Dublin GAA thread

King Con - incredible!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/04/2022 20:53:11    2414259

One game at a time

Hopefully another good performance against Meath and look to build on the Wexford game.

Solid leadership in place now with James and Con

Standards will need to be met.

A very poor league campaign will be a distant memory if another Leinster Final can be reached.

No better motivation than the green of Meath standing in the way.

Up the Dubs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/05/2022 17:22:39    2415440

Kicked on from the Wexford game

Excellent 1st half performance, best they've played in a couple of seasons.

One game at a time, hopefully can maintain that level of performance next day out. I'm liking the leadership being shown and there's a better balance to the team now compared to last year.

Onwards and Upwards

Up the Dubs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/05/2022 20:38:02    2417397

Well done lads. Men against boys. If there is one team I hate more than ye, it's Kildare. Hope you stuff them!

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 16/05/2022 12:03:15    2417623

Awful, awful performance on Saturday night in Donnycarney. A real let down. 1-10 battled like dogs and showed well but the rest of the forward, though they did battle, just aren't good enough. Really hard to see where this team is going. We're 3rd/4th best in Leinster but that's about it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 16/05/2022 12:31:30    2417640

Replying To jimbodub:  "Kicked on from the Wexford game

Excellent 1st half performance, best they've played in a couple of seasons.

One game at a time, hopefully can maintain that level of performance next day out. I'm liking the leadership being shown and there's a better balance to the team now compared to last year.

Onwards and Upwards

Up the Dubs"
Good to see you about a Chara, hope you and yours are well.

We're moving well, very very well, hunger, desire and fight.

Subs were hopping yesterday as well to get on the pitch from the first min.

Very impressed with young O Dell yesterday, touch of the Alan's about him - bumped into th eman himself yesterday bringing the kids to the game - great to see, legend. Young Lorcan mind looking every inch a Dublin senior footballer, Lee Gannon to.

The blend between Lahiff and Fento in the middle looks very good, Lahiff goes under the radar but i thought he was excellent yesterday doing the simple things well and giving us a foundation, the blend is almost like Bastick and MDM (laterally Fento) back in the day.

Forward line is purring.

Game at a time but cant wait to get a hould of Kildare in Croker, we owe them one.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/05/2022 12:32:02    2417641

Replying To TheUsername:  "Good to see you about a Chara, hope you and yours are well.

We're moving well, very very well, hunger, desire and fight.

Subs were hopping yesterday as well to get on the pitch from the first min.

Very impressed with young O Dell yesterday, touch of the Alan's about him - bumped into th eman himself yesterday bringing the kids to the game - great to see, legend. Young Lorcan mind looking every inch a Dublin senior footballer, Lee Gannon to.

The blend between Lahiff and Fento in the middle looks very good, Lahiff goes under the radar but i thought he was excellent yesterday doing the simple things well and giving us a foundation, the blend is almost like Bastick and MDM (laterally Fento) back in the day.

Forward line is purring.

Game at a time but cant wait to get a hould of Kildare in Croker, we owe them one."
Nice one man, much appreciated

Yes looking a lot better, although that wouldn't be hard over the last while, last year despite the fact they weren't playing out of their skins,they were seconds away from an AI final so..

Hopefully some hard lessons learned there.

Looking far better balanced but it's early days

Hoping to see a strong performance against Kildare and look to build on that 1st half display which was vintage Dublin.

All signs looking positive, injury front would be great to see Byrne and McDaid available as the season progresses.

It'll be hard won this year but as we've seen over the last decade, that's mostly nothing new to Dublin.

But sure, look to steadily improve and see what the year brings, 1-15 they are still right up there and as you mentioned some fine young lads there looking the part and ready to aid the cause.

They might go close again before some more legends call it a day.

What's really got my verve back is the prospect of watching James McCarthy make history (#9) while also lifting Sam as Captain. Special player looking for something unique in the GAA footballing world

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/05/2022 21:26:33    2417939

Replying To MesAmis:  "Awful, awful performance on Saturday night in Donnycarney. A real let down. 1-10 battled like dogs and showed well but the rest of the forward, though they did battle, just aren't good enough. Really hard to see where this team is going. We're 3rd/4th best in Leinster but that's about it."
It was terrible to watch. Battling like dogs is no use if you don't have ball winning forwards, and more importantly forwards who can score more than other team's half backs and midfielders.

The default of any team at this level ought to be having every player contesting every ball within 30 metres of them. Dublin don't do that that and indeed played into the hands of the masters of intensity by playing a two man full forward line getting bad supply and not being able in most cases to win the ball that did come their way and unable to provide goals.

Not even certain that the likely taking of a preliminary quarter final place is a good thing (as the consequence of a probable Kilkenny win over Wexford) unless they at the very least run Galway close.

If there is an upside, it is that the championship has already shown that teams like Cork can redeem themselves, and that teams like Waterford are like everyone else and only as good as their last match.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 17/05/2022 08:58:27    2417969

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It was terrible to watch. Battling like dogs is no use if you don't have ball winning forwards, and more importantly forwards who can score more than other team's half backs and midfielders.

The default of any team at this level ought to be having every player contesting every ball within 30 metres of them. Dublin don't do that that and indeed played into the hands of the masters of intensity by playing a two man full forward line getting bad supply and not being able in most cases to win the ball that did come their way and unable to provide goals.

Not even certain that the likely taking of a preliminary quarter final place is a good thing (as the consequence of a probable Kilkenny win over Wexford) unless they at the very least run Galway close.

If there is an upside, it is that the championship has already shown that teams like Cork can redeem themselves, and that teams like Waterford are like everyone else and only as good as their last match."
Yes the problem with Dublin hurlers is they have become inconsistent. Great one day and poor the next. The reality is though they beat Wexford who drew with Galway but also drew with Westmeath. I think they will improve against Galway and while I expect Galway to win Dublin should qualify and every game should bring them on. You made the point on Cork and its true and Tipp can even qualify if they beat Cork and Clare beat Waterford. A lot of hurling to be played yet but one thing for sure is Dublin will have to improve and show more heart. At the moment Dónal Burke is carrying the team. Maybe changes are needed.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 17/05/2022 09:58:17    2417995

Seems to be a case of 1 step forward and 2 steps back with the hurlers these days. It's an easy comment to make looking in but over the years we have always struggled (going back 10-15 years) with the fact that by and large when we need bog scores at big moments we tend not to deliver. If you look at all the counties that have won All-Irelands over that period the one thing they all have in common is that they have always had a go-to forward who on any given day you know will chip in with 1-10 or more and a fair whack of that from play. I think of the Canning, Horgan, Reid, Kelly's, Callinan etc. Burke is carrying Dublin on the scoreboard at the moment due in large to a great free taking record but we don't have that killer forward inside and arguably never have had who spearheads the attack and gets big scores and big moments in games.

With that said I think we should still be doing better with what we have at our disposal. We do have very good forwards but it's rare they all click on the same day. Last Saturday evening nothing seemed to stick to the inside lads at all. Those days happen occasionally but they're a little more frequent with us that other counties. Our defence is as solid a back line as you will find and really do keep us in games at times but there's only so much firefighting they can do given the ball seems to be coming back at them quick enough after a clearance is made.

It's not all downbeat and still expect us to qualify but I think our ceiling is probably qualification and then a real hope for the best scenario to progress any further.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 17/05/2022 12:24:28    2418084

Qualify for what though?

Assuming they were to beat Antrim/Offaly/Kerry and it's an assumption not a certainty - what's next?

A complete hammering at the hands of the losing Munster finalist. That's the stark reality of it.

Been watching them for best part of 50 years. Just not at the races when it comes to taking on any of the actual top6/7 on a day that matters.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 17/05/2022 14:52:07    2418154

Howdy Jimbo, how's tricks :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 17/05/2022 15:17:32    2418169

Replying To realdub:  "Howdy Jimbo, how's tricks :D"
All's well man,

Hope all is good with you

Thought I'd add a few posts on here again haha

Looking forward to the Kildare game now, good to see Dublin playing some nice ball again, it'll take a good team to beat them but no doubting the Dubs aren't what they use to be, game winning contributions from a star studded bench is no longer at play.

Pity Mannion, McCaffrey aren't around anymore

Think with them two boys back Dublin would be further down the road

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/05/2022 20:01:42    2418249

Replying To jimbodub:  "All's well man,

Hope all is good with you

Thought I'd add a few posts on here again haha

Looking forward to the Kildare game now, good to see Dublin playing some nice ball again, it'll take a good team to beat them but no doubting the Dubs aren't what they use to be, game winning contributions from a star studded bench is no longer at play.

Pity Mannion, McCaffrey aren't around anymore

Think with them two boys back Dublin would be further down the road"
Oh I'd agree, I expect a serious game from Kildare. The AI is Kerrys to lose for sure.
All good here Jim, good to hear from you!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 18/05/2022 14:38:26    2418421

The goal chances were finished very nicely, Dublin have commonly butchered plenty of goal chances, right across the six in a row, today I enjoyed the composure displayed and clinical finishing on show. They no doubt identified a weakness in Kildare and went about trying to expose it, an excellent Leinster campaign after a woeful league. Now to address a few injury concerns and hopefully have a fully fit team for the big games ahead.

Great to see McCarthy lift the cup as Captain and an excellent display of high end attacking football.

Congrats to the Dubs and management team

Up the Dubs

The quest for the 1 in a row continues

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/05/2022 19:56:33    2420683

Replying To jimbodub:  "The goal chances were finished very nicely, Dublin have commonly butchered plenty of goal chances, right across the six in a row, today I enjoyed the composure displayed and clinical finishing on show. They no doubt identified a weakness in Kildare and went about trying to expose it, an excellent Leinster campaign after a woeful league. Now to address a few injury concerns and hopefully have a fully fit team for the big games ahead.

Great to see McCarthy lift the cup as Captain and an excellent display of high end attacking football.

Congrats to the Dubs and management team

Up the Dubs

The quest for the 1 in a row continues"
Glad you thanking management Jimbo. I always felt Dessie was getting bad press unfairly. Dessie got a hard gig and is doing fine.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 29/05/2022 14:35:18    2420753

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Glad you thanking management Jimbo. I always felt Dessie was getting bad press unfairly. Dessie got a hard gig and is doing fine."
For me the Jury is still out on Dublin as a whole,not the first time I've seen Dublin hyped up after cake walking a poor Leinster championship, Meath and Kildare were a bit of a shambles for varying reasons

Undoubtedly Dessie has a hard job, to his credit he has Dublin playing very differently and has blooded and now introduced some fine young footballers into the panel

He deserves his chance to give it his best to rectify a couple of things

As a fan, I'm enjoying this brand of football and I had full value for money thus far from what I've seen in Leinster

It's one game at a time, I set my expectations at "let's see what happens this year" before a ball was kicked

Bigger tests to come but I'm enjoying it

What more do you want as a fan

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2022 20:34:31    2421264

Any updates on Murchan injury?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/06/2022 11:51:17    2421944

Replying To jimbodub:  "For me the Jury is still out on Dublin as a whole,not the first time I've seen Dublin hyped up after cake walking a poor Leinster championship, Meath and Kildare were a bit of a shambles for varying reasons

Undoubtedly Dessie has a hard job, to his credit he has Dublin playing very differently and has blooded and now introduced some fine young footballers into the panel

He deserves his chance to give it his best to rectify a couple of things

As a fan, I'm enjoying this brand of football and I had full value for money thus far from what I've seen in Leinster

It's one game at a time, I set my expectations at "let's see what happens this year" before a ball was kicked

Bigger tests to come but I'm enjoying it

What more do you want as a fan"
Well said Jimbo.Dublin are back entertaining again anyway and Dessie made the right man captain.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 03/06/2022 21:19:56    2422060

PUC please!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/06/2022 11:15:11    2424522