2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Heard Cody stepped down

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 127 - 20/07/2022 15:50:54    2433180

Replying To tiobraid:  "The big games this year for Clare up to the point of those games was the Limerick games and Clare would have done anything for Munster title. Its harsh to say he didnt show up as that was a big day for him. I get where you're going with it though but he was so good in so many games he gets in for me. Everyone will never agree"
A good debate is always worthwhile. All star selection always cause plenty of discussion.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 20/07/2022 15:52:31    2433183

Replying To daveboy:  "O connors team is a stretch on a stretch. Conor whelan gets in my team. Imo only player in the country that has a chance of getting into the Limerick forward unit. I wouldn't have Tony Kelly. He just never shows up on the big days. After wex and kk matches he played his way off the team. People can say all they want but that's the time you get in or out.
Whelan Gillane TJ that's my FF line"
Serious ff line

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 20/07/2022 16:03:08    2433186

Replying To tiobraid:  "No denying that but the original poster suggested hes a one man forward line which I dont agree with."
He might as well be. Monahan and especially Mannion are midfielders by all metrics. Galway get very little out of any other inside forward over the last 3 years bar Concannon in 2020 who was helped massively by having Whelan beside him

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 20/07/2022 16:14:23    2433189

Replying To clooney:  "Tony Kelly exceptional on both days against Limerick {Munster final} is that not a big day was very good in all other Munster games came into it late v WX well marshalled v KK but most of team out of sorts . POW at 19 what a ridiculous comment to say he never turns up on big days.

Gillane a marquee forward was v quiet in Munster Final V Galway and was practically anonymous on Hue Lawlor.

The arrogance is insufferable"
Gillane scored 0-03 from play off Lawlor with a heavily strapped knee. Nailed all his frees in AI final and was motm in AI semi final. Kelly not a patch on that. Kelly missed free after free in last 2 matches and couldn't have any impact. Gillane is man marked and at times 2 v 1 every match and performs 9 times out of 10. Gillane is a hurler of the year candidate and for me Kelly is lucky to be in the conversation for an all star. Very lucky. He tends to perform well v Limerick due to the zonal nature of how limerick play and fair play clare play on that. But to be an all star you need more. You need to be able to win your own ball, perform when others aren't and nail your frees when your county needs it most. He fails on all 3 for me when the big moments of the year happen and has done so since 13

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 20/07/2022 16:30:04    2433195

Replying To clooney:  "Tony Kelly exceptional on both days against Limerick {Munster final} is that not a big day was very good in all other Munster games came into it late v WX well marshalled v KK but most of team out of sorts . POW at 19 what a ridiculous comment to say he never turns up on big days.

Gillane a marquee forward was v quiet in Munster Final V Galway and was practically anonymous on Hue Lawlor.

Tony Kelly done nothing against Wexford until the shot he gave Shane Reck off the ball, leading to him going off with a broken pubis bone. Both All Ireland series games this year he was poor. Same against Wexford in qualifier last year.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 20/07/2022 16:36:49    2433202

Replying To Viking66:  "Why is there this fascination with having any League part to the Championship at all? We already have a League. Championship should be about the luck of the draw and knockout hurling. Much more exciting! And solves the fixture congestion and player burnout issues also. If there is a demand for more games then have the Provincials straight knockout then an open draw for the best 14 teams for the AI series. With the provincial finalists getting a bye to the QFs."
That should read provincial winners get a bye to the AIQFs

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11815 - 20/07/2022 16:38:27    2433203

Replying To tiobraid:  "How would Tipp get an All star when they lost all 4 games? How old are you by the way?
Jamsie also knows plenty about playing midfield and he selected McInerney there.... One of his first lines written by him was (Daithi Burke was back to his best this year...." Enough said. Great player but no where near his best this year. He marked Callanan in Callanans prime but struggled this year especially for long periods on Gillane but his positioning in the Cork game was questionbly more than once. Back to his best - definitely not for me.

Second year in a row he hasnt picked Sean Finn!!! A lot of peoples pick for HOTY in 2021 (he picked Sean O'D ahead of him). Fabulous player but not the best pundit by a long shot.

You kind of shot yourself in the foot a bit with that post, didnt you?"
You misread my post. I'll spell it out for you. What I said was that I'd be surprised if a Tipp man like yourself would give an All Star to C Whelan, a Galwayman! As for my age I'm old enough to remember Tony Keady and how he was treated, and old enough to remember that Ollie Canning didn't give the smell of the sliotar to Tipp's Eoin Kelly in Croke Park and old enough to know that Eoin Kelly couldn't take his beating like a true sportsman. Anyway, I'll leave you to it. You seem to know it all! You should, however, check the facts before making outrageous claims like Whelan not scoring in this year's championship or TK scoring 13 points from play....talk about shooting yourself in the foot!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 20/07/2022 16:59:27    2433215

Replying To Kinvara:  "He might as well be. Monahan and especially Mannion are midfielders by all metrics. Galway get very little out of any other inside forward over the last 3 years bar Concannon in 2020 who was helped massively by having Whelan beside him"
That is my take on it also - outside of Monaghan in most games who is a half forward and Mannion in certain games who played mainly around the midfield diamond area where he is usually most effective the other Galway forwards were not consistent and Conor Cooney was the biggest culprit in that regard so CW got very little support outside of Concannon popping up now and again with a score.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3319 - 20/07/2022 17:24:00    2433223

What ever came of lohansredhelmet? He was, well, boisterous to say the least and never reappeared after Clare's exit.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 20/07/2022 17:41:51    2433226

Replying To Canuck:  "I did ask Ballyladane in my post did he think Liam was lying but I guess it got edited out. God help us if a question like that has to be edited out. I never accused him it."
I'll qualify my point. What I think would have happened was LC got felt out from "sources close" to the Tipp Co Board that if, maybe, hypothetically something was to change in the Tipp managerial set up would be be interested.

Probably didn't speak to Tipp CB directly to maintain "plausible deniability".

Bonnar gets axed and 2 minutes later, Cahill steps down from Waterford and walks into the Tipp job?

C'mon Canuck, none of us came down in the last shower!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/07/2022 17:43:40    2433228

Replying To baire:  "You misread my post. I'll spell it out for you. What I said was that I'd be surprised if a Tipp man like yourself would give an All Star to C Whelan, a Galwayman! As for my age I'm old enough to remember Tony Keady and how he was treated, and old enough to remember that Ollie Canning didn't give the smell of the sliotar to Tipp's Eoin Kelly in Croke Park and old enough to know that Eoin Kelly couldn't take his beating like a true sportsman. Anyway, I'll leave you to it. You seem to know it all! You should, however, check the facts before making outrageous claims like Whelan not scoring in this year's championship or TK scoring 13 points from play....talk about shooting yourself in the foot!"
Baire, I'm sure Tiobraid can reply for himself but speaking as one who knows numerous Tipp fans, I can say that the Cannings, Keady, Whelan and indeed dozens of the superb players Galway have produced are very highly regarded in Tipperary. As for the treatment of Tony Keady, that had nothing to do with Tipp, who voted that his suspension in 89 be lifted and indeed their Central Council rep argued strongly to that effect. The late Phelim Murphy, a very passionate Galway man, generously acknowledged that a long time ago.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 20/07/2022 18:00:31    2433233

Replying To F4:  "Good game of hurling..well done to Limerick. Less said about the referee."
Yerra come off it. He gave ye 15 frees to our 9. He certainly did not seem to be unduly favouring Limerick. I saw both Mike Casey and Gullane get clatters, that could easily have earned yellow cards. I think he left things go on both sides and for a man of 44 years of age he done a fine in such sweltering conditions.conditions.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 20/07/2022 18:15:20    2433237

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "Heard Cody stepped down"
Independent
Colm Keys
July 20 2022 09:09 PM

Intense speculation has persisted in Kilkenny throughout the day that Brian Cody is to step down as the county's hurling manager after 24 years.

There had been some expectation through the evening that a statement confirming the news would be circulated but that did not materialise.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 20/07/2022 21:40:45    2433255

Ah Clooney, go easy on the bog tobacco. Between the final, semi-final and Munster final Gillane scored 12 points from play. Check your stats before you start talking nonsense!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 20/07/2022 21:51:19    2433259

Replying To daveboy:  "Gillane scored 0-03 from play off Lawlor with a heavily strapped knee. Nailed all his frees in AI final and was motm in AI semi final. Kelly not a patch on that. Kelly missed free after free in last 2 matches and couldn't have any impact. Gillane is man marked and at times 2 v 1 every match and performs 9 times out of 10. Gillane is a hurler of the year candidate and for me Kelly is lucky to be in the conversation for an all star. Very lucky. He tends to perform well v Limerick due to the zonal nature of how limerick play and fair play clare play on that. But to be an all star you need more. You need to be able to win your own ball, perform when others aren't and nail your frees when your county needs it most. He fails on all 3 for me when the big moments of the year happen and has done so since 13"
Very good points Daveboy. I think Kelly is a great hurler when the hurling is loose. There's no doubt about that and he could score from anywhere. However, when things tighten up i think he goes missing

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 20/07/2022 22:01:40    2433260

Replying To baire:  "You misread my post. I'll spell it out for you. What I said was that I'd be surprised if a Tipp man like yourself would give an All Star to C Whelan, a Galwayman! As for my age I'm old enough to remember Tony Keady and how he was treated, and old enough to remember that Ollie Canning didn't give the smell of the sliotar to Tipp's Eoin Kelly in Croke Park and old enough to know that Eoin Kelly couldn't take his beating like a true sportsman. Anyway, I'll leave you to it. You seem to know it all! You should, however, check the facts before making outrageous claims like Whelan not scoring in this year's championship or TK scoring 13 points from play....talk about shooting yourself in the foot!"
No All star from a Tipp man, quelle surprise! Jamsie O' Connor doesn't agree with you and he knows a thing or two about forwards!

This is what you said. How could I have misread your post in the way you said when I picked Thomas Monaghan on my team? I never claimed Whelan didnt score in the championship - blatant lies. Tony Kelly scored 12 points from play in the championship against Limerick - I forgot the side line was a placed ball. 13 insteand of 12 is hardly outrageous!

You have a serious chip on your shoulder about Tipperary. I'm not too sure why Tipp would come into a discussion about All Stars this year only for your hatred of us. It was a well known fact that Ollie was Eoins most difficult opponent but he did score 1-1 from play off him in Croke Park. You're obviously mixing it up with Pearse Stadium years before. Serious levels of immaturuty in your post. I'd consider Tipps rivalry with Limerick far greater than with Galway, yet I selected 13 Limerick players on my team of 2021. You have managed to turn a post about team of the year into Galway v Tipperary! Well done!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/07/2022 08:37:35    2433262

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "Heard Cody stepped down"
Is he doing a Cluxton on it or is it true that the reason Bonnar was relieved of his duties was because he has taken the KK job and Cody was turfed out as a result?

It does seem as if it's true though...

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/07/2022 08:45:03    2433263

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "What ever came of lohansredhelmet? He was, well, boisterous to say the least and never reappeared after Clare's exit."
He's gutted. I'm sure he will be back posting soon.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11815 - 21/07/2022 10:20:33    2433279

Replying To Shocs07:  "Very good points Daveboy. I think Kelly is a great hurler when the hurling is loose. There's no doubt about that and he could score from anywhere. However, when things tighten up i think he goes missing"
I think you both are being very harsh. In memory of half forwards being man marked tightly there was Brendan Maher against Kelly and Reid in 2019 - completely snuffed both out of those games. He also man marked Gillane that year who he had the most trouble with as he was close to goal. Corner or full forwards will likely receive a lot more ball when man marked than someone out the pitch. If you have a half forward or midfielder being marked like a corner forward - how much ball is he going to get? Kelly got no ball delivered to him against KK- none at all!
Matthew O'Hanlon has completely nullified both Canning and Reid on a number of occasions by sacrificing his own game.

He got a lot of his 12 points from play against Limerick inside in the full forward line - off 3 of the best backs around. The first day even Sean Finn was chasing shadows with him for sections of that game.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/07/2022 10:49:36    2433293