Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To munsterchamps:  "viking thats exactly what an improving wexford side need........be great for the younger lads ."
The games against top teams will steadily bring the younger lads on in leaps and bounds.
Hard to say how the Cork game will work out.
A win would be great to boost confidence but a narrow loss wouldn't be a disaster.
As other posters have said the Dublin game is so important and with the strong panel that we now have we can at last get a positive result in the park.
Surely Rory will start on Saturday or at least get a decent run in the 2nd half. He needs a game before the Dublin visit.
It's all about having a strong panel. I can see Cian Byrne, Conor Hearne, Seamus Casey, Richie Lawlor and Conor Foley having major influences now and in the years to come.
One thing that I find a little worrying is our inability to start games well. Yes we have managed to claw our way back into contention in all the games so far but it would be desirable not to have to try peg back on big leads by the opposition. This I'm sure will be addressed by management.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 540 - 12/03/2024 13:16:30    2530899

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Great to see Wexford on an upward trajectory and I expect a good intense battle at the weekend. Was in Tullamore last Sunday, and while we put a big score, I wouldn't read too much into it as Offlay were woeful.

We are finally building a panel full of strength and depth, and knowing that we'll have Coleman, O'Flynn and Connolly back this year gives me some hope for the championship.

Saturday Should be a cracker!"
Would like to see Cork back competing at the very top too bloodandbandage they are a great hurling county that bring great colour to big days in croker. You are building a very strong panel too and id expect a very difficult test for us on Saturday.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 679 - 12/03/2024 13:20:12    2530902

I'm wondering if the game v Cork will be a bit of a dead rubber really with the priority for both teams to get some game time into players rather than the result? Not sure either team will be all that bothered by a league semi final spot. Likely Limerick will top other group so can't imagine much benefit for Cork playing them again so close to championship. Same for us if Galway were to beat Limerick and top that group.
It will never happen but would make the later stages of the league very exciting if the winner and finalist were given given bonus points to start the round robin championship with. 2 points for the winner and 1 for the runner up. Avoids teams coasting through the league, like ourselves last year!

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 437 - 12/03/2024 13:59:05    2530911

Replying To Timbertony:  "I'm wondering if the game v Cork will be a bit of a dead rubber really with the priority for both teams to get some game time into players rather than the result? Not sure either team will be all that bothered by a league semi final spot. Likely Limerick will top other group so can't imagine much benefit for Cork playing them again so close to championship. Same for us if Galway were to beat Limerick and top that group.
It will never happen but would make the later stages of the league very exciting if the winner and finalist were given given bonus points to start the round robin championship with. 2 points for the winner and 1 for the runner up. Avoids teams coasting through the league, like ourselves last year!"
This would be a great idea for the league. I also think we should abolish the pre season competitions start the league earlier and give teams at least a 3 if not 4 week run into championship

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 679 - 12/03/2024 14:17:58    2530912

Replying To Magpie2:  "The games against top teams will steadily bring the younger lads on in leaps and bounds.
A win would be great to boost confidence but a narrow loss wouldn't be a disaster.
As other posters have said the Dublin game is so important and with the strong panel that we now have we can at last get a positive result in the park.
Surely Rory will start on Saturday or at least get a decent run in the 2nd half. He needs a game before the Dublin visit.
It's all about having a strong panel. I can see Cian Byrne, Conor Hearne, Seamus Casey, Richie Lawlor and Conor Foley having major influences now and in the years to come.
One thing that I find a little worrying is our inability to start games well. Yes we have managed to claw our way back into contention in all the games so far but it would be desirable not to have to try peg back on big leads by the opposition. This I'm sure will be addressed by management."
It looks like Rory wont be available for Saturday. Mac, Liam Og, Jippo, Jacko will be available while Devitt and Cian Molloy have a chance also.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 679 - 12/03/2024 14:23:38    2530913

Replying To Magpie2:  "The games against top teams will steadily bring the younger lads on in leaps and bounds.
One thing that I find a little worrying is our inability to start games well. Yes we have managed to claw our way back into contention in all the games so far but it would be desirable not to have to try peg back on big leads by the opposition. This I'm sure will be addressed by management."
Go all out for a win would be my preference, build on Sunday's win over Waterford plus we're at home and Wexford Park has to be a fortress. Cork are going well so another good test too.

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 126 - 12/03/2024 14:38:42    2530917

Replying To wexford2012:  "Go all out for a win would be my preference, build on Sunday's win over Waterford plus we're at home and Wexford Park has to be a fortress. Cork are going well so another good test too."
Agree 100% we need to go all out Saturday to win the game and keep momentum going . There's a good chance it may be our last game for 5 weeks .

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 679 - 12/03/2024 16:17:32    2530930

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Its on TG4 player if you've a tablet or laptop to get that on."
Thanks TFW

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16680 - 12/03/2024 19:46:30    2530952

Sunday could've gotten very messy very quickly if Waterford were better… I think in the first half Waterford were up by at least 5 each but it shows resiliency at the same time from our lads.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 282 - 12/03/2024 22:37:18    2530973

Replying To Timbertony:  "I'm wondering if the game v Cork will be a bit of a dead rubber really with the priority for both teams to get some game time into players rather than the result? Not sure either team will be all that bothered by a league semi final spot. Likely Limerick will top other group so can't imagine much benefit for Cork playing them again so close to championship. Same for us if Galway were to beat Limerick and top that group.
It will never happen but would make the later stages of the league very exciting if the winner and finalist were given given bonus points to start the round robin championship with. 2 points for the winner and 1 for the runner up. Avoids teams coasting through the league, like ourselves last year!"
Hard to know, wouldn't go as far as calling it a dead rubber but certainly both have the primary objective met in terms of securing 1A hurling next year, I still want a good honest hard working performance from Wexford on Saturday and whatever that brings so be it, incidentally I don't think being in 1B is the disaster some are making out, there's 2 promotion spots available compared to 1 in the 2012-18 version, its disappointing for county boards moreso with smaller crowds on the back of it.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 13/03/2024 00:02:59    2530975

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Hard to know, wouldn't go as far as calling it a dead rubber but certainly both have the primary objective met in terms of securing 1A hurling next year, I still want a good honest hard working performance from Wexford on Saturday and whatever that brings so be it, incidentally I don't think being in 1B is the disaster some are making out, there's 2 promotion spots available compared to 1 in the 2012-18 version, its disappointing for county boards moreso with smaller crowds on the back of it."
Not wanting to steal Countyman2022s prospective answer but that won't make any difference to Waterford;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16680 - 13/03/2024 09:26:01    2530992

Great work by Rossiter and his team and backroom to get in to Division 1 for next year. Let nobody kid you otherwise, hurling in division 1 next year is where it is at. The primary goal for the league has been achieved. I think a semi final spot might be a big ask because I think Clare will beat Offaly and Kilkenny will beat Waterford. But no harm done, a good game v Cork with more new and older faces with plenty of game time will do the squad good.
I talked to somebody who knows Rossiter when he got the job and he said come what may he was seeing what else he had as he needed to freshen it up, injuries may have made that easier to do but credit to him.
On Sunday, I thought Wexford were by far the better team in the 2nd half in particular and it would have been a travesty had they not won. I love the way the Wexford forwards have started make life hard for the opposing backs, fighting and hassling for every ball. The game has not changed that much since the 80's - your full forward line is still your first line of defence and if they battle to keep the ball up there then that is the first battle.
But above all, the ball in to the Wexford forwards is the best it has been since before Davy came on board. Forwards making space, ball in to space, backs nightmare. This is why Casey and Lawlor and Cian Byrne are making hay. Good ball in to good forwards in space with room to take a shot. Not McDonald wrestling at the edge of the square against 2 men. Its not rocket science.
There is a new found tenacity and never say die attitude to Wexford which nobody gets anything easy. I don't think Wexford are world beaters but they are definitely making progress again.
As for Waterford, well they knew what they were getting and are getting what they should have known they were getting. Chasing a game and everybody inside their own 65, when did an acre of empty pitch score a goal? Donoghue's goal summed them up, would Frank, Brian Lohan and Mick O'Halloran have let Donoghue within 21 yards of that goal without laying a glove on him? Davy was a goalkeeper himself, he must know that is criminal.
I never bought the "heavy training bloc" excuse at any stage and never will. Team has 5 league games, your S&C know what you need to peak for unless Division 2 hurling is what they wanted?
They were clueless, without a game plan and learning the hard way that the 2013 All-Ireland winning game is gone. I love how Rossiter has gone back to brass tacks and is keeping a simple game simple. Workrate, effort, use the ball well. None of the other bluster.
Credit also to Colm Lyons and his linesman for the most bizarre decision I have ever seen. Dessie Hutchingson gives Murphy a box in the side of the head and gets a free in.
Bigger challenges ahead for this Wexford team but progress it sure has been this year. I'm much less confident about Dublin chances of making the 3rd place in Leinster.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1450 - 13/03/2024 11:24:27    2531010

Replying To zinny:  "I didn't see many chances in that first 10mins going wide - one shot off target? we scored a goal and there was a point in it - then two mins before half time there was 6 in it. Both sides were guilt of some poor shooting at times. However the difference in the 10mins was the number of fouls we committed both in the backs and forwards - it gave them a hold of possession or scores. We got 3pts in the last two mins of the half which made a massive difference and they really came from nothing. As the game wore on I do think Waterford tired more or as we use the excuse on here sometimes, looked leg weary. Waterford were finding their scores easier than we were and in some ways it looked as if everything they hit was going over until they didn't."
Ball went wide 3 times before we got on the board in the 10th minute. We hit another wide straight after that in the 11th minute. They then scored their 6th. We then scored our 2nd. Seamus missed the good goal chance at the end of the 12th minute. Watching it back it seems pretty much as it was watching it live. Waterford slightly better in the 1st quarter but not miles better by any stretch. It's the 14th minute now and Seamus just missed a free that was probably outside his range. Its 6-2 to Waterford.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16680 - 13/03/2024 11:38:07    2531013

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Great work by Rossiter and his team and backroom to get in to Division 1 for next year. Let nobody kid you otherwise, hurling in division 1 next year is where it is at. The primary goal for the league has been achieved. I think a semi final spot might be a big ask because I think Clare will beat Offaly and Kilkenny will beat Waterford. But no harm done, a good game v Cork with more new and older faces with plenty of game time will do the squad good.
I talked to somebody who knows Rossiter when he got the job and he said come what may he was seeing what else he had as he needed to freshen it up, injuries may have made that easier to do but credit to him.
On Sunday, I thought Wexford were by far the better team in the 2nd half in particular and it would have been a travesty had they not won. I love the way the Wexford forwards have started make life hard for the opposing backs, fighting and hassling for every ball. The game has not changed that much since the 80's - your full forward line is still your first line of defence and if they battle to keep the ball up there then that is the first battle.
But above all, the ball in to the Wexford forwards is the best it has been since before Davy came on board. Forwards making space, ball in to space, backs nightmare. This is why Casey and Lawlor and Cian Byrne are making hay. Good ball in to good forwards in space with room to take a shot. Not McDonald wrestling at the edge of the square against 2 men. Its not rocket science.
There is a new found tenacity and never say die attitude to Wexford which nobody gets anything easy. I don't think Wexford are world beaters but they are definitely making progress again.
As for Waterford, well they knew what they were getting and are getting what they should have known they were getting. Chasing a game and everybody inside their own 65, when did an acre of empty pitch score a goal? Donoghue's goal summed them up, would Frank, Brian Lohan and Mick O'Halloran have let Donoghue within 21 yards of that goal without laying a glove on him? Davy was a goalkeeper himself, he must know that is criminal.
I never bought the "heavy training bloc" excuse at any stage and never will. Team has 5 league games, your S&C know what you need to peak for unless Division 2 hurling is what they wanted?
They were clueless, without a game plan and learning the hard way that the 2013 All-Ireland winning game is gone. I love how Rossiter has gone back to brass tacks and is keeping a simple game simple. Workrate, effort, use the ball well. None of the other bluster.
Credit also to Colm Lyons and his linesman for the most bizarre decision I have ever seen. Dessie Hutchingson gives Murphy a box in the side of the head and gets a free in.
Bigger challenges ahead for this Wexford team but progress it sure has been this year. I'm much less confident about Dublin chances of making the 3rd place in Leinster."
Fair play to Lyons. Dessie was holding a sliotar so it mustn't have hurt. Maybe Lyons should try hitting himself as hard as he can with a sliotar in his clenched fist and see does it hurt or not.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16680 - 13/03/2024 11:42:07    2531014

davys days as a top tier hurling manager are coming to an end.... waterford will finish bottom of the munster hurling championship and davy will be ran out of waterford and i'm predicting he will never again get a job as a top tier hurling manager. i heard tom dempsey say that at throw in last sunday 4 of the waterford forwards came out to the sideline and stood there for throw in.....sweet lord above.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1146 - 13/03/2024 12:11:45    2531020

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Great work by Rossiter and his team and backroom to get in to Division 1 for next year. Let nobody kid you otherwise, hurling in division 1 next year is where it is at. The primary goal for the league has been achieved. I think a semi final spot might be a big ask because I think Clare will beat Offaly and Kilkenny will beat Waterford. But no harm done, a good game v Cork with more new and older faces with plenty of game time will do the squad good.
Bigger challenges ahead for this Wexford team but progress it sure has been this year. I'm much less confident about Dublin chances of making the 3rd place in Leinster."
After watching it back Dooley and Dunbar got through alot of work.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16680 - 13/03/2024 12:32:17    2531023

Replying To Viking66:  "Ball went wide 3 times before we got on the board in the 10th minute. We hit another wide straight after that in the 11th minute. They then scored their 6th. We then scored our 2nd. Seamus missed the good goal chance at the end of the 12th minute. Watching it back it seems pretty much as it was watching it live. Waterford slightly better in the 1st quarter but not miles better by any stretch. It's the 14th minute now and Seamus just missed a free that was probably outside his range. Its 6-2 to Waterford."
I'd agree with that.

They were slightly on top in midfield for 25 minutes or so.

They were converting and we weren't.

They didn't deserve to be further ahead because they weren't.

Seamus Casey hit the post in first half too. Could easily have been ahead ourselves at half time.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3849 - 13/03/2024 12:39:23    2531024

Id go with

Fanning
Niall Murphy
Conor Foley
Eoin Ryan
D Reck
Liam Ryan
S Donohue
Conor hearne
S Reck
J O Connor
Lee Chin
R O Connor
R Lawlor
Casey
Cian Byrne

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 13/03/2024 13:36:50    2531033

Replying To Viking66:  "Fair play to Lyons. Dessie was holding a sliotar so it mustn't have hurt. Maybe Lyons should try hitting himself as hard as he can with a sliotar in his clenched fist and see does it hurt or not."
There was a clear face guard pull as well at one stage, we've had poor refereeing through the league

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 13/03/2024 15:05:21    2531043

Replying To munsterchamps:  "davys days as a top tier hurling manager are coming to an end.... waterford will finish bottom of the munster hurling championship and davy will be ran out of waterford and i'm predicting he will never again get a job as a top tier hurling manager. i heard tom dempsey say that at throw in last sunday 4 of the waterford forwards came out to the sideline and stood there for throw in.....sweet lord above."
I have to agree with that. Looking back on the good days Davy brought us do you think now that with a different manager and more positive tactics we could of went that step further? Or Davy got the best out of the group?

btwex90 (Wexford) - Posts: 43 - 13/03/2024 15:09:18    2531045