Hag and Cheese-"But if anyone knows my history, I've been written off since I was a kid, when I got 'What the hell is this half-Fijian doing playing hurling?' I've been used to it for the last 20 years."
That's a ridiculous statement in my opinion, it's not like he moved over here as a 20 something year old and just picked up a hurley he's been playing since he was nee height of a grasshopper, and anyone that know's anything about hurling never wrote him off, he's lining himself up for a slating if he dosen't perform seems like attention seeking to me at this stage, you don't see the likes of henry shefflin waxing lyrical when they have dip in form"
In my opinion, wrong my friend. Sean Og is to be admired. Some traditionalists begrudge people like Sean Og their status as recognisable, principled, articulate role models who have done wonders to bring the Asscociation into the 21st century. Totally dedicated to his national game, almost to a fault but to be respected for all that he has achieved, big time.
Has he got something to prove? All Inter County players have something to prove every time they go out. Sean Og aint getting any younger and his performacne in the league asked some questions of him. While many are quick to crticise Sean Og. As an outsider, I see his words as an essential ingredient, from a sporting personality, in the build up to what is usually one of the showcase events of the year. It would be less interesting if we had sterile robots who did not wish, or were not allowed, to add something to what has become a very very dull national championship.
Whiter bananas- Just takes a Mayo man to lower the tone. Get a life!
TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 25/05/2010 15:36:51
"It would be less interesting if we had sterile robots who did not wish, or were not allowed, to add something to what has become a very very dull national championship."
Certainly wasn't dull for the Limerick fans who got to the final in 07, first time in years. Same with Waterford in 08. And Tipp Kilkenny was an all time classic.
As for the cork lad saying that the Cork team going for the 3-in-a-row were more popular than this Kilkenny team, let me tell you that that Cork team are hated and will always be hated by a very large percentage of the hurling family.
And Kilkenny do their artistry on the pitch. Henry Shefflin. Tommy Walsh. JJ Delaney. Eoin Larkin. Eddie Brennan. Jackie Tyrell. Any team would be priviligied to have any one of them let alone the lot grace the one team.
Cody didn't give away anything in the book because he is still managing the team. But the book raised a huge amount for his club James Stephens. It didn't go into his own pocket; all the better a man he is for continuing the GAA tradition of looking after your club first rather than yourself.
What did we learn from Sean Og's interview other than he likes to talk about himself in the third person?
I really really hope we get a crack at the langers. And I will probably be cheering on Tipp on Sunday. There. I said it. I feel dirty. Come on Tipp!
Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 25/05/2010 16:11:49
Yeah, I guess it's fair to say that whether you love them or hate them, the Cork hurlers attract more publicity for themselves, and consequently the game, than others do?
There are teams who 'do their talking on the pitch' and do it much better than Cork have of late, but, in terms of column inches, do they generate the same level of interest?
Again though, we should be careful not to be in any way critical of those who shy away from the media limelight. That's their choice. It doesn't make them boring, and it doesn't mean they owe anything to the game that they bust a gut for.
In twenty years time, the great Kilkenny 4/5 in a row team, will probably generate just as much, or even more, nostalgic reflection as the good and troubled Cork outfit of the same period. By then the Kilkenny team will probably have opened up a little more, and will no doubt be extremely interesting guys. I guess they're just waiting 'til retirement.
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 25/05/2010 16:12:00
D'yknow like!
whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 25/05/2010 16:28:18
Puddersthecat I'm with you both on this one. Him and Donal Og crave the media so much. About time both them did something on the pitch.
Give me the Stepford wives anyday. They go out and do the job on the pitch.
Justy in case you never picked up on the Stepford Wives comment (I've noticed that a few of your county men didn't), Donal Og wasn't calling the Kilkenny hurlers girls; the Stepford Wives were robots.
Dorcha (Cork) - Posts: 38 - 25/05/2010 16:37:14
Pudders- "Certainly wasn't dull for the Limerick fans who got to the final in 07, first time in years. Same with Waterford in 08. And Tipp Kilkenny was an all time classic."
Dont disagree with last bit, great game. However 07 and o8 were 2 of the worst finals in living memory and did nothing to entice people towards the game, droves left long before the final whistle. All credit to Kilkenny and Cody for what they have achieved but their dominance has taken the edge of the competition, not their fault! We should be cautious about criticising people like Sean Og because he is a different animal.
"As for the cork lad saying that the Cork team going for the 3-in-a-row were more popular than this Kilkenny team, let me tell you that that Cork team are hated and will always be hated by a very large percentage of the hurling family"
Disagree totally with this. I admire Cork for the stand they took and while their form suffered as a result, they have certainly put a few things right for future generations of Cork and maybe wider a field county hurlers!
TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 25/05/2010 16:39:03
Wests_Awake
He should only conduct his interviews in Irish I reckon. Some of the begrudgers wouldn't be able to pass comment on him then as they wouldn't have a clue what he's said.
Though he does seem to have a lot to say.
Dun do bheal agus na bi ag caint.
Even when he does, he gets translated. Ach, nil a lan cill ageh.
Dorcha (Cork) - Posts: 38 - 25/05/2010 16:42:50
Dorcha, thanks for that but I did realise he was on about Kilkenny lacking personalities and being robotic. Still a stupid comment if you ask me but I have no time for him.
Glensman - I meant the whole championship not just the finals. And actually Kilkenny Waterford was the greatest ever exhibition of a team performance 1 through to 15. What was it 37 shots, 34 scores, two wides and the post hit for good measure. Kilkenny have raised the bar. Look at Galway and Tipp the last few years. Not our fault that this team at its peak were head and shoulders ahead of everyone. And this Kilkenny panel have done more for hurling than the Cork striking panel combined. Just they don't go round looking for the publicity and the plaudits. Brain Cody was in Sligo giving out hurling medals. He didn't get paid for it. He didn't get in the papers for it. Brian Cody helps with the under 12 school team and does more for his club than Sean Og will ever do for his. And that is a fact. Give me Cody and the robots anyday.
And I wasn't alone in cheering the half time score between Kilkenny and Cork at Nowlan Park. The cheers rang out in Galway, Wexford and Dublin. Doesn't sound too popular to me. Sean og was after pay for play. He came out and said it again recently. He had about as much interest in helping future generations of Cork or other county hurlers as I have to sit and read about his and Donal Og's nonsense views.
Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 25/05/2010 16:57:02
I never said they were more popular, just that there seemed to be more excitement associated with them, teams like Cork and Dublin will rarely be very popular outside of their own patch. Unfortunately the pussy's come across a bit dull, no harm really but I think that Sean Og's interviews tend to add interest to the game which in fairness is not a bad thing. Especially in Cork as in some areas, hurling is beginning to loose ground to football.
I don't think Cork will be in contention for a few years yet but until then Its the likes of sean og and co. that will keep people outside the county interested in this team.
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 25/05/2010 17:00:29
The last comment I'll make on here was Sean Og was a very fine hurler when he had the speed and fitness of a young lad. He has lost the speed and that has meant a big loss to his edge. A fine player in his day but by league form he is past it.
Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 25/05/2010 17:10:01
Pudders Just because you hate Cork do not assume that most Hurling Fans feel the same. I could just as easily say that most hurling fans hate Kilkenny, unless you commission a Red C Poll to ask a random sample of Hurling Fans whether or not they hate the Cork Hurling team all you are doing is broadcasting your own prejudices. I have no problem whatever with you supporting Tipp against us because be absolutely assured if Tipp come up against ye later in the Championship I will most certainly be supporting Tipp.
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 25/05/2010 17:15:21
corkcelt, there was a red c poll commissioned and 97% of hurling fans hated this cork team. The other 3% were believed to be from Cork. The results of teh poll are linked below:
Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 25/05/2010 17:33:12
Pudders, to be honest some of what you're writing is getting a little intemperate at this stage. People are merely pointing out that publicity is good for the game, and Sean Og generates much of it. In many ways you're making their point for them when you point to Brian Cody's commendable gesture not even making the papers. Nobody could possibly argue that Cody is not a magnificent ambassador for the game, and, as GAA members we should all applaud him, and give him the thanks and the credit that he is more than entitled to.
However, why is Sean Og not entitled to the same respect? He too gives hours of his time presenting medals, and contrary to the most disgusting rumours, he too gives his time free of charge. How do you know what he has or hasn't done for his club? Just like GAA players all over Ireland this guy works hard for the organisation, and he does it as a labour of love. Surely he is entitled to some respect. By all means disagree with him, but try to do it respectfully and do not assume that you understand his motivations, unless you are a close confident of his.
I think your point about hatred of the Cork team is somewhat valid. However, broadly speaking, I think those that understood the nature of the battles they've had to fight off the pitch, quite admire them. There are those who've always assumed that the difficulties in Cork centred around the removal of the manager. They tend to have a strong dislike for many Cork players. They probably cheered the Nolan Park massacre. However, there are those who understood that the trouble really centred around CCB's apointment of a manager. They tend to admire the players stance.
These more understanding and enlightened individuals probably also realise that what happened in Cork could easily happen elsewhere. I would sincerely hope that any county board executive who sought to re-appoint a manager without the backing of the players, and without informing the clubs of the bigger picture, would find themselves strongly oppossed by those very clubs. And I would applaud ANY set of players who facilitated the clubs in their opposition, and always agreed to abide by the decision of those clubs.
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 25/05/2010 17:45:07
Culchie, some of it is said in jest as per 97% of all stats are made up. And I did say Sean Og was a fine hurler. And he does a lot for hurling as you say.
But I'll defend the stepford wives till hell and high water. And Brian Cody is a legend. He is from my club. He taught me in primary school. He even locked us in the dressing room as 12 year olds after losing our local derby for not trying for about an hour!! My father was involved in the Kilkenny team of the 1960s and 1970s when Brian was on the minor and senior team and Brian had his fair share of detrators in Kilkenny then. And I will never forget when Brian was the first man from the city to captain a Kilkenny team to an all ireland final,something that clubs outside the city claimed would never be done. And to this day he'll always stop and have a word with me. Brian Cody gave the vast vast majority of the proceeds of his book to our club to fund a new club house and site which very few people realise and whilst the book is boring his belief in the club being the heart of the GAA comes across loud and clear
Yet people go on about him being boring etc. Well give me mr boring any day over the loud mouths.
Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 25/05/2010 18:07:05
Why shouldn't O' hAilpin come out and speak his mind. This Cork hurling team have been good for the game, agree or disagree with them. They are colourful, professional, articulate and let's face it a little bit different (come on of their leaders one is an openly gay athlete, another is half Fijian and fluent in Irish). They present a positive image for the GAA.
I'm not saying anyone here thinks this, but some people would prefer if all county players were quiet, clean living white lads that run a mile every time a microphone is thrust at them.
People like O hAilpin, Cusak, Graham Gerahty, Conor Mortimer, Ciaran McDonald, Colm Parkinson, Jason Sherlock etc. are good for the game.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 25/05/2010 18:25:19
I never thought I'd see the day when Cork and Kilkenny fans would be jumping over each other to support Tipp against the other. It must be tough being from Cork and Kilkenny when ye have shared all the all irelands since our last win in 2001.
The rest of us would love to see our captain raise Liam in September.
I don't read Sean og's interviews. It does sound a bit self centred though. I could care less where the next hurling star comes from in the world. Hurling is bigger than one person or team.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/05/2010 18:27:13
Culchie:
Hang on a sec now the cork hurlers have been attracting media attention alright but is it for anything on the pitch.... I respected and admired the cork hurling team up until 2006 then i think they turned into media junkies..... Have they done anything to gain respect on the field. Its time for them to shut up and do some hurling you don't top players fromfirst other counties seemingly craving attention. I thought they were going the right way and staying quite this year then sean og gave this interview and it rubbed me up the wrong way.
could he not have said something along the lines of "Yes my form is bad but it's up to me to prove myself" that's along the lines of what shefflin and even cody said about the kilkenny team they do it with a bit of class and humility. I hope cork start doing their talking on the pitch sooner or later and if they do against tipp and beat us they'll gain a bit of respect. His response stank of arrogance!
As for donal og his profile in hurling terms has lessened a bit, Saw him on a BBC program lately about homophobia in sport fair play to him for speaking out on that as that could effect many people but there is a lot that he says i don't agree with. As for sean og he's like a broken record at this stage using his media contacts. Cork players like the O'conors and especially joe deane get my respect joe deane went threw a lot but always got respect from the public in the way he dealth with the media.
Theres a difference with being out spoken and attention seeking in my opinion sean og has crossed that line.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/05/2010 18:32:41
TheGlensman:
There a way to do this with a bit of class, look at his brother in australia he got himself in trouble down there but now is doing his talking on the pitch and getting respect for it...... Granted they are a great sporting family but sean og seems to be more and more out spoken but when your that outspoken people tend to what to stop listening or taking note of the points he makes.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/05/2010 18:37:53
http://www.hoganstand.com/Tipperary/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=129448
This is a better way to deal with the media..... saying that wasn't overly impressed with seamus Callanan article I think it was constructive critism they are good players but can be better and tended to fade in and out of games. The way to deal with it is take it on the head and do your hurling on the pitch. Seems to me that cork people believe sean og can do no wrong!!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/05/2010 18:53:55
Always talking havent done it in a while
castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 25/05/2010 19:23:58