Westmeath Football thread

So two changes, Jimmy, Andy McCormack and McCartan in for Giles, Wallace and Lynam. I guess Giles and Wallace are injured ?

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 26/05/2023 14:09:23    2481736

Replying To A_Chairde:  "Team named for trip north

1 Daly
2 Jack Smith
3 Maguire
4 Gonoud
5 Jimmy
6 Andy McCormack
7 Lynch
8 Sam Duncan
9 Ray C
10 McCartan
11 O Toole
12 Baker
13 Loughlin
14 Hes
15 Stephen Smith

Breakdown: 4 Lomans, Caulry, Skerries 2 each, Tyrrellspass, Garrycastle, Rosemount, Malachys, Miltownpass, Athlone, Downs 1 each"
Overall I like the lineup just not entirely sure about how the half back line will perform

Midlandsman (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 26/05/2023 14:32:26    2481743

Replying To A_Chairde:  "Team named for trip north

1 Daly
2 Jack Smith
3 Maguire
4 Gonoud
5 Jimmy
6 Andy McCormack
7 Lynch
8 Sam Duncan
9 Ray C
10 McCartan
11 O Toole
12 Baker
13 Loughlin
14 Hes
15 Stephen Smith

Breakdown: 4 Lomans, Caulry, Skerries 2 each, Tyrrellspass, Garrycastle, Rosemount, Malachys, Miltownpass, Athlone, Downs 1 each"
I can see a few changes to this team before throw in tomorrow. Will be surprised if S Smith starts. Very small
Player and might not suit playing against a northern team. Big opportunity for Andy McC. He's probably 28/29 years of age making his championship starting debut. Would like to see Ray C stay in midfield as he offers nothing at wing forward where he has been playing all year. Need a big game out of Sam Duncan around the middle. Kevin Maguire will keep Rian O Neill out of the game with ease.

Wallace,Giles and Harte are big losses due to injuries.

I'm hopeful for tomorrow that the players will perform. They gave us a great summer last year and owe us nothing but I'm very disappointed with how people around the county have been bashing them this year. I hope they prove them "supporters" wrong tomorrow

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 384 - 26/05/2023 15:30:46    2481766

Replying To Temple56:  "I can see a few changes to this team before throw in tomorrow. Will be surprised if S Smith starts. Very small
Player and might not suit playing against a northern team. Big opportunity for Andy McC. He's probably 28/29 years of age making his championship starting debut. Would like to see Ray C stay in midfield as he offers nothing at wing forward where he has been playing all year. Need a big game out of Sam Duncan around the middle. Kevin Maguire will keep Rian O Neill out of the game with ease.

Wallace,Giles and Harte are big losses due to injuries.

I'm hopeful for tomorrow that the players will perform. They gave us a great summer last year and owe us nothing but I'm very disappointed with how people around the county have been bashing them this year. I hope they prove them "supporters" wrong tomorrow"
Temple 56 you have given the most criticism to the team. Unbelievable

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 26/05/2023 17:25:13    2481802

Replying To Upforthegame23:  "Temple 56 you have given the most criticism to the team. Unbelievable"
Can you quote me on when I criticised the team?

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 384 - 27/05/2023 10:38:26    2481871

Brilliant performance from westmeath, very unlucky not to get at least a draw. The support armagh had, definitely helped them. Hopefully we get the support out in mullingar next week. Hard luck westmeath. Ye leave with pride in the jersey

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 27/05/2023 18:30:14    2481968

Best team lost today and should have taken the spoils. WM bullied us and were excellent all over the field. Good luck for the rest of the year.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 27/05/2023 18:51:08    2481969

Outstanding performance. Some brilliant scores. We left 2/3 scores behind us in the 1st half and that probably killed us. Dessie tactics were top notch. At times it wasn't a nice look but that how you stay with the top teams. As seen today it will take a while for Baker time to make it at this level.

I didn't have Sam Duncan named in my team at the start of the week and how wrong was I. He was head and shoulders our best player tonight. The turnovers and the hits he put in around the middle were outstanding.

Hard luck to the lads. Hopefully a similar performance next weekend in the Park

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 384 - 27/05/2023 19:15:41    2481980

I thought Westmeath were very unlucky- but come on lads get out and support your county - was there even 100 supports in the AG

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 27/05/2023 19:25:09    2481989

Absolutely gutted. We were the better team for majority of game and had it in our grasp until Armagh got lucky break for goal. Proud of the players and management

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 27/05/2023 20:00:22    2482003

Just in the house from the game. To come away with nothing after a Brilliant performance is tough to take. The team and management can take so much from that game.
No doubt we'll see more Westmeath fans in Cusack next Saturday. The lads deserve our support against Galway and we will see where that gets us. Disappointed but also ver Proud Westmeath man

Also well done to Armagh. Fantastic ground, brilliant support and all the best rest of the year

Mountlin (Westmeath) - Posts: 52 - 27/05/2023 21:24:07    2482025

Paul flynn said westmeath had gone back since last year.
Quiet this evening. U be sick of him

Mattyreilly (Westmeath) - Posts: 153 - 27/05/2023 22:16:30    2482042

Paul Flynn's comments based on 2023 are factually correct. We finished fifth in div 3, that's 21st in the country, we were beaten by Louth in championship, one fine performance hardly changes that, unless we somehow win against Galway or Tyrone our record in competitive matches in 2023 will be played 11, won 4, lost 7. That's hardly progress. Beating Antrim, Longford, Offaly and Tipperary.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 28/05/2023 08:54:52    2482075

We were good and competitive this evening and without doubt were the better team for long periods of the game.Our problem this season is nir been capable of pushing on and closing out games when in the accendency-but not been ablw to deal with that high hail mary effort from O 'Neill-which was a shot gone wrong!!-we deal with that and we win the game.But it was a very good performance by our team but defeat at the end.Support was massive for Armagh and definaely influenced the refereee on a few occasions-all the iffy calls wenr to the home side.Anyway on to Galway match with some hope and some pride restored.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 28/05/2023 13:11:09    2482130

Garrycastle relegated to div 2 of the ACFL after moate tang & Shandnagh getting results and Garrycastle losing out to Lomans.
Is this a sign of this to come for garrycastle?

Westmeath213 (Westmeath) - Posts: 332 - 28/05/2023 20:48:04    2482340

Our Tidy town correspondent might retract his spineless statements, we came up short but glad Jamie Gonoud and his Westmeath team mates proved his "clubman" wrong with a brilliant performance/ Mick would be better off sunning himself at home on Saturday. The real Westmeath supporters will be Cusack.

explain your logic . a team which bottled important games this year already this year will suddenly find a spine because of the hurlers . marvellous logic
mickcunningham (Westmeath)

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 29/05/2023 12:50:03    2482529

Replying To Westmeath213:  "Garrycastle relegated to div 2 of the ACFL after moate tang & Shandnagh getting results and Garrycastle losing out to Lomans.
Is this a sign of this to come for garrycastle?"
The signs were there last year when they went down to Snr B. The loss of a number of regulars this year has hampered Garrycaslte.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 29/05/2023 13:01:06    2482533

Interesting to see final league standings for teams in 2023 Snr B
1 Kinnegad
2 St Lomans
3 The Downs
4 Shamrocks
5 Shandonagh
6 Tyrellspass
7 Moate
8 Tang
9 Garrycastle
10 Castledaly
11 Athlone

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 29/05/2023 13:13:19    2482538

Replying To A_Chairde:  "Our Tidy town correspondent might retract his spineless statements, we came up short but glad Jamie Gonoud and his Westmeath team mates proved his "clubman" wrong with a brilliant performance/ Mick would be better off sunning himself at home on Saturday. The real Westmeath supporters will be Cusack.

explain your logic . a team which bottled important games this year already this year will suddenly find a spine because of the hurlers . marvellous logic
mickcunningham (Westmeath)"
did they win or did i miss something . perhaps you should stay at home

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 29/05/2023 13:23:11    2482545

The real Westmeath supporters could be accommodated on no more than 2 buses based on last Saturday, official attendance of 10,800, we had no more than 100 supporters and vast majority were County board officers and family members of playing panel. Contrast that with anytime Armagh play here and they usually bring 4-5,000, our support base is prob the worst in Leinster in both codes. Players performance on Saturday was excellent with special mention to Sam Duncan, Sam McC, Ronan O' Toole, Andy McCormack and Ray Connellan but similar finish as in Newry, Ederney and Navan, sides level with 5-6 mins remaining and yet we lost again, surely management are working on this scenario as four times in succession in crucial matches is a significant trend. Are we too naive? Other teams manufacture fake injuries at key times, Lorcan Dolan's place on the panel is worthless as he's never given any gain time, strange based on form and scoring record in big games, Daniel Scahill likewise after a fine league.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 29/05/2023 16:39:52    2482662