Clare Hurling thread

Replying To Jedobi:  "Clear penalty Wexford weren't given, so don't start any of that. Wexford lot closer to Clare than Waterford."
I believe Wexford should have got the penalty as they were no defender inside Lee Chin and who is making the call that these two defenders would have got back to stop him taking his shot. I said both Wexford could have been called back on an other day , not that they should. Either way the two people at the two posts should be involved to avoid an error either way. So points again to their uselessness. I don't know what this has to do with Waterford. We have the same in the bag this year as Wexford. Actually some might say more if you put any value on a league. Personally I don't put much.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 18/06/2022 20:30:05    2425897

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Please……. Mark Rogers Hurley pulled back when he was about to pull the trigger was missed and both your second half goals were square balls as confirmed by the panelist's at full time."
Ah them panellists on RTE are alright now, hey.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 18/06/2022 20:36:55    2425900

Replying To updwell:  "Ah them panellists on RTE are alright now, hey."
Never had a problem with the panelist's on the live show. It's the Sunday Games "controversial moments" I have the problem with

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 18/06/2022 21:15:29    2425925

Replying To updwell:  "Ah them panellists on RTE are alright now, hey."
Were Wexford the only county not represented on the panel today?

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2022 21:32:47    2425933

Massive win after a poor performance. Wexford unlucky with injuries and there bench was poor. Clares bench made a massive difference and a few of our big players really came into the game in the last 15 minutes.

Felt bad for Hayes but thought Lohan made the right call, Nolan did well when introduced.

Support was brilliant towards the end, place was rocking. Lots of friendly banter, with no bottles being thrown on pitch or lads drinking cans in the stands and no English chants either which was refreshing.

Dec82andahalf (Clare) - Posts: 34 - 18/06/2022 21:55:33    2425940

Replying To Canuck:  "I believe Wexford should have got the penalty as they were no defender inside Lee Chin and who is making the call that these two defenders would have got back to stop him taking his shot. I said both Wexford could have been called back on an other day , not that they should. Either way the two people at the two posts should be involved to avoid an error either way. So points again to their uselessness. I don't know what this has to do with Waterford. We have the same in the bag this year as Wexford. Actually some might say more if you put any value on a league. Personally I don't put much."
I'd love to win a League. Don't remember the last 1 as I was only 2 at the time!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 08:00:25    2425953

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Please……. Mark Rogers Hurley pulled back when he was about to pull the trigger was missed and both your second half goals were square balls as confirmed by the panelist's at full time."
Not sure a square ball counts when the attacker is fouled outside the square and dragged into it in the process? Thought the officials were OK tbh.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 08:02:02    2425954

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Easy on. Waterford have qualified for two All Ireland Finals in the last five years, even though they had an awful year this year. It was indeed a good display by Wexford, but with Duggan, O'Donnell and Kelly so well contained, for so long, ye should have prevailed."
It was when their containing markers got injured and then subsequently went off that Clare scored a goal and 7 more points than we did. The better subs we had and that we brought on sadly for us were more forward minded players. Not too many county sides have a centre back as good as Damien Reck or a man marker as good as Shane Reck, who has now kept Tony Kelly to less points than you would count just on the fingers of 1 hand over 140 odd minutes of hurling, on their first teams. Never mind replacements that good.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 08:07:46    2425955

Replying To WEX98:  "Were Wexford the only county not represented on the panel today?"
No Clare were not represented. Ye had Davy Fitz sure

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 19/06/2022 09:08:37    2425965

Replying To Viking66:  "It was when their containing markers got injured and then subsequently went off that Clare scored a goal and 7 more points than we did. The better subs we had and that we brought on sadly for us were more forward minded players. Not too many county sides have a centre back as good as Damien Reck or a man marker as good as Shane Reck, who has now kept Tony Kelly to less points than you would count just on the fingers of 1 hand over 140 odd minutes of hurling, on their first teams. Never mind replacements that good."
100%......imagine if Shane had of been hurling for the last 4 months.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 19/06/2022 09:58:28    2425976

Replying To Dec82andahalf:  "Massive win after a poor performance. Wexford unlucky with injuries and there bench was poor. Clares bench made a massive difference and a few of our big players really came into the game in the last 15 minutes.

Felt bad for Hayes but thought Lohan made the right call, Nolan did well when introduced.

Support was brilliant towards the end, place was rocking. Lots of friendly banter, with no bottles being thrown on pitch or lads drinking cans in the stands and no English chants either which was refreshing."
Wexford and Clare supporters, you couldn't get two nicer set of fans.

Lots of friendly chats between both sets of fans after the game which was great to see.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 718 - 19/06/2022 10:03:39    2425980

Replying To Viking66:  "It was when their containing markers got injured and then subsequently went off that Clare scored a goal and 7 more points than we did. The better subs we had and that we brought on sadly for us were more forward minded players. Not too many county sides have a centre back as good as Damien Reck or a man marker as good as Shane Reck, who has now kept Tony Kelly to less points than you would count just on the fingers of 1 hand over 140 odd minutes of hurling, on their first teams. Never mind replacements that good."
I'll give Reck his dues he is a savage man marker but TK was not 100% fit yesterday. He is carrying an ankle injury which is why is played close to goal until the end when we were chasing it. Hoping another 2 weeks will bring him on

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 19/06/2022 10:13:23    2425983

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "No Clare were not represented. Ye had Davy Fitz sure"
Ah Davy had his Clare colours on and clear to be seen yesterday!

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 19/06/2022 10:17:45    2425988

Replying To Past hurler:  "Wexford and Clare supporters, you couldn't get two nicer set of fans.

Lots of friendly chats between both sets of fans after the game which was great to see."
For sure. Had great craic with some of them. 1st time I've heard the real banner roar since the 90s too!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 10:28:38    2425995

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "No Clare were not represented. Ye had Davy Fitz sure"
Shocking......played a pivotal role in 3 of Clare's 4 All Ireland wins.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 19/06/2022 10:44:38    2426000

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I'll give Reck his dues he is a savage man marker but TK was not 100% fit yesterday. He is carrying an ankle injury which is why is played close to goal until the end when we were chasing it. Hoping another 2 weeks will bring him on"
Wexford lost Rory o'connor after 10 minutes. Dee o'keeffe a little bit later and the 2 Recks when the game was in the melting pot.
Add to that Chin like Kelly was pushed in full forward in the second half due to hamstring injury. Sounds like I'm making excuses but had all those injuries not happened to some of our key players the result might have been different. No sour grapes from us, you stormed into it when all seemed lost and i wish you well when you face the cats.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 19/06/2022 11:41:15    2426011

Replying To Viking66:  "For sure. Had great craic with some of them. 1st time I've heard the real banner roar since the 90s too!"
It was noticeable that only the Cork and Clare supporters booed the opposition free takers......must be only when their supporting the egg ball that they show some respect.

Fair play to the Galway and Wexford supporters.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 19/06/2022 11:44:43    2426013

Replying To WEX98:  "Shocking......played a pivotal role in 3 of Clare's 4 All Ireland wins."
Eaten bread is soon forgot. Though Davy hasn't been blameless in the erasing of those memories up around where he is from.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 12:36:44    2426035

Replying To WEX98:  "It was noticeable that only the Cork and Clare supporters booed the opposition free takers......must be only when their supporting the egg ball that they show some respect.

Fair play to the Galway and Wexford supporters."
Is it really that big a deal if they boo the free taker?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 19/06/2022 12:59:26    2426040

Replying To WEX98:  "It was noticeable that only the Cork and Clare supporters booed the opposition free takers......must be only when their supporting the egg ball that they show some respect.

Fair play to the Galway and Wexford supporters."
A minority of supporters in every county boo the free takers,no county holds the morale high ground.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 19/06/2022 13:07:11    2426042