Wexford Inter County Football

Replying To Viking66:  "I've a feeling that the team named won't start as named."
would have agreed with u but we were both wrong, great win , and i make it we only started with 6/7 of the team that played meath , its shaping up to having a very strong squad for the league, at this stage its hard to know the 15 that will face london, in fairness they play a lovely style of football to, its entertaining, nice crowd but expected more, the dubs game will be worth its weight in gold

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 06/01/2024 17:19:11    2518663

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "would have agreed with u but we were both wrong, great win , and i make it we only started with 6/7 of the team that played meath , its shaping up to having a very strong squad for the league, at this stage its hard to know the 15 that will face london, in fairness they play a lovely style of football to, its entertaining, nice crowd but expected more, the dubs game will be worth its weight in gold"
I think maybe John picked up a few ideas off Meath from the game in Navan. Some of our forward interplay was very very good. It was great to see subs coming on that didn't weaken the team, and as you say management has built a a great squad.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 06/01/2024 17:39:00    2518668

You couldn't be getting overly carried away with pre season competitions but very encouraging signs at the moment, taught the 6 starting backs all played very well, what a player Pauric Hughes is for us at the moment.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 06/01/2024 19:09:53    2518683

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "You couldn't be getting overly carried away with pre season competitions but very encouraging signs at the moment, taught the 6 starting backs all played very well, what a player Pauric Hughes is for us at the moment."
Good win, Pauric Hughes is a classy player alright, hope we don't get too carried away now and focus on the league. Playing a Dublin Junior team great opportunity to get to a final all the same. Ben Brosnan in to his 18th year some service

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 06/01/2024 19:26:06    2518688

Replying To WexMurph:  "Good win, Pauric Hughes is a classy player alright, hope we don't get too carried away now and focus on the league. Playing a Dublin Junior team great opportunity to get to a final all the same. Ben Brosnan in to his 18th year some service"
And he's still playing well too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 06/01/2024 20:31:23    2518701

Very impressive display today all right. That goal by Paudie Hughes was probably one of the best I've seen from a Wexford team for a long time, with the way they worked the ball around for so long before creating the chance itself. Thought Darragh Lyons and Dylan Furlong were particularly impressive too.

Very early days and we can't let ourselves get carried away because of two wins in O'Byrne Cup, but still, it's hard not to feel optimistic about the League right now. Maybe this will finally be the year to win promotion.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 06/01/2024 20:32:59    2518702

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Very impressive display today all right. That goal by Paudie Hughes was probably one of the best I've seen from a Wexford team for a long time, with the way they worked the ball around for so long before creating the chance itself. Thought Darragh Lyons and Dylan Furlong were particularly impressive too.

Very early days and we can't let ourselves get carried away because of two wins in O'Byrne Cup, but still, it's hard not to feel optimistic about the League right now. Maybe this will finally be the year to win promotion."
while we can take noone for granted and im sure they wont , the 2th game at home to laois is the big one

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 06/01/2024 21:54:20    2518715

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "while we can take noone for granted and im sure they wont , the 2th game at home to laois is the big one"
Noone is getting carried away. Least of all the players I'd be guessing. I wouldn't say I expect us to go up, but I would say that I'm more optimistic than I've been at the start of a season in a good while.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 06/01/2024 23:21:10    2518729

I see the bookies still have us as 5th favourites to win out Div 4 . Laois favourites they've been struggling for a while likewise Tipp. Longford will probably be tough if they find their form again but wouldn't fear anybody.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 07/01/2024 09:50:03    2518763

Definitely no getting carried away but I remember standing in a cold Patrick's park last January watching us play the same opposition and we look a world apart from that night.

Baby steps in the right direction and again I'll emphasise playing a nice brand of football to boot.

If we could hit the ground running and get promoted in the league it would be huge for us.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 07/01/2024 10:00:38    2518765

Don't think anyone will get carried away .
But I think its good to see an improvement and some nice football being played as well as developing new talent after few years of disappointment and sometimes despair . There seems to be a bit of momentum building and reasons to be more optimistic . For first time in a while I feel more positive and hoping they can at least gain promotion small steps in the right direction .
Like John I hope Keith can get a kick from the hurlers too build some early season momentum to carry forward for rhe year

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 178 - 07/01/2024 20:12:04    2518895

Replying To Formertownie:  "Don't think anyone will get carried away .
But I think its good to see an improvement and some nice football being played as well as developing new talent after few years of disappointment and sometimes despair . There seems to be a bit of momentum building and reasons to be more optimistic . For first time in a while I feel more positive and hoping they can at least gain promotion small steps in the right direction .
Like John I hope Keith can get a kick from the hurlers too build some early season momentum to carry forward for rhe year"
Really hope so too. Himself, Franks, Mythen and Martin are trying different ideas out in fairness to them. Completely different approach to the previous management.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 07/01/2024 20:38:49    2518905

Replying To WexMurph:  "Good win, Pauric Hughes is a classy player alright, hope we don't get too carried away now and focus on the league. Playing a Dublin Junior team great opportunity to get to a final all the same. Ben Brosnan in to his 18th year some service"
Looking at the Dublin team that went out to play against Offaly and bar Evan Comerford who was a sub there is not one name there from the 1st team squad that I recognize anyway. I am sure some are in the wider training panel but if they do the same - against us it wouldn't even be counted as the B team. So great opportunity to reach the final.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 08/01/2024 03:24:12    2518938

Replying To zinny:  "Looking at the Dublin team that went out to play against Offaly and bar Evan Comerford who was a sub there is not one name there from the 1st team squad that I recognize anyway. I am sure some are in the wider training panel but if they do the same - against us it wouldn't even be counted as the B team. So great opportunity to reach the final."
Their A team squad were playing a challenge game apparently. Not sure how true that is though. They have a couple lads step away and the Crokes lads would've been with their club. But yes a great opportunity for another game to gel the lads together better.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 08/01/2024 08:53:08    2518943

Replying To zinny:  "Looking at the Dublin team that went out to play against Offaly and bar Evan Comerford who was a sub there is not one name there from the 1st team squad that I recognize anyway. I am sure some are in the wider training panel but if they do the same - against us it wouldn't even be counted as the B team. So great opportunity to reach the final."
trust me its not a bad dublin team, a few very highly regarded young players on it, players who will win all irelands some day, still its a great game to get and london beating a mayo team is a nice warning to us not to take them for granted, and they now have a game v roscommon which will sharpen them up even more

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 08/01/2024 09:10:59    2518948

team alone expected lines, looking forward to the game, should be a good open game, thats our style now

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 12/01/2024 21:51:29    2519919

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "trust me its not a bad dublin team, a few very highly regarded young players on it, players who will win all irelands some day, still its a great game to get and london beating a mayo team is a nice warning to us not to take them for granted, and they now have a game v roscommon which will sharpen them up even more"
We hopefully won't be taking them for granted we didn't beat them last year and finished behind them in the table in 2022.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 13/01/2024 07:37:33    2519944

As expected the Dubs were too strong but our lads hung in well. The gulf in speed of thought, transition and tackling intensity between div1 and div4 was stark. At the same time we made some good scores, and the evergreen Brosnan was faultless I think on frees. Bealin and Byrne added a good bit of bite to the half forward line. Furlong was our MOTM for me, although Coleman wasn't far behind. Dare I say it but John Hegarty has built a really good panel for the upcoming div4 campaign, and for the first time in a long time it looks like our manager might actually have some selection headaches, while the great flipside of that is that we should be able to finish games with as strong a team as we start them!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 13/01/2024 15:09:30    2520001

Replying To Viking66:  "As expected the Dubs were too strong but our lads hung in well. The gulf in speed of thought, transition and tackling intensity between div1 and div4 was stark. At the same time we made some good scores, and the evergreen Brosnan was faultless I think on frees. Bealin and Byrne added a good bit of bite to the half forward line. Furlong was our MOTM for me, although Coleman wasn't far behind. Dare I say it but John Hegarty has built a really good panel for the upcoming div4 campaign, and for the first time in a long time it looks like our manager might actually have some selection headaches, while the great flipside of that is that we should be able to finish games with as strong a team as we start them!"
Fair play Viking not many lads would pick many positives from a hammering from a Dublin third string, still think they can give the league a good run looking forward to it and not taking the London game for granted, thankfully the league affords us opposition of our own standard compared to the provincials which are well past there sell by date

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 13/01/2024 15:19:35    2520006

Replying To WexMurph:  "Fair play Viking not many lads would pick many positives from a hammering from a Dublin third string, still think they can give the league a good run looking forward to it and not taking the London game for granted, thankfully the league affords us opposition of our own standard compared to the provincials which are well past there sell by date"
There will be at least half those Dubs from today starting League games at some point, and maybe 3 or 4 might start championship games if they keep developing. They are a serious squad. They are training at a completely different level to us week in and week out, in terms of speed and intensity. And it showed in their tackling and their decision making. That game will stand to our lads no question. They likely won't play another team that good even if they reach a Tailteann Cup final.
Our u12s played Oulart and Barntown u12 selections in the long gap between the League and the finals last year. We lost both but the lads learnt alot. In our final we only conceded 1 score after that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 13/01/2024 15:44:33    2520009