Your Favourite Football/Hurling Podcast

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Said it elsewhere, but Andrews is a pure dose, who will just not shut up when someone else is talking. It's overall a good pod, but like someone else said, when they get away from their own or the main top teams, their knowledge is sorely lacking. My own fault I suppose in still listening, but still a good pod, I just want to shout when Andrews keeps butting in with rubbish"
James is good but hard listen to paddy on it. They could be trying to talk about lower divisions and yet Paddy will just bring it back to talking about Dublin mayo Kerry. It's the same every week

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1043 - 13/05/2022 11:49:22    2416839

And slightly off topic, but related and similar to my last point. The overall knowledge of the main pundits and podcasters beyond the top counties is very very poor. Some smaller pods are good, as they tend to have some focus on other counties, as they themselves are not from the top counties.

Like, the knowledge is so poor. Drop away from those top counties, and it's clear they have little idea. They base their limited knowledge on simply looking at the League table, and deciding there and then what they base it on, and squeeze their argument around that (which is a very recent thing). I noticed it particularly recently with my own county (and Tipp). Every single time we were mentioned, it was Division 4 Division 4 Division 4. That's all I heard. And platitudes like great tradition and such. Like no doubt we were down there, but any basic look at the situation would show the odd circumstances of the truncated League last year. Any analysis of Championship and such would show this was an aberration, not the usual. Yet they hone in and obsess so much on league, that they lose sight of any reasoning. If anything, they zoom in on the wrong thing, and then fit their argument around it. Then this week, on review, they were all like, where did that performance come from? How were they that goof after being in Division 4? And it's like facepalm lads, you're not looking at or analysing the right thing here... The standard needs to improve beyond the few big counties

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 13/05/2022 12:01:46    2416841

My 3 favourite football podcasts are the football pod, examiner and the GAA social. The GAA social is very different from the other two, it's interviews and discussion rather than analysis of the weekend's matches. McConville is an ever present in both the examiner and the GAA social.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 13/05/2022 12:22:01    2416849

I forgot to mention A Hurlers Life which is great but it has disappeared? I have enough hours on the road to consume them all but I can't see myself paying for Wooly and Our Game. I think Our Game is great but there is enough good free content out there so I don't see myself needing any more. Surely they could get a lucrative sponsor because the content is top-notch. Wooly is a bit of a waffle merchant for me.
I know not a GAA Podcast but That Peter Crouch Podcast is some laugh as well. The insanity of professional football and all the trappings.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 13/05/2022 12:58:44    2416860

Replying To StoreysTash:  "The Hurling Pod on Off The Ball is really good. The depth of analysis on this is by far the deepest of any show and they properly analyse setups, stats and look for reasons why teams win games.
I also like the general Off The Ball ones with Tommy Walsh, Jamesie O'Connor and Eddie Brennan.
The Backdoor GAA Podcast is good, some good guests.
I do not like the RTE GAA Podcast or Anthony Daly's show. The pundits are "Old school" and don't analyse things at all. It is bar stool punditry. The unwillingness to call a spade a spade and call it as it is on either show is tiresome. Former managers like TJ Ryan, Dalo should be able to analyse in more depth than they do and there is as much talk about drinking and horses as GAA."
It's exactly because they don't focus totally on hurling, and include things like drinking, horse-racing and greyhound racing that make it for me a more holistic listen. I especially like it when they keep it local and about Munster hurling or the club scenes in their counties. When they go on about Leinster that same local knowledge and nous isn't there.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 13/05/2022 14:13:53    2416877

Leitrim GAA podcast is obviously a local-focused show but it is well produced and varied, so generally interesting.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhQaMfBaHkM

LeitrimLover94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 29/05/2022 21:29:28    2420902

Wearemeath. Brilliant

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2022 08:40:22    2420930

Maybe a few niche ones. Ocean fm do a good donegal podcast during the season each Thursday and also on Sunday after championship games. It's well put together with good analysis. Conleth gilligan and Rory kavanagh gave real good insight in advance of the ulster final. In fairness to mark mchugh yesterday he spoke well at the end of the ulster final and gave good perspective.

Brendan devenney has the dl debate through Highland radio on Mondays and it also does a good job. They had a decent live show in advance of the ulster final. Although donegal focused it has guests on from all over ireland from time to time. He did a very good show on referees at the end of last year.
Team talk mag is interesting! It's a tyrone gaa channel. They're pretty obsessed with all things tyrone and some of their interviews and content gives a good insight to the tyrone way of thinking.

Armagh have a sideline eye channel on YouTube that focuses on all things armagh both club and county.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 30/05/2022 11:21:38    2420995

Woolys podcast is great.

AntrimJim (Antrim) - Posts: 39 - 30/05/2022 11:29:02    2420996

Replying To foreveryoung:  "It's exactly because they don't focus totally on hurling, and include things like drinking, horse-racing and greyhound racing that make it for me a more holistic listen. I especially like it when they keep it local and about Munster hurling or the club scenes in their counties. When they go on about Leinster that same local knowledge and nous isn't there."
TJ Ryan was and is well able to point out the faults and failings in managers - although he was a pretty poor manager himself.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 30/05/2022 11:36:40    2421006

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Maybe a few niche ones. Ocean fm do a good donegal podcast during the season each Thursday and also on Sunday after championship games. It's well put together with good analysis. Conleth gilligan and Rory kavanagh gave real good insight in advance of the ulster final. In fairness to mark mchugh yesterday he spoke well at the end of the ulster final and gave good perspective.

Brendan devenney has the dl debate through Highland radio on Mondays and it also does a good job. They had a decent live show in advance of the ulster final. Although donegal focused it has guests on from all over ireland from time to time. He did a very good show on referees at the end of last year.
Team talk mag is interesting! It's a tyrone gaa channel. They're pretty obsessed with all things tyrone and some of their interviews and content gives a good insight to the tyrone way of thinking.

Armagh have a sideline eye channel on YouTube that focuses on all things armagh both club and county."
Cheers Ulsterchamps. Brendan Devenney is always good. Good insights on the game and good craic. Does anyone know if the contributors get a few quid fir talking on some podcasts? Probably not local ones but Oisin McConville is on a lot of them! Fair play to him if he's getting paid a bit, sounds dour enough but he's he's witty and well worth a listen. You rarely hear Sunday Game-style analysis on podcasts. The speakers aren't being censored and not afraid to give their opinions on players and coaches. Sunday Game is like a wake in comparison.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 30/05/2022 11:47:11    2421015

Replying To AntrimJim:  "Woolys podcast is great."
I like Wooly but a bit like the lads on OurGame there's enough free content out there so I don't need to pay €5 for them.
A Hurlers Life is a really good podcast as well. Brian Carroll does a great job interviewing many of the great players from the 90's or 00's.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 30/05/2022 16:05:27    2421169

You're better off paying for one that has good content and can entertain than the free ones that aren't interesting.

AntrimJim (Antrim) - Posts: 39 - 30/05/2022 16:22:23    2421179

Hurling Podcasts
1. The hurling pod on OTB with James Skehill & Paul Murphy. Free
2. Our game - Shane Stapleton & Michael a Verney €6.15/ month
3. Smaller Fish Woolly Parkinson €6.15 a month
4. Dalo's Examiner pod cast free
5. The GAA Hour with Diarmuid ling - free
6. OTB other podcasts with Tommy Walsh, Sarah O'Donovan etc
7. The RTE GAA podcast
8. The throw in - Irish independent.
9. GAA Fan TV
More parochial Pods
9. Sporting Limerick - the famous Matt O'Callaghan
10. Limerick leader Podcast

All the above are great. The order I listen to them totally depends on my mood, who was playing whether it's a preview or a review etc. Dalo's podcast is more entertainment & banter. But it is entertaining.

A lot of the content is very similar. Especially when the matches are one sided. They are almost copy & paste from the live TV coverage. Also, Michael Verney is in three different podcasts so it's the same narrative from him in all three.

Still tho, the content now available is amazing so I appreciate it a lot more than I give out about it.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 30/05/2022 19:23:49    2421251

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "And slightly off topic, but related and similar to my last point. The overall knowledge of the main pundits and podcasters beyond the top counties is very very poor. Some smaller pods are good, as they tend to have some focus on other counties, as they themselves are not from the top counties.

Like, the knowledge is so poor. Drop away from those top counties, and it's clear they have little idea. They base their limited knowledge on simply looking at the League table, and deciding there and then what they base it on, and squeeze their argument around that (which is a very recent thing). I noticed it particularly recently with my own county (and Tipp). Every single time we were mentioned, it was Division 4 Division 4 Division 4. That's all I heard. And platitudes like great tradition and such. Like no doubt we were down there, but any basic look at the situation would show the odd circumstances of the truncated League last year. Any analysis of Championship and such would show this was an aberration, not the usual. Yet they hone in and obsess so much on league, that they lose sight of any reasoning. If anything, they zoom in on the wrong thing, and then fit their argument around it. Then this week, on review, they were all like, where did that performance come from? How were they that goof after being in Division 4? And it's like facepalm lads, you're not looking at or analysing the right thing here... The standard needs to improve beyond the few big counties"
Big issue here is coverage. If the same big teams are shown all the time then thats all people will know. Most decent pundits usually go to their own counties game on a weekend(and maybe a club game or 2) and then watch whatever Sky/RTE show. Very hard to get a good grasp on 32 counties when you only ever see the same 7/8 regularly.

This is where having the separate packages for hurling/football and the various tiers would lead to better coverage. If Virgin/TG4 had Tailteann cup then these pundits would have to watch those games and maybe be working at some of them so would gain better knowledge.

martyW (Westmeath) - Posts: 319 - 31/05/2022 09:11:16    2421285

The Game on Sunday with Lyster, Spillane and Mulcahy. Has potential. Just started last week.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 29/05/2023 09:10:11    2482447