2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread

Replying To Ollie2:  "Ah the more matches in Croke Park the better. Especially club matches."
Makes absolutely no sense whatsoever… Club finals been played there adds to the occasion but semi's should be nowhere near the place….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1924 - 11/01/2023 18:32:56    2452096

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Madness playing these games in Croke Park…. Just as it was playing the club semifinals there..it totally takes away from the Finals.."
I'd say the players from the club semis would disagree. They got to play their games on the best surface possible and for quite a few of them, they got to play in Croke Park for the first time.
There have been club semi-finals played on some awful surfaces in recent years, which isn't fitting of the occasion.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 11/01/2023 18:39:28    2452099

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Makes absolutely no sense whatsoever… Club finals been played there adds to the occasion but semi's should be nowhere near the place…."
ForeverBlue the more semi finals in Croke Park, the better.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 12/01/2023 09:37:21    2452119

It works as a double header as there is a bit of a crowd. I don't see why the Leinster club teams should have that advantage before All Ireland club semis. Kilmacud played Leinster Semi and final in Croke Park.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 12/01/2023 10:25:47    2452133

Well lads/ladies/they

What do you think of the first day out against the aul pillow cases?

Looking forward to it. It'll be great to get back out to support.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/01/2023 14:44:11    2454213

Can't wait Jimbo, the hunger is back :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 25/01/2023 16:34:00    2454247

Replying To realdub:  "Can't wait Jimbo, the hunger is back :D"
Absolutely Realdub

It's intriguing with Gilroy back in the fold too.

Was that all confirmed?

If he's back, you know well what a serious operator he is, he's not going to commit that sort of time for the laugh, substantial to have him back if he is indeed back.

Dublin weren't far away at all last year, had the AI Champions in all sorts of bother once again, with a little bit of luck this time they won't be far away.

Hopefully injuries are kinder to boot. Completely dismantled what was looking like an impressive bit of momentum, Con was unmarkable.

But first things first, need to find a couple of new faces and get Jack a bit of top end game time. See where he's at..

Dubs brought some hugely encouraging younger lads into the fold last year, hoping to see them kick on now.

But there has to be some serious eye of the tiger vibes in that panel after the last couple of semi-final defeats, that's what you need.

Also I hear that an Elon Musk backed Qatari consortium will be sponsoring the Dubs soon enough ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/01/2023 16:58:09    2454254

Gilroy has taken over the Vinnies hurlers. Maybe he's helping the footballers too,

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 25/01/2023 17:53:09    2454269

Yeh I'm not sure Jimbo, it's a while since I spoke to Pat. Hopefully.
Dublin performed better v Kerry last year than I thought they would.
But I think Kerrys fear of losing to us again, nearly got the better of them, I doubt they'll carry that this year. But we'll cause some bother along the way.
I'm in very patient humour after what achieved last decade. But we WILL be back!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 25/01/2023 20:30:13    2454302

Looking forward to Meath getting a craic at the dubs in Navan in March, as you can iagine croke park in summer vs Dublin has become the equivalent of Lough Derg pilgimage for Meath fans in last 10 years, all were missing is having to do it in bare feet with bread and water! it will be an odd occasion with a lot of Dublin fans travelling maybe 15 mins to game in from Johnstown and others from Trim, Ashbourne, Ratoath, Dunshaulglin. The daddys in Dublin gear and the kids in Meath gear!
All said it will benefit the pubs and restauraunts in Navan well anyway. if only we could get Leinster semi finals with dubs back to navan. Who remembers 1995 and 1996 when they played 4 big championship matches there? and probabaly more fans then than now

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 25/01/2023 20:33:48    2454303

Looking forward the league more than ever maybe its playing different teams in division 2 games

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 26/01/2023 10:23:09    2454351

Replying To dickie10:  "Looking forward to Meath getting a craic at the dubs in Navan in March, as you can iagine croke park in summer vs Dublin has become the equivalent of Lough Derg pilgimage for Meath fans in last 10 years, all were missing is having to do it in bare feet with bread and water! it will be an odd occasion with a lot of Dublin fans travelling maybe 15 mins to game in from Johnstown and others from Trim, Ashbourne, Ratoath, Dunshaulglin. The daddys in Dublin gear and the kids in Meath gear!
All said it will benefit the pubs and restauraunts in Navan well anyway. if only we could get Leinster semi finals with dubs back to navan. Who remembers 1995 and 1996 when they played 4 big championship matches there? and probabaly more fans then than now"
The two games in Navan in 1995 were great days. Louth and Laois. It is a great town for a game and perfectly sized too for the crowds that came in those days. I also remember pretty inconsequential league games (as if there were any!) in 80s when the place would be jammed. And the three sides grassy banks. Must have been well over 30,000?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 26/01/2023 11:33:25    2454369

As a Louth man, this Division is going to be super hard for us I believe

Clare up first away, expecting nothing Solid Div 2 outfit this years who seem a level above us but never say never. Id imagine Mickey Harte will be targeting a result here
Derry at home, I cant see anything other than a Derry win (unless they have a hangover from last yr)
Limerick at home. We need to win this no excuses if we have any hope of staying up
Meath in Navan, If we have 2 pts on board from first 3 games, this will be crucial to us although I feel Meath are a level above us too
Kildare at home, We seem to perform well against Kildare (Baring last years champ but i feel Louth put everything into league last yr more so than champ) so will def be targeting 2 pts
Cork at home. Not expecting anything
Dublin away, even if Dubs are promoted and play 2nd team they will beat us easily imo

Max 6 points possibly 0

Bring on Ennis the weekend. Decent crowd heading down as its the only long trip we have

DundalkGael (Louth) - Posts: 892 - 26/01/2023 17:48:41    2454461

Absolutely cant wait for Div 2, its an absolute breath of fresh air to be away from the same games year in year out of Div 1 that we've played so many times.

Hope we go all experimental and blood and further blood lads - Div 2 i think is huge opportunity for us developmentally, i dont mean that in arrogant way i really dont mind staying down here for a few years.

Booked up for PUC, but cant wait for the Gaelic Grounds next week after breaking the ice at home tomorrow.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/01/2023 14:23:53    2454577

surprised dublin have such a strong team out for 1st game in league, suppose ye dont want to be beat by lildare of all counties

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 28/01/2023 17:00:13    2454770

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "surprised dublin have such a strong team out for 1st game in league, suppose ye dont want to be beat by lildare of all counties"
Ye could be right, I know its Div 2 but it was important for us to win that game this evening.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 28/01/2023 20:34:12    2454806

Started well but some hairy moments near the end when Kildare might easily have gotten a goal. Several chances at easy enough scores to kill off the game and some shot selection that would have earned a chap a very early call to the line by Jimmy Gavin.

Was impressed by Kildare. Obviously been doing some serious bulking up and far more intense and aggresssive than in recent years. Like Dublin they lack scoring forwards, and a real goal threat.

What did Ryan get a yellow for at the start of second half? Haven't watched on TV so not sure if it was picked up?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 29/01/2023 10:08:04    2454868

Derry cruised to victory yesterday without ever really hitting top gear. Missed a good few chances too. Won't have learned a whole lot. Was very disappointed with Limerick, they'd need to improve quickly if they hope to stay in the division.

oakleaflad (Derry) - Posts: 46 - 29/01/2023 10:42:42    2454876

Hard fought win
Some poor misses but Kildare will feel like they left that one behind

It's an old saying in football, to not play well but still win the game is always good.

That game will help to bring the Dubs on, very competitive and as a supporter very happy with the effort shown and a valuable couple of points against one of the Divisions better teams

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/01/2023 18:02:09    2455026

Limerick up next

Tough game ahead and an interesting away trip for the footballers, fine stadium.

It's not a pairing that we get to see often, Hopefully the tough opening game against Kildare will stand to them but after what was a very difficult game, we'll see what Dublin's legs are like the following weekend and if there was much heavy training this week

Weather will always play a bit part at this time of year, but again as a supporter it's great to have another interesting pairing and an away trip to what is a fine stadium.

Hopefully it'll be Dublin by 3+ but wouldn't be at all surprised if it's another hard fought win

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/01/2023 12:07:54    2455484