Is Noel McGrath better than Joe Canning?

Natrachtalai
County: Tipperary

Two exceptional talents but only 1 has an All Ireland medal

So is Fogarty 4 times better than the two of them put together?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/09/2010 21:13:45    771328

patrique , 10/09/2010 at 21:13

who is fogarty? its not a household name ! Is he an offaly man?

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 10/09/2010 21:17:11    771335

thurlesblues

patrique , 10/09/2010 at 21:13

who is fogarty? its not a household name ! Is he an offaly man?

Personally I am not too sure who he is but he has FOUR all Ireland medals.

thurlesblues

Noel will pick up his second all star award this year as well as a senior all ireland medal how many all stars and senior all ireland medals has Joe ?

I got the impression that you measured things in medals.

Maybe someone is using your name to post? If you do measure things in medals, well, Fogarty, whoever he is, MUST be 4 times better than McGrath.

Do not confuse Noel by the way with the legendary "Hopper" Mcgrath. He was a hurler

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/09/2010 21:52:27    771371

Noel is way ahead did ye see the point he landed from 90 yards out in the second half then the goal from the free from the same distance ? outrageous really ! arrogance? definitely

Tiobraid Arann abu ha ha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 11/09/2010 20:48:34    771836

thurlesblue do you ever stop talking s**t...fair play to tipp tonight but if joe canning was there on his own would nearly have dragged galway to a victory!!

garryboy (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 11/09/2010 21:03:20    771862

Sick of comparison arguments with Joe, getting old now.

Joe has had a county on his shoulders since he started senior hurling, i think that unless Galway win something soon his talent will be wasted and yes Noel mcgrath may go on to be better hurler because he is in a different situation completely.

Potential wise there is no comparison.

tribes4liam09 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 11/09/2010 21:40:38    771908

dont think Noels has any more to prove after last night, what a player for 19 young enough for u 21 again next year ha!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 12/09/2010 09:35:49    771956

thurlesblues - there is such thing as a bad winner. you are letting your county down with your constant yappin.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11668 - 12/09/2010 11:30:30    772006

Take it you weren't at it, you live in limerick right well i wasn't even home at that stage last night and i don't live that far away... in fact i was walking out to my car at the time u posted!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/09/2010 11:41:32    772011

Noel has got a senior all ireland medal to back it up!! but i think brendan maher is better than both of them! class player

PaRyan (Tipperary) - Posts: 68 - 13/09/2010 11:05:35    772694

I found it one of the saddest games I was ever at, to be honest. The lack of any Galway fanbase AT ALL, clearly disillusioned, the venue etc made for it to be a bad game before it started from my point of view. Tipp were terrific, fair play to them. I liked several of our hurlers, and some of them have senior written all over them, which is something. I didn't think too much of the ref either, it has to be said. But well done Tipp, they did what they had to do. I just felt terrible leaving, worse than losing All-Ireland Senior finals, and I think the whole thing did the GAA and hurling a grave injustice.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 13/09/2010 13:27:34    772885

thurlesblues you do make alot of noise and it's a pity you don't know what you're talking about alot of the time.

Joe Canning is 21. Will be 22 in October. I won't even bother responding to your other nonsense.

And to answer an earlier question, his 2-12 against Cork consisted of 1-6 from frees, 0-1 from a sideline and 1-5 from play.

And why must be constantly compared to everyone else? He's achieved alot already despite fools like loyal claiming otherwise. 3 All-Ireland club medals where he was man of the match in the first of those at the age of 17, and played a vital role in all 3. Throw in 2 All-Ireland minor, 1 All-Ireland U-21 and a couple of Fitzgibbons, and it's not bad for a lad still not 22. And anyone with half a clue wouldn't bring up this nonsense about him not scoring from play. He has amassed huge tallies from frees and from open play, not to mention a generous helping of sideline cuts (including 4 in one game for LIT). And in any case his unerring accuracy from frees is a huge asset to have, as he very rarely misses from any angle or distance, and hits the 21 yard frees with almost unstoppable power.

Is Noel McGrath better? Right now he absolutely isn't. He has potential alright, but doesn't have to carry a forward line on his back while being double and triple marked the way Canning does.

aidangalway (Galway) - Posts: 648 - 13/09/2010 14:26:08    772986

It's hard to say the media put a lot of pressure on canning to perform, whereas there is less pressure on mcgrath. They're young lads after all joe is only 21 and noel is only 19. This debate is kind of pointless i'd say reserve judgement for another 10 years. I must say that noel's pass for corbett's second goal last sunday was exqusite it had the kilkenny defence in disarray

moddy91 (Tipperary) - Posts: 226 - 13/09/2010 14:52:45    773034

At this moment, Noel McGrath has to be the more valuable player!

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 13/09/2010 15:19:49    773066

Neither are a patch on Christy Ring!

PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 13/09/2010 17:08:30    773246

Duh!!!!

Canning and Mcgarth are 21 and 19.... how many years did christy ring play for!!! Another great contribution from you.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 13/09/2010 17:25:15    773278