Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Timbertony:  "Casey was in nowhere near the same physical condition back then! Mac won't get back with Casey playing like he is. First touch, movement and striking on turn is superb."
Yeah I agree with that to be fair.

Casey being overlooked by the last manager was bewildering, especially last year in particular.

Lot of pressure off after today, important to get the win and secure our status for next season.

Should have won by more in reality.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1537 - 10/03/2024 18:59:55    2530633

Probably our best second half display of the year so far, under the proviso that Waterford were poor and looked in the midst of a heavy training schedule and that we started slowly again.

Cian Byrne really stepped up and hit some excellent scores. Still encouraging that the young lads continue to put their hands up for starting berths for a championship. Two Recks were very good again- they are in the same group as Chin and ROC that its important they remain injury-free for the crunch. That bad giveaway for the goal aside, our backs weren't particularly stretched either, Donohoe steadier today thankfully. Good to have Matty back too. Fanning defied the critics as well.

Was a bit one-dimensional with our approach towards the end, went from nice short-passing moves to more hit and hope balls inside, which in my opinion will only be worthwhile if Mac and Chin are on the field inside.

Encouraging days so far, and I like the cut of Rossiter's jib in the interviews too. Calls a spade a spade.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 10/03/2024 19:01:08    2530634

Rossi will have headaches leading up to the championship. Will Jippo, Dee,mogie, Mac walk back on. Who will Lose out? It's a headache that he won't mind having.
Think it's likely that Rory will start against Cork.
He badly needs gametime to get back up to speed for games to come.
The younger players really done very well today.
Guys like Eoin Ryan, Conor Foley, Cian Byrne, Richie Lawlor, Conor Hearne and Murphy, apart from the silly pass back that gifted them a goal all played with a maturity that was pleasing.
Casey was simply superb and must be a nailed on starter for the round Robin.
We have now maintained our status in 1A which will be important for the development of the team.
Cork up next Saturday and it will be tricky with them having trounced Offaly today.
Would be great to get to a league semi final but even if we don't we will still be in a healthy position for an assault on the leinster and all ireland series.
Great win today lads. Now let's build on that.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 539 - 10/03/2024 19:10:29    2530635

Fantastic win and as another poster said earlier, good for the soul.

One lad I'd like to call out is Richie Lawlor, sort of took on Chin's mantle a little bit and won a lot of ball when the game was in the melting pot. High ball and dirty ball, he was the reason we won in my opinion. Provided an outlet in a very diminutive forward line.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 10/03/2024 19:11:07    2530636

Congrats Wexford you deserved the win. Our backs weak and the goalie spotted ye 2-2. He was weak for the two goals and pucked out two points to Wexford.We have more forward options than we had for a long time. This is not to take away from how ye are playing and the achievements to date.
I don't understand not putting the best team out in-spite of the necessity to give game time to others. Padraigh Fitzgerald has been Waterford's best player this year. Shane Bennett is not near fit and went straight into the team. This nonsense of Davy having something up his sleeve is becoming tiresome. Put Nolan back on goal as last year against Tipp was an appertion.
Upwards and onwards for Wexford and we will surprise someone come championship.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3144 - 10/03/2024 19:21:39    2530637

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Miracle that dessie Hutchinson stayed on the field there."
Exactly and what does the ref do, give him a free in. Strangest decision I every seen on a GAA pitch.well done to all the players and management on a good win

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 10/03/2024 19:39:36    2530642

Replying To Past hurler:  "Can't see Mac starting but a good man to bring in with 20mins to go.

Mac still a very dangerous man under a high pall round the square.

But Mac wouldn't suit the way Rositter wants these players to run, track back and play."
Wouldn't rule Mac out as he has a lot to offer but his workrate, touch and movement need a lot of improvement. The ball sticks to Casey when he gets it.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 436 - 10/03/2024 19:45:16    2530644

Really enjoyed watching that today..ye were probably slightly lucky to be only 3 behind at half time but yere second half was brilliant..I really liked what the younger fellas have brought to it,ye remind me a bit of limerick 17/18,enthusiasm and freshness,give it a go and if it doesn't work we,ll try and do it again..ye might not like this but I'd be giving ye a big chance of making a Leinster final..ye managed very well today without lee chin which was huge for the team..also I don't know where Conor mc would fit in..ye might also have found a more reliable free taker in Casey..I have to say there is a bounce with rossiter and ye are hurling very well..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2575 - 10/03/2024 19:53:27    2530647

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Wides and frees absolutely killing is.

Richie lawlor flying"
Richie was brilliant

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16639 - 10/03/2024 20:47:24    2530657

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I'm thrilled with that for two reasons.

We were massively written off as going down. It's only us Clare and Limerick unbeaten now.

We're still missing more key players than most sides.

I hope Davy sees today that he made a huge mistake treating Casey the way he did."
Think some of that is down to a change in Seamus himself tbh. He's really knuckled down the last 2 years and deserves the success he's having now.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16639 - 10/03/2024 20:49:04    2530658

Lads that was a great day out all round. They've done a nice job on the ground. It didn't rain. Great atmosphere in the 2nd half it was great to see, and more importantly hear, so many Wexford supporters there! In the 2nd half as Waterford brought on more of their likely championship starters, the intensity and bite in the game ratcheted up, and our newer and younger lads really stood up. I was worried on the way down that we might be bullied by the bigger older Waterford lads but that wasn't the case at all. We got plenty of good diagonal ball inside, I thought the inside line were excellent, as was Kevin Foley again. Richie is turning into a great high fielder and battler. Conor Hearne must be a nailed on starter going forwards. Matthew and Dooley improved as the game went on, Dunbar needs to get into the game a little more though seems to be improving as each game goes by, Shane Reck must've been close to MOTM after Cian Byrne and Conor Hearne. Thought the whole back 6 did pretty well all through bar the gift of a goal towards the end. Glad Eoin Ryan had another good game. Fanning was solid and made a good save also. No mistakes. All in all while it's only the League it was a very encouraging performance and brilliant to have made 1a for 2025 with a game to spare. If we beat Cork next weekend and Kilkenny slip up against Waterford we might even make a League semi! Well done to all the players and management!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16639 - 10/03/2024 21:03:11    2530662

limerick and wexford could yet end up meeting in the semi final.............

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1144 - 10/03/2024 21:05:56    2530664

Great to get the win and guarantee safety for next year. Hopefully get the rub of the green and get a league semi final too. I remember after Walsh Cup not saying getting carried away but I was also not overly making a big deal about lads to come back and how it might actually be pretty close to our actual champioship team. The new lads putting up their hands every week so far. Don't usually agree with everything James Skehill and Paul Murphy say but they did say something about the lads haven't really been good enough last 4/5 years and maybe it is time for a shake, well Rossi definitely shaking it up for the better so far. Might be overall harsh on some of older lads but it'll either force them to up game or maybe call an end to it, competition is great for a team. Still not getting carried away....the last time we made the league semi finals after a good league was a fairly sobering affair and led to another disappointment of a season. But until that happens (and hopefully not) it's building nicely. With Dublin looking like it might be a rather poor year for them unless something massive changes it'd be an awful let down of a year if we didn't get out of Leinster at least.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 10/03/2024 21:06:14    2530666

Don't think that I can find any faults with today's performance, very workmanlike. Maybe could have won by more, Casey chance, their goal etc. After we got the goal in the first half the game looked like it was slipping away from us but we dug in and kept fighting.

Work rate and hunger the big take away from today, the younger lads really stepped up, not afraid to throw themselves in to tackles and clearly playing for championship positions, impressed hugely by Lawlor, Byrne in particular. Shane Reck gave an absolutely outstanding performance when he was moved further up the pitch in 2nd half suggesting there could be a spot at 5,7,8 or 9 for him maybe? As did the two Shels boys.

The full forward line should remain unchanged for the year I think with Rory moved out to wing forward when he's back.

On to Cork.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 10/03/2024 22:13:19    2530675

Wouldn't be too miffed if we didn't get a league SF spot. Our record in those has been dire to say the least, gives more time for injured players to come back in to the fold and would probably be playing Limerick, would be the deep end test I suppose.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 10/03/2024 22:21:02    2530677

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Great to get the win and guarantee safety for next year. Hopefully get the rub of the green and get a league semi final too. I remember after Walsh Cup not saying getting carried away but I was also not overly making a big deal about lads to come back and how it might actually be pretty close to our actual champioship team. The new lads putting up their hands every week so far. Don't usually agree with everything James Skehill and Paul Murphy say but they did say something about the lads haven't really been good enough last 4/5 years and maybe it is time for a shake, well Rossi definitely shaking it up for the better so far. Might be overall harsh on some of older lads but it'll either force them to up game or maybe call an end to it, competition is great for a team. Still not getting carried away....the last time we made the league semi finals after a good league was a fairly sobering affair and led to another disappointment of a season. But until that happens (and hopefully not) it's building nicely. With Dublin looking like it might be a rather poor year for them unless something massive changes it'd be an awful let down of a year if we didn't get out of Leinster at least."
I think with previous seasons it was the likes of Rory O'Connor particularly and Lee Chin dominating the early rounds of the league with not much rotation of the squad. This year feels a bit different as Rossiter has been maybe forced into giving other lads a proper run and they are thriving. I thought that was exactly what this team needed and delighted we have been so competitive so far. Really impressed by our game plan under Franks too, far better defensively and lads making better decisions on the ball.

It wouldn't be Wexford without a crazy goal given away to give Waterford a lifeline. Fanning went through a wobbly phase with his puck outs too, does he lose the head a bit under pressure? Thankfully Waterford retreated to let us settle again with short puckouts, madness really as we didn't have a long puckout option.

Cian Byrne has a tough day against Clare but firmer sod today and he was brilliant. First touch and striking were superb. Corey was sharp when he came in too. Hearne and Lawlor are thriving now. Both Recks superb and Kevin Foley is a key player for us now in the half forward line. His distribution is excellent and he's calm on the ball.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 436 - 10/03/2024 22:41:28    2530679

We were lucky only to be three down at the break although at the same time, we have been finding a way to stay in games when not playing well which is a good sign. Got cleaned out of it in both the half-back line and the half-forward line in terms of winning primary possession and breaking ball in the first half, second half was better.

Cian Byrne and Seamus Casey nearly scored from every ball sent in to them, keep that up and we might have a set of forwards who are capable of lighting up the scoreboard from play for the first time in a long time. Think Dunbar and McGuckin didn't offer much in the first half, were a little bit better in the second half but if Charlie is to play at this level, it's at wing-back and wing-back only for me.

Think Eoin Ryan struggled physically in contests for the high ball in the first half, I felt like they were targetting him with Lyons. I'd say he still realistically needs 1-2 years of S&C to fully develop as a hurler and I'd say he'd be better in the corner rather than out at wing-back. Niall Murphy was going well enough until they made their subs, might have been a bit rattled by the goal we let in too although you have to allow for stuff like that when it comes to young hurlers.

Shanre Reck was everywhere in the second half, O'Hanlon grew into the game as it went on, no surprise there given that this was his first start. Might have been one of Conor Foley's quieter days but don't think his man did anything so should probably chalk that one down as another solid outing.

Biggest thing for me is the level of "dog" in the team. Last year against Westmeath was shameful, we rolled over and had out tummies tickled in the second half. This year, we have been behind for long enough periods in all four league games yet we haven't lost one to date, this team always seems to find a lot when asked for their effort. "Dog" for lack of a better word is the most important quality anyone can ask for, no point having lads who are either great technical hurlers or great physical hurlers if they shirk when the pressure on, this team have fouled a lot to date but maybe we're better that way as no-one can accuse us of being too nice on the pitch

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 604 - 11/03/2024 01:12:21    2530683

Well lads have to say i thought it was a superb win yesterday and i am very optimistic for the year.. travelling down yesterday thought Davy would be out to beat us then loosing Jack o aswell and looking at the size of our lads compared to Waterford and with 15 mins gone i thought we were in for a trimming.. but in fairness to the lads they settled down and played some good hurling got stuck in and battled well.. thought our full forward line was superb as they got great ball at times Casey and Bryne superb with Richie Lawlor a series ball winner for a small man…just wondering where Mac is going to fit in to it as don't think the way we play wil suit him.. if we win Saturday and Kilkenny win are we still in semis as i presume Clare have qualified.. not the end of the world if we don't get to semis but would like to get a bit of game time into the lads that are nearly back from injury before championship..we have been crying out for a good panel for last few years and think we have it now. Nothing stopping us from winning Leinster this year and i firmly believe we can

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 11/03/2024 08:58:51    2530695

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "We were lucky only to be three down at the break although at the same time, we have been finding a way to stay in games when not playing well which is a good sign. Got cleaned out of it in both the half-back line and the half-forward line in terms of winning primary possession and breaking ball in the first half, second half was better.

Cian Byrne and Seamus Casey nearly scored from every ball sent in to them, keep that up and we might have a set of forwards who are capable of lighting up the scoreboard from play for the first time in a long time. Think Dunbar and McGuckin didn't offer much in the first half, were a little bit better in the second half but if Charlie is to play at this level, it's at wing-back and wing-back only for me.

Think Eoin Ryan struggled physically in contests for the high ball in the first half, I felt like they were targetting him with Lyons. I'd say he still realistically needs 1-2 years of S&C to fully develop as a hurler and I'd say he'd be better in the corner rather than out at wing-back. Niall Murphy was going well enough until they made their subs, might have been a bit rattled by the goal we let in too although you have to allow for stuff like that when it comes to young hurlers.

Shanre Reck was everywhere in the second half, O'Hanlon grew into the game as it went on, no surprise there given that this was his first start. Might have been one of Conor Foley's quieter days but don't think his man did anything so should probably chalk that one down as another solid outing.

Biggest thing for me is the level of "dog" in the team. Last year against Westmeath was shameful, we rolled over and had out tummies tickled in the second half. This year, we have been behind for long enough periods in all four league games yet we haven't lost one to date, this team always seems to find a lot when asked for their effort. "Dog" for lack of a better word is the most important quality anyone can ask for, no point having lads who are either great technical hurlers or great physical hurlers if they shirk when the pressure on, this team have fouled a lot to date but maybe we're better that way as no-one can accuse us of being too nice on the pitch"
Think Charlie might be better midfield longterm. Has the engine and intensity. Not sure he's heads up enough for wingback and not sure his shooting is reliable enough for wing forward.
He's only a young lad and hasn't had a break really in 2 years. He was one of Goreys best footballers last year also and they went all the way to Leinster in Football as well. Has to take its toll mentally as well as physically.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16639 - 11/03/2024 10:16:07    2530705

Replying To gannett83:  "Well lads have to say i thought it was a superb win yesterday and i am very optimistic for the year.. travelling down yesterday thought Davy would be out to beat us then loosing Jack o aswell and looking at the size of our lads compared to Waterford and with 15 mins gone i thought we were in for a trimming.. but in fairness to the lads they settled down and played some good hurling got stuck in and battled well.. thought our full forward line was superb as they got great ball at times Casey and Bryne superb with Richie Lawlor a series ball winner for a small man…just wondering where Mac is going to fit in to it as don't think the way we play wil suit him.. if we win Saturday and Kilkenny win are we still in semis as i presume Clare have qualified.. not the end of the world if we don't get to semis but would like to get a bit of game time into the lads that are nearly back from injury before championship..we have been crying out for a good panel for last few years and think we have it now. Nothing stopping us from winning Leinster this year and i firmly believe we can"
We don't want to be getting carried away with ourselves but I agree.

There's no reason why winning Leinster shouldn't be our ambition.

The fact we haven't been back in a final since 19 is a bit mad.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3839 - 11/03/2024 10:31:31    2530710