Your Favourite Football/Hurling Podcast

Just wondering what everyone's favourite podcasts would be. I'd be relatively new to the podcast scene and I think there brilliant.
I'm hoping I'm not missing out on any gems that are out there and I'd like to know what people think are the best ones at analysing the game along with a bit of banter.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 11/05/2022 19:58:05    2416602

Replying To farneygael:  "Just wondering what everyone's favourite podcasts would be. I'd be relatively new to the podcast scene and I think there brilliant.
I'm hoping I'm not missing out on any gems that are out there and I'd like to know what people think are the best ones at analysing the game along with a bit of banter."
In 2017 to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Louth last winning the All Ireland, Colm Corrigian who works on LMFMs sportshow brought a podcast called when Sam crossed the Boyne. It is very good. Well worth a listen.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 785 - 12/05/2022 12:39:10    2416665

The Hurling Pod on Off The Ball is really good. The depth of analysis on this is by far the deepest of any show and they properly analyse setups, stats and look for reasons why teams win games.
I also like the general Off The Ball ones with Tommy Walsh, Jamesie O'Connor and Eddie Brennan.
The Backdoor GAA Podcast is good, some good guests.
I do not like the RTE GAA Podcast or Anthony Daly's show. The pundits are "Old school" and don't analyse things at all. It is bar stool punditry. The unwillingness to call a spade a spade and call it as it is on either show is tiresome. Former managers like TJ Ryan, Dalo should be able to analyse in more depth than they do and there is as much talk about drinking and horses as GAA.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1736 - 12/05/2022 12:49:52    2416674

Replying To farneygael:  "Just wondering what everyone's favourite podcasts would be. I'd be relatively new to the podcast scene and I think there brilliant.
I'm hoping I'm not missing out on any gems that are out there and I'd like to know what people think are the best ones at analysing the game along with a bit of banter."
Smaller Fish, Wooly Parkinson's show. It's €6.10 a month though but worth it for me. The Examiner podcasts are good, separate ones for football and hurling. Good banter on the hurling with Anthony Daly. Oisín McConville ón Football, can sound deceptively dour but a witty man. Ah Ref mostly Mayo stuff, a nice bit of craic. Unfortunately Tomás O'Sé not doing pod these days but had a very good one interviewing various players and coaches. Comhrá le Tomás. Darren O'Sullivan presenting the GAA Hour now is fairly good. Someone here recommended The GAA Social. Only heard a small bit but very good. Lovely Hurling I think has finished with Anthony Nash and Dan Shanahan. Good craic too. The Advertiser GAA Podcast is very good. 2 sound men talking about GAA news in Galway and Mayo.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 12/05/2022 13:19:07    2416681

A hurlers life is well worth a listen. Interesting to hear the 6 best players each guest has played with. For example the two forwards J Tyrell picked as Eoin Larkin and Eoin Kelly (St Keirans) - which was a big surpise given the whole host of names he left out.Have enjoyed every episode so far.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/05/2022 15:25:27    2416717

OTB one with James O'Donoghue and Paddy Andrews is very good

Ros13 (Roscommon) - Posts: 109 - 12/05/2022 15:34:03    2416721

Replying To Ros13:  "OTB one with James O'Donoghue and Paddy Andrews is very good"
They are good when talking about their own counties but once they start talking about something else their lack of knowledge and research is shown up.

Can't stand Parkinson, he doesn't even have the voice for a podcast, not sure how he became so popular and that people are willing to pay for his content now.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3352 - 12/05/2022 16:57:36    2416745

If all these podcasts were free I wouldn't listen to any of them.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 12/05/2022 17:02:51    2416749

The42 GAA Weekly (great value at €42 for the year which includes several other sporting podcasts)
A Hurler's Life
Smaller Fish
Comhrá le Tomás (just started back up)
Examiner football with Paul Rouse
The GAA Social BBC
The Sideline Live
Loaf of Bread

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1131 - 12/05/2022 17:18:11    2416754

Our Game with Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney is good.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 12/05/2022 17:40:39    2416756

I have to admit I like Dalos podcast. OK so it's a bit lightweight as regards hurling content but it's a good listen when you are all day in a workshop by yourself.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12008 - 12/05/2022 17:46:14    2416759

Replying To StoreysTash:  "The Hurling Pod on Off The Ball is really good. The depth of analysis on this is by far the deepest of any show and they properly analyse setups, stats and look for reasons why teams win games.
I also like the general Off The Ball ones with Tommy Walsh, Jamesie O'Connor and Eddie Brennan.
The Backdoor GAA Podcast is good, some good guests.
I do not like the RTE GAA Podcast or Anthony Daly's show. The pundits are "Old school" and don't analyse things at all. It is bar stool punditry. The unwillingness to call a spade a spade and call it as it is on either show is tiresome. Former managers like TJ Ryan, Dalo should be able to analyse in more depth than they do and there is as much talk about drinking and horses as GAA."
RTÉ in general is just poor. I actually turned off the Sunday Game because the analysis was so poor. Davy cutting across the groom Jackie Tyrell and saying 'Can I ask you a question'. It was like something out of school.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 12/05/2022 17:58:40    2416766

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "They are good when talking about their own counties but once they start talking about something else their lack of knowledge and research is shown up.

Can't stand Parkinson, he doesn't even have the voice for a podcast, not sure how he became so popular and that people are willing to pay for his content now."
I hear you about Parkinson he divides opinions. Definitely not everyone's cup of tea and. He gave up a job in finance to do a masters in Journalism so I admire him for having the balls to do that and then split from Off the Ball, then SportsJoe to go out on his own. He has a few bits of shows on his podcasts and does tend to get into a rant the odd time but it's rarely boring. Seems to know every GAA person out there has some great co-presenters and guests. I think a lot of GAA podcasts are boring in comparison. I'll stop being his sale rep now but I won't be buying the merch!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 12/05/2022 18:03:16    2416768

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "They are good when talking about their own counties but once they start talking about something else their lack of knowledge and research is shown up.

Can't stand Parkinson, he doesn't even have the voice for a podcast, not sure how he became so popular and that people are willing to pay for his content now."
He's set himself up with a certain persona over lockdown and ironically he has lots of sheep following him despite considering himself a "critical thinker" or whatever. GAA Gemma is a very accurate label considering some of his deeply unpleasant tweets

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 12/05/2022 18:09:32    2416771

I dip in amd out of some of them but the GAA Social on BBC is my staple. Good analysis and insights and a good variety across guests and topics.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 806 - 12/05/2022 18:27:48    2416774

Replying To Rolo2010:  "RTÉ in general is just poor. I actually turned off the Sunday Game because the analysis was so poor. Davy cutting across the groom Jackie Tyrell and saying 'Can I ask you a question'. It was like something out of school."
Imagine if you went to matches and the atmosphere there was like Sunday Game or the RTE podcast? No-one losing the rag over the ref's decision, no one effin or blinding and minding their Ps and Qs, no-one roaring at their team to go out and knock the other lads into the middle of next week, etc, etc. You'd need an earpiece to ask what you can say in polite company. Sunday Sport on the radio is a bit better but the RTE TV and podcast is too sane, politically correct and boring to watch to listen to regularly.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 13/05/2022 10:49:38    2416820

Replying To Viking66:  "I have to admit I like Dalos podcast. OK so it's a bit lightweight as regards hurling content but it's a good listen when you are all day in a workshop by yourself."
I like hurling and know very little about it. The lads on that podcast have a nice bit of banter, don't take themselves too seriously and Mark Landers sounds like he's some craic.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 13/05/2022 10:56:02    2416824

Replying To Ros13:  "OTB one with James O'Donoghue and Paddy Andrews is very good"
I think its very poor in relation to others, the GAA social with in particular.

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 13/05/2022 10:58:32    2416827

Said it elsewhere, but Andrews is a pure dose, who will just not shut up when someone else is talking. It's overall a good pod, but like someone else said, when they get away from their own or the main top teams, their knowledge is sorely lacking. My own fault I suppose in still listening, but still a good pod, I just want to shout when Andrews keeps butting in with rubbish

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2396 - 13/05/2022 11:22:39    2416833

Dalos podcast is hugely entertaining. There is plenty of very good analysis but its also laid back fun and banter.

For proper insight Michael Verney is head and shoulders the best analyst I've heard in last few years and I listen to most podcasts.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1131 - 13/05/2022 11:40:29    2416837