Limerick Hurling thread 2023

Replying To CTGAA10:  "As I said it was only my opinion..I will always support the teams as much as possible,and if it leads to another all ireland..brilliant.."
Fair play. These trips are paid for by player led funding like the car draw before Christmas

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 02/03/2023 16:05:16    2461449

Replying To daveboy:  "5 proper pitch sessions in 5 days. Multiple video analysis sessions and gym work and bonding. Tipp were doing warm weather camps pre championship 10-15 years ago. Waterford are abroad too. This is nothing new"
correct i was on a plane to faro in portugal and the waterford team were also on board justin mccarthy was sitting next to me so that will tell how long ago this trip was it is nothing new

hillman (Limerick) - Posts: 26 - 02/03/2023 18:58:59    2461492

Replying To skillet:  "I wonder if it's a bit of jealousy!? They had a fantastic team for a good 8/10 years and one all Ireland is a poor return for the quality players they had.
We stopped them doing 2 in a row and have turned into the dominant team they could have been. Pure speculation but it might explain how nuts this Limerick team make some of them."
Yes indeed. I agree. The vast majority of Galway supporters, and indeed of Galwegians are fine decent sporting people. As everywhere, there are a few Maroon cranks, who cannot take their beating. God help them.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 03/03/2023 11:31:13    2461547

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see in examiner today that our boys heading to Portugal on a warm weather training camp.i can't see the point myself but who am into to know the benefits..it's going to be another stick to beat limerick with..my opinion is at a time when people have to watch what and where they spend the money,our hurlers heading to the sun..it doesn't look great..if all ireland is won again it will be forgotten.."
Did Aaron Gillane go?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1918 - 03/03/2023 13:08:39    2461571

Replying To Bon:  "Did Aaron Gillane go?"
Hopefully he's househunting in Wexford Bon; )

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 03/03/2023 13:34:36    2461577

I enjoyed the saunter up to Salthill although the traffic was predictable shocking. I started arguing with a Galway supporter if Hayes was a red card or not as the incident took place right in front of me before finally allowing reality on the pitch overcome my bias and finally conceded that it was a red card as I left the stadium. He has got to cut that out of his game. He's a high profile player and he's always going to be in the spot light.

I'm really happy with how the majority of the players performed. I'm very satisfied with Shane O'Brien who looks to have the physicality to survive in our full forward line. I though both Morrissey's. Peter Casey, our entire full back line were excellent. Both midfielders did very well and Cian is getting back to himself. Pretty much everybody including Barry at half back played well although I thought that Flanagan is not yet at 100%

The background noise is that Limerick are better than at the same time last year which is evidently true. They were awful for a lot of the league last year but we all know that the league is a dystopian environment. What you see may not be true. The chattering classes are adamant that Limerick are well ahead of the posse and I agree with that. Teams are approaching Limerick unlike anything that we've experienced in previous years and it's kind of strange.

There seems to be two schools of thought as to how Limerick could be beaten. One is to go all out press and try to score a number of goals. The other is to set deep and force Limerick to shoot from distance and hope that you can get enough frees and maybe a goal to keep you in the game. I reckon we'll see both approaches in the Munster championship. Having Gillane back is important particularly in the context of the All Out Attack approach because of the goal threat that he brings and I have every confidence that he'll be 100% ready for Waterford at the start of the Munster championship.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 03/03/2023 14:04:01    2461592

Replying To Dealer:  "I enjoyed the saunter up to Salthill although the traffic was predictable shocking. I started arguing with a Galway supporter if Hayes was a red card or not as the incident took place right in front of me before finally allowing reality on the pitch overcome my bias and finally conceded that it was a red card as I left the stadium. He has got to cut that out of his game. He's a high profile player and he's always going to be in the spot light.

I'm really happy with how the majority of the players performed. I'm very satisfied with Shane O'Brien who looks to have the physicality to survive in our full forward line. I though both Morrissey's. Peter Casey, our entire full back line were excellent. Both midfielders did very well and Cian is getting back to himself. Pretty much everybody including Barry at half back played well although I thought that Flanagan is not yet at 100%

The background noise is that Limerick are better than at the same time last year which is evidently true. They were awful for a lot of the league last year but we all know that the league is a dystopian environment. What you see may not be true. The chattering classes are adamant that Limerick are well ahead of the posse and I agree with that. Teams are approaching Limerick unlike anything that we've experienced in previous years and it's kind of strange.

There seems to be two schools of thought as to how Limerick could be beaten. One is to go all out press and try to score a number of goals. The other is to set deep and force Limerick to shoot from distance and hope that you can get enough frees and maybe a goal to keep you in the game. I reckon we'll see both approaches in the Munster championship. Having Gillane back is important particularly in the context of the All Out Attack approach because of the goal threat that he brings and I have every confidence that he'll be 100% ready for Waterford at the start of the Munster championship."
Dealer's post reminded me, that we have had some great days out so far on the train this year following the Green and White (with Cork and Galway matches working out).
Was a healthy 60+ Limerick supporters took that option last Sunday. Thankfully "the slab of beer at 10 in the morning" travelling support haven't appeared in the carriages yet. Some great chats up and down with other supporters. Worth keeping in mind for Waterford & Tipp away matches in Munster as travel tickets are on sale already.
Unfortunately it will have to be car for Mullingar and I wonder what team we will see, expect to see many rested but I presume those who have been late back like Barry Nash, Byrnes, AG (?) and even Cian Lynch might be on starting line up to get game time into them.

ancientrush (Limerick) - Posts: 24 - 03/03/2023 17:48:10    2461660

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see in examiner today that our boys heading to Portugal on a warm weather training camp.i can't see the point myself but who am into to know the benefits..it's going to be another stick to beat limerick with..my opinion is at a time when people have to watch what and where they spend the money,our hurlers heading to the sun..it doesn't look great..if all ireland is won again it will be forgotten.."
I don't see anything wrong with it, these guys make huge sacrifices to get to where they are in life and effectively dedicate themselves to the game for most of their young lives with very little reward, They generate far, far more money than they cost. A week away together to bond with zero distractions and discuss tactics and train hard and breath warm dry sea air sounds nothing but beneficial to me. Let the small minded begrudgers think what they like they have a job to do and are focused on that.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 390 - 06/03/2023 12:23:10    2462244

Sunday should be an interesting selection. I think David Mccarthy will get a 2nd start. I'll assume he'll rest Finn and might take a look at Dan 3 or maybe give Richie English another go there. Fergal o Connor deserves a start here too as he looked very assured v clare till he got his bang. I think Nash might start too.

Colin Coughlin and Byrnes haven't started yet so I'd assume we'll se both in the HB line . If Hannon still isnt right and Dan is put in FB could we see some experimentation with Cathal o Neill at 6?? A position I've thought he might enjoy for a while now.

Midfield might see DoD rested and whether Reidy or Murphy is fit they might get a run. Adam English could be looked at here also.

The HF line will see likes of Boylan and possibly Cathal o Neill (if not in at 6) and maybe Lynch again for minutes. Donncha o Dalaigh will get a start in FF line possibly with Shane o Brien again. It'll be interesting to see who also starts in FF line and who might get minutes here. Flanagan not quote firing and Casey getting back to speed but we know what these lads give us.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 08/03/2023 15:41:03    2462812

Replying To daveboy:  "Sunday should be an interesting selection. I think David Mccarthy will get a 2nd start. I'll assume he'll rest Finn and might take a look at Dan 3 or maybe give Richie English another go there. Fergal o Connor deserves a start here too as he looked very assured v clare till he got his bang. I think Nash might start too.

Colin Coughlin and Byrnes haven't started yet so I'd assume we'll se both in the HB line . If Hannon still isnt right and Dan is put in FB could we see some experimentation with Cathal o Neill at 6?? A position I've thought he might enjoy for a while now.

Midfield might see DoD rested and whether Reidy or Murphy is fit they might get a run. Adam English could be looked at here also.

The HF line will see likes of Boylan and possibly Cathal o Neill (if not in at 6) and maybe Lynch again for minutes. Donncha o Dalaigh will get a start in FF line possibly with Shane o Brien again. It'll be interesting to see who also starts in FF line and who might get minutes here. Flanagan not quote firing and Casey getting back to speed but we know what these lads give us."
Agree will be interested to see the selection. I think a League Semi Final and if we get to a Final can be very helpful to get minutes into lads. Thinking here Byrnes, Hannon, WOD and Lynch here. Competitive tough games always worth more then training.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 09/03/2023 11:13:41    2462929

Replying To Southsham:  "Agree will be interested to see the selection. I think a League Semi Final and if we get to a Final can be very helpful to get minutes into lads. Thinking here Byrnes, Hannon, WOD and Lynch here. Competitive tough games always worth more then training."
I'd agree i think the latter parts of the league will be targeted. Kiely has so many options right now he needs matches to get a right look at everyone and in cases certain players in different positions. Hannon Byrnes Nash Casey WoD Gillane will all like a few more matches to sharpen up and a competitive league semi and final is as good as anything really. They have the depth to mix and match if they get to the final 4 of the league

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 09/03/2023 16:40:31    2463032

Replying To daveboy:  "I'd agree i think the latter parts of the league will be targeted. Kiely has so many options right now he needs matches to get a right look at everyone and in cases certain players in different positions. Hannon Byrnes Nash Casey WoD Gillane will all like a few more matches to sharpen up and a competitive league semi and final is as good as anything really. They have the depth to mix and match if they get to the final 4 of the league"
Does anyone know if Gillane will be back?

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 10/03/2023 10:15:06    2463118

Replying To Southsham:  "Does anyone know if Gillane will be back?"
No doubt he will, just a question of when

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 10/03/2023 10:55:53    2463131

gillane is back he was on the training camp in portugal.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1103 - 10/03/2023 13:19:44    2463188

Team for Westmeath be interesting , has to be a day for others on the panel to get a chance

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 678 - 10/03/2023 14:11:05    2463210

So gillane is back which is great,also o neill back which is giving kiely more options..good also to see mike Casey in the 26..a lot of fellas getting a chance to make a push for starting place and a place on panel for match day..looks like options are getting better..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2234 - 10/03/2023 21:32:41    2463285

Replying To CTGAA10:  "So gillane is back which is great,also o neill back which is giving kiely more options..good also to see mike Casey in the 26..a lot of fellas getting a chance to make a push for starting place and a place on panel for match day..looks like options are getting better.."
Ye have enough options!
The worrying thing from everyone else's perspective is that this is arguably Limericks best panel - for me it comfortably is. He has blooded more players than he has ever done since his first year this year I'd say and most of them already look physically up to it. A freak result is all that beats Lim this year. They've proven last year they can beat anyone without two top players so injuries are unlikely to derail them. I would have always said Hannon and Lynch are by far your most important players but I'd say maybe Quaid is now given his understudy wouldn't have played championship. The rest can be replaced and not be hugely missed.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/03/2023 09:42:03    2463464

Westmeath to win by 5

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 271 - 12/03/2023 14:01:53    2463506

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "Westmeath to win by 5"
5? Was thinking 10-15 myself;)

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 12/03/2023 14:10:00    2463508

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "5? Was thinking 10-15 myself;)"
We're short a few regulars

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 271 - 12/03/2023 14:18:12    2463512