Irish And The AFL

Replying To StoreysTash:  "In Melbourne, got a ticket and everything. Its a public holiday here in Victoria and a great buzz around even with a QLD team playing in the final. I hear it gets crazy altogther if 2 Victoria teams playing.
Should be a good game, Collingwood will win. Have seen a few of their games."
Fair play, they were hard to come by from what I've heard!

Dunno about a Pies win, nervous going into it., Brisbane have some serious forwards and it will be a big ask to keep the scores down like they did against Melbourne and GWS. If they can keep the Lions down to 10 goals I think they will win it, but stopping Camerion, Danaher and Hipwood is a serious challenge.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 29/09/2023 11:42:13    2506223

Replying To StoreysTash:  "In Melbourne, got a ticket and everything. Its a public holiday here in Victoria and a great buzz around even with a QLD team playing in the final. I hear it gets crazy altogther if 2 Victoria teams playing.
Should be a good game, Collingwood will win. Have seen a few of their games."
Enjoy it, I made a Preliminary Final in the 90's when Kangaroos beat the Demons.
Great experience, could not get tickets for the final but enjoy. The weekend is a real carnival atmosphere.
I don't watch AFL any more though to be honest. A bit like Gaelic Football, not much of a spectacle in my view.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1141 - 29/09/2023 13:54:51    2506263

Replying To MesAmis:  "You can't stop a professional organisation offering someone a job."
dont normally agree with dubs but you are 100%. the lads complaining about the AFL are lads that have never left their town nevermind their country and just have that strange irish thing of hating anyone doing well

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 157 - 30/09/2023 10:18:38    2506352

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "dont normally agree with dubs but you are 100%. the lads complaining about the AFL are lads that have never left their town nevermind their country and just have that strange irish thing of hating anyone doing well"
Silly post.
Lots of lads complaining about the AFL have spent years living abroad as emigrants you can be sure, and have toured other parts of the world.
There's nothing "strange" about not wanting to see some of your sports brightest talents being taken away to play a different sport.
It's understandable that the players in question would want to take the opportunity, but it's also a bad thing for gaelic football.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1742 - 01/10/2023 10:57:56    2506435

I got to the Grand Final last weekend and it was an amazing experience, game and so on. 100 thousand people and an epic game. Have a few friends who are Pies fan so was rooting for them.
The Friday was a bank holiday here in Victoria and there was a parade akin to a St. Patrick's Day parade. Great buzz in the city all weekend really.
It begs the question of what could be done with All-Ireland final weekend, unfortunately Up For The Match does not compare to the city being taken over for a sporting event.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 06/10/2023 14:44:40    2507172

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I got to the Grand Final last weekend and it was an amazing experience, game and so on. 100 thousand people and an epic game. Have a few friends who are Pies fan so was rooting for them.
The Friday was a bank holiday here in Victoria and there was a parade akin to a St. Patrick's Day parade. Great buzz in the city all weekend really.
It begs the question of what could be done with All-Ireland final weekend, unfortunately Up For The Match does not compare to the city being taken over for a sporting event."
The people who run things in this country prefer that the natives keep quiet. Don't want to be offending anyone.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2597 - 06/10/2023 14:50:58    2507173

Replying To togoutlads:  "Another 4 great young players gone today, including our future midfield anchor for Galway. So, so disappointing. Congratulations AFL, hope you enjoy all the benefits! You're welcome. What else can we do for ye? I've another 15 years of coaching to put into some future greats here, I'll let you know when they're ready for cherry picking. G'day."
Please stop embarrassing yourself and Galway supporters. I am a passionate GAA supporter who has put a lot time money and energy into coaching, organising and fundraising in my club. All of which I enjoyed enormously and wouldn't change for a second. Good luck to the four young lads. I hope they enjoy the experience and if they don't make it in Australia then maybe we will see them back in Ireland at some point.

NorthWestern (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 07/10/2023 01:45:06    2507217

Replying To NorthWestern:  "Please stop embarrassing yourself and Galway supporters. I am a passionate GAA supporter who has put a lot time money and energy into coaching, organising and fundraising in my club. All of which I enjoyed enormously and wouldn't change for a second. Good luck to the four young lads. I hope they enjoy the experience and if they don't make it in Australia then maybe we will see them back in Ireland at some point."
I'm assuming therefore that you would encourage all going kids at your club to prioritise soccer and rugby over Gaelic football and hurling,, , seeing as how those sports have the potential to give the kids a greater experience (travel,money) than the GAA?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1742 - 08/10/2023 19:09:24    2507401

Replying To Galway9801:  "I'm assuming therefore that you would encourage all going kids at your club to prioritise soccer and rugby over Gaelic football and hurling,, , seeing as how those sports have the potential to give the kids a greater experience (travel,money) than the GAA?"
He never said that.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 08/10/2023 20:42:10    2507423

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "He never said that."
I know he didn't but the same logic applies.

I've never understood the GAA mentality when it comes to this issue.

On the one hand we largely lament the loss of kids (most of whom will lose interest in sport once booze, drugs, and women come into their lives) to soccer and rugby, while we simultaneously celebrate the loss of genuine GAA talent, many of whom are possible future all Ireland winners, to the AFL, even though those sports provide the exact same thing,, (the chance to see the world, make lots of money etc).

The GAA fan must be the only sports fan on earth who're delighted to see their future stars give up their sport.

That's not a criticism of anyone who decides to play AFL by the way. It's their choice.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1742 - 09/10/2023 04:47:59    2507467

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I got to the Grand Final last weekend and it was an amazing experience, game and so on. 100 thousand people and an epic game. Have a few friends who are Pies fan so was rooting for them.
It begs the question of what could be done with All-Ireland final weekend, unfortunately Up For The Match does not compare to the city being taken over for a sporting event."
It's not really a like for like comparison. There have been very few Grand Finals that didn't feature at least one Melbourne club.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12139 - 09/10/2023 08:08:59    2507472

Replying To Galway9801:  "I know he didn't but the same logic applies.

I've never understood the GAA mentality when it comes to this issue.

On the one hand we largely lament the loss of kids (most of whom will lose interest in sport once booze, drugs, and women come into their lives) to soccer and rugby, while we simultaneously celebrate the loss of genuine GAA talent, many of whom are possible future all Ireland winners, to the AFL, even though those sports provide the exact same thing,, (the chance to see the world, make lots of money etc).

The GAA fan must be the only sports fan on earth who're delighted to see their future stars give up their sport.

That's not a criticism of anyone who decides to play AFL by the way. It's their choice."
We're not "delighted" to see a potential great future Gaelic football player giving up the Sport.
People just wish the individual lad all the best with the choice he made.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 09/10/2023 10:21:22    2507496

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "We're not "delighted" to see a potential great future Gaelic football player giving up the Sport.
People just wish the individual lad all the best with the choice he made."
I rarely hear gaa people lament the loss of our talents to the AFL,, or even question it,, and on the odd occasion I do there's any number of people jumping in to accuse that person of "begrudgery",, using lines like "it's that old irish thing of bla bla bla".

I'm simply stating that if its the right choice for a young gaa star to give up the game to pursue a professional career in a different sport, then logically it's also the right thing for kids to prioritise sports like soccer avd rugby over Gaelic games, as it improves their chances of making it in those sports as opposed to slumming it with their fellow footballers and hurlers.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1742 - 09/10/2023 19:34:15    2507644

Replying To Galway9801:  "I'm assuming therefore that you would encourage all going kids at your club to prioritise soccer and rugby over Gaelic football and hurling,, , seeing as how those sports have the potential to give the kids a greater experience (travel,money) than the GAA?"
No it doesn't what a complete nonsense argument. I encourage young players to play hurling and football first and foremost. If they are gifted at another sport and choose to play it I don't see it as a major threat to the GAA. If they have an opportunity to experience another country and another culture then good for them. You on the other hand seem to think if you spend a few hours coaching kids at the local GAA pitch you should in some way own their future.

NorthWestern (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 10/10/2023 07:55:56    2507663

Replying To NorthWestern:  "No it doesn't what a complete nonsense argument. I encourage young players to play hurling and football first and foremost. If they are gifted at another sport and choose to play it I don't see it as a major threat to the GAA. If they have an opportunity to experience another country and another culture then good for them. You on the other hand seem to think if you spend a few hours coaching kids at the local GAA pitch you should in some way own their future."
But seeing as how soccer and rugby also provide those kids with an opportunity to experience another country and culture, potentially multiple countries and cultures actually, and the gaa can't provide that same opportunity,, shouldn't you be encouraging them to prioritise those sports?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1742 - 10/10/2023 19:34:21    2507785

Replying To Galway9801:  "But seeing as how soccer and rugby also provide those kids with an opportunity to experience another country and culture, potentially multiple countries and cultures actually, and the gaa can't provide that same opportunity,, shouldn't you be encouraging them to prioritise those sports?"
No GAA people are encouraging players to "prioritise" other Sports.
They may wish individuals well who leave their Club to pursue other sports but that's not prioritising.
How many GAA players in Ireland?
How many ex GAA players playing Aus Football?
0.001% perhaps?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 11/10/2023 11:21:55    2507840

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "No GAA people are encouraging players to "prioritise" other Sports.
They may wish individuals well who leave their Club to pursue other sports but that's not prioritising.
0.001% perhaps?"
Hard to expect more Aussie Football participation amongst the youth of Ireland compared to soccer and rugby though. A bit of a commute for midweek training.

But if some children show potential for other sports they can be encouraged to them sports but not pushed into them. A huge number of GAA players had great potential for other sports but stuck with with GAA because they are the sports they love and quite content to stay here and play hurling, football and camogie. Best of luck to the others who start out in GAA and end up trying other professional sport.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7376 - 11/10/2023 12:47:05    2507869

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "No GAA people are encouraging players to "prioritise" other Sports.
0.001% perhaps?"
Exactly, and we should wish them well,, and if youngsters up and down the country also decide therefore to focus on soccer and rugby instead of gaelic games, instead of lamenting that, we should wish them well too,, yes?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1742 - 11/10/2023 20:43:08    2507953

Replying To NorthWestern:  "Please stop embarrassing yourself and Galway supporters. I am a passionate GAA supporter who has put a lot time money and energy into coaching, organising and fundraising in my club. All of which I enjoyed enormously and wouldn't change for a second. Good luck to the four young lads. I hope they enjoy the experience and if they don't make it in Australia then maybe we will see them back in Ireland at some point."
Oh I'm not embarrassing myself, my friend, and there are many people involved in the club and county scene here and in other counties that think the very same. Soccer, Rugby, Basketball and many other sports put the underage coaching effort in here in Ireland - so they're at least entitled to pitch for a super young player's attention and perhaps sole dedication to their particular code. AFL on the other hand put zero money into Ireland and zero effort into younger players development, they just swoop in and pick 'em when they're ready. You may think losing one player for a given county is no big deal but I assure you, it can have massive repercussions - for example, many people that know the man will tell you that if Pearce Hanley had played for Mayo, they would have landed an All Ireland in at least one of their finals in 2012, 13, 16, 17, 20 or 21. Hanley was the outstanding underage talent in Mayo at the time and had the electric pace that separates some very elite IC players from the rest. Hanley was an underage football sensation and was playing only his 2nd match for Mayo seniors - as an 18 year old - when the AFL swooped in straight after that match. Mayo management watched it happen. Hanley went as an 18 yo to Australia, played 13 seasons and 169 games in the AFL, which is absolutely remarkable in a savage sport where careers last 6 years on average, due largely to recurring injury. He's just behind Jim Stynes, Zach Tuohy and Tadhg Kennelly for Irish players that played the most AFL games. And fair play to him for his achievements there but he never won a grand final there. You can say all the what ifs ye like but Hanley would absolutely have been the difference in some of those one point defeats for Mayo and would have helped win that county an All Ireland. But hey, well spotted AFL scouts. History changers!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 911 - 16/10/2023 16:41:23    2508694

Replying To togoutlads:  "Oh I'm not embarrassing myself, my friend, and there are many people involved in the club and county scene here and in other counties that think the very same. Soccer, Rugby, Basketball and many other sports put the underage coaching effort in here in Ireland - so they're at least entitled to pitch for a super young player's attention and perhaps sole dedication to their particular code. AFL on the other hand put zero money into Ireland and zero effort into younger players development, they just swoop in and pick 'em when they're ready. You may think losing one player for a given county is no big deal but I assure you, it can have massive repercussions - for example, many people that know the man will tell you that if Pearce Hanley had played for Mayo, they would have landed an All Ireland in at least one of their finals in 2012, 13, 16, 17, 20 or 21. Hanley was the outstanding underage talent in Mayo at the time and had the electric pace that separates some very elite IC players from the rest. Hanley was an underage football sensation and was playing only his 2nd match for Mayo seniors - as an 18 year old - when the AFL swooped in straight after that match. Mayo management watched it happen. Hanley went as an 18 yo to Australia, played 13 seasons and 169 games in the AFL, which is absolutely remarkable in a savage sport where careers last 6 years on average, due largely to recurring injury. He's just behind Jim Stynes, Zach Tuohy and Tadhg Kennelly for Irish players that played the most AFL games. And fair play to him for his achievements there but he never won a grand final there. You can say all the what ifs ye like but Hanley would absolutely have been the difference in some of those one point defeats for Mayo and would have helped win that county an All Ireland. But hey, well spotted AFL scouts. History changers!"
I saw Pearce playing against Cavan and Derry. He was a very good footballer. It was well known before Cavan game that he was heading to AFL. Even the county manager from his own club couldn't convince him to stay. But it's a stretch to say we would have won an All Ireland if he stayed. We surely would have found another way not to!

It's a fair point expecting some compensation from AFL clubs for taking our players but if it ever did it'd be a goodwill gesture. Including taking LGFA players for AFLW. They're professional fora reason and they'd have to start compensating other sports teams outside of Australia if that was the case. Can't see that happening.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7376 - 16/10/2023 17:40:20    2508710