Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To benchtoaster:  "Fair play to ye yesterday lads, an absolute clinical performance. Was so disappointed with the Carlow lads they really didn't get going at all and I think maybe the Kilkenny game took a lot out of the bodies.

One thing I'd say lads the majority of your supporters are top Gaa people but ye should be having a word with some of less sportsman like members of the congregation. There was a fella with Lee's family yesterday calling the Carlow players 'dirt' and mocking and jeering the Carlow people around him and it was nothing short of disgraceful. There's a chap who's not playing with the county anymore and he was encouraging the kids with him to roar in his ear when wexford would score…..this guy wears hearing aids….

For yer own sake I'd take lads like that aside it left a really sour taste with the Carlow people around him- most of us were more than complimentary of your team and accepted our hiding!"
Bad job Benchtoaster. Some yahoo from town unfortunately there are a few of them in there.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 10:22:34    2545774

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Delighted with the win and performance yesterday. OUr backs looked solid. Hearne and Lawlor are forming a good midfield partnership. Hearne covers some ground. Our forwards are really looking dangerous. ROC , Chin and now in form Mac will take some watching. Cian Byrne's pace and energy will be welcome next weekend too. Would expect Cian for Dwyer to be the only change presuming Jacko is still out. Thought Tucker and Charlie looked good and sharp off the bench. Cant wait for next weekend now. Expecting a huge Wexford crowd to go and get behind the lads. I really think we are building momentum and the lads are ready to throw everything at Kilkenny on Sunday. It's going to be some atmosphere and battle."
Only small criticism I'd have is that some lads were left on too long. Conor Hearne who was one of our best players on the day looked out on his feet towards the end for example. We don't want to have lads getting injured through tiredness.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 10:26:31    2545776

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Are you saying that there are different 'methodologies' to sort tiebreakers in the Leinster and Munster championships? Surely that's not the case?"
It is believe it or not

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 10:26:50    2545777

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Are you saying that there are different 'methodologies' to sort tiebreakers in the Leinster and Munster championships? Surely that's not the case?"
"The final placings in the Leinster and Munster senior hurling championships will be decided differently if three or more teams finish on the same number of points.

For the second year running, in the event multiple Leinster SHC sides are tied at the end of the competition score difference in the games involving those counties only will be the first determining factor followed by highest total score for, highest total goal for and failing that a play-off.

However, in Munster score difference across all four matches will be applicable if three or more teams conclude the round-robin on the same number of points. That is also the regulation that is in operation for the lower level hurling championship groups as well as the Sam Maguire and Tailteann Cup group stages."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41377201.html

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2618 - 20/05/2024 10:32:22    2545780

Replying To benchtoaster:  "Fair play to ye yesterday lads, an absolute clinical performance. Was so disappointed with the Carlow lads they really didn't get going at all and I think maybe the Kilkenny game took a lot out of the bodies.

One thing I'd say lads the majority of your supporters are top Gaa people but ye should be having a word with some of less sportsman like members of the congregation. There was a fella with Lee's family yesterday calling the Carlow players 'dirt' and mocking and jeering the Carlow people around him and it was nothing short of disgraceful. There's a chap who's not playing with the county anymore and he was encouraging the kids with him to roar in his ear when wexford would score…..this guy wears hearing aids….

For yer own sake I'd take lads like that aside it left a really sour taste with the Carlow people around him- most of us were more than complimentary of your team and accepted our hiding!"
Very sorry to hear that. Very best of luck against Antrim.

I'd be very hopeful that the system can be reviewed. Up and down would do nothing for Carlow who've clearly put in huge work.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 10:33:26    2545781

Replying To Yellow:  "We are finding form at the right time and will go to Kilkenny with great confidence

They have not beaten us in championship ( in 70 minutes) since twenty eighteen. And that was by a point.

We will need a good rub of the green and to
Play with one hundred per cent intensity and keep the free count down.

I wish it was in Wexford park but I'd say we will match Kilkenny with attendance

We outnumbered Carlow yesterday"
I would be great if it was in Wexford park but I still think we will outnumber the cats in support on Sunday

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 10:57:00    2545793

Replying To Viking66:  "Only small criticism I'd have is that some lads were left on too long. Conor Hearne who was one of our best players on the day looked out on his feet towards the end for example. We don't want to have lads getting injured through tiredness."
Id agree we should have made changes earlier

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 10:57:55    2545794

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Thats a very strange thing to do to an 8 year old. I think 99% of Gaa people are decent but there's always the small minority will ruin it"
Yeah he did it totally out of the blue not in a threatening manner or anything but still he's a very quite young lad and the guy was a teenager. I didn't understand it myself. I've started to see some things like this creeping in a bit, at the KK game last year there was a bunch of young lads pushing each other in the stands. It's not nice to see and I'm sure we have some yahoo's too. I enjoyed talking to the Carlow supporters yesterday it's something special that we have in the GAA to mingle and it'd be a shame if it ever was to go to segregation.

Definitely most people at games are great supporters. I don't get the logic of the poster coming on here and going on about that...the people to bring that up to are the yahoo's themselves at the time not nameless people on a chat board basking in what was a lovely day for us.

I hate the way people do that. After a loss have a go at the other teams supporters and another one is "none of us are any good". That's another subtle begrudge the winning team ploy.

Anyway, no ill feelings and I hope Carlow win next week. I had great craic with 99% of em yesterday that I met

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 20/05/2024 11:05:16    2545798

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Very sorry to hear that. Very best of luck against Antrim.

I'd be very hopeful that the system can be reviewed. Up and down would do nothing for Carlow who've clearly put in huge work."
'I'd be very hopeful that the system can be reviewed. Up and down would do nothing for Carlow who've clearly put in huge work'.

What can be done? The likes of Laois and Offaly also deserve a chance to play in the Leinster Championship. Expanding the LC to 7 or 8 teams would create further problems, with more games being played. The LC would last 2 or 3 weeks longer than the Munster Championship. Which would have a knock-on effect on the All-Championship.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2618 - 20/05/2024 11:18:14    2545803

Thanks be to god we have a proper championship game ahead of us now to actually see where we are IV still no idea what our level is and the more I see these Munster game I still think we are miles away to be honest,for the first time we now play a Kilkenny team that has to win to get to Leinster final like ourselves!!! Kilkenny usually have there work done by now and already in the final!!! Il judge Wexford after this game,a proper game!!! Think Carlow are terrible,they played half a Kilkenny team who hit uncharacteristically 17 mostly terrible wides and had a man sent off In what I'd say was a really off day!!! I hope Kilkenny have everyone available too,I think they are a good yardstick!!

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 229 - 20/05/2024 11:34:27    2545814

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""The final placings in the Leinster and Munster senior hurling championships will be decided differently if three or more teams finish on the same number of points.

For the second year running, in the event multiple Leinster SHC sides are tied at the end of the competition score difference in the games involving those counties only will be the first determining factor followed by highest total score for, highest total goal for and failing that a play-off.

However, in Munster score difference across all four matches will be applicable if three or more teams conclude the round-robin on the same number of points. That is also the regulation that is in operation for the lower level hurling championship groups as well as the Sam Maguire and Tailteann Cup group stages."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41377201.html"
Thanks for that Cockney. I'd have thought they'd be the same, and that 'points for' would be the first determining factor in any tiebreaks involving 3+ sides, but thats clearly not the case. Many thanks for the clarification.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 20/05/2024 11:44:11    2545815

I think Rossi got it right not taking lads off too early fir 2 reasons .
1 to let the lads know he has rhe faith on them to see out these games after faltering on 2 occasions this year and 2 occasions v westmeath last 2 years .
2 to get our score difference as high as possible to take that scenario out of the equation.

No player likes being taken off when they are winning well and scoring freely it gives confidence . Yes give subs a chance for game tine at rouhgly same time as would normally happen to build consistency which we ve lacked .
Our best players fir the set up were on the field maybe bar cian byrne .
With impact from be.ch itching to get on we are I'm good place at present .
Can't worry too much about injury as can happen at any time training or matches get the job done first .
Having a settled team with cohesion has to have been high on managements priority .
Too many changes too early can cause problems with game plan. Gradual introduction is far better .
All subs done their chances of coming in later In championship when needed no harm at all .
In other words I thought management got it right yesterday
Conor hearne was out on his feet fir sure that could happen next week too and we may nit be in position to take him out then either . Can only help his fitness .
Recovery this week will be the order otmf the day .
Kilkeenny will be strong favourites for sure we need to bring huge intensity matched with game plan to give us a platform.
I ll leave that to management .
Starting to really like the way they operate and seem to be learning from mistakes and hopefully that will continue. Every management team makes mistakes

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 228 - 20/05/2024 11:45:25    2545816

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "'I'd be very hopeful that the system can be reviewed. Up and down would do nothing for Carlow who've clearly put in huge work'.

What can be done? The likes of Laois and Offaly also deserve a chance to play in the Leinster Championship. Expanding the LC to 7 or 8 teams would create further problems, with more games being played. The LC would last 2 or 3 weeks longer than the Munster Championship. Which would have a knock-on effect on the All-Championship."
I wonder is there any possibility of a Leinster preliminary competition

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/05/2024 12:09:30    2545823

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "This is why I used to drink a lot, as opposed to just regularly :-)

Anyway, helicopter ordered to drop La Familia Barney into Salthill and avoid the traffic."
Apologies Barney & Yellow, I made some wrong assumptions, when I wrote that. Cockney's examiner piece has set me straight on the tiebreak rules '24.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 20/05/2024 12:12:06    2545825

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "'I'd be very hopeful that the system can be reviewed. Up and down would do nothing for Carlow who've clearly put in huge work'.

What can be done? The likes of Laois and Offaly also deserve a chance to play in the Leinster Championship. Expanding the LC to 7 or 8 teams would create further problems, with more games being played. The LC would last 2 or 3 weeks longer than the Munster Championship. Which would have a knock-on effect on the All-Championship."
Not if we have 2 groups of 4.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 12:15:28    2545829

Replying To theboys:  "Thanks be to god we have a proper championship game ahead of us now to actually see where we are IV still no idea what our level is and the more I see these Munster game I still think we are miles away to be honest,for the first time we now play a Kilkenny team that has to win to get to Leinster final like ourselves!!! Kilkenny usually have there work done by now and already in the final!!! Il judge Wexford after this game,a proper game!!! Think Carlow are terrible,they played half a Kilkenny team who hit uncharacteristically 17 mostly terrible wides and had a man sent off In what I'd say was a really off day!!! I hope Kilkenny have everyone available too,I think they are a good yardstick!!"
Kilkenny had to win the last time we played in Nowlan Park just to be sure of staying in the AI Championship, never mind making the final. We won that one by 4. The only reason they stayed in was the other result went their way.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 12:17:11    2545832

Replying To theboys:  "Thanks be to god we have a proper championship game ahead of us now to actually see where we are IV still no idea what our level is and the more I see these Munster game I still think we are miles away to be honest,for the first time we now play a Kilkenny team that has to win to get to Leinster final like ourselves!!! Kilkenny usually have there work done by now and already in the final!!! Il judge Wexford after this game,a proper game!!! Think Carlow are terrible,they played half a Kilkenny team who hit uncharacteristically 17 mostly terrible wides and had a man sent off In what I'd say was a really off day!!! I hope Kilkenny have everyone available too,I think they are a good yardstick!!"
'for the first time we now play a Kilkenny team that has to win to get to Leinster final'.

Kilkenny will get to the Leinster final if they draw with Wexford.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2618 - 20/05/2024 12:18:06    2545833

Could have eight teams in Leinster but break it down into two groups of four, top two in each group go to the LSFs, bottom two go to the relegation SFs, then could have the losers of the LSFs and the winners of the relegation SFs play off in R1 of the qualifiers, with the two winners then playing 3rd and 4th from Munster in the Preliminary All-Ireland QFs

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 20/05/2024 12:21:46    2545836

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Sorry to hear that benchtoaster."
Terrible to see conduct like that happening.
Anyone that resorts to that kind of behaviour can only be called ignorant and stupid and we do not need or want them as supporters.
Okay we had a big win yesterdsy but there is no need to rub salt into the wounds.
We have quite often been on the receiving end of hammerings and would not like to be ridiculed or made fun of by the opposition. Humility and respect at all times.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 381 - 20/05/2024 13:08:46    2545853

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Could have eight teams in Leinster but break it down into two groups of four, top two in each group go to the LSFs, bottom two go to the relegation SFs, then could have the losers of the LSFs and the winners of the relegation SFs play off in R1 of the qualifiers, with the two winners then playing 3rd and 4th from Munster in the Preliminary All-Ireland QFs"
If 4th go through from Munster it would make the whole Munster Round Robin pointless

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 13:26:33    2545862