Dublin GAA thread

Replying To TheUsername:  "PUC please!"
Ye gave us a football lesson there semi final replay 1983. We may receive a bigger beating this time.

We have been lucky with the draw up to this point, this is where our season ends.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 105 - 13/06/2022 11:27:05    2424535

Replying To TheUsername:  "PUC please!"
That Joe McNally step over. Would be great to bring the Hill down to PUC. What an atmosphere that would be. A nice Saturday throw-in would be great.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/06/2022 11:29:51    2424537

Replying To St.Mologga:  "Ye gave us a football lesson there semi final replay 1983. We may receive a bigger beating this time.

We have been lucky with the draw up to this point, this is where our season ends."
I dont know pal. Be a curtain raiser for Div 2 best season, you gave Kerry plenty to think about in Munster, even if the final result didn't reflect the game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/06/2022 11:37:34    2424545

Replying To Joxer:  "That Joe McNally step over. Would be great to bring the Hill down to PUC. What an atmosphere that would be. A nice Saturday throw-in would be great."
Be brilliant, id love the jaunt and scenes would be great, be great for the Pairc itself, be great spectacle for the GAA - a real chance here to decentralise the top games.

Some of the lads saying though that as part of the terms and conditions of the boxes and premium level in Corker is a guarantee of the QF's in Corker not sure how true that is myself mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/06/2022 11:40:07    2424548

Replying To TheUsername:  "I dont know pal. Be a curtain raiser for Div 2 best season, you gave Kerry plenty to think about in Munster, even if the final result didn't reflect the game."
What's the Dublin for "yerra" haha

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 13/06/2022 11:40:18    2424549

Replying To TheUsername:  "Be brilliant, id love the jaunt and scenes would be great, be great for the Pairc itself, be great spectacle for the GAA - a real chance here to decentralise the top games.

Some of the lads saying though that as part of the terms and conditions of the boxes and premium level in Corker is a guarantee of the QF's in Corker not sure how true that is myself mind."
Never even thought of it but yeah that makes sense. Probably tied into Croker for Q Finals. Yet we'll still be told that we'll be gifted home advantage again.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/06/2022 12:18:07    2424581

Replying To TheUsername:  "I dont know pal. Be a curtain raiser for Div 2 best season, you gave Kerry plenty to think about in Munster, even if the final result didn't reflect the game."
My real fear is Dublin go at this game hard & early. Limerick exposed us, but butchered their chances.

Dublin will not be as kind. This may be a long 70 minutes.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 105 - 13/06/2022 12:24:26    2424585

Replying To JoeSoap:  "What's the Dublin for "yerra" haha"
I dont know maybe - ill keep an eye on your car for a fiver, it will be grand! ;)

To be very fair to Cork one of the few who always go to toe to toe against you and even if they die they die with their boots on, the were a breath of fresh air at this stage VS us a couple of years ago.

We dont play them as often as we would like, so im delighted with this draw.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/06/2022 13:59:30    2424656

Replying To St.Mologga:  "My real fear is Dublin go at this game hard & early. Limerick exposed us, but butchered their chances.

Dublin will not be as kind. This may be a long 70 minutes."
That's good analysis mate, its what they have done in games up to now, put a game to bed in the first and second quarter.

We're in knock out now and if Cork can handle the Kerry's of this world for much of the game they can handle the Dubs without to much fear, Cork wont let us have it all our own way - yee never do.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/06/2022 14:06:21    2424665

Cork it is, happy with that

On current form Dubs have been progressing nicely

If they bring the Kildare performance and look to build I'd expect a win, always a good omen to beat Cork on the way to Sam ;)

Should be a good contest, hope Con continues to run amuck, he's having an excellent campaign thus far, scoring heavily and providing plenty to those around him.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/06/2022 20:08:43    2425041

Jeeze you couldn't have asked for any worse injuries to key players

James & Con.. both were in form as Captain and Vice Captain.

Major kick in the balls that!!

You no doubt need a wee bit of luck with injuries on the way to winning Sam, lady luck wasn't shinging on Dessie & Co.. great pity as the team looked to be refreshed and moving with real purpose.

A good win against Cork but you could see the loss of the two lads for large parts, but the team stood up and finished the game well.

We don't know if they'll be available for the next day, I'm sure the work is being done to maximise their chances but for me, it'll be lucky if even one of them make it, even at that they probably won't be 100%

So not great news but it is what it is, it's going to be very difficult.

Fingers crossed on their availability

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/06/2022 12:21:11    2428282

Excellent interview with Jamesie. Full interview in link below:-

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/football/news/30553/12686154/dessie-farrell-is-the-right-man-to-lead-dublin-back-to-the-all-ireland-title-says-james-mccarthy

Should be some game on Sunday BK v Cuala in Dublin SFC
I think the O'Callaghan brothers will have a lot to do with the end result, but I hope Kickham's prevail and get through.

Great double header in the Neller and looking forward to heading in for it.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 01/09/2022 09:48:04    2439274

Good interview and maybe now some people will give Dessie a break. No team can keep winning forever and I honestly don't think Jim Gavin would have fared much better the last 3 years in championship football. Dessie took on a team that were bound to regress a little after an amazing journey and league aside has nt done too bad. Delighted James has backed him as he deserves a break.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 01/09/2022 10:36:28    2439280

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Good interview and maybe now some people will give Dessie a break. No team can keep winning forever and I honestly don't think Jim Gavin would have fared much better the last 3 years in championship football. Dessie took on a team that were bound to regress a little after an amazing journey and league aside has nt done too bad. Delighted James has backed him as he deserves a break."
Well said Mick

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 03/09/2022 19:39:30    2439582

Boy oh boy Mannion is getting better. I think we would probably have won our semi v Kerry with him on board, O'Callaghan aside.
Don't think he has any intention of returning unfortunately.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 06/09/2022 18:41:28    2439875

Replying To realdub:  "Boy oh boy Mannion is getting better. I think we would probably have won our semi v Kerry with him on board, O'Callaghan aside.
Don't think he has any intention of returning unfortunately."
I was thinking the exact same thing myself after watching him for Crokes last wkend.

And he came off and was saying to his coaches, that he still felt a bit rusty... omg.

Even better to come from him.

Dubs with Con and Paul would have won this year - I have absolutely no doubt about that.

As was posted a good while back after the 6 in a Row - The only thing that will stop Dublin doing 7 or more, is Dublin themselves.

How right that was - Covid breaches and players choosing to walk away.....

Hopefully 2023 sees us get back with SAM.

But back to the Dublin SFC - I cant see anyone stopping Crokes this year.
Very formidable outfit.
There is defo county and provincial titles in that team.
And beyond that, who knows....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 07/09/2022 19:00:05    2439966

Several media outlets reporting that Jack McCaffrey and Paul Mannion have declared themselves available to the Dublin senior football squad this year.

Massive shot in the arm for the Dubs.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/09/2022 08:35:57    2441118

Replying To Gleebo:  "Several media outlets reporting that Jack McCaffrey and Paul Mannion have declared themselves available to the Dublin senior football squad this year.

Massive shot in the arm for the Dubs."
Dessie confirmed it yesterday in Parnell Park.

Massive boost, and also, Con is back after his injury.

Eoghan O'D was playing really well for Whitehall. Big decisions for him next year....

Lee Gannon is gonna be much stronger/better after his excellent performances this year.
He was excellent in the Dublin SFC this year.

Dubs will hopefully be much improved next year thankfully.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 19/09/2022 10:21:19    2441142

Over the moon!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/09/2022 11:23:37    2441159

Gerrr up the fup :)

A rendition of you know what is in order...

COOOMMMEEEE....

Buzzed now..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/09/2022 13:38:00    2441197