Premier 3 & 4

In the interest of fair play & integrity to the competition, how on earth is it fair to Intermediate clubs. The senior championship doesn't start until after the premier 3 & 4 finals. Senior clubs won't loose out on players cup tied etc. Intermediate clubs will loose players to the IFC starting in 4 weeks.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 16/06/2022 10:53:40    2425301

This will affect all premier divisions not just 3 and 4. Any team that is not senior will have there teams decimated for the semi final but senior clubs will have the players they have had all year available. so very unlikely any intermediate or junior team will have any chance of winning there division if a senior team's second, third or fourth team makes it to the semi final. Very badly organised. no reason they couldn't have ran this off before the championship started or keep it so the same named players can't play. I know my team will be down 10 players from the team that has been playing together for the last 7 games of the competition so far

de_man (Meath) - Posts: 192 - 16/06/2022 14:50:18    2425413

Replying To de_man:  "This will affect all premier divisions not just 3 and 4. Any team that is not senior will have there teams decimated for the semi final but senior clubs will have the players they have had all year available. so very unlikely any intermediate or junior team will have any chance of winning there division if a senior team's second, third or fourth team makes it to the semi final. Very badly organised. no reason they couldn't have ran this off before the championship started or keep it so the same named players can't play. I know my team will be down 10 players from the team that has been playing together for the last 7 games of the competition so far"
10 players???? Just shows ye must hav named a few dodgy players

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 16/06/2022 18:03:33    2425498

Lads upset at lose 10 players when first team starts shows exactly why championships have to run at same time or else its just a case of who gets away with listing more dud playes than the rest.

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 17/06/2022 09:56:02    2425543

Replying To de_man:  "This will affect all premier divisions not just 3 and 4. Any team that is not senior will have there teams decimated for the semi final but senior clubs will have the players they have had all year available. so very unlikely any intermediate or junior team will have any chance of winning there division if a senior team's second, third or fourth team makes it to the semi final. Very badly organised. no reason they couldn't have ran this off before the championship started or keep it so the same named players can't play. I know my team will be down 10 players from the team that has been playing together for the last 7 games of the competition so far"
It wasn't really your 2nd team playing though if you're going to immediately lose 10 lads to your first team....

It was similar last year, some teams were running away with the Premier divisions for 3 or 4 rounds before their first team played and suddenly they collapsed and didn't win any more games.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 17/06/2022 10:25:26    2425554

What is it you don't get? The IFC starts 4 weeks earlier, between fringe players getting a run (We'll say 3-4 players) and an injury here and there (seeing as it's a full month of football) there's a good chance an Intermediate team will use 21-22 players at very least. That's 7 lads gone in which senior clubs Ballinabrackey, Moynalvey etc won't have even lost one.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 17/06/2022 10:27:38    2425556

Sounds like a few dodgy named players are about alright. I suppose who wouldn't do it if you could get away with it. I know a couple of junior teams who have more than half of their first team playing in the Premier FC.
Anyhow, if you read the story regarding CCC fixtures you would see the County Board are keen to wrap up the Premier soon enough.
"Fixtures secretary Damien Griffin said the CCC was looking to finish the Premier Football Championship prior to the start of the junior and intermediate football championship. Griffin said a number of clubs had expressed concern that they might not be able to field in the Premier Championship if they weren't finished before the start of the other championships."

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 471 - 17/06/2022 10:44:45    2425566

nothing to do with dodgy players, we only had to name 10 players so 5 players minimum are lost as soon as the intermediate starts. Then on top of that we have had a few players getting long term injuries and players leaving the squad during the season (which i obviously know is not a good sign) then on top of that when you take the subs that will also be inevitably lost. we will struggle to get a team.

de_man (Meath) - Posts: 192 - 17/06/2022 11:31:31    2425592

Replying To Roger:  "Sounds like a few dodgy named players are about alright. I suppose who wouldn't do it if you could get away with it. I know a couple of junior teams who have more than half of their first team playing in the Premier FC.
Anyhow, if you read the story regarding CCC fixtures you would see the County Board are keen to wrap up the Premier soon enough.
"Fixtures secretary Damien Griffin said the CCC was looking to finish the Premier Football Championship prior to the start of the junior and intermediate football championship. Griffin said a number of clubs had expressed concern that they might not be able to field in the Premier Championship if they weren't finished before the start of the other championships.""
County board keen to wrap it up because they know themselves it will be a joke if it ends up with senior clubs having a full pick coming into a premier League final.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 17/06/2022 11:38:29    2425599

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "What is it you don't get? The IFC starts 4 weeks earlier, between fringe players getting a run (We'll say 3-4 players) and an injury here and there (seeing as it's a full month of football) there's a good chance an Intermediate team will use 21-22 players at very least. That's 7 lads gone in which senior clubs Ballinabrackey, Moynalvey etc won't have even lost one."
Exactly, some people don't seem to understand how it works. I don't mind if we have to name 10 or 15 players as that is the same for every team but i do have a problem when the teams are completely decimated for some teams and not others. especially after 7 rounds of football and as soon as you get to the semi final, you lose most of your players and will struggle to get a team while your opposition has everyone they have had all season

de_man (Meath) - Posts: 192 - 17/06/2022 11:39:38    2425600

I will amazed if this delay actually happens. The CCCC are surely going to want as many competitions wrapped up and out of the way as quickly as possible so would be surprised if they passed up the opportunity to get most of the premier championships finished .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 17/06/2022 12:47:42    2425617

Look there's lads on here saying "putting down dodgy names" it has nothing to do with it. I'm sure lads on here can do the maths.
1: 15 starters in the first game of IFC are gone.
2: Throw on a few subs ( 3-4)
3: Take in an injury to (1-2 players)

That's 21 players used.
So a premier championship team is down at least 6 players or maybe more. And yet the senior clubs have a full pick.
Hope you can get your head around that now I've explained it again.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 18/06/2022 09:17:56    2425693

Replying To CastleBravo:  "It wasn't really your 2nd team playing though if you're going to immediately lose 10 lads to your first team....

It was similar last year, some teams were running away with the Premier divisions for 3 or 4 rounds before their first team played and suddenly they collapsed and didn't win any more games."
Wise up lad. You're not in touch with this topic.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 18/06/2022 09:20:47    2425694

Ideal solution would be starting 15 for first teams last round of championship the previous year can't play lower grade league. After the first 4 rounds if a player has started 2 or less games then they can be re-graded.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/06/2022 12:07:50    2426019

Grading and timing of games certainly a big issue. Plenty of 2nd teams including big senior teams conceding games in the league. Moving games to Thursday nights then to suit 2nd teams. If 2nd teams want to be in A league next year, they should all be in the same division. Its unfair when a 2nd team is stacked in 1 game then decimated in the next which impacts on the teams they are playing.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 19/06/2022 14:39:23    2426076

Regardless of how many players are named or not the clubs should know how many players they will have for 2nd 3rd or even 4th teams in the bigger clubs and know that they will have players to fulfill the fixtures. A quick glance at the lower leagues shows a huge amount of walkovers. It doesn't make sense to put in more teams than the clubs have players to fulfil the fixture.
One solution may be the amalgamation of clubs the way that it is done at underage in similar circumstances. Lets be fair the players at the lower divisions don't have asperations of playing first team football due to a number of reasons; time, ability, age being a few. Game time and playing and training to their level in fixtures that are scheduled and go ahead is more important, in my opinion, than the colour of the jersey they are wearing.
It would also stop the other habit of clubs just playing ,in some circumstances, 8 or 9 players from their first team on a second team just to get the win or complete the fixture in the early rounds and in the later rounds either get hammered or concede the tie.
None of which is beneficial to the clubs or the competitions.

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 20/06/2022 12:50:13    2426355

The last round of the premier championship competitions are finishing up this weekend . I think for a lot of clubs with second teams it will be the end of their football for the remainder of the year . I don't think their is anything else for second team footballers. A good few of the smaller populated senior clubs with 2 teams will struggle as training sessions etc for numbers

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 20/06/2022 14:08:46    2426382

Replying To ABK67:  "Regardless of how many players are named or not the clubs should know how many players they will have for 2nd 3rd or even 4th teams in the bigger clubs and know that they will have players to fulfill the fixtures. A quick glance at the lower leagues shows a huge amount of walkovers. It doesn't make sense to put in more teams than the clubs have players to fulfil the fixture.
One solution may be the amalgamation of clubs the way that it is done at underage in similar circumstances. Lets be fair the players at the lower divisions don't have asperations of playing first team football due to a number of reasons; time, ability, age being a few. Game time and playing and training to their level in fixtures that are scheduled and go ahead is more important, in my opinion, than the colour of the jersey they are wearing.
It would also stop the other habit of clubs just playing ,in some circumstances, 8 or 9 players from their first team on a second team just to get the win or complete the fixture in the early rounds and in the later rounds either get hammered or concede the tie.
None of which is beneficial to the clubs or the competitions."
Your going completely off topic. How about the IFC & SFC run concurrently. This is the whole point.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 20/06/2022 15:50:58    2426426

Replying To Bear10:  "The last round of the premier championship competitions are finishing up this weekend . I think for a lot of clubs with second teams it will be the end of their football for the remainder of the year . I don't think their is anything else for second team footballers. A good few of the smaller populated senior clubs with 2 teams will struggle as training sessions etc for numbers"
There's still two rounds left. So another 3 weeks.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 20/06/2022 15:52:20    2426427

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "There's still two rounds left. So another 3 weeks."
Pretty sure a lot of teams playing their last games this weekend unless you have qualified for semis

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 21/06/2022 11:16:43    2426541