Jimmy's Coming Back!

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Talent wise, it is."
Absolutely it is. Pound for pound, player v player our current squad is as talented if not more so than 2012.
Just because you do not know the current players does not make them less talented. If McGuinness has every player available then he'll have a more talented squad than Derry, Armagh and as good as Tyrone.
Definitely as good as 2012.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 19/08/2023 11:39:56    2501281

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Absolutely it is. Pound for pound, player v player our current squad is as talented if not more so than 2012.
Just because you do not know the current players does not make them less talented. If McGuinness has every player available then he'll have a more talented squad than Derry, Armagh and as good as Tyrone.
Definitely as good as 2012."
I agree we have a great talent pool at the minute and hopefully the academy gets sorted too to keep the supply line going for the future.
I believe Jim will make a team of us again, talent is one thing, making the most of it is another story, I expect us to be fitter and stronger and raring to go by the time the league comes round though I don't think he'll be too worried about the league, focus should be on the group stages of the All Ireland series, I think we shouldn't bust a gut over Ulster either but the prize of bringing the Anglo Celt back to the hills again will be hard to ignore.
Can he persuade Michael to give it another year or two at FF for us? I believe he is still the best player in the county and the influence and strength he would bring to the FF line would be priceless.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 19/08/2023 13:21:09    2501291

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Absolutely it is. Pound for pound, player v player our current squad is as talented if not more so than 2012.
Definitely as good as 2012."
I totally disagree but that's just my opinion. Nobody from current team would make the full back line from 10 years ago. Then you have Lacey and McGlynn in half back line. Nobody is getting in ahead of them from current team. Neil Gallagher at midfield with Kavanagh, again nobody budging them. Up front is only real debate. Obviously McBrearty is a crossover. But nobody is shifting Colm McFadden and Mark McHugh in his pomp playing sweeper. Pound for pound that starting team from 11-15 is far better than today......in my opinion.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 19/08/2023 13:23:02    2501292

I didn't include Murphy simply because i wouldn't be massively shocked if he plays a part next year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 19/08/2023 13:28:43    2501294

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I totally disagree but that's just my opinion. Nobody from current team would make the full back line from 10 years ago. Then you have Lacey and McGlynn in half back line. Nobody is getting in ahead of them from current team. Neil Gallagher at midfield with Kavanagh, again nobody budging them. Up front is only real debate. Obviously McBrearty is a crossover. But nobody is shifting Colm McFadden and Mark McHugh in his pomp playing sweeper. Pound for pound that starting team from 11-15 is far better than today......in my opinion."
You're probably right. But I do think there is untapped potential in the current crop, a lot of whom were beaten in the 2014 All Ireland minor final, so the pedigree is definitely there. They are all coming into that prime age bracket now, 27 or 28. Definite similarities to the situation in 2010.

You have the spine of a very decent outfit, if all available and injury free. Patton, McCole, McMenamin, McFadden-Ferry, Ban Gallagher, McGee, McGonigle, O'Baoíll, Thompson, McHugh, McBrearty. Add the likes of Gallen, Mogan, the two O'Donnells, plus the newcomers from this year who showed well like McColgan, Curran and Doherty. Could Jim coax the mercurial MacNiallais back?

And of course, if we could convince the great man to give it one more whirl....

With a fair wind, and no disruptions like 2023, I see no reason why we shouldn't be targeting a last 8 appearance at least.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 19/08/2023 13:56:09    2501305

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I totally disagree but that's just my opinion. Nobody from current team would make the full back line from 10 years ago. Then you have Lacey and McGlynn in half back line. Nobody is getting in ahead of them from current team. Neil Gallagher at midfield with Kavanagh, again nobody budging them. Up front is only real debate. Obviously McBrearty is a crossover. But nobody is shifting Colm McFadden and Mark McHugh in his pomp playing sweeper. Pound for pound that starting team from 11-15 is far better than today......in my opinion."
You can't compare the two sets of players. The players MC Guinness had the last time were hardly known within the county, never mind outside of it. He made them household names. They had won nothing and no prospect of winning either. This current crop are probably a little bit ahead if anything but when push comes to shove they may not have the streak that the others had

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1684 - 19/08/2023 14:15:57    2501309

Replying To eoinog:  "You can't compare the two sets of players. The players MC Guinness had the last time were hardly known within the county, never mind outside of it. He made them household names. They had won nothing and no prospect of winning either. This current crop are probably a little bit ahead if anything but when push comes to shove they may not have the streak that the others had"
Grand then you should reply to those who are saying the current crop is more talented. Same rules apply.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 19/08/2023 14:34:42    2501311

Replying To Lockjaw:  "You're probably right. But I do think there is untapped potential in the current crop, a lot of whom were beaten in the 2014 All Ireland minor final, so the pedigree is definitely there. They are all coming into that prime age bracket now, 27 or 28. Definite similarities to the situation in 2010.

You have the spine of a very decent outfit, if all available and injury free. Patton, McCole, McMenamin, McFadden-Ferry, Ban Gallagher, McGee, McGonigle, O'Baoíll, Thompson, McHugh, McBrearty. Add the likes of Gallen, Mogan, the two O'Donnells, plus the newcomers from this year who showed well like McColgan, Curran and Doherty. Could Jim coax the mercurial MacNiallais back?

And of course, if we could convince the great man to give it one more whirl....

With a fair wind, and no disruptions like 2023, I see no reason why we shouldn't be targeting a last 8 appearance at least."
I agree there isn't much between the top 7 or 8 on any given day.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 19/08/2023 14:35:34    2501312

Replying To eoinog:  "You can't compare the two sets of players. The players MC Guinness had the last time were hardly known within the county, never mind outside of it. He made them household names. They had won nothing and no prospect of winning either. This current crop are probably a little bit ahead if anything but when push comes to shove they may not have the streak that the others had"
You're right. Talent is obviously necessary but to really punch through the glass ceiling you also need a bit of a nasty edge. Something the likes of the McGees, big Neil Gallagher, Ryan Bradley, Murphy etc definitely had.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 19/08/2023 14:38:43    2501313

Nonsense. Most had played in an All-Ireland U21 final narrowly pipped by Dublin.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 19/08/2023 14:57:38    2501317

Older players won league title (2007) and younger lads within crossbar width of an u21 title (2010). Lacey, McGlynn, Gallagher, McFadden and Murphy were useful players.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 19/08/2023 15:43:23    2501325

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Nonsense. Most had played in an All-Ireland U21 final narrowly pipped by Dublin."
According to google there was only about 4 players from the U.21 team that won the All Ireland in 2012. MC Grath, Murphy,McLoone, MC Hugh. Molloy was a sub.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1684 - 19/08/2023 16:00:41    2501326

The 2012 team from 9 up our current team is far better than the 2012 team with no disrespect. Ryan Bradley, Martin Mc Elhinney, Marty O Reilly, David and Declan Walsh, a young Paddy Mc B who didn't start the 14 final. Add in a young Ryan Mc Hugh and Odhran Mc N who both will likely be back next year if Jim is back. Ryan Kavanagh was a workhorse good for a point.

Then to compare we hade the two O Donnells, Mogan, Langan, Thompson, Gallan, an older Paddy, then Conor O Donnell, Aaron Doherty etc

If you asked the 2012 forwards and the current crop to line up at the 45m line and hit points, I know who I'd back. If the current crop could match the 2012 forwards in terms of their work rate and conditioning then I think we could have a serious forward line.

I hope it doesn't sound like I'm disrespecting the 2012 lads, just highlighting "talent wise" this group has more potential.

In terms of defense there's no denying that the two MC gees, Lacey and Frank havent been replaced but we do have players their who can be coached.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1143 - 19/08/2023 16:26:58    2501332

Replying To TheRock2121:  "The 2012 team from 9 up our current team is far better than the 2012 team with no disrespect. Ryan Bradley, Martin Mc Elhinney, Marty O Reilly, David and Declan Walsh, a young Paddy Mc B who didn't start the 14 final. Add in a young Ryan Mc Hugh and Odhran Mc N who both will likely be back next year if Jim is back. Ryan Kavanagh was a workhorse good for a point.

Then to compare we hade the two O Donnells, Mogan, Langan, Thompson, Gallan, an older Paddy, then Conor O Donnell, Aaron Doherty etc

If you asked the 2012 forwards and the current crop to line up at the 45m line and hit points, I know who I'd back. If the current crop could match the 2012 forwards in terms of their work rate and conditioning then I think we could have a serious forward line.

I hope it doesn't sound like I'm disrespecting the 2012 lads, just highlighting "talent wise" this group has more potential.

In terms of defense there's no denying that the two MC gees, Lacey and Frank havent been replaced but we do have players their who can be coached."
Murphy, McFadden, McHugh and McBrearty were 4 of the 6 starters in 2012, you are throwing out random names including non starters. Fair play to you if you think the current crop would keep those 4 out. There is some good potential in current group especially with Langan, O Donnell and Gallen. Anyway we are going round in circles.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 19/08/2023 16:39:33    2501335

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Murphy, McFadden, McHugh and McBrearty were 4 of the 6 starters in 2012, you are throwing out random names including non starters. Fair play to you if you think the current crop would keep those 4 out. There is some good potential in current group especially with Langan, O Donnell and Gallen. Anyway we are going round in circles."
Yeah potential is great and all. We've been talking about potential an awful lot in Donegal this last 5 years or so. There can be no more excuses now if Jim is back. Time to see if we can move up a level or two.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 19/08/2023 17:03:40    2501339

Please God let this be true..if it is I predict that Donegal will win ulster in 2 years time and Sam in 4 years..that's how highly I rate Jimmy.

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 168 - 19/08/2023 17:23:08    2501344

Had to give her a spin,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAjQrnImT_k

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 19/08/2023 17:23:16    2501345

Great if he returns. But I'd say best he could hope for is ulster and maybe all ire semis. Kerry and Dublin are too far ahead imo for the next 2/3 maybe 4 years. Also the brand of football that made Donegal the first time would be counteracted by those two teams. Would we expect to see a different type of football played under a second term ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/08/2023 19:18:07    2501360

Replying To Saynothing:  "Great news for Donegal, you'll enjoy your holiday even more now. I'd have liked Jimmy, Enda Mc Ginley and Stephen O Neill in the Tyrone job but there seems to be a closed shop in Tyrone county board."
Agree with your assessment

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 244 - 19/08/2023 19:59:24    2501366

Jim McGuinness has brains, will-to-win and authority. Won't stand for any nonsense from boards or players, which is what you need. Analyses the game brilliantly; his columns are always educational and original. We'd love to have him! Good to see him back anyway.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 244 - 19/08/2023 20:09:54    2501370