Dublin Hurling

I always root for the Dublin hurlers when they play anyone except Wexford. I feel we are a bit off Kilkenny and Galway at the minute. But both teams can beat the big two in their day.

Ye have a habit of beating Galway and we have a habit of beating the cats so there might be a twist or two in Leinster yet

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 07/05/2023 16:04:22    2476432

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Delighted with that.
It was a very poor game but a win is a win. I had no faith in us to perform in Croke Park but delighted to proven wrong. Humble pie for me.
The 2 biggest tests lie ahead and I worry we are a bit off Galway and Kilkenny but 3rd is ours to lose now.
I wasn't as outraged about the referee as many around me and as I say all the time the game is riddled with diving and feigning hits, referees are cottoning on to this.
I met a few old hurlers for a few after the game and all I can say is shame on the Dublin County Board for fixing so many football matches at the same time as the hurlers were playing. Even if 10 more people went it shows a level of respect for the players and squad and supporters. I would bet money there was no match in Cork or Tipp within 5 hours of yesterday match.
I think everybody in Leinster is a bit off the Munster counties truth be told, but I only say 15 minutes of the Cork Tipp match.
But a win is a win. Well done MD and his team."
I was getting fairly annoyed at the ref myself a few times but all in all I think he did an all right job. There was definitely a few bad decisions against both teams but I don't think it had a major influence on the match.

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 07/05/2023 16:31:26    2476439

Replying To Báireoir:  "I was getting fairly annoyed at the ref myself a few times but all in all I think he did an all right job. There was definitely a few bad decisions against both teams but I don't think it had a major influence on the match."
There was no one giving out much about him. Both got what looked like bad calls, but they always do! Only one of the ones I thought should have went our way also looked like that on watching the video. We also got one that was other way probably.

A lot of our frees were a bit naive. Over carrying or walking into dead ends. Winning hard ball then surrendering it. But sure that's the way.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 07/05/2023 16:50:12    2476447

Replying To Yellow:  "I always root for the Dublin hurlers when they play anyone except Wexford. I feel we are a bit off Kilkenny and Galway at the minute. But both teams can beat the big two in their day.

Ye have a habit of beating Galway and we have a habit of beating the cats so there might be a twist or two in Leinster yet"
If Dublin only beat Galway we will be gone even if we win both our games. We need Dublin to beat Kilkenny as well if they beat Galway. Or lose to both.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 07/05/2023 18:49:36    2476489

Replying To Báireoir:  "I was getting fairly annoyed at the ref myself a few times but all in all I think he did an all right job. There was definitely a few bad decisions against both teams but I don't think it had a major influence on the match."
Thought the ref was OK he was fair. The losing of the game for us were the wides, some shocking, and frees missed. If we had someone like Burke, Forde, TJ, Drennan, Niland, Horgan, Gillane, Byrnes, McCarthy etc we would have won that game by a few points.
I definitely agree with TerribleFootwork on the mentality/psychology issue. Some of the wides the lads would have put over no bother in a training game. I still think the lads should practice shooting after running a hard lap or 2 of the pitch to get their blood oxygen levels down, and at the end of a good training session not at the beginning or in the middle, and with a stopwatch on them, to replicate real match conditions as closely as possible.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 07/05/2023 18:56:01    2476493

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "There was no one giving out much about him. Both got what looked like bad calls, but they always do! Only one of the ones I thought should have went our way also looked like that on watching the video. We also got one that was other way probably.

A lot of our frees were a bit naive. Over carrying or walking into dead ends. Winning hard ball then surrendering it. But sure that's the way."
No one giving out about him Barney? The lads in the row behind me were on the point of blowing a head gasket in the last 10 minutes over his decisions.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 08/05/2023 11:43:32    2476675

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "No one giving out about him Barney? The lads in the row behind me were on the point of blowing a head gasket in the last 10 minutes over his decisions."
I was doing the same at the time. I meant in the aftermath :-)

Hopefully they at the very least put up good performances in next two games. If they do not at least give Kilkenny and Galway a game, then it would not bother me at all if they miss out on the third spot as it would have meant that Wexford managed to get something off the Cats.

Huge game on Wednesday in Tullamore too for the under 20s. They are undoubtedly our best chance of winning something this year. Offaly certainly be a challenge having beaten Galway but i would be quietly confident not only of beating them but of winning Leinster.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 08/05/2023 13:18:47    2476713

Did not think we would have qualified with 1 week to go after KK loss but there you go :)
Match v Galway is now Leinster semi final. Hope the football crowd come in early and try to get the boys over the line. Won't be easy but Westmeath thought the same.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 22/05/2023 11:07:32    2480390

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Did not think we would have qualified with 1 week to go after KK loss but there you go :)
Match v Galway is now Leinster semi final. Hope the football crowd come in early and try to get the boys over the line. Won't be easy but Westmeath thought the same."
Yes. Big game. Third spot secure but chance to make the final and chance to put in a strong display against one of the contenders for Liam.

As for football crowd, well long years of experience would incline me to preference that they stay out until hurling is finished to be honest.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 22/05/2023 11:41:55    2480421

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Yes. Big game. Third spot secure but chance to make the final and chance to put in a strong display against one of the contenders for Liam.

As for football crowd, well long years of experience would incline me to preference that they stay out until hurling is finished to be honest."
Yes most likely.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 22/05/2023 13:10:53    2480488

Impossible to know how to feel after every Dublin match..disappointed not to see it home in the 2nd half but then delighted to get the equaliser

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 28/05/2023 20:29:59    2482334

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Impossible to know how to feel after every Dublin match..disappointed not to see it home in the 2nd half but then delighted to get the equaliser"
Great first half by Dublin and great comeback by Galway but Dublin showed great charachter to come back from behind twice near the finish.Very enjoyable game.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 28/05/2023 21:39:06    2482368

We keep on missing those boats

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 28/05/2023 22:07:26    2482382

Should have won that one against, let's be honest is not a great team and one that has no hope of winning All Ireland.

Henry probably saved them usual collapse.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 28/05/2023 23:41:43    2482406

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Yes most likely."
Ironically, there was a crowd of young Rossies who came in near end to Hill who were more enthusiastic about our hurlers maybe beating Galway than some of the clowns in blue jerseys who arrived.

Sorry, not least for aesthetic reasons, that I did not follow initial plan and go and watch Limerick and Cork.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 29/05/2023 00:04:30    2482409

Replying To realdub:  "We keep on missing those boats"
Not against us!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 29/05/2023 09:29:29    2482456

Replying To realdub:  "We keep on missing those boats"
Dublin by far the better team for 45 minutes and should have closed the game.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 29/05/2023 10:01:14    2482463

Replying To baire:  "Dublin by far the better team for 45 minutes and should have closed the game."
Should have but didn't. They ran out of steam and Galway kept their heads. Another team would have gambled on Hail Marys to get goals. Half backs totally reversed the first time scenario until Dublin dug in and grabbed a draw that looked unlikely with ten minutes to go.

Great game to watch, on reflection !!!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 29/05/2023 12:03:43    2482509

One that got away.
We had Galway on the ropes and were a Wexford win v Westmeath away from exiting the championship.
Still all in all, we are still in it and should (I say SHOULD) be good enough to beat Carlow and set up a quarter final.
All in all, progress given the team was obliterated at the end of last year.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 29/05/2023 12:35:13    2482520

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "One that got away.
We had Galway on the ropes and were a Wexford win v Westmeath away from exiting the championship.
Still all in all, we are still in it and should (I say SHOULD) be good enough to beat Carlow and set up a quarter final.
All in all, progress given the team was obliterated at the end of last year."
If we had of beaten Westmeath we would still have been out on head to head. It was the game thrown away against Dublin that did for us.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 29/05/2023 13:39:24    2482554