GAAGO

Sunday Independent Columnist Martin Brehony took some swipe at some rural dwelers with his comments about the Gaa GAA Go debacle.. Is there anything sacred anymore??

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 11/05/2023 21:30:46    2477745

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "Sunday Independent Columnist Martin Brehony took some swipe at some rural dwelers with his comments about the Gaa GAA Go debacle.. Is there anything sacred anymore??"
Take no notice of him. He is past his sell by date and is only trying to stay relevant.

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 13/05/2023 12:01:32    2478031

Replying To KnockaineyAbú:  "Take no notice of him. He is past his sell by date and is only trying to stay relevant."
Your 100% correct Knockainey Abu and normally I'd ignore but I have also just read Tommy Conlon in today's Indo.. Thats 2 big articles in the same national paper in a week which are on the one side.. Did the Indo not invite 2 from the other side??
Conlon has today also made some very condescending remarks about the very people; who have already paid up to 3 times for TV privelages and are still forced to pay yet again.. No 1. a TV licence, No. 2 their taxpayers money as RTE is state subsided and No 3 in a lot of cases people have a basic TV package with sky, eir etc.. and yes no 4 Gaa Go.. Its nothing short of scandalous and is clearly a cosy cartel between RTE & the GAA. There are 2 channels.. Rte 1 & RTÉ 2 which could have been put to better use last weekend instead of watching a meaningless coronation..
Peasants, the old man on the hill, if you're from Longford Carlow or Wicklow it probably won't matter etc. etc. are some of the lines trotted out.. Both of these men have shown where their loyalties lie and total disregard for the footsoldiers of our organisation..
They should come down the country or into any urban area any evening and see these men and women, line pitches, cut grass, coach teams, feed players and get them out of screens for a few hours a day..Watch these people direct traffic at wakes, funerals etc, run fundraisers, sell lotto, the list goes on for miles.. There is hardly a bad pitch left in most counties purely down the the sacrifices and selfless work carried by these volunteers.. Lads if you loose these people which is edging ever closer then we loose the very guts of our Association. It will take a lot more than a GaaGo subscription to replace them.
Tommy and Martin yee are up to date with technology as it is in your everyday jobs and yee are familiar with it.. A lot of people work damn hard all day at jobs without technology and they simply don't have the time or the knowledge to keep up with the "times" yee are talking about.. And to take a swipe at politicians saying they are using this as political gain beggars belief.. How can Michael Martin or any other politician even win on this one?? Dónal Óg also got the wrap amongst others.
Money is rotting our organisation from the inside out inch by inch and RTE now want a slice of the pie. Both columnists have lost contact with reality with their views and have forgotten that both have jobs that rely on the very ethos of the GAA. As the say eaten bread is soon forgotten.
Both articles are condescending, very disrespectful and to sum it up disgraceful. I'm beginning to wonder if the indo have their tenticles somewhere in this.

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 14/05/2023 14:21:26    2478324

Just to change tack a wee bit, GAAGO itself is very poor value for money. I live in the US so it's the only option I have. I'm from Galway and while some county's club championships got coverage most didn't including Galway. This combined with the shortened championship meant I got about 4 months viewing out of a 12 month subscription. Now sure if they have the same model in Ireland but here in the US you have to commit to a 12 month contract up front; which if you break they hold the right to deny you future subscriptions. In this time of inflation and high costs of living its nothing short of a racket. Most likely won't subscribe next year (which no doubt will mean Galway will get the double and I'll miss it all!).

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 14/05/2023 17:14:47    2478381

Replying To festinog:  "Just to change tack a wee bit, GAAGO itself is very poor value for money. I live in the US so it's the only option I have. I'm from Galway and while some county's club championships got coverage most didn't including Galway. This combined with the shortened championship meant I got about 4 months viewing out of a 12 month subscription. Now sure if they have the same model in Ireland but here in the US you have to commit to a 12 month contract up front; which if you break they hold the right to deny you future subscriptions. In this time of inflation and high costs of living its nothing short of a racket. Most likely won't subscribe next year (which no doubt will mean Galway will get the double and I'll miss it all!)."
I like your thinking..Youd never know yous might do one half of that this year!!

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 14/05/2023 18:25:35    2478419

Am I missing something with this Gaa go stuff??when was the decision made for tipp/Waterford to be shown by them??I only heard it's on this morning..they are also showing 3 football matches over the weekend..RTÉ are using news channel for the under 17 soccer on Saturday night..could it not be used to show tipp/Waterford??I don't see a sign of Wexford/killkenny being shown anywhere..the last round in football league tg4 showed what was happening in all games and how the table was changing in the course of the day..I'm baffled by all this coverage with little explanation of how fixtures are allocated..maybe I'm a small bit thick..Sunday fixture of wex/kk is surely a more important game than gal/dub??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2220 - 24/05/2023 19:13:03    2481364

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Am I missing something with this Gaa go stuff??when was the decision made for tipp/Waterford to be shown by them??I only heard it's on this morning..they are also showing 3 football matches over the weekend..RTÉ are using news channel for the under 17 soccer on Saturday night..could it not be used to show tipp/Waterford??I don't see a sign of Wexford/killkenny being shown anywhere..the last round in football league tg4 showed what was happening in all games and how the table was changing in the course of the day..I'm baffled by all this coverage with little explanation of how fixtures are allocated..maybe I'm a small bit thick..Sunday fixture of wex/kk is surely a more important game than gal/dub??"
Couple of points:

The schedule for GAA coverage was outlined back in early April:
https://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2023/0405/1375402-more-live-gaa-games-digital-highlights-on-rte-in-2023/

Said even then that for this coming Sunday, one of the final round Munster matches would be on RTE, and the other on GAA GO. It's obviously been decided just this week that Cork v Limerick is the more significant and therefore the one to be shown on RTE, since the loser will be out of the championship, so for both sides, their whole season depends on this match.

As for Leinster...was always the case that one of the matches would be shown on RTE, and the other wouldn't be shown at all. You might disagree, but has obviously been decided here that Galway v Dublin is more significant, since it will decide the Leinster finalists.

Don't be fooled that it's a foregone conclusion by how the table says score difference of Kilkenny +45, Galway +59, and Dublin just +8. If Kilkenny get a result against Wexford (and as a Wexford man myself, I greatly fear that they will), then any win at all for Dublin will put them into the final as they'd have the head-to-head against Galway.

Even if Kilkenny lose and the three teams finish on 7 points, it's still not a foregone conclusion. Remember the new rule that if three or more teams finish level on points, it's only the score difference in the matches between them that counts.

In that "mini league", Kilkenny are +6, Galway are 0, and Dublin are -6. Means that Dublin winning by four points would put them into the final as well.

You're right that Wexford v Kilkenny is important in all sorts of unexpected ways, but as regards the "business end" of the championship, Galway v Dublin is much more significant.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 24/05/2023 22:42:01    2481385

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Am I missing something with this Gaa go stuff??when was the decision made for tipp/Waterford to be shown by them??I only heard it's on this morning..they are also showing 3 football matches over the weekend..RTÉ are using news channel for the under 17 soccer on Saturday night..could it not be used to show tipp/Waterford??I don't see a sign of Wexford/killkenny being shown anywhere..the last round in football league tg4 showed what was happening in all games and how the table was changing in the course of the day..I'm baffled by all this coverage with little explanation of how fixtures are allocated..maybe I'm a small bit thick..Sunday fixture of wex/kk is surely a more important game than gal/dub??"
They need to have GAAGO games that people are willing to pay for rather than put them live on RTE or TG4 and only have GAAGO games that people have very little interest in watching live.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 27/05/2023 17:19:59    2481954

As far as I know they have shown most of the hurling matches that they are going to show by this weekend. They were only scheduled to show 9 hurling games.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 27/05/2023 19:53:13    2482002

My GAAgo keeps freezing ever since British Telecom "upgraded" my internet connection.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 223 - 27/05/2023 21:55:21    2482039

Replying To PattyONeill:  "My GAAgo keeps freezing ever since British Telecom "upgraded" my internet connection."
Keep it beside the fire.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 27/05/2023 22:51:08    2482048

Replying To PattyONeill:  "My GAAgo keeps freezing ever since British Telecom "upgraded" my internet connection."
Feckin Brits with their dodgy telecoms......

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 28/05/2023 10:57:42    2482097

Replying To festinog:  "Just to change tack a wee bit, GAAGO itself is very poor value for money. I live in the US so it's the only option I have. I'm from Galway and while some county's club championships got coverage most didn't including Galway. This combined with the shortened championship meant I got about 4 months viewing out of a 12 month subscription. Now sure if they have the same model in Ireland but here in the US you have to commit to a 12 month contract up front; which if you break they hold the right to deny you future subscriptions. In this time of inflation and high costs of living its nothing short of a racket. Most likely won't subscribe next year (which no doubt will mean Galway will get the double and I'll miss it all!)."
I am very happy with it. I live in Canada and have been getting the annual pass for a few years. This year I will end up watching at least 30 live championship games as well as plenty of league games and the closing stages of the club championships. All that for 120 euros is great value as far as I'm concerned. In past years there were occasional technical problems but this year there have been absolutely no issues so far.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 28/05/2023 14:54:53    2482164

Watched my first live game, Roscommon v Dublin today. Stream during the match was fine but after the fulltime whistle they took an add break and never came back.

Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 28/05/2023 20:07:58    2482318

I see they are not showing any more live games in the UK this year. subscribers in GB are rightly angry having paid a yearly subscription but GAAGO are not showing either the hurling or football semi-finals or finals.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/07/2023 23:11:33    2492773

Replying To s goldrick:  "I see they are not showing any more live games in the UK this year. subscribers in GB are rightly angry having paid a yearly subscription but GAAGO are not showing either the hurling or football semi-finals or finals."
I think BBCNI are showing the 4 AI semi finals, but yes, there should be online coverage also

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 07/07/2023 10:38:40    2492824

Replying To s goldrick:  "I see they are not showing any more live games in the UK this year. subscribers in GB are rightly angry having paid a yearly subscription but GAAGO are not showing either the hurling or football semi-finals or finals."
So does that mean anyone outside of Ireland (and we have been told umpteen times how great this is for overseas GAA people) pay a yearly subscription but dont get to see the 6 biggest games of the year for their subscription?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1341 - 07/07/2023 10:57:19    2492833

Nonsense. GAAGO with be showing plenty of live club games (County, Provincial and All-Ireland) this summer and autumn.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2476 - 07/07/2023 10:58:04    2492835

Replying To eoghan6688:  "I think BBCNI are showing the 4 AI semi finals, but yes, there should be online coverage also"
I'll be watching BBC so, says something when an Irish man would rather watch british tv than the broadcast from that shower we are forced to subsidise in Dublin.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 07/07/2023 11:16:38    2492840

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Nonsense. GAAGO with be showing plenty of live club games (County, Provincial and All-Ireland) this summer and autumn."
Is that part of the annual pass for you in UK CC?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 07/07/2023 12:56:47    2492887