Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Viking66:  "They can but its very unlikely"
I think you're wrong there. KK are guaranteed to come third at worst.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 19/05/2024 20:31:50    2545692

Replying To Viking66:  "A loss of more than 9 points coupled with a Dublin loss by 1."
Dubs have 5pts. KK have 6.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 19/05/2024 20:35:39    2545695

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "In the event of two draws, Dublin don't finish third because of scoring difference. They'll finish third because they'll have 2pts, compared to Galway's 1pt in the Wexford Dublin Galway 'mini-table'."
This is why I used to drink a lot, as opposed to just regularly :-)

Anyway, helicopter ordered to drop La Familia Barney into Salthill and avoid the traffic.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2929 - 19/05/2024 20:40:53    2545699

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "We be concentrating on the All Ireland final at that stage :-)"
Cant see us losing to kk and cant see Dublin losing to Galway so i think we will win Leinster .If you go back to my posts after the Antrim game i did say all the work gone into this team will be rewarded and it wont stop at a Leinster either.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 279 - 19/05/2024 20:43:29    2545700

Mac, Rory and Chin in top form it looks like heading to KK next Sunday and Cian Byrne back. It's often the way it goes in group stages, good result for Antrim and Carlow early on but the longer it goes on the weaker they become. They took two fair old hidings. How we lost to Antrim is still shocking but the team and panel looks much stronger now.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 19/05/2024 21:21:52    2545705

Replying To Viking66:  "They can but its very unlikely"
I don't think so if mini table counts in 3 way tie against each other
Kil 3 gal 2 Dublin 1
Dub it kil final and gal 3rd

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 228 - 19/05/2024 21:32:52    2545709

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Dubs have 5pts. KK have 6."
Between us and Dublin

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 19/05/2024 21:47:58    2545716

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "In the event of two draws, Dublin don't finish third because of scoring difference. They'll finish third because they'll have 2pts, compared to Galway's 1pt in the Wexford Dublin Galway 'mini-table'."
Ah ok

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 19/05/2024 21:49:30    2545717

Fair play to ye yesterday lads, an absolute clinical performance. Was so disappointed with the Carlow lads they really didn't get going at all and I think maybe the Kilkenny game took a lot out of the bodies.

One thing I'd say lads the majority of your supporters are top Gaa people but ye should be having a word with some of less sportsman like members of the congregation. There was a fella with Lee's family yesterday calling the Carlow players 'dirt' and mocking and jeering the Carlow people around him and it was nothing short of disgraceful. There's a chap who's not playing with the county anymore and he was encouraging the kids with him to roar in his ear when wexford would score…..this guy wears hearing aids….

For yer own sake I'd take lads like that aside it left a really sour taste with the Carlow people around him- most of us were more than complimentary of your team and accepted our hiding!

benchtoaster (Carlow) - Posts: 26 - 20/05/2024 07:23:26    2545725

Replying To Viking66:  "Between us and Dublin"
You were saying KK might not advance. They're already GUARANTEED to advance. Can you outline the results that will eliminate KK next weekend??

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 20/05/2024 08:31:21    2545732

Replying To benchtoaster:  "Fair play to ye yesterday lads, an absolute clinical performance. Was so disappointed with the Carlow lads they really didn't get going at all and I think maybe the Kilkenny game took a lot out of the bodies.

One thing I'd say lads the majority of your supporters are top Gaa people but ye should be having a word with some of less sportsman like members of the congregation. There was a fella with Lee's family yesterday calling the Carlow players 'dirt' and mocking and jeering the Carlow people around him and it was nothing short of disgraceful. There's a chap who's not playing with the county anymore and he was encouraging the kids with him to roar in his ear when wexford would score…..this guy wears hearing aids….

For yer own sake I'd take lads like that aside it left a really sour taste with the Carlow people around him- most of us were more than complimentary of your team and accepted our hiding!"
Sorry to hear that benchtoaster.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 09:16:07    2545739

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You were saying KK might not advance. They're already GUARANTEED to advance. Can you outline the results that will eliminate KK next weekend??"
They can't. Forgot about the mini League scenario. If we were like Munster if we beat Kilkenny heavily, big if, and you and Dublin drew, they would be gone. As it is I think its points difference between the 3 tied counties, so if you, Kilkenny and Dublin all finished on 6, your points difference would be 0, Kilkennys would be +2, Dublin -2, so Dublin would be gone.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/05/2024 09:17:07    2545740

Replying To benchtoaster:  "Fair play to ye yesterday lads, an absolute clinical performance. Was so disappointed with the Carlow lads they really didn't get going at all and I think maybe the Kilkenny game took a lot out of the bodies.

For yer own sake I'd take lads like that aside it left a really sour taste with the Carlow people around him- most of us were more than complimentary of your team and accepted our hiding!"
Sorry to hear that, there's idiots in every county. Wexford people have absolutely no reason for that level of arrogance and ****baggery, I'd call it out if I saw it. I was standing beside a few "football" Carlow people, in the terrace, and they were gents.

Best of luck to ye against Antrim, and hopefully we'll see you again next year.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 20/05/2024 09:22:37    2545743

Thats very sad to hear and from out perspective we should respect everyone that takes the field. There will always be that few from every county that does nt.
Maybe its the soccer mentality from fine weather hurling supporters none the less its unacceptable and should be called out .
The Carlow team Imo had one eye on next week as after 20min game was looking like it was over . Marty had a very off day wheen ye needed to keep score board ticking over it did nt happen dues nt take fro the quality if the man in any way though
Best of luck next week v Antrim none of ye deserve to be relegated but unfortunately one will.
If the competiveness continues from teams coming up I can see the system being tweaked to accommodate more teams . Which in my opinion can only be good for hurling .
It could very easily have been us last year going down . So we should respect everyone equally from Limerick to kildare.
No place in gaa for such blatant disrespect. Enjoy banter between fans as long as its humorous.

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 228 - 20/05/2024 09:26:52    2545746

The usual GAA response when you're hopped off. Have a go at supporters. I could say the same about Carlow. Mostly decent but when Carlow scored their goal some fella turned around and stuck his middle finger up at my 8 year old right in to his face. Get over yourselves and worry about your own house

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 20/05/2024 09:29:15    2545747

Delighted with the win and performance yesterday. OUr backs looked solid. Hearne and Lawlor are forming a good midfield partnership. Hearne covers some ground. Our forwards are really looking dangerous. ROC , Chin and now in form Mac will take some watching. Cian Byrne's pace and energy will be welcome next weekend too. Would expect Cian for Dwyer to be the only change presuming Jacko is still out. Thought Tucker and Charlie looked good and sharp off the bench. Cant wait for next weekend now. Expecting a huge Wexford crowd to go and get behind the lads. I really think we are building momentum and the lads are ready to throw everything at Kilkenny on Sunday. It's going to be some atmosphere and battle.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 09:33:11    2545750

My team for next week if everyone fit.

Fanning
Eoin Ryan Liam Ryan Shane Reck
Hanlon D Reck Foley
Lawlor Hearne
Liam Og Chin Jacko (if fit)
Rory Mac C Byrne

If Jacko is injured then Tucker, Dunbar, Charlie, could play in that position or midfield and push Lawlor into the half forward line.

Also Casey could play in the full forward line and push ROC to half forward.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 20/05/2024 09:52:52    2545756

Replying To Viking66:  "They can't. Forgot about the mini League scenario. If we were like Munster if we beat Kilkenny heavily, big if, and you and Dublin drew, they would be gone. As it is I think its points difference between the 3 tied counties, so if you, Kilkenny and Dublin all finished on 6, your points difference would be 0, Kilkennys would be +2, Dublin -2, so Dublin would be gone."
Are you saying that there are different 'methodologies' to sort tiebreakers in the Leinster and Munster championships? Surely that's not the case?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 20/05/2024 10:00:34    2545759

Replying To WEXILE:  "The usual GAA response when you're hopped off. Have a go at supporters. I could say the same about Carlow. Mostly decent but when Carlow scored their goal some fella turned around and stuck his middle finger up at my 8 year old right in to his face. Get over yourselves and worry about your own house"
Thats a very strange thing to do to an 8 year old. I think 99% of Gaa people are decent but there's always the small minority will ruin it

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/05/2024 10:05:07    2545761

We are finding form at the right time and will go to Kilkenny with great confidence

They have not beaten us in championship ( in 70 minutes) since twenty eighteen. And that was by a point.

We will need a good rub of the green and to
Play with one hundred per cent intensity and keep the free count down.

I wish it was in Wexford park but I'd say we will match Kilkenny with attendance

We outnumbered Carlow yesterday

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 20/05/2024 10:17:24    2545768