2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Viking66:  "Reck wasn't right after the ball in the face. Looked a little disorientated. At one point the ball dropped beside him and it took a second or 2 for him to find it. That's not usual for him. And the last 10 minutes he seemed to be distinctly out of sorts. He should've been pulled off earlier but we didn't have any backs on the bench good enough to replace him. Flood was the only player came on who has played much in the backs but he's an attacking wing back. He's actually a forward since underage. His tackling and positional awareness isn't what it should be for a back. That's why he's not a starter because technically he's 1 of the best hurlers we have."
Ah ok, I wasn't aware of that. Hopefully it's minor and he will recover. I've no doubt there's a lot what ifs in wexford today and moral victories are no good but it was good to see wexford turn their year around and go out in a proper battle. An all Ireland final place was within your grasp

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/06/2022 12:04:45    2426016

Lads if Clare played Wexford 10 times they'd win 9 . They have better players and thats the bottom line. Fair play to Wexford who played well for long periods yesterday. They had some great performers. Clare played well for 8 mins and blew them out of the water . I dont think Kilkenny would have let Clare back into it if they were 6 points up but will they get 6 points up against them in the semi.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 19/06/2022 12:21:34    2426025

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I won't disagree with you there but there are Wexford lads whinging about the ref and it's uncalled for imo

My only compliant about him was he was so whistle happy"
Think that was always going to be the case after TSG did their bit to set back hurling. Tralee was worse that way tbh.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 19/06/2022 12:32:05    2426032

Replying To WEX98:  "Looked like Damien was concussed, fumbled the ball a few times."
We are thinking exactly the same. Posted that earlier at the same time as yourself. Will the 2 lads be back in 2 weeks? You will need them for Senior I feel.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 19/06/2022 12:33:56    2426034

Replying To Viking66:  "Reck wasn't right after the ball in the face. Looked a little disorientated. At one point the ball dropped beside him and it took a second or 2 for him to find it. That's not usual for him. And the last 10 minutes he seemed to be distinctly out of sorts. He should've been pulled off earlier but we didn't have any backs on the bench good enough to replace him. Flood was the only player came on who has played much in the backs but he's an attacking wing back. He's actually a forward since underage. His tackling and positional awareness isn't what it should be for a back. That's why he's not a starter because technically he's 1 of the best hurlers we have."
If that is the case it was very irresponsible from a player welfare point of view that he wasn't taken off immediately after the incident happened. A player playing on with concussion is a potential tragedy in the making.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 19/06/2022 13:10:37    2426044

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ah ok, I wasn't aware of that. Hopefully it's minor and he will recover. I've no doubt there's a lot what ifs in wexford today and moral victories are no good but it was good to see wexford turn their year around and go out in a proper battle. An all Ireland final place was within your grasp"
It was. We will be back next year. I think its important to get to the Leinster final next year now. We lost Dunbar in the Kerry game and he's a borderline starter. And the lads didn't do any work on Clare til after the Kerry game after what happened in Mullingar. 1 week is too short. And obviously if you win your provincial title you are straight into a semi which is priceless as hurling becomes more and more intensive year on year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 19/06/2022 13:20:59    2426046

Replying To bottletopbill:  "People are entitled to their opinions. As said don't think it would change the result but it contributed. The goal lost wexford the match, end of. You cannot argue with facts. 10 frees to 1 in favor of Clare at one point and 17-11 in the end. These are the facts and Clare won so good luck to them."
Since you love stats the scores from play were

Clare 1-18
Wexford 2-8

Wexford benefitted much more from frees on the scoreboard then Clare

What cost Wexford today was the lack of scores from play. Ye are missing a couple of forwards tbh

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 19/06/2022 13:21:30    2426047

Replying To bloodyban:  "Lads if Clare played Wexford 10 times they'd win 9 . They have better players and thats the bottom line. Fair play to Wexford who played well for long periods yesterday. They had some great performers. Clare played well for 8 mins and blew them out of the water . I dont think Kilkenny would have let Clare back into it if they were 6 points up but will they get 6 points up against them in the semi."
Doubt it. Probably 7 or maybe 8 out of 10 ok. We could do with another couple good intercounty tackling type backs to bring on when lads get injured though. Maybe Joe O Connor who was travelling this year might help that way if he develops a bit. Davy saw something in him. Aidan Nolan was travelling too and would be experienced at senior intercounty too. Conor Firman maybe? We have others who were good prospects underage but don't want to commit, Carthy, Cullen etc. And maybe some of the u20s might step up. AJ Redmond is an exceptional hurler. Kyle Scallan also. Things are alot more positive looking than they were when we lost the last 3 AIQFs we lost.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 19/06/2022 13:29:37    2426053

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "If that is the case it was very irresponsible from a player welfare point of view that he wasn't taken off immediately after the incident happened. A player playing on with concussion is a potential tragedy in the making."
He's tough. He just got on with it. He wasn't going to say he wasn't right. The medical lads wouldn't have had the benefit of slow motion replays that I saw last night.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 19/06/2022 13:40:55    2426058

Not specific to hurling but I hadn't been in Thurles for a couple of years and forgot how decrepit the facilities behind the stand are.
The toilet behind the Kinnan Stand are absolutely tiny and not adequate for 5,000 people let alone 45k.
The scrum to get in was really dangerous and coupled with people trying to get food and also trying to get in to the ground.
The steps down from the turnstiles seem unnecessary and there were no signs for the 100 sections. It was all fairly messy I thought.
It is a mighty place for a match but the facilities and general layout needs to be looked at

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 19/06/2022 13:41:39    2426059

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Since you love stats the scores from play were

Clare 1-18
Wexford 2-8

What cost Wexford today was the lack of scores from play. Ye are missing a couple of forwards tbh"
1-8 or more of your scores from play came after we lost 1 then 2 of our more important defenders so that stat is a little skewed. But for sure Dunbar was a big loss to us and Rory an even bigger one. It's backs I think we need to develop going forwards. Hopefully AJ Redmond and Kyle Scallan make the step up from u20 sooner rather than later. Maybe Joe O Connor and Aidan Nolan will return next year that would add more depth of Senior Intercounty experienced defenders also. Firman maybe? And hopefully Shane Reck will play more than 80 total championship minutes also next year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 19/06/2022 13:48:59    2426061

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Since you love stats the scores from play were

Clare 1-18
Wexford 2-8

What cost Wexford today was the lack of scores from play. Ye are missing a couple of forwards tbh"
1-8 or more of your scores from play came after we lost 1 then 2 of our more important defenders so that stat is a little skewed. But for sure Dunbar was a big loss to us and Rory an even bigger one. It's backs I think we need to develop going forwards. Hopefully AJ Redmond and Kyle Scallan make the step up from u20 sooner rather than later. Maybe Joe O Connor and Aidan Nolan will return next year that would add more depth of Senior Intercounty experienced defenders also. Firman maybe? And hopefully Shane Reck will play more than 80 total championship minutes also next year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 19/06/2022 13:50:51    2426062

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "If that is the case it was very irresponsible from a player welfare point of view that he wasn't taken off immediately after the incident happened. A player playing on with concussion is a potential tragedy in the making."
It's not common in hurling like rugby for example so it probably wasn't picked up on for a few minutes.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 19/06/2022 14:13:25    2426069

Replying To bloodyban:  "Lads if Clare played Wexford 10 times they'd win 9 . They have better players and thats the bottom line. Fair play to Wexford who played well for long periods yesterday. They had some great performers. Clare played well for 8 mins and blew them out of the water . I dont think Kilkenny would have let Clare back into it if they were 6 points up but will they get 6 points up against them in the semi."
Unfair.....maybe a couple of better players.....not much between the core of the teams as yesterday proved.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 19/06/2022 14:16:39    2426071

All the teams gave it their best and we all know what it is like to be disappointed but at the end of the day there is always only one winner. Personally myself I think the gap between Limerick and the rest has widened. Clare got with in three points of them but in the local derby tie. In the heat of an All-Ireland in Croke Park ? We got within three points of them also but I doubt if either is the true width of the gulf.
Limerick are and will be the team of this decade and may be this century. All great teams give way to someone else but when I look at their age profile they can hold court for some time with a few tweaks here and there. No issue with it either because too long the game was dominated by three counties. Of course I want us to break through also but a lot of things need to happen and line up for that to occur.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 19/06/2022 14:30:18    2426075

Wouldn't buy that at all. Clare were chasing that game for 60 minutes, and but for the injuries and substitutions in the last 10 minutes it could have been a very different result. That was a game of fine margins and I'd say if those teams played each other it would be a coin toss every time.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 19/06/2022 16:42:00    2426112

Replying To WEX98:  "Unfair.....maybe a couple of better players.....not much between the core of the teams as yesterday proved."
Allow for the fact also that Wexford lost their star forward in Rory O'Connor.
But overall, Clare were full value for the win. They found a gear in the last 15 minutes and Wexford didn't have the bodies off the bench to stem the tide.
Reminded me of that heartbreak v Tipp in 2019. In a position to win, but didn't have the legs or the subs to finish the job.
Best of luck to Clare from here.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/06/2022 16:48:22    2426113

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Not specific to hurling but I hadn't been in Thurles for a couple of years and forgot how decrepit the facilities behind the stand are.
The toilet behind the Kinnan Stand are absolutely tiny and not adequate for 5,000 people let alone 45k.
The scrum to get in was really dangerous and coupled with people trying to get food and also trying to get in to the ground.
The steps down from the turnstiles seem unnecessary and there were no signs for the 100 sections. It was all fairly messy I thought.
It is a mighty place for a match but the facilities and general layout needs to be looked at"
Can attest to all of that myself. I came out of the stand and was trying to get down the steps to the jacks. The toilet was as big as the toilet in my local pub.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/06/2022 16:49:20    2426114

Down to the last four..I think Clare are going to be very hard to beat now and will love playing killkenny..yesterday was a game where the munster final defeat was got out of the system completely..if they get a bit more from duggan from general play then it could make a huge difference..they also have a bench who are giving valuable scores..killkenny will be hard to beat but I'd say Clare by 4/5 points..the second game gives Galway a complete free shot at limerick..they havnt really put a full performance together but pressure might be off now and they might Just go for it..mcinerney would be a huge loss for a physical encounter if injury is serious..they need to get more support for whelan.he is a great player to watch and when he's kept close to goal an absolute nightmare for any back..limerick have looked comfortable in most games and even in munster final they got round Clare eventually..hoping to have Cian and peter available,if not at least one,which would boost limerick even further..I think possibly limerick could exploit the lack of speed with some Galway backs..looking forward to a great weekends hurling in first weekend in July..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 19/06/2022 16:58:55    2426120

Slightly hijacking this thread but if anyone didn't see that minor game it's worth looking at. Some unreal scores and forward play. Tipp came out on top scoring a very late 1-2 to win by 4 when Galway looked like they might have it. Some great performances all over the pitch. Delaney and McCormack excellent close to goal. Not many lads looked under 17. Great weekend for minor hurling.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/06/2022 17:01:01    2426121