2022 All-Ireland SFC Qualifiers thread

Replying To Greenfield:  "Maybe something got lost in translation but I'm not sure where in my post I blamed anything on dublin. This issue was caused by the GAA. Of course apologists like yourself will refuse to see that until it's too late."
Football needs a strong Meath so it is disappointing the county is struggling. I'm curious why the GAA is at fault for it's demise though! Are you saying the success of Leinster Rugby and the money put into Dublin GAA is the reason Meath are struggling at inter county level?

There is a lot more competition these days, especially in Munster and Leinster with it's hurling and rugby. However within Meath and Kildare apart from the obvious elite not every player at 17 or 18 will make it at professional rugby, so what structures and benefits can Meath and Kildare put in place to keep more in the game?

From the outside structures within the county borders are obviously not right, it might be economic in the sense players cannot give the committment to football especially at inter county level with the need to concentrate on their careers/jobs due to cost of living around those counties.

As of next season the importance of the Leinster championship becomes significanly diluted. If counties can get themselves to the top of Div 2 or into Div 1 they'll most likely play within the All Ireland group stages. Meath and Kildare cannot blame the Leinster championship then, but surely if structures are right they can get high up the national league structures and then hopefully compete with as many teams as possible in the championship. I probably shouldn't compare Kildare and Meath currently because Kildare don't appear that far away from the top 8.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 07/06/2022 10:39:46    2422886

Replying To Greenfield:  "I get that this is a thinly-veiled attempt to make kerry's Munster victories look in some way impressive, but it doesn't mean much really.

Getting the Munster counties through the play offs first round only happened because in an open draw they got the easiest possible draws. If cork/Clare had drawn Armagh/Tyrone the outcome would have been different.
Football in Leinster is dead in 10/12 counties. Killed by the GAA. While they invested in dublin to combat the rise of rugby they didn't notice the marketing job being done around the "12 county army". I'm no rugby fan but even in my own club I see lads being turned to that sport now once they reach minor. Inter county football is no longer the draw it once was, thanks to Sean Kelly/Bertie/horan and their accomplices."
I agree rugby is gaining momentum especially in urban areas. It is professional and international which is a major draw for young people. Former exclusively rugby playing schools like Christians in Cork, now play GAA , and very often dual young players opt for rugby. Soccer is also gaining momentum, and to be honest, some Gaelic football games are hard to watch! I enjoy watching Dublin or Kerry whilst the recent Donegal/Derry or Cork/Louth were a tough watch!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/06/2022 11:07:43    2422905

La Rochelle's (coached by Ronan O' Gara) recent win over Leinster was cheered by Munster fans! Go figure!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/06/2022 11:35:18    2422923

There seems to be a few complaints on social media about the double header for Croke Park. Should Kildare v Mayo and Roscommon v Clare been scheduled for provincial grounds?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 07/06/2022 11:54:52    2422939

Will there be 25,000 for double header in croke park?i doubt it..5000 at most for lim/cork probably a full house for Armagh/donegal..surely it would make more since to play these games in grounds with a bloody atmosphere..did they consult players and county boards about any of this??also why have minor games been stopped before senior??this got people into grounds earlier ..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 07/06/2022 13:32:54    2423017

This weekend will backfire on the GAA. Bringing Mayo fans for a 6pm throw in on a Saturday evening….I'm sure Clare and the Rossies are wondering the same.

We also have our minors playing Kildare in Tullamore the next day in an all Ireland quarter final…why not make it a double header of Mayo v Kildare? You couldn't make it up.

We have a round of club league fixtures too in Mayo on Sunday so good luck. With the cost of fuel and accommodation I predict the smallest Mayo crowd in Croke Park in a good few years…probably v Cork in 2011.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/06/2022 14:30:42    2423052

Replying To yew_tree:  "This weekend will backfire on the GAA. Bringing Mayo fans for a 6pm throw in on a Saturday evening….I'm sure Clare and the Rossies are wondering the same.

We also have our minors playing Kildare in Tullamore the next day in an all Ireland quarter final…why not make it a double header of Mayo v Kildare? You couldn't make it up.

We have a round of club league fixtures too in Mayo on Sunday so good luck. With the cost of fuel and accommodation I predict the smallest Mayo crowd in Croke Park in a good few years…probably v Cork in 2011."
All in Clare and Roscommon was expecting Salthill for our game and are left puzzled by this choice of venue. One national journalist said the rossies will travel in big numbers as its a novel trip to Croke park. This will be out 12th trip to Croke Park to see the senior footballers in action in the last ten years its far from novel.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 07/06/2022 14:57:53    2423071

Replying To yew_tree:  "This weekend will backfire on the GAA. Bringing Mayo fans for a 6pm throw in on a Saturday evening….I'm sure Clare and the Rossies are wondering the same.

We have a round of club league fixtures too in Mayo on Sunday so good luck. With the cost of fuel and accommodation I predict the smallest Mayo crowd in Croke Park in a good few years…probably v Cork in 2011."
I agree with you 100% yew_tree. A double header for Kildare and Mayo fans in Tullamore makes perfect sense to me. The GAA are more concerned with satisfying SKY Sports than they are genuine GAA supporters. At short notice the price of getting a hotel in Dublin on a Saturday night is really out of the question. Expecting parents and children to travel all the way back to Bangor, Ballycastle, Bellacorick etc (Mayo) in the middle of the night just shows what the GAA hierarchy thinks of you all. The Leinster Final involving Galway only started at 7.00pm last Saturday night just to satisfying Sky Sports again. Some Galway supporters would not have got back to Cliften and Connemara until the middle of the night. The GAA needs to cop themselves on. As a Rossie living in Dublin the games in Dublin suit me, but I support your call for a Kildare v Mayo double header in Tullamore 100%. I would have been more than happy to travel to Tullamore or Portlaoise to see the Roscommon v Clare game.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 07/06/2022 15:03:03    2423075

Not to pile on but, as has been said, even though its relatively close for us, Kildare people aren't happy at the venue either. The place will be dead and only a quarter full at best. A smaller venue would have (obviously) been much better for atmosphere and excitement. Why not put it on with the minors?! I suspect this has something to do with Sky television as both Saturday games are being televised but it makes no sense on any level to have people travelling such distances for what'll be a game played in eery silence. Its really hard to understand this daft decision.

AllWhite (Kildare) - Posts: 171 - 07/06/2022 15:20:59    2423090

Replying To katser:  "All Ireland Quarter Final Draw
Kerry v Mayo
Dublin v Roscommon
Galway v Cork
Derry v Armagh

Semi Finals
Kerry v Dublin
Galway v Derry

This is only a guess!!!!"
My guess

Galway v Donegal
Derry v Roscommon
Dublin v Cork
Kerry v Mayo

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 07/06/2022 15:30:54    2423098

They are not worried nor care about supporters Yew Tree. Leinster hurling final, a case in point, lowest attendance in years.
A good salesman would see that bringing the games to provincial grounds near both teams, cutting the distance to travel is the way to go. Pack out a provincial ground, give the town an economic boost, cut down on cost of travel, lowering the carbon emissions & if they had any sales gumption, sell tickets more reasonably with family packages etc.
For those who travelled to Croke Park for the Leinster Hurling final as they did from our house, firstly purchase stand tickets which are overpriced, fuel at €2.05 a litre, tolls, hotels were too dear & not available anyways for any of the young ones wanting to stay & go on the town afterwards, parking fees, programme & food & drink, it was an expensive day out. Allied to this is the fact that they want supporters to do this every two weeks.
Let's not forget Croke Park has a huge amount of highly paid officials who come up with these proposals along with the fixtures committee.
It is madness asking Mayo supporters to travel twice to a Senior & Minor game, these should be played together as well, whoever came up with that brain fart should be stepped down.
Time for the GAA to show a bit of cop on & put supporters before the TV Rights money & see that inflation is hitting supporters ability to survive wage packet to wage packet, outside of even going to games. Increasing ticket prices showed real greed & it has had the opposite effect. They don't seem to be able to grasp the point of diminishing returns.
I think they hope that the loyal Mayo fans will go no matter what or at what cost.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 07/06/2022 15:36:25    2423103

Mayo and Roscommon fans will save themselves for the Quarter Final.

kerry4sam2022 (Australia) - Posts: 4 - 07/06/2022 15:58:07    2423113

Replying To The_analyser:  "All in Clare and Roscommon was expecting Salthill for our game and are left puzzled by this choice of venue. One national journalist said the rossies will travel in big numbers as its a novel trip to Croke park. This will be out 12th trip to Croke Park to see the senior footballers in action in the last ten years its far from novel."
I'm baffled as to why Roscommon v Clare isn't in Tuam Stadium!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 07/06/2022 16:05:56    2423122

When you owe HQ a small fortune ,Mayo GAA will dance to whatever tune they want to play,
The management and players however will be happy its at Croke park, and Dublin has a very large Mayo population
so they are banking on those fans who weren't at Castlebar last weekend to make up the numbers for those back west who will choose to remain at home..

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 07/06/2022 16:48:19    2423141

Replying To The_analyser:  "All in Clare and Roscommon was expecting Salthill for our game and are left puzzled by this choice of venue. One national journalist said the rossies will travel in big numbers as its a novel trip to Croke park. This will be out 12th trip to Croke Park to see the senior footballers in action in the last ten years its far from novel."
I'm not sure how Croke Park came into anyone's mind for the Clare V Roscommon game. Madness. How its not in Galway is beyond me.

A packed out Tullamore with the Kildare Mayo minors playing before again would make a lot of sense.

This double header is another crazy decision.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 279 - 07/06/2022 17:11:47    2423151

There seems to be a lot of annoyance in social media about GAA supporters travelling long distances to support their teams in the qualifiers. The GAA really has to take a long hard look at upgrading a couple of regional GAA grounds in central strategic locations, in order to facilitate 25,000 to 40,000 travelling supporters.
One way of looking at this issue is to consider how could we facilitate supporters who may be travelling from the North and West while alternatively facilitating supporters who may be travelling from the South and East. Not all roads need to lead to Dublin.
I would propose a major up-grading for Hyde Park in Roscommon and O' Moore Park in Portlaoise. There is no real point in a major upgrading of stadiums in the coastal towns as these stadiums are not central, resulting in supporters having to travel longer distances to matches. Up grading these two stadiums would mean they are in touching distance from most counties, leading to more flexible planning of fixtures, while also cutting down on travelling costs, resulting in less road emissions and harm to our environment. Both towns have train lines which might held our older supporters who might want to avail of free travel, and both pitches are within walking distances of the town centre.
Some people reading this post might think I am biased as I am a Rossie who lives in Dublin, but I have absolutely no business connections in Roscommon. Before you criticize this post please have an overall look at a map of Ireland and decide if it makes any sense. I would have no problem with genuine GAA supporters making an argument for other GAA stadiums to be upgraded, but I genuinely believe in my proposal until someone makes and justifies a better argument.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 07/06/2022 17:25:26    2423155

Good luck with getting bums in seats in Croke Park. GAA should be hauled over coal for this bananas decision. Bringing Mayo over for 6pm throw in is utter disregard. I personally can't stand the place anymore, no atmosphere, no parking, No enjoyment. A pint before the game in Tullamore and short enough walk up to the game would have done grand. GAA taking any crack out of the games and people are not mugs. Enjoy counting the empty seats.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 07/06/2022 17:47:41    2423157

Well at least our Chairman seems to think we all love going to Croke Park…yes but we don't get free tickets and travel like him. Our board are a bunch of clowns.

I'd even go as far to say that a double header v Kildare in Hyde Park would have been a sell out. I know it's a bit further for Kildare but from north west Mayo to Roscommon is further than Kildare people and why not inject some much needed cash into a provincial town?

Clare v Roscommon should be in Salthill or even MacHale Park. The GAA don't do common sense. Your truly won't be in Croke Park anyway with work and club commitments. I know more not going. A lot of Mayo people live in Dublin/Meath/Kildare May boost the mayo attendance.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/06/2022 20:13:06    2423200

I am beyond delighted to see that common sense prevails and the all Ulster clash between Armagh and Donegal is in Clones. It would make absolutely no sense bringing these teams to Croke Park for a second round tie in the qualifiers.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 07/06/2022 20:37:44    2423206

I seen a stat that Roscommon have not won a championship game in Croke Park in 42 years! Thats almost unbelievable for a football mad county like yours so I'd assume a win v Clare will be most welcome and the rossies will bring a big support on Saturday. All the best…hopefully the two Connacht teams will join Galway and get thru to the quarters.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/06/2022 21:43:28    2423219