork 2-09 dublin always looked like winning very strong and fit last night the back needs to tighten up but still early stages
tyrone 1-11 down 1-08 cant comment on this one.
mayo 0-15 kerry 1-06 great win for mayo out played kerry all over the pitch and look far the fresher legs some nice points also taken enjoyable match overall.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/02/2013 20:01:03    1327797

Exactly what I've been saying here for ages. Losing McFadden so early was a big blow, Neil Gallagher & Lacey were also missing. McHugh coming on improved them to no end so I am happy enough as I suspect is JMcG.

Well Kildare were missing a good few players too. Callaghan, Smith and Daryll Flynn would improve any team and were all missing for us. I've no doubt Donegal will be ready come the summer fitness wise but if you're not careful you could end up like Dublin last year where you never really reach top gear or find your rhythm and then suddenly you need to go looking for it on the big days. With Tyrone first up Donegal won't be able to afford to still be developing when the Ulster championship starts.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/02/2013 20:17:19    1327812

The Aidan O'Shea 'diving' thing is an interesting one, for me. Yes, he did go down without contact, but then Maher was trying to impede him, and O'Shea was able to avoid it, but the fact is doing so had taken some of his momentum away. Darran O'Sullivan done a similar thing later in the game, where a mayo player landed on the back of his legs, but the tackle did not affect o'sullivan's run. However, he then kicked his own leg and went over for the free. Personally, I dont think this is all that bad. There is an attempt to foul being made, and they are choosing to take that foul. It isnt nice to see, but at the same time I think they are probably within their rights to take the foul.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/02/2013 20:22:07    1327817

You condoned cynical fouling in 2012, and now your
condoning diving in 2013! Jaysus themaster that's
some change in opinion, compared to the one you
used to have regarding such 'tactics'!
Your not yourself lad! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 03/02/2013 20:47:30    1327852

No not at all gatekeeper. I am pointing out that if a player is impeded in any way by someone trying to foul them then there may be a case for them to go down.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/02/2013 21:01:30    1327864

doublehop

1327812 Exactly what I've been saying here for ages. Losing McFadden so early was a big blow, Neil Gallagher & Lacey were also missing. McHugh coming on improved them to no end so I am happy enough as I suspect is JMcG.

Well Kildare were missing a good few players too. Callaghan, Smith and Daryll Flynn would improve any team and were all missing for us. I've no doubt Donegal will be ready come the summer fitness wise but if you're not careful you could end up like Dublin last year where you never really reach top gear or find your rhythm and then suddenly you need to go looking for it on the big days. With Tyrone first up Donegal won't be able to afford to still be developing when the Ulster championship starts.

Kildare were clearly far sharper than Donegal, which was expected considering Donegal only starting training recently. Kildare winning the O Byrne showed they were already in tip top condition coming into the League. Donegal's U21/Minor and fringe players were fielded during the McKenna cup, with Maxi Curran on the line as manager for those games. I really thought Donegal would lose by a much larger margin.

I was listening to Kieran McGeeney on the radio on Saturday, it was an interview of him speaking in Belfast earlier in the week. I wouldnt be his biggest fan, but I have to say i was impressed by what he was saying. He spoke about Kildare been right physically, but maybe not mentally.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 03/02/2013 21:02:27    1327866

Mayo very impressive all the same considering the players they were missing, they destroyed Kerry. It looks like Kerry will have little change in there team this year with all the veteran's still starting come the summer simply cause the new lads are not good enough to replace them. Worrying times for Kerry football after the veteran's retire.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/02/2013 21:04:33    1327870

Fair enough themaster, I agree.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 03/02/2013 21:23:29    1327887

Kerry will be a different prospect come summer clondalkindub!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 03/02/2013 21:26:16    1327890

The gatekeeper read my post again. Of course they'll be a different prospect this summer I never said the wouldn't be pal.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/02/2013 21:29:59    1327893

Your right clondalkin, I misread you mate.
On a different note, 49ers abu. ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 03/02/2013 21:34:46    1327907

Lets go Ravens ; Ray Lewis is taking it home baby. No problem gate

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/02/2013 21:50:16    1327928

Mayo played with great confidence against their nemesis at home and Im sure the country was happy to see Kerry loose. Well done Mayo!
Imagine if Kerry were relegated, wouldnt that be funny? I hope they are not intending to coast along in these first few matches with the hope of picking up points in their last few games, funnily enough they have to play Tyrone in Omagh in their last game and I feel Micky Harte and Co. will be slightly up for that one.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 04/02/2013 08:43:26    1327964

A routine victory in the marshes on Saturday evening as was expected. It's hard to guage exactly where Tyrone are at the moment based on that performance given the weakness of the opposition, tougher tasks lie ahead starting on Sunday at Mayo.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/02/2013 09:28:59    1327984

Before a ball was kicked the weekend.......I thought.....!

Kildare would beat Donegal, mainly due to lack of fitness etc. Kildare probably wont win an All Ireland, lack of quality players will hinder them. But they are a well conditioned outfit and probably wont get hammered by any team because of it!

Dublin are in a good place really with players, they havent had this many lads knocking on the door of the county panel EVER. An AI win will be difficult as teams will see whats coming. A league final might be a hinderence!

Mayo are underestimated and Kerry are rebuilding. Mayo winning wasnt a surprise, I would have gave them the nod before hand. But after last years semi against the Dubs, which was a disgrace in terms of Mayo diving/timewasting and the referee's poor peformance that day, I would find it hard to root for Mayo to win anything. Whether I like it or not .... they are a decent team, very fit and will be hard to beat. But last year was just a disgrace, and I HOPE refs will come down hard on the playacting this year. They lay on the ground for over half the second half against Dublin last year. As a paying fan, I wanna see football....not lads pretending to be injured.

Donegal, are gonna find it hard. They wont get near winning the league, and in reality are focused on retaining sam.

Kerry....rebuidling

Cork in training mode...dangerous team without a lot of key men saturday night!

Dubs have a serious panel....but ya never know with them. A lot of factors will determine if they can have a good year.....introduction of new faces, hunger, expectation etc.....and of course coping with a five point disadvantage before a ball is kicked with referees. Dubs start five points down as refs give frees against them that no other team would get.

Donegal might retain this year...... although they'll have a huge target on their backs!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/02/2013 09:56:54    1328000

brendtheredhand

A routine victory in the marshes on Saturday evening as was expected. It's hard to guage exactly where Tyrone are at the moment based on that performance given the weakness of the opposition, tougher tasks lie ahead starting on Sunday at Mayo.

Tyrone were the only team to win away over the weekend, add that to the McKenna Cup win & it's getting harder for you guys to be keeping a low profile.
Roll on the Ulster Championship!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/02/2013 10:03:31    1328005

Fair play to Kildare on a decent win. The game went as I expected, Donegal were a wee big sluggish but had the wherewithal to be still in the game with 10 odd minutes to go. Kildare's superior sharpness at this stage showed in the last few minutes. It would have been interesting to see what would have happened if Donegal had managed to draw level or get themselves a point up after their second half come back. As another poster mentioned, Kildare are magnificent in the conditioning and fitness department but mentally they may still be lacking that wee bit. It would be massive for the Lillies, absolutely massive, if they could beat Dublin in Leinster or 1 of the other big teams, say in an AI QF. An interesting and hopefully long summer ahead for both teams I feel.

It was great to see two exceptional footballing talents in John Doyle and Michael Murphy the other night. Full forward play at its best. Great stuff.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9898 - 04/02/2013 10:21:56    1328026

What a display by the Dubs the weekend. It was great performance all round the pitch there quick free flowing football, slick passing and some fabulous points was great to watch. It was unreal to see how quick the lads moved the from defence to the forward line so quick. Its early days but they look very fit and fresh. All the lads played there part in what -HEFFO- would of been proud witnessing. Only down side was how easy cork were able to get in for goal chances but lucky for us did,nt come to anything. Next up Kerry and the way the played the weekend would have to feel abit confident going into that game. C,mon Da Dubs...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 04/02/2013 11:27:13    1328084

Your criticism is a bit one eyed there JayP... both sides showed some cynicism in last year's match (a lot of short arm tackles by Dubs ignored by the ref), but Mayo also played the better football for two thirds of the game, so ye weren't robbed by the ref or anything else. Some of the fouling towards the end I didn't like seeing, as much because it gave away so many soft frees when the chances of a score were otherwise no more than 50/50. Mayo also started going for goals, instead of continuing to pile on the points (3 easy points were ignored attempting to walk the ball into the Dubs net). But that's in the past now. You've got what looks like a lot of decent young players coming through from underage, to strengthen to experienced squad, so you probably have more cause for optimism over the next 4 to 5 years than any other supporters. It'd be nice if we could sneak one too, even if you won't be happy seeing it!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/02/2013 11:40:45    1328099

The dubs start 5 points down?! More like 5 points up by playing at home all the time! The fact the dubs give away so many fouls has a lot to do with their over-emphasis on physicality. They come thundering into tackles with smaller players far too often. They also seem to struggle with this type of player in open play, which probably makes it look even worse (Kevin McLoughlin last year for example).

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/02/2013 11:41:00    1328100