Meath Clubs In Leinster

Replying To countyman123:  "Trim V Tullamore, what do we reckon?"
Think Trim should be confident going into this being with the "home advantage". Tullamore will bring a different challenge again and have a serious threat in Shane Dooley, but Trim showed that when their backs are on form, they can handle big time players. It will come down to how well the their forwards do and if James murray can influence the game from the middle.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 25/11/2022 09:21:06    2448661

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Think Trim should be confident going into this being with the "home advantage". Tullamore will bring a different challenge again and have a serious threat in Shane Dooley, but Trim showed that when their backs are on form, they can handle big time players. It will come down to how well the their forwards do and if James murray can influence the game from the middle."
Agree with this. The backs have been strong all year, just need to rinse and repeat previous performances.

Supposed to be heavy showers so will be interesting to see what the pitch conditions are like. Could help to tip the game one way or the other

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 25/11/2022 11:33:17    2448680

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I agree. Ratoath will be hard stopped in Meath and the 2 games in Leinster will stand to them for next year . A very fair assessment of the game by yourself."
The Ratoath players wont need enemies with fans /friends like this. who ignore the facts of the game and call the Downs the best team won etc. Even to look at the 4 minutes extra time on the recording it is clear that the ref was not going to let Ratoath win. The Downs were under pressure and 2 scoring frees for ratoath were not given yet 3 frees for absolutely nothing were given to the downs to relieve pressure.

Imagine if Ratoath won .And if portarlington then got 2 sloppy goals . And we had a friendly Meath referee doing their match with Kilmacud who made sure Portarlington got through and Ratoath did not have to face Kilmacud in the final. Can you imagine the uproar from Kilmacud supporters.

Well that is exactly what happened the other way around. Instead of uproar we get a snivelling response agreeing the 'best team won' etc from the sheepish Meath and Ratoath support. Not much for the young lads to depend on.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 25/11/2022 18:02:42    2448728

Replying To countyman123:  "Trim V Tullamore, what do we reckon?"
As long as they don't come in thinking that they have it won before they step out on the field, they should have enough. I know they celebrated with gusto after the win in Kilkenny, but they don't seem to be the kind of team to take anyone for granted.
They won the county final in terrible weather so that shouldn't necessarily be a hindrance to them.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 25/11/2022 19:07:52    2448734

Fantastic performance from Trim. Slightly surprised at how poor tullamore were but take nothing away from the trim performance they were excellent with Toher and Murray to the fore again. I would imagine they would be red hot favourites against Bray Emmets

tuppy23 (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 26/11/2022 16:17:31    2448771

Couldn't get to the game and listened via LMFM app. Thought Jack McGowan was excellent on co-commentary. Great win for Trim

Amarach (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 26/11/2022 16:56:52    2448779

Another excellent win by Trim. They kept Tullamore scoreless from play for the entire game. Only player to score against them was Shane Dooley from placed balls.
Bray will be in Aughrim in two weeks where the weather can be wild at the best of times (had Naomh Barróg won, it would have been in Páirc Tailteann). But they've done the hardest part already so they really shouldn't throw it away now.
Think this is the best year for Meath clubs in Leinster in terms of finals since 2015 when we also had three teams reach Leinster finals, winning two.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 26/11/2022 20:08:15    2448806

Fair play to Trim I felt this was well their grasp. Next up Bray Emmett's probably in Aughrim. While Trim were convincing winners in their semifinal Bray were also comfortable winners of theirs. Does anyone know if Naomh Barrog were short any prominent players for that game?
Bray have been the prominent team in Wicklow over the past few years in Wicklow so will be no pushovers. But I still expect Trim to win. I wouldn't worry too much about going to Aughrim, I you survive a trip to Nolan Park you can survive anywhere. Aughrim is a decent size pitch as well.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 28/11/2022 12:11:34    2448936

I noticed the Dunshaughlin V Duleek IFC Final match on the Meath GAA TV youtube channel has been wiped over the last 5-6 days. Must have been a request from the Dunshaughlin management. I thought it was undermining their chances, having this material up online for all to see while there was nothing for their opponents.

Coylesrighthand (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 30/11/2022 08:41:05    2449105

Replying To Coylesrighthand:  "I noticed the Dunshaughlin V Duleek IFC Final match on the Meath GAA TV youtube channel has been wiped over the last 5-6 days. Must have been a request from the Dunshaughlin management. I thought it was undermining their chances, having this material up online for all to see while there was nothing for their opponents."
The Wexford team could sit in on Dunshaughlin's training sessions and team talks and they still won't get near them on the score board. Dunshaughlin will steam roll them.

Tinchy1 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 01/12/2022 14:07:00    2449238

Replying To Tinchy1:  "The Wexford team could sit in on Dunshaughlin's training sessions and team talks and they still won't get near them on the score board. Dunshaughlin will steam roll them."
Got to agree with this. If the Kildare champions and a Cooley team who also were senior not too long ago didn't get within an ***** roar of Dunshaughlin then I don't give the Wexford fellas a chance.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 01/12/2022 14:44:44    2449246

Replying To MillerX:  "Fair play to Trim I felt this was well their grasp. Next up Bray Emmett's probably in Aughrim. While Trim were convincing winners in their semifinal Bray were also comfortable winners of theirs. Does anyone know if Naomh Barrog were short any prominent players for that game?
Bray have been the prominent team in Wicklow over the past few years in Wicklow so will be no pushovers. But I still expect Trim to win. I wouldn't worry too much about going to Aughrim, I you survive a trip to Nolan Park you can survive anywhere. Aughrim is a decent size pitch as well."
Roscrea from tipp are probably the favourites though for the All Ireland, many say that they would be a comfortaable senior team in tipp,Tooreen from Mayo will be in the semi too, 3 out of 4 years they have been there which is decent for a team from Mayo.Bray will be tough to beat they building a long time now and have a growing population to pick from every year, they will be wicklows super club in a few years will be untouchable there. i tyhink naomh barrog could have been short a few players ,some got banned (after oulart game) maybe not for that game though so i not certain.
Trim have a v tidy team , definitley good enough to win leinster and about time i always expect something from the meath champs in leinster but it has never happened, kiltale were unlucky alright a few years

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 02/12/2022 15:07:53    2449343

Replying To Tinchy1:  "The Wexford team could sit in on Dunshaughlin's training sessions and team talks and they still won't get near them on the score board. Dunshaughlin will steam roll them."
Maybe have a little respect for your oponents next time. Fethard may be from a small parish but are a fine team with excellent forwards. A wee bit of humble pie for dinner tonight.

Wexaway (Kildare) - Posts: 4 - 03/12/2022 13:40:51    2449407

Replying To Wexaway:  "Maybe have a little respect for your oponents next time. Fethard may be from a small parish but are a fine team with excellent forwards. A wee bit of humble pie for dinner tonight."
ongoing problem from Us in Meath if we are being honest. We have lacked Respect for a long time now, and people have forgotten how much Sean Boylan use to preach it . Club or County...You are 100% We need to cop on to ourselves & realise that Sport has moved on , and old traditional views of things are so ignorant and ill informed

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 03/12/2022 14:01:12    2449411

Well well well, just as i predicted. A few lads on here will be gone quiet. Fair play to the wexford men. Dunshaughlin bet no one en-route to the final. Imagine if the actual dublin champions from senior B were in it.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 03/12/2022 14:14:21    2449413

Oh, the glorious uncertainty of sport…..games are not played on paper or the bookie's shop. Truth is Dunshaughlin won a very poor Meath Intermediate Football Championship this year. Some very onesided games in it.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 03/12/2022 14:44:43    2449417

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "Well well well, just as i predicted. A few lads on here will be gone quiet. Fair play to the wexford men. Dunshaughlin bet no one en-route to the final. Imagine if the actual dublin champions from senior B were in it."
Dunshaughlin won't win the intermediate championship this year. Fact. Watch this space.

[I]Nannys Bar will be the place to be on saturday night. Duleek by 3-4 points.

[I]Wont get past the first round of leinster. Standard was atrocious.

Just as you predicted?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 03/12/2022 15:04:16    2449420

Congratulations Castletown. Sounded like it took them a while to get going but they were by far the better team once they did.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 03/12/2022 15:25:43    2449423

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "Well well well, just as i predicted. A few lads on here will be gone quiet. Fair play to the wexford men. Dunshaughlin bet no one en-route to the final. Imagine if the actual dublin champions from senior B were in it."
look lets just bring a bit of balance to this. Dunshaughlin contributors here , which is their want, get a little bit lost in their enthusiasm & excitement, no different to most supporters . Thats what supporters do. However neutrals recognise also that they are a fine team, and were well worth their winning the Grade this Year. But sport is Sports as another poster says, and every and any Team can be beaten, and sometimes (and im not saying that this is fethard today) it isn't always by a Better Team. ...so ...Patrick anyone laying big money against Dunshaughlin this year, would have lost a lot of money, and most neutrals knew that they had the capabilities to win the county intermediate . And its also dis respectful to the Teams that Dunshaughlin beat to say that they beat "no one"

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 03/12/2022 15:32:14    2449424

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Dunshaughlin won't win the intermediate championship this year. Fact. Watch this space.

[I
Nannys Bar will be the place to be on saturday night. Duleek by 3-4 points.

[I]Wont get past the first round of leinster. Standard was atrocious.

Just as you predicted?"]Once again,with ratoath in senior and dunshaughlin today, meath club football is well below par. Maybe in ten years time we might have a club team win a leinster

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 03/12/2022 15:57:41    2449429