Football All Stars

The one dissapointing thing from this year was the donegal supporters, im of an age where I remember them being a breath of fresh air in the early 90s, humble and really great for the game. Now the opposite of that. Arrogant, lacking humility and a superiority complex based on very shoddy foundations of 2 all Irelands ever.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1025 - 30/07/2025 12:34:42    2629251

1. Niall Morgan (Tyrone)
2. Jason Foley (Kerry)
3. Sean Rafferty (Meath)
4. Peadar Mogan (Donegal)
5. Gavin Whyte (Kerry)
6. Donal Keoghan (Meath)
7. Kieran McGeary (Tyrone)
8. Michael Langan (Donegal)
9. Joe O'Connor (Kerry)
10. Oisin Conatay (Armagh)
11. Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
12. Paiud Clifford (Kerry)
13. David Clifford (Kerry)
14. Sam Mulroy (Louth) *Token All Star*
15. Conor O'Donnell (Donegal)

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 568 - 30/07/2025 12:40:43    2629253

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Your Meath full back line conceded 3-11 against us. Give me a break.

Gallen destroyed Rafferty.

McCole did really well on every other top forward except the player of the year.

I was waiting for your propaganda machine to come back into full swing.

Still don't see why Rafferty deserves one above Kerry and Donegal full back like

He'll probably get one. But it would be because Meath 'have' to get one

A token All Star."
I'm pretty sure Rafferty picked up Murphy for most of the game, Murphy scored 3 from play. Even if he was soley on Gallan which he wasn't, he scored 1-2. It's hardly the definition of "destroyed".

Destroyed is what David Clifford did to poor wee Brendan McCole. One of the worst attempts at man marking I've ever seen.

I would say it's a fair a decent assessment to say Rafferty was the best full back in the country this year, Jason Foley a close 2nd.

Rafferty Marked Con O'Collaghan (2 points from play), we had the bottle to go man to man with Clifford and Rafferty picked him up conceding 4 points from play (one 2 pointer), and Shane Walsh who scored 3 from play including one 2 pointer right at the end. Probably the 3 best forwards in the country.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 30/07/2025 12:43:08    2629255

Replying To southmeathgael:  "You are judging Rafferty on one game, if mccole is to be judged on one game he won't get one either."
I'm judging him on more than one game. The argument made for him in the quarter final is that Galway scored 2-3 when he was off the pitch. Which is a crazy way to say he deserved an All Star. By not playing.

He did do well on Clifford but Kerry were depleted and half qualified for the knockouts. I wonder honestly, how well he would have done against a 9/10 Kerry team like on Sunday?

Other than that, who did he mark out of it and who did Meath play?

He wasn't put on Louth's main man in the Leinster Final - and Meath didn't win the Leinster final

McCole marked McGuigan, Turbitt, O'Donoghue - top forwards for top division 1 counties. He also kept Morris very quiet in the final. And he is an Ulster Champion /

I get that he is good, has great potential and will no doubt win one in the future.

But he wasn't better against more high-quality opposition across the season.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 30/07/2025 14:19:21    2629270

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Your Meath full back line conceded 3-11 against us. Give me a break.

Gallen destroyed Rafferty.

McCole did really well on every other top forward except the player of the year.

I was waiting for your propaganda machine to come back into full swing.

Still don't see why Rafferty deserves one above Kerry and Donegal full back like

He'll probably get one. But it would be because Meath 'have' to get one

A token All Star."
I'm pretty sure Rafferty picked up Murphy for most of the game, Murphy scored 3 from play. Even if he was soley on Gallan which he wasn't, he scored 1-2. It's hardly the definition of "destroyed".

Destroyed is what David Clifford did to poor wee Brendan McCole. One of the worst attempts at man marking I've ever seen.

I would say it's a fair a decent assessment to say Rafferty was the best full back in the country this year, Jason Foley a close 2nd.

Rafferty Marked Con O'Collaghan (2 points from play), we had the bottle to go man to man with Clifford and Rafferty picked him up conceding 4 points from play (one 2 pointer), and Shane Walsh who scored 3 from play including one 2 pointer right at the end. Probably the 3 best forwards in the country.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 30/07/2025 14:28:55    2629274

1. Shane Ryan

2. Jonathan Foley
3. Brendnan McCole
4. Finbarr Roarty

5. Brian O'Beaglaoich
6. Gavin White
7. Ciaran Moore

8. Michael Langan
9. Joe O'Connor

10. Oisin Conaty
11. Sean O'Shea
12. Paudie Clifford

13. David Clifford
14. Michael Murphy
15. Conor O'Donnell

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9991 - 30/07/2025 14:37:36    2629276

Replying To southmeathgael:  "The one dissapointing thing from this year was the donegal supporters, im of an age where I remember them being a breath of fresh air in the early 90s, humble and really great for the game. Now the opposite of that. Arrogant, lacking humility and a superiority complex based on very shoddy foundations of 2 all Irelands ever."
If that's a reference to me

If you check the thread

It's Mr Winatallcosts who was on the Donegal Forum giving it large before the semi final with a list of about 10-11 ways Meath we're going to beat us

He was also the one with a needlessy arrogant comment about Brendan McCole based on one performance. Not me.

I'm perfectly entitled to express my opinion on why I think other players deserve the All Star over Sean Rafferty based on performances

But apparently. Im not allowed do that as a Donegal man. I have to be quiet and nice and put in my place with my 2 All Irelands

That's an even more arrogant comment. Snobbery of the highest order!

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 30/07/2025 14:38:32    2629278

Replying To southmeathgael:  "The one dissapointing thing from this year was the donegal supporters, im of an age where I remember them being a breath of fresh air in the early 90s, humble and really great for the game. Now the opposite of that. Arrogant, lacking humility and a superiority complex based on very shoddy foundations of 2 all Irelands ever."
If you also check the Meath v Donegal thread in your own forum

You'll see I was one of the first Donegal men to wish you all well.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 30/07/2025 14:51:38    2629283

1. Shane Ryan (Kerry)
2. Jason Foley (Kerry)
3. Sean Rafferty (Meath)
4. Brendan McCole (Donegal)
5. Gavin Whyte (Kerry)
6. Oisin Caulfield (Meath)
7. Sam Mulroy (Louth)
8. Colm Kilpatrick (Tyrone)
9. Joe O'Connor (Kerry)
10. Eoghan McElhome (Tyrone)
11. Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
12. Jordan Morris (Meath)
14. Michael Murphy (Donegal)
15. Conor O'Donnell (Donegal)

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1459 - 30/07/2025 14:55:40    2629287

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "A comprehensive win or Kerry means they will get 7/8 now.
Donegals flop in the final will reduce them to 2/3

I would go for the below

K - Beggan
FB - Foley, Murphy, Mogan
CB - White, McGeary, Breen
MF - Kilpatrick, O Connor
CF - SOS, PClifford, C Thompson,
FF - D Clifford, Murphy, Canavan"
Canavan?! I love him as a player but Tyrone people will tell you how he never caught fire this year

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 274 - 30/07/2025 15:03:31    2629290

Replying To Commodore:  "1. Shane Ryan (Kerry)
2. Jason Foley (Kerry)
3. Sean Rafferty (Meath)
5. Gavin Whyte (Kerry)
7. Sam Mulroy (Louth)
9. Joe O'Connor (Kerry)
11. Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
15. Conor O'Donnell (Donegal)"
Meath have no hope of three All Stars

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2336 - 30/07/2025 15:08:16    2629294

Replying To Commodore:  "1. Shane Ryan (Kerry)
2. Jason Foley (Kerry)
3. Sean Rafferty (Meath)
5. Gavin Whyte (Kerry)
7. Sam Mulroy (Louth)
9. Joe O'Connor (Kerry)
11. Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
15. Conor O'Donnell (Donegal)"
McElholm won't even be nominated

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2336 - 30/07/2025 15:10:51    2629295

1. Shane Ryan (Kerry)
2. Sean Rafferty (Meath)
3. Brendan McCole (Donegal)
4. Jason Foley (Kerry)
5. Gavin White (Kerry)
6. Mike Breen (Kerry)
7. Ciaran McGeary (Tyrone)
8. Sean O'Brien (Kerry)
9. Michael Langan (Donegal)
10. Joe O'Connor (Kerry)
11. Ciarán Thompson (Donegal)
12. Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
15. Paudie Clifford (Kerry)

9 Kerry, 4 Donegal, 1 Meath, 1 Tyrone.

Some of these positions is what I think will happen, rather than what I believe or what is merited. The final will have a big bearing on things I think. Rafferty and McGeary will get one and no other player outside of the finalists will get one. Shane Ryan is nailed to get the keepers' one I will be shocked if he doesn't. Paudie I expect to get one even if he hasn't played a lot of minutes.

McCole is the questionable one here as it will depend how people view the final performance. I didn't think he did badly at all and his performances over the year merit an All-Star. However I do expect Rafferty to be the Meath All Star, I expect Foley will get one and that leaves one spot - it could go to Roarty instead of McCole. Either would be deserving in my view but there is not enough space for both.

Sean O'Brien is maybe the under the radar one but I think Kerry's midfield was more than Joe O'Connor and they absolutely dominated Donegal as well as Armagh in the 2nd half. Considering they had injuries in midfield it is some year for O'Brien and O'Shea in the middle in my view.

From a Donegal perspective the four that I have not listed that I think one could sneak in are Roarty, Moore, Shane O'Donnell and Conor O'Donnell. Thompson may drop out even though I think he merits one. Again the final will colour a lot here as really Roarty and Moore underperformed that day but they have been fantastic all year. The O'Donnells again really important players and Conor especially performed in the final so may sneak in.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 274 - 30/07/2025 16:03:59    2629310

Replying To CCFabu:  "1. Shane Ryan (Kerry)
2. Sean Rafferty (Meath)
3. Brendan McCole (Donegal)
4. Jason Foley (Kerry)
5. Gavin White (Kerry)
6. Mike Breen (Kerry)
7. Ciaran McGeary (Tyrone)
8. Sean O'Brien (Kerry)
9. Michael Langan (Donegal)
10. Joe O'Connor (Kerry)
11. Ciarán Thompson (Donegal)
12. Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
15. Paudie Clifford (Kerry)

9 Kerry, 4 Donegal, 1 Meath, 1 Tyrone.

Some of these positions is what I think will happen, rather than what I believe or what is merited. The final will have a big bearing on things I think. Rafferty and McGeary will get one and no other player outside of the finalists will get one. Shane Ryan is nailed to get the keepers' one I will be shocked if he doesn't. Paudie I expect to get one even if he hasn't played a lot of minutes.

McCole is the questionable one here as it will depend how people view the final performance. I didn't think he did badly at all and his performances over the year merit an All-Star. However I do expect Rafferty to be the Meath All Star, I expect Foley will get one and that leaves one spot - it could go to Roarty instead of McCole. Either would be deserving in my view but there is not enough space for both.

Sean O'Brien is maybe the under the radar one but I think Kerry's midfield was more than Joe O'Connor and they absolutely dominated Donegal as well as Armagh in the 2nd half. Considering they had injuries in midfield it is some year for O'Brien and O'Shea in the middle in my view.

From a Donegal perspective the four that I have not listed that I think one could sneak in are Roarty, Moore, Shane O'Donnell and Conor O'Donnell. Thompson may drop out even though I think he merits one. Again the final will colour a lot here as really Roarty and Moore underperformed that day but they have been fantastic all year. The O'Donnells again really important players and Conor especially performed in the final so may sneak in."
Just on Conor O'Donnell, aside from his attacking play in the final, I forgot it was him that cleared Clifford's goalbound effort off the line near the end. He has really kicked on this year. We are lucky to have him.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9991 - 30/07/2025 16:13:53    2629314

The 90s? Back when Meath were going well. Maybe it's the fact that we're winning back to back Ulsters now and Meath are winning sweet FA that is annoying you even more.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1334 - 30/07/2025 17:12:26    2629327

Replying To peiledoir20:  "The 90s? Back when Meath were going well. Maybe it's the fact that we're winning back to back Ulsters now and Meath are winning sweet FA that is annoying you even more."
Yeah, the 90s. Basically when Donegal fans had barely a right to a voice as plucky, gallant, benign underdogs and fans of other counties could be as arrogant as they want cause they were after all a 'traditional' team bestowed greatness by the founding fathers of the GAA and winning All Irelands.

It's that sort of patronising, double-standards, snobbery era he's going for.

The golden days.

It's such a pity they let us out of our box.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 30/07/2025 17:38:18    2629335

Ryan
Roarty
Rafferty
Keogan
Obeaglaoch
Ban Gallagher
White
Langan
Oconnor
Conaty
Oshea
Canavan
Clifford
Murphy
Clifford

Hard to call last few years a few from teams in quarters got in
Honourable mentions for
Rory began
Ethan Rafferty
Miceal banagan
Brendan mcole
The 2 O'Donnell's and gallen
Mike breen
Ross mcquillan
And a few more Tyrone lads played well and could be in with a shout

Liftball (Armagh) - Posts: 39 - 30/07/2025 20:59:40    2629367

Have to say most Donegal fans were fine with me in croke park that day.There was the odd few who were acting the maggot and gloating but every county ourselves included has them.On all stars Rafferty would be Meaths best shot at one and I see Keoghan and Morris getting mentioned here but dont think Morris has done enough and Keoghan (loved to see him get one)also dont see him getting one either.I would put Kinseela ahead of both of them and Menton also has been good for us this year but not in the running.Kerry will have Ryan,o conor,White,Clifford x2 as nailed on plus another 1 or 2o beagladich o shea and maybe Foley?.Donegal will have for me Roarty,Langan ,Murphy nailed on and maybe mc Cole one of o Donnell?Thompson very good as well but maybe going off early in final go against him.Tyrone and Meath may get 1 and Galway/Louth having won silverware may get 1 as well.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 408 - 31/07/2025 10:57:17    2629424

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Yeah, the 90s. Basically when Donegal fans had barely a right to a voice as plucky, gallant, benign underdogs and fans of other counties could be as arrogant as they want cause they were after all a 'traditional' team bestowed greatness by the founding fathers of the GAA and winning All Irelands.

It's that sort of patronising, double-standards, snobbery era he's going for.

The golden days.

It's such a pity they let us out of our box."
These "golden days" are good craic. You'll hear the likes of Brolly and Spillane constantly on about how football was better in their day. I'm sorry, but I've watched plenty of older games on TV, and for want of a better word, a lot of them were *****.

Helter-skelter yes. But in terms of tactics, ball rentention, scoring efficiency etc, terrible.

Another myth is that modern Kerry are a "kicking team". I'd say I could count on one had how often they kicked the ball inside the other day.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9991 - 31/07/2025 11:50:17    2629439

As a Kerry supporter that has been at numerous All Ireland finals since the early 70 s I guess I surely have a right to comnent.

My comment is I have never net a more decent bunch of supporters tnan the Donegal crowd.I have been at nearly every final for last 50 years.The Donegal supporters were class and eventhough disappointed many stayed on for the cup presentation wishing us all well.

While celebrating afterwards many Donegal folk I met wished us nothing but goodwill.

I have to say Donegal people are top class.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4081 - 01/08/2025 00:20:08    2629563