Wexford Inter County Football

Replying To Pikeman96:  "The move is an odd one all right. You'd think Tipperary could have found a suitable pitch somewhere in the county, if they'd really wanted to.

And while realistically there was only ever going to be a small crowd at it in Templetuohy, chances are there's at least a few from the Tipp football community who'd already bought tickets or who were planning to go, and who won't be impressed with the decision their Co. Board has made.

There's a valid point above too about how other counties in the promotion race might have something to say about Wexford suddenly having an "unfair" extra home advantage, but I presume the move is all above board, because Croke Park would have had to okayed it anyway."
Fethard Town Park in Tipp would have been the obvious venue but I'd say it's probably booked up this weekend.

It's a fantastic facility but is a victim of its own success.

Tipp U-20's are playing Limerick there this evening.

Sooner the Tipp Board get their act together and get an astro turf pitch for each of the 4 divisions in Tipp the better.

At the moment Fethard Town Park is providing such a facility for most of the county...which is ridiculous.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 15/03/2024 13:16:55    2531249

Replying To Pikeman96:  "The move is an odd one all right. You'd think Tipperary could have found a suitable pitch somewhere in the county, if they'd really wanted to.

And while realistically there was only ever going to be a small crowd at it in Templetuohy, chances are there's at least a few from the Tipp football community who'd already bought tickets or who were planning to go, and who won't be impressed with the decision their Co. Board has made.

There's a valid point above too about how other counties in the promotion race might have something to say about Wexford suddenly having an "unfair" extra home advantage, but I presume the move is all above board, because Croke Park would have had to okayed it anyway."
I can see why Templetouhy pulled their pitch as most clubs would not give their pitch freely after the rain we have had. With Semple Stadium closed, not too many counties would have a back up like St Pats Park. According to a Tipp Journalist on X, Tipp wanted to play it on an astro in Fethard. I Spoke to a family member of a player last night who said that the Wexford chairman offered Pats park along with the deal that we would travel next year (hoping we won`t have to travel because we get up to Division 3). He said to me "After some negotiations Tipp accepted". One other point was that this was the year we had only 3 home games instead of four so it is not an obvious advantage as some other teams in promotion race had 4 home games also.

There is a big danger that Wexford lose this game as I think Tipp are very dangerous. They have been poor aginst weaker teams but were closest to Laois.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 15/03/2024 13:18:15    2531250

Replying To wexfordwin:  "I can see why Templetouhy pulled their pitch as most clubs would not give their pitch freely after the rain we have had. With Semple Stadium closed, not too many counties would have a back up like St Pats Park. According to a Tipp Journalist on X, Tipp wanted to play it on an astro in Fethard. I Spoke to a family member of a player last night who said that the Wexford chairman offered Pats park along with the deal that we would travel next year (hoping we won`t have to travel because we get up to Division 3). He said to me "After some negotiations Tipp accepted". One other point was that this was the year we had only 3 home games instead of four so it is not an obvious advantage as some other teams in promotion race had 4 home games also.

There is a big danger that Wexford lose this game as I think Tipp are very dangerous. They have been poor aginst weaker teams but were closest to Laois."
If its Shane Brophy your talking about he said neither team wanted to play on the Astro. I agree Tipp will be dangerous, every game Tipp have played has been decided by 2 points or less.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 15/03/2024 15:34:07    2531271

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "If its Shane Brophy your talking about he said neither team wanted to play on the Astro. I agree Tipp will be dangerous, every game Tipp have played has been decided by 2 points or less."
Have read on the Tipp GAA forum on another site that the astro pitch in Fethard was suggested all right, but that neither manager was keen on the idea of playing there.

Made me wonder if 4G pitches are a solution in the long run at all, if people don't want to play on them! But bearing in mind that Tipp U20 hurlers are playing there tonight, it's probably more the case that people just don't want to play on them without first being able to train on them a number of times to get used to the surface.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 15/03/2024 16:17:56    2531278

Why is the there a Longford referee appointed to the Wex / Tipp match when Longford have a direct interest in the result?
That referee shouldn't be put in that position.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 16/03/2024 09:22:14    2531327

Replying To Yellaman:  "Why is the there a Longford referee appointed to the Wex / Tipp match when Longford have a direct interest in the result?
That referee shouldn't be put in that position."
Welcome all Yellow Bellys ,who make the trip,to Fethard Town Park tomorrow!!

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 16/03/2024 21:15:23    2531530

Replying To Moyle:  "Welcome all Yellow Bellys ,who make the trip,to Fethard Town Park tomorrow!!"
no pont now after laois threw the game to leitrim

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 16/03/2024 21:20:51    2531537

Replying To Moyle:  "Welcome all Yellow Bellys ,who make the trip,to Fethard Town Park tomorrow!!"
Will it be on grass or astro do you reckon? i know the venue has both.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 16/03/2024 21:21:41    2531538

And just remember that,for any of ye Wexicans travelling,there's a speed van on the road from Clonmel to Fethard....right opposite our club,Moyle Rovers!!!

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 16/03/2024 21:23:44    2531540

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Will it be on grass or astro do you reckon? i know the venue has both."
Yes,it has both.
And the grass pitch is excellent, very well drained.
But I'd say that tomorrow's match will be on the astro turf,because it has a covered stand.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 16/03/2024 21:32:56    2531544

Apparently,according to Fethard Town Park Facebook page,it's going to be on the grass pitch...which I think is better.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 16/03/2024 21:38:15    2531547

Have also heard from a different source that it's to be on the grass pitch.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 16/03/2024 22:52:58    2531563

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "no pont now after laois threw the game to leitrim"
Always a point supporting your team. And it's only over the road for you!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 16/03/2024 23:19:12    2531569

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "no pont now after laois threw the game to leitrim"
In fairness its the 3rd game Laois played out of 6 that was close .

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 16/03/2024 23:46:36    2531577

Replying To Viking66:  "Always a point supporting your team. And it's only over the road for you!"
true

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 17/03/2024 13:05:08    2531642

Anyone else find it farcical that no pitch could be sourced in either Tipp or Wexford to host a Division 4 football game when all the Division 1 hurling games went ahead in the weather that isn't meant to be conducive to hurling (so we are told)?

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1418 - 17/03/2024 13:35:28    2531655

that fecking penelty!!!!!!!!!!

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 17/03/2024 18:05:51    2531718

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "that fecking penelty!!!!!!!!!!"
One if the worst ever decisions could be season-defining for our lads.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 17/03/2024 18:43:36    2531730

Replying To Yellaman:  "One if the worst ever decisions could be season-defining for our lads."
And to rub salt into the wounds the only way Leitrim can get that promotion is if we do them a favour and beat Longford..

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 17/03/2024 19:12:24    2531738

Replying To Paull:  "And to rub salt into the wounds the only way Leitrim can get that promotion is if we do them a favour and beat Longford.."
So true, and I really can't see Tipp troubling leitrim

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 17/03/2024 19:48:14    2531759