Meath Clubs In Leinster

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "
Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Dunshaughlin won't win the intermediate championship this year. Fact. Watch this space.

[I
Nannys Bar will be the place to be on saturday night. Duleek by 3-4 points.

[I
Wont get past the first round of leinster. Standard was atrocious.

Just as you predicted?"]Once again,with ratoath in senior and dunshaughlin today, meath club football is well below par. Maybe in ten years time we might have a club team win a leinster"]i suspect very little engaging wit You today Patrick. and in fairness some guys may have gone a bit hard on you when you posted originally, so you've been waiting for this, but i hope in time it all calms down and we look at these things reasonably

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 03/12/2022 16:18:16    2449434

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "
Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Dunshaughlin won't win the intermediate championship this year. Fact. Watch this space.

[I
Nannys Bar will be the place to be on saturday night. Duleek by 3-4 points.

[I
Wont get past the first round of leinster. Standard was atrocious.

Just as you predicted?"]Once again,with ratoath in senior and dunshaughlin today, meath club football is well below par. Maybe in ten years time we might have a club team win a leinster"]Castletown won junior today, Curraha in '15. Trim, Cilles and Ratoath all won the intermediate in the last 10 years. Meath clubs will always be competitive at junior and intermediate bur it will take a special club to make the break through at senior

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 03/12/2022 16:19:00    2449435

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Got to agree with this. If the Kildare champions and a Cooley team who also were senior not too long ago didn't get within an ***** roar of Dunshaughlin then I don't give the Wexford fellas a chance."
This post will age well.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 03/12/2022 20:59:52    2449461

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "This post will age well."
Was such a weird post and very ignorant. You'd think people would know by now not to align the standard of a county team with the standard of a club county championship team - Eire Og, Rathnew, Baltinglass have had legendary cub teams yet Carlow and Wicklow weren't very competitive at the time despite having a top club team. Nobody ever judged Portlaoise by how well Laois were doing. Or recently Kilcoo with how Down are doing. I could go on…

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 04/12/2022 11:10:25    2449471

Only read some of the posts here regarding Dunslauglin, haven't aged well at all, agree that the county teams standing doesn't tell the full picture, 2 of Fethard's best players yesterday are actually on the Wexford hurling panel.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 04/12/2022 14:03:42    2449480

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Only read some of the posts here regarding Dunslauglin, haven't aged well at all, agree that the county teams standing doesn't tell the full picture, 2 of Fethard's best players yesterday are actually on the Wexford hurling panel."
Listen the talk all week was the semi final clash dunshaughlin would have against rathmore of kerry. They be-littled fethard. Hats off to the wexford men. Dunshaughlin only down from meath senior & now senior again coulnt beat poor auld fethard (hurling) club.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 04/12/2022 15:52:57    2449494

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "Listen the talk all week was the semi final clash dunshaughlin would have against rathmore of kerry. They be-littled fethard. Hats off to the wexford men. Dunshaughlin only down from meath senior & now senior again coulnt beat poor auld fethard (hurling) club."
Their traditionally a football club but more a dual club these days.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 04/12/2022 16:18:19    2449500

Fair play to Castletown, great performance winning 3 games on the road and comprehensive victories in all 3 matches too. It's great to see a club with a good tradition getting back to Intermediate grade with a team that has plenty of good young players in their squad. Congratulations to the players, management and all club officials.

Royal_Rover (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 04/12/2022 17:13:19    2449503

Well done to Castletown. Always good to see Meath clubs win provincials. The influx of McConnell, Smith and Matthew's seems to have reignited the whole team. As for Dunshauglin that loss is a kick in the teeth having been such favourites

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 05/12/2022 10:38:07    2449542

I'll hold my hands up and say I got the Dunshaughlin game completely wrong. I would have been confident putting money on them.

Spoke to a friend from Wexford last night and he said Fethard were playing senior football up until 2021 and made a senior final in 2013 which is more than Dunshaughlin.

It will be a hard one for Dunshaughlin to take, they put all their eggs in Leinster and neglected the u20 championship which they would have been very close to winning. It has been an amazing year for them but they made 3 finals (first team only) and only came away with 1 trophy and would have had a very good chance in the u20. Fine margins in what could have been 4 from 4.

That said, it has been a tough weekend for them and my condolences to the Kealy family.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 05/12/2022 12:26:28    2449560

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "I'll hold my hands up and say I got the Dunshaughlin game completely wrong. I would have been confident putting money on them.

Spoke to a friend from Wexford last night and he said Fethard were playing senior football up until 2021 and made a senior final in 2013 which is more than Dunshaughlin.

It will be a hard one for Dunshaughlin to take, they put all their eggs in Leinster and neglected the u20 championship which they would have been very close to winning. It has been an amazing year for them but they made 3 finals (first team only) and only came away with 1 trophy and would have had a very good chance in the u20. Fine margins in what could have been 4 from 4.

That said, it has been a tough weekend for them and my condolences to the Kealy family."
Fethard were senior from the mid 90s until 2021, no team got relegated from senior in 2020 due to covid so 2 got relegated last year, I was at their relegation game and they buckled under the pressure dominated the game but couldn't put the ball over the bar or in the net, it's a big achievement for them as there missing 3-4 lads abroad who would have started on Saturday along with a wing forward who put off keyhole knee surgery until after the county final and missed the leinster campaign, also the 1 sub they brought on in the game started all the wexford championship games travelling over and back from Portugal, Saturday was the 1st time he figured in the Leinster campaign. Condolences to all in the club on the bereavement I'm sure was a huge cloud over everything at the weekend.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 05/12/2022 15:07:00    2449581

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "I'll hold my hands up and say I got the Dunshaughlin game completely wrong. I would have been confident putting money on them.

That said, it has been a tough weekend for them and my condolences to the Kealy family."
Dunshaughlin were also playing Senior up until 2021 and reached a Senior final in 2011, very similar to Fethard...

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 05/12/2022 18:55:16    2449603

Credit to Fethard. Great performance. I was wrong in my prediction. I think dropping two of Dunshaughlin's best players cost them dearly. Speaking to a couple of my friends involved in the club, there's a lot of people unhappy with that decision. But the result was quickly forgotten with the sad news in the village over the weekend. Sometimes we have to realise that football doesn't really matter

Tinchy1 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 06/12/2022 09:06:55    2449609

Replying To Tinchy1:  "Credit to Fethard. Great performance. I was wrong in my prediction. I think dropping two of Dunshaughlin's best players cost them dearly. Speaking to a couple of my friends involved in the club, there's a lot of people unhappy with that decision. But the result was quickly forgotten with the sad news in the village over the weekend. Sometimes we have to realise that football doesn't really matter"
Are the players not basically contractually obliged to play for the college team as they are presumably on scholarships? Even if they wanted to skip the college game they may not have been able to. If Dunshaughlin were underdogs for the game there is no way the two players would have been dropped. Also Wednesday to Saturday is enough time to recover from a game surely.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 06/12/2022 09:41:57    2449612

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Dunshaughlin were also playing Senior up until 2021 and reached a Senior final in 2011, very similar to Fethard..."
Forgot that, did they bring Summerhill to a replay?

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 06/12/2022 11:22:16    2449628

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Are the players not basically contractually obliged to play for the college team as they are presumably on scholarships? Even if they wanted to skip the college game they may not have been able to. If Dunshaughlin were underdogs for the game there is no way the two players would have been dropped. Also Wednesday to Saturday is enough time to recover from a game surely."
Your not wrong. Sounds like the management team just got it wrong, the lads might have picked up knocks and didn't feel them till afterwards but hard to know. Look Dunshaughlin had a good year, they steadied the ship and back where they need to be for the spring. Will make for interesting senior champ next year. Can see trim Struggle if reports of a few players moving abroad is true.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 06/12/2022 11:27:07    2449629

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Are the players not basically contractually obliged to play for the college team as they are presumably on scholarships? Even if they wanted to skip the college game they may not have been able to. If Dunshaughlin were underdogs for the game there is no way the two players would have been dropped. Also Wednesday to Saturday is enough time to recover from a game surely."
I believe so,
Also agree once off Wednesday to Saturday is enough time to recover given they are both young lads.
Management must have just got it wrong and had one eye on the all Ireland semi.

houndinbound (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 06/12/2022 15:08:10    2449668

Same people would be on here giving out about player welfare and burnout if management had started the 2 young lads. No pleasing some.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 06/12/2022 15:58:50    2449671

Was down at both games over the weekend and though both were deserving winners, Dunshaughlin and Fethard St Mogues was a very intense game and either side could have taken it. Fethard wanted it a bit more and kicked some good scored. I don't think Dunshaughlin should have played the game after the tragic passing of Maria Kealy.

Castletown won with relative ease, they were much the better team. Adamstown had a 10 min period in the 2nd half that they had plenty of the ball but failed to convert. Thought there were some really good performance for Castletown, they have a couple of excellent young players.

Rian McConnell in midfield was absolutely outstanding and genuinely one of the best young talents in Meath. Will surely have to be developed over the next few years because he could be anything. The grandson of Meath legend Kevin McConnell I believe.

Next up for them is the Munster champions in the All Ireland Semi, will be Fossa or Kilmurry. Fossa would be very strong and a big ask for anyone to deal with David Clifford but a great achievement for Casteltown to get where they've gotten

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 206 - 07/12/2022 14:01:15    2449763

Replying To hyperache:  "Was down at both games over the weekend and though both were deserving winners, Dunshaughlin and Fethard St Mogues was a very intense game and either side could have taken it. Fethard wanted it a bit more and kicked some good scored. I don't think Dunshaughlin should have played the game after the tragic passing of Maria Kealy.

Castletown won with relative ease, they were much the better team. Adamstown had a 10 min period in the 2nd half that they had plenty of the ball but failed to convert. Thought there were some really good performance for Castletown, they have a couple of excellent young players.

Rian McConnell in midfield was absolutely outstanding and genuinely one of the best young talents in Meath. Will surely have to be developed over the next few years because he could be anything. The grandson of Meath legend Kevin McConnell I believe.

Next up for them is the Munster champions in the All Ireland Semi, will be Fossa or Kilmurry. Fossa would be very strong and a big ask for anyone to deal with David Clifford but a great achievement for Casteltown to get where they've gotten"
Unfortunately Fossa are going to win that grade at a canter. Great run by Castletown though

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 08/12/2022 08:47:51    2449806