Monaghan GAA thread

People are spouting some rubbish on here.

Also people are being very disrespectful of players who have give everything for the Monaghan jersey over a long time.
Yes certain players don't want a certain standard of Management, these same players have operated at the top level for ten years plus, since O'Rourke came in the standards and expectations around Monaghan football have risen.
Banty got the job on the back of a strong backroom team which walked about after a year, the back up team for the last two seasons was not of the same calibre.

The players at least need a set up that is on a par with the rest of the counties in Ulster.

A team can involve and still be competitive, Malachy proved that in 2015 when he won ulster. Four players started the Ulster win in 15 that weren't involved 2013 with 1 sub also coming on that wasn't involved that day. With 6 of the players used that day in 2013 not getting any game time in 15.

Monaghan could easily start a team of the following and I believe could compete in Ulster and Division1

1.Beggan, 2 Duffy, 3 Boyle, 4 Wylie, 5 McAnespie, 6 Lavelle, 7 Ward, 8 Kearns, 9 Leonard, 10, Bannigan, 11 McCarthy, 12 Woods, 13 McCarron, 14 Mohan 15 Jones.

That's leaving out the senior players. If people fall for this whole rebuilding rubbish and don't aim to get the best possible set up for Monaghan, then our county fall to the standards of the 90's.
A top Manager rebuilds and still stays competitive.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 23/08/2022 21:52:06    2438494

Replying To shaggylegend:  "People are spouting some rubbish on here.

Also people are being very disrespectful of players who have give everything for the Monaghan jersey over a long time.
Yes certain players don't want a certain standard of Management, these same players have operated at the top level for ten years plus, since O'Rourke came in the standards and expectations around Monaghan football have risen.
Banty got the job on the back of a strong backroom team which walked about after a year, the back up team for the last two seasons was not of the same calibre.

The players at least need a set up that is on a par with the rest of the counties in Ulster.

A team can involve and still be competitive, Malachy proved that in 2015 when he won ulster. Four players started the Ulster win in 15 that weren't involved 2013 with 1 sub also coming on that wasn't involved that day. With 6 of the players used that day in 2013 not getting any game time in 15.

Monaghan could easily start a team of the following and I believe could compete in Ulster and Division1

1.Beggan, 2 Duffy, 3 Boyle, 4 Wylie, 5 McAnespie, 6 Lavelle, 7 Ward, 8 Kearns, 9 Leonard, 10, Bannigan, 11 McCarthy, 12 Woods, 13 McCarron, 14 Mohan 15 Jones.

That's leaving out the senior players. If people fall for this whole rebuilding rubbish and don't aim to get the best possible set up for Monaghan, then our county fall to the standards of the 90's.
A top Manager rebuilds and still stays competitive."
Just saw in the Irish News, all three candidates are out of the running. What a shambles. Could be Banty part 3 yet.

222 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 24/08/2022 10:11:50    2438512

Replying To 222:  "Just saw in the Irish News, all three candidates are out of the running. What a shambles. Could be Banty part 3 yet."
We don't want to go back to what happened in autumn 2010 when a manager was appointed by certain gentleman that seamusorinn (usa) know well and led us down to division 3.The players that we followed and supported around the country deserve the best manager and backroom team that are available

Truecountysupporter (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 24/08/2022 12:33:27    2438545

Seeing numerous reports on media this morning of the managerial shambles ongoing within the county.

Utter disgrace that this process wasn't carried out in a professional and dignified way. Instead we are the laughing stock of the country, ruining reputations, disregarding player welfare and making a mockery of our underage structures.

The fact that 3 nobody's were the only names that applied says it all. For a division 1 team with massive underage talent coming through and a core of youth back boning a competitive talented team, its a mystery how our vacancy didn't attract the top names that we would expect.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 24/08/2022 12:41:45    2438546

Just read the Irish News story what a mess. Counihan clearly wasn't wanted so is best walking away from it all. Unless the county board can pull a name from a hat this looks firmly like Banty 3.0 or one of the ex players being asked to step in and help out and take over. Who that might be have no idea but it ain't going to be good as will be bargain basement stuff.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 24/08/2022 13:00:07    2438549

What do you expect from this county board.

In 2019 when Banty was appointed McEntee pulled out of the process, due to the county board deliberately giving him the impression he wasn't wanted.

With the under 20 management last year, two of the candidates withdrew due to the county board and the banty demands on players.

Then this year we have 3 names pulling out again.
The county board is a joke has been for years,

A good manager makes a county board look great.

A bad one make them look incompetent and by god they look incompetent now.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 24/08/2022 13:48:32    2438556

What a absolute mess.

This shambles has highlighted a massive issue at county board level.

These men can't appoint a management team but are in a position to determine how/where massive amounts of funds are utilised every year. Funds that are primarily gained at the club gates across the county. The whole mess raises serious questions over the suitability of the main men in charge of how our county operates.

Will they be held accountable?
Will they provide clarity on the process?

Not in a million years, sit tight until it all blows over.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 24/08/2022 14:02:50    2438559

Delighted that the Irish News ousted this shambles.
Couni doesn't realise the lucky break he's just got.
What will the sponsors think?
Players the collateral damage again.

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 335 - 24/08/2022 15:10:06    2438569

Replying To GerryD:  "Delighted that the Irish News ousted this shambles.
Couni doesn't realise the lucky break he's just got.
What will the sponsors think?
Players the collateral damage again."
There is only one man to save ye now BBB.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 24/08/2022 15:15:54    2438570

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Seeing numerous reports on media this morning of the managerial shambles ongoing within the county.

Utter disgrace that this process wasn't carried out in a professional and dignified way. Instead we are the laughing stock of the country, ruining reputations, disregarding player welfare and making a mockery of our underage structures.

The fact that 3 nobody's were the only names that applied says it all. For a division 1 team with massive underage talent coming through and a core of youth back boning a competitive talented team, its a mystery how our vacancy didn't attract the top names that we would expect."
The age profile of Monaghan's starting 15 is a lot of 30 year olds a few past their best. Some good young players coming through but will be another year or two before they establish themselves at senior level.

Not sure I'd call Jason Sherlock a nobody though he's had no experience as outright county manager.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 24/08/2022 15:26:06    2438574

Heard Sherlock was to be ratified last Sunday but pulled out on the Saturday. Agree on county board a good manager makes them look like geniuses at the helm but they are being well exposed here by this fiasco.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 24/08/2022 16:54:03    2438589

Replying To seanie08:  "Heard Sherlock was to be ratified last Sunday but pulled out on the Saturday. Agree on county board a good manager makes them look like geniuses at the helm but they are being well exposed here by this fiasco."
I don't get all this giving out about the county board when its clear to see its the players problem. The county board can only draft the managers, they can't make them stay.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 24/08/2022 20:13:31    2438605

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 25/08/2022 08:30:10    2438614

Bit of a mess county board need to act fast as championship will be nearly over but if the players are not a bit more humble about who takes over well the county board has an impossible job really

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 25/08/2022 09:55:41    2438622

Think we need to sit down now and look what is the best strategy going forward. We have no manger yet and championship well on the way. May be a plan to give Banty two more years look after him and plan for his successor he knows the players and set up and his heart is in Monaghan football. It all seems turbulent times and we need things sorted asap. That's all from me- off to Brittas Bay for a walk now

bomber123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 65 - 25/08/2022 16:03:28    2438691

Replying To bomber123:  "Think we need to sit down now and look what is the best strategy going forward. We have no manger yet and championship well on the way. May be a plan to give Banty two more years look after him and plan for his successor he knows the players and set up and his heart is in Monaghan football. It all seems turbulent times and we need things sorted asap. That's all from me- off to Brittas Bay for a walk now"
I agree with your plan in theory, the problem and the reason for it not being feasible is the same problem Counihan had, Co. Board & a select few senior players aren't getting their egos stroked enough.
Banty got the road from a combination of incompetent co board officials & a handful of senior players who after bleeding him dry the past 3 years threw him under the bus. For Banty to return he would need the chairman and those players removed from the positions, is that likely, no.

I'm no fan of Banty, never have been but I respect the man just like I respect anyone willing to put in the time at intercounty management level. That respect is nowhere to be seen in this process, neither from co board or those select few senior players who will tell you the "represent" the panel…….

Unfortunately both party's have made their beds, they'll need to now sleep in them for the next 2-3 years with scraps remaining that are willing to take them on.

Biggest losers in all this? The younger member's of the panel who never got a say and the supporters who will have put up with it.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 25/08/2022 17:47:57    2438707

Replying To bomber123:  "Think we need to sit down now and look what is the best strategy going forward. We have no manger yet and championship well on the way. May be a plan to give Banty two more years look after him and plan for his successor he knows the players and set up and his heart is in Monaghan football. It all seems turbulent times and we need things sorted asap. That's all from me- off to Brittas Bay for a walk now"
Strategy? Your good craic ! Bringing back anything previous would leave us a bigger laughing stock . This is a good test of what the county board is capable of, I hope that walk on the beach cleared your head

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 26/08/2022 09:20:16    2438723

Has there been any indication as to why Sherlock and Hackett withdrew? Was it lack of interest or did they get a bad sense of the county board and what was to come if they took the job? Is there too much player influence as has been suggested? Presuming the recruitment of a new manager is a job of one of the many committees around Cloghan or do the paid staff have any role in this? I know we have multiple games officers employed but unsure if we have any (or enough) operational type staff - similar to a Costello (CEO) in Dublin. Perhaps it's time to professionalise the setup a bit more and have paid staff to assist with these type of decisions and go out and find the right people. Looking at the income generated by the county board each year it is probably moving away from expecting volunteers to manage this, perhaps we need to invest a bit more professional setup. Even looking at the McStay setup in Mayo, he has brought in a communications/strategy manager & an operations manager.

sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 26/08/2022 10:54:16    2438736

Replying To stoneygrey:  "Strategy? Your good craic ! Bringing back anything previous would leave us a bigger laughing stock . This is a good test of what the county board is capable of, I hope that walk on the beach cleared your head"
Who are the older players who are causing the problems in the selection of new management ?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 26/08/2022 11:57:18    2438742

I can't think of many, if any, players in that dressing room with ego problems to be quite honest.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 26/08/2022 12:42:08    2438745