Clare Hurling thread

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Duggan got a finger in the eye…….. your clutching if you think that was simulation???"
It's a pity it was not five. In his mouth to keep it shut. Glad he was playing and thought he should but there is some thing about his demeanour since he came back that does not fit with the rest. I felt sorry for Rory Hayes. He is a fine player and may need to be reassigned. I guess the writing was on the wall when your man is scoring freely. Dessie got six but anyone would struggle with him if he gets the right ball and he moves around all the time. Hayes will play a part going forward.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 20/06/2022 14:42:01    2426402

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Booing has been around for a long long time. It's not a new development.

I watched Clare v Wexford replay from 2014 last night and the Wexford fans booed Colin Ryan as he took the equalising free at the end of the game so all counties are at it.

Its not nice though. I would never do it"
Its downright stupid behaviour saw some teenagers doing it in the Stand needs to be called out.
Wexford fans as usual were very sporting and good natured at 60 minutes i was sure I
would be supporting Wexford for the rest of the year but they panicked a bit when Clare came back at them.

Should have got a stone wall penalty & Black card on 70 mins when L Chin was tripped might have been different game.

Aron Shanagher won it for us looked totally clued in and was not going to waste his opportunity also Shane Meehan always in right place knows where posts are.

Aidan MCCarthy hurled well for Inaghmona on Sunday so B Lohan will have a full hand {nearly} to [ick from Kilkenny will be savage test though

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 21/06/2022 09:15:11    2426494

Replying To clooney:  "Its downright stupid behaviour saw some teenagers doing it in the Stand needs to be called out.
Wexford fans as usual were very sporting and good natured at 60 minutes i was sure I
would be supporting Wexford for the rest of the year but they panicked a bit when Clare came back at them.

Should have got a stone wall penalty & Black card on 70 mins when L Chin was tripped might have been different game.

Aron Shanagher won it for us looked totally clued in and was not going to waste his opportunity also Shane Meehan always in right place knows where posts are.

Aidan MCCarthy hurled well for Inaghmona on Sunday so B Lohan will have a full hand {nearly} to [ick from Kilkenny will be savage test though"
Hope you get to the final Clooney

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 21/06/2022 09:55:20    2426503

Replying To clooney:  "Its downright stupid behaviour saw some teenagers doing it in the Stand needs to be called out.

Aidan MCCarthy hurled well for Inaghmona on Sunday so B Lohan will have a full hand {nearly} to [ick from Kilkenny will be savage test though"
That's great news about Aidan McCarthy, he's a great bit of stuff and he's improving all the time too, big boost for Clare for him to be involved at some stage against Kilkenny

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 21/06/2022 13:36:46    2426634

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "That's the point I am making it's the supporter who pour in when the team are doing well who are booing in general not the steady 5-10 thousand.

I just don't want any chat abou let Clare lads booing. All counties do it when the bandwagon is rolling. Sure wasn't a bottle thrown at TK in an iconic moment in Munster championship history a couple of weeks back.

You can be sure it wasn't thrown by the hardcore Limerick fans"
Spot on.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 21/06/2022 14:41:28    2426660

I certainly would not single out Clare for the booing culture. Neither will I excuse any county for it including my own. However make them feel unwelcome and I have done that. These clowns get tickets and there are genuine supports who can't orcan't afford to go ? We have become passive with so many things and that is just one step away from approving it.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 21/06/2022 18:38:11    2426721

Replying To Canuck:  "I certainly would not single out Clare for the booing culture. Neither will I excuse any county for it including my own. However make them feel unwelcome and I have done that. These clowns get tickets and there are genuine supports who can't orcan't afford to go ? We have become passive with so many things and that is just one step away from approving it."
I agree canuck. It is very unsporting but of course it is impossible to eliminate.
Stewards can't be expected to deal with it.
Some people in the immediate vicinity might say something but that would go unheard and have no effect. So unfortunately there is no solution to the booing and it'll be there for evermore.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 22/06/2022 10:29:03    2426783

I cant believe Shane O Donnell won GAA player of the week. I think the world of Shane but there were about 5 ladson the pitch better than him. Lee Chin and Shane Reck were much better although I know they wont give it to someone on the losing team. For Clare, Diarmuid Ryan was super at half back and Ian Galvin in fairness kept the scoreboard ticking when we needed scores. Shocked Shane was even nominated TBH.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2472 - 22/06/2022 15:11:07    2426869

Replying To Samson55:  "I agree canuck. It is very unsporting but of course it is impossible to eliminate.
Stewards can't be expected to deal with it.
Some people in the immediate vicinity might say something but that would go unheard and have no effect. So unfortunately there is no solution to the booing and it'll be there for evermore."
Samson55 I will give you an example where it worked. The 1974 All-Ireland under 21 in Thurles. A bunch of bandwagon jumpers turned up from Waterford. They started to kick out the sheeting on the back of the stand. A few real deise supports went back up to them and told them you will be going out through the hole if you make one. Another 20 people in our group turned also and voiced their support. They stopped knowing it would not be tolerated. These idiots were too drunk to see the game not that probably took too much.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 22/06/2022 15:16:51    2426871

Replying To Canuck:  "Samson55 I will give you an example where it worked. The 1974 All-Ireland under 21 in Thurles. A bunch of bandwagon jumpers turned up from Waterford. They started to kick out the sheeting on the back of the stand. A few real deise supports went back up to them and told them you will be going out through the hole if you make one. Another 20 people in our group turned also and voiced their support. They stopped knowing it would not be tolerated. These idiots were too drunk to see the game not that probably took too much."
Canuck. That would work with a small crowd of idiots who are located close together.
However in relation to booing thats a different problem altogether. The booers ( is that the proper word?) Would whistle and boo from different parts of the ground so action cannot be taken by decent supporters.
Stewards and Gardia are there to deal with drunks and guys who are there just to cause trouble.
It has to be said though that within the Gaa there is very little trouble. I have been at thousands of games over the years and i know you have too and i have never come across bad behaviour except some booing of course.
Thank God we don't have the culture of hoodlums and lager louts that exist across the water.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 22/06/2022 15:51:05    2426883

Looking forward to hurling semi finals now should be two games worthy of the occasion.

From the 1/4 finals you would think that Galway have a bit to too to take on Limerick they seemed to play with a sweeper so are hard to break down.

Clare V Kilkenny should not be too much between them KK are Leinster champs and love Croak Park our bench is stronger now that Cian Nolan has got a bit of game time & experience.

I would not expect changes from last weeks starting 15 Rory Hayes will return stronger than ever.

We will have Shanagher, Meehan, R Mounsey Mark Rodgers for cover in the forwards that's a few very handy hurlers if things are not going well.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 22/06/2022 16:11:23    2426889

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I cant believe Shane O Donnell won GAA player of the week. I think the world of Shane but there were about 5 ladson the pitch better than him. Lee Chin and Shane Reck were much better although I know they wont give it to someone on the losing team. For Clare, Diarmuid Ryan was super at half back and Ian Galvin in fairness kept the scoreboard ticking when we needed scores. Shocked Shane was even nominated TBH."
I'm delighted for him fair play to him for being back at all!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 22/06/2022 16:20:47    2426895

Replying To Samson55:  "Canuck. That would work with a small crowd of idiots who are located close together.
However in relation to booing thats a different problem altogether. The booers ( is that the proper word?) Would whistle and boo from different parts of the ground so action cannot be taken by decent supporters.
Stewards and Gardia are there to deal with drunks and guys who are there just to cause trouble.
It has to be said though that within the Gaa there is very little trouble. I have been at thousands of games over the years and i know you have too and i have never come across bad behaviour except some booing of course.
Thank God we don't have the culture of hoodlums and lager louts that exist across the water."
Problem is, as regards booing and stewards and gards, it's not against the law or the rules of the ground. A steward got onto me about smoking even though I was in the uncovered seating area by the tunnel I was sitting beside. He explained no smoking in the pitchside area. I put it out and went to the back area when it was halftime.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 22/06/2022 16:24:16    2426898

Replying To Viking66:  "Problem is, as regards booing and stewards and gards, it's not against the law or the rules of the ground. A steward got onto me about smoking even though I was in the uncovered seating area by the tunnel I was sitting beside. He explained no smoking in the pitchside area. I put it out and went to the back area when it was halftime."
No stewards, guards or rules will ever stop the booers. It is just a matter of common decency. Maybe it is the home they were brought up in and like I said before no one has to accept bad behaviour by ignoring it and for all intense and purpose given it the green light. A word does not cost much.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 22/06/2022 19:03:10    2426926

Replying To Dec82andahalf:  "Diarmuid Byrnes did that in 2018 and obviously Kiely had a word with him because it never happened again and I'd nearly put money on it, that Lohan had a word with Fitzgerald. These things happen in the heat of the moment, as long as the same team isn't repeating it, then I think we'll be OK.

Lads constantly swiping with the hurley is a far bigger issue in my opinion. Repeat offenders, there the worst."
Lohan would want to have a word with Duggan and Conlon about throwing themselves to the ground and sure isn't O'Donnell looking for a free every time he gets any conact-good to see the ref ignored it in Munster final.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 22/06/2022 19:41:14    2426932

Pat Fitzgerald retiring

F4 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 47 - 22/06/2022 21:04:13    2426949

Aidan McCarthy back for Clare.

F4 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 47 - 23/06/2022 08:50:34    2426959

Replying To F4:  "Aidan McCarthy back for Clare."
Hard to see him making much of an impact at this stage given he went for surgery 6 months ago but a welcome boost none the less. He is our second highest scorer from play behind TK over the past 2 years and has bags of talent. Id be shocked if he started on Saturday week but I would expect him to come off the bench towards the end.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2472 - 23/06/2022 10:49:21    2427000

Replying To updwell:  "Lohan would want to have a word with Duggan and Conlon about throwing themselves to the ground and sure isn't O'Donnell looking for a free every time he gets any conact-good to see the ref ignored it in Munster final."
Met 2 men from Cork at game in Thurles said Munster Final was best game they ever remembered yet the whingey whiney comments continue { [people in glass Houses and all that }

Tired of listening to it now go find an other pursuit

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 23/06/2022 12:44:00    2427037

Replying To clooney:  "Met 2 men from Cork at game in Thurles said Munster Final was best game they ever remembered yet the whingey whiney comments continue { [people in glass Houses and all that }

Tired of listening to it now go find an other pursuit"
Can't handle the truth,Clare did all the whinging after Munster final, victim's and all that.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 23/06/2022 14:18:02    2427061