Westmeath Hurling thread

First and foremost congratulations to Westmeath on a draw at the weekend.
I always felt that Dublin and Wexford could be there for the taking, especially in Mullingar. They're probably 8/9 on the hurling ladder.

Looking at the statistics a little closer, 3 points from play from the starting 6 forwards is really not good enough however.
I know Niall Mitchell was used as an extra midfielder ( and the goal!) and Killer Doyle was outfield a lot, but still it doesn't bode well.
Echoing a post from quite a while back from perhaps Jobber or Dheen, to be winning intercounty matches at this level means putting up in the ballpark of 30 points, which allowing for frees, points to all forwards chipping in with 2 or 3 scores each. That's not happening.
Luckily we now have some serious impact subs and they certainly got WM over the line. Fair play to them.

Defensively the team is as competitive as any out there, but the consistency from the forwards is not there.
People pointed to the wide count from WX (21 wides) but I believe Westmeath had 17 themselves. 50% conversion rates for both teams is terrible.
Honestly if WM only had a bit more gumption and a stroke of luck in front of goal against Dublin, there could have been another shock.

Still the scoreline is the final arbiter and it's a great shot in the arm for Westmeath.
Speaking of luck, wasn't there considerable talk on here last week of a lack of luck for Westmeath?
I'd call last Saturday very lucky by any measure!

Onwards and upwards and to the bate of Laois...

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 16/05/2022 18:12:07    2417898

Some siliverware for cbs Mullingar first year hurlers defeating another Wexford school good counsel.
Well done to all involved.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 17/05/2022 09:07:42    2417971

Colaiste Mhuire beat Good Counsel in a 1st Year Bro Hubert football final yesterday. Remarkable success recently for the school in the juvenile competitions in both grades, obviously have a very strong cohort of 1st and 2nd years in both codes. The school has quite a few teachers who are prominent players for clubs and counties which helps.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1486 - 17/05/2022 11:54:17    2418067

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Colaiste Mhuire beat Good Counsel in a 1st Year Bro Hubert football final yesterday. Remarkable success recently for the school in the juvenile competitions in both grades, obviously have a very strong cohort of 1st and 2nd years in both codes. The school has quite a few teachers who are prominent players for clubs and counties which helps."
I seen it off a club page that it was 1st year hurlers, apologies. Agreed, a lot of promising young players coming through in both codes for sure.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 17/05/2022 14:57:10    2418157

Team named for this evening's match with Conor Shaw full back, Jogger centre back, Aonghus dropped, Shane McGovern midfield and Derek McNich centre forward. Zero chance of that team starting, why do management teams persist with such nonsense? They must think likes of Cheddar Plunkett is a hurling ignoramus, not to mention Westmeath supporters. The top hurling counties manage to name teams on Thursday that actually line out on weekend. The named team would struggle to beat Laois but we'll definitely field a stronger fifteen.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1486 - 21/05/2022 14:13:18    2419174

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Team named for this evening's match with Conor Shaw full back, Jogger centre back, Aonghus dropped, Shane McGovern midfield and Derek McNich centre forward. Zero chance of that team starting, why do management teams persist with such nonsense? They must think likes of Cheddar Plunkett is a hurling ignoramus, not to mention Westmeath supporters. The top hurling counties manage to name teams on Thursday that actually line out on weekend. The named team would struggle to beat Laois but we'll definitely field a stronger fifteen."
Aonghus Clarke and Kevin Regan will start, maybe Ciaran Doyle/Shane Williams too, who both didn't feature vs Wexford last week.
All we need is a draw today to stay up, and with Kerry making the final of the Joe Mcdonagh at Offalys expense today, there is a chance that neither ourselves or Laois will end up getting relegated at all. Having said that, we have been hurling well and have to drive into this game and go for the win and nothing less.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 21/05/2022 15:19:30    2419189

Well done to our u14s, u15s and u16s who all had big wins today. Good work being done at these age groups.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 21/05/2022 15:56:15    2419198

Replying To Dheen:  "Well done to our u14s, u15s and u16s who all had big wins today. Good work being done at these age groups."
Congratulations. That's awesome. Great to see the game flourishing there!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 21/05/2022 16:14:56    2419202

Replying To Trump2020:  "Congratulations. That's awesome. Great to see the game flourishing there!"
our seniors were superb roll on 23

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1454 - 21/05/2022 19:37:50    2419239

What an unbelievable performance. Hard to pick anyone out as everyone was outstanding. But what a second half by Mitchell. Brilliant fighting spirit and such pride in the jersey today. A super day for Westmeath hurling!

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 21/05/2022 19:41:28    2419241

Credit to the hurlers and management who've achieved both division 1 status and Liam McCarthy status for the first time at the same time. Awesome second half display with the two Nialls superb in attack and young Keyes justifying his selection with two massive goals. Laois fans were heading out the gate with ten mins remaining and had no complaints. It's our first time to beat Laois in Leinster in 54 years. Three points in this group is arguably our finest achievement in hurling.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1486 - 21/05/2022 19:48:54    2419247

Westmeath take a bow! Well deserved after the draw against Wexford! I am surprised I have to be honest. I was of the opinion that Antrim are better than Westmeath. I saw Antrim and Laois then as even enough.
Westmeath played Division 2A hurling this year. Kerry played Division 2A hurling this year. Both have had a great day!!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7838 - 21/05/2022 19:49:09    2419248

what a great performance but im sad to see the hurling year for westmeath over as its still only may, i still the GAA year needs tweaking, Westmeath were actually improving as the year went on so for it to end today is a bit of a disappointment, its a long break now until january if its the walsh cup or kehoe cup and im hoping all the panel stick together and management team stay in place to give the whole setup a bit of continuity and keep building on the solid foundations thats there.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 735 - 21/05/2022 20:18:13    2419264

Congrats Westmeath.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1739 - 21/05/2022 20:38:37    2419277

Well done to Westmeath. Looks like we won't be seeing each other for a couple of years but we'll done on representing Div 2 hurlers this year.

Kerry, Carlow and Westmeath are the counties the strong ones ignore when setting the divisions and provincial draws.

Plenty of good hurlers in all three counties.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 21/05/2022 20:40:56    2419278

Great day for Westmeath hurling. U14, u15, u16 development squads all winning well, followed by our seniors backing up last week's result against Wexford with an empathic victory away to Laois to preserve our Leinster championship status.
Well done to all and looking forward to 2023 already!

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 21/05/2022 21:08:00    2419287

Replying To Dheen:  "Great day for Westmeath hurling. U14, u15, u16 development squads all winning well, followed by our seniors backing up last week's result against Wexford with an empathic victory away to Laois to preserve our Leinster championship status.
Well done to all and looking forward to 2023 already!"
Congratulations Dheen you have a good side and good management team. And the seeds of the last decade are bearing fruit. Made the point on our thread that apart from beating KK at u21 ye beat us at minor in 2013 and 2015. Hopefully your Board and schools and clubs continue the good work they have started. Hurling is a fantastic game the best there is.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11806 - 21/05/2022 21:40:33    2419297

Replying To Dheen:  "Great day for Westmeath hurling. U14, u15, u16 development squads all winning well, followed by our seniors backing up last week's result against Wexford with an empathic victory away to Laois to preserve our Leinster championship status.
Congratulations Dheen you have a good side and good management team. And the seeds of the last decade are bearing fruit. Made the point on our thread that apart from beating KK at u21 ye beat us at minor in 2013 and 2015. Hopefully your Board and schools and clubs continue the good work they have started. Hurling is a fantastic game the best there is.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11806 - 21/05/2022 21:40:52    2419298

Firstly thanks for all the congrats from our friends in Carlow,Kerry Kildare and Offaly.We all know what a great competition Joe Mcdonagh is and our two final defeats helped our guys to get the mental strength we have shown in the last eighteen months.I have no doubt we can make more progress as almost all of these lads should be around in 2023 and we have some serious talent at under 20.The 14s,15's and 16s are all good and now have a team to look up to.Iarmhi abu and here to all the good hurling folk of Carlow,Kildare,Offaly,Laois,Kerry and Antrim who we all know like ourselves are trying so hard to make it to that top 9

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1454 - 21/05/2022 21:49:46    2419301

Just a word on Joe Fortune, manager's get criticised when things don't go to plan so it's only fair to give the man the praise he deserves, he has been fantastic all year and seems to have a great relationship with the players. Winning 2A with a comprehensive win against Down in Thurles, putting in some super displays of hurling against the top teams in the championship, earning a memorable draw vs Wexford and then the emphatic win over Laois yesterday. He also seems to have a plan in place for all the young players we have coming through, they seem to be working alongside our seniors. I'd imagine a lot of the focus with these lads is on S&C. The players deserve massive credit of course, but Joe and his management team do equally.
Hopefully we can see the return of Liam Varley, Shane Clavin, Josh Coll and Gary Greville along with the addition of 2/3 of the younger lads, and I'm convinced we can make further progress next year with this management team.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 781 - 22/05/2022 10:13:35    2419326