Westmeath Hurling thread

Michael O Donoghue said on the radio recently some of the new Dublin young lads have put a huge emphasis on gym, fitness and speed training since September so your imagine that would be also be starting to pay off for the Dublin lads too.

I think Dublin will give Leinster a right rattle this year with a fully fit squad.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 730 - 05/01/2024 12:18:01    2518468

Replying To Viking66:  "They had 7 championship players from the game against us last year starting last night. Smyth, Donohue, Hayes, O'Sullivan, Purcell, Power and Crummey. You only had Bermingham and Egerton of the team played against us last year. So they would have had a stronger team out by their own standards than you last night."
Dublin had three championship starters from their last championship match last year career vs Clare.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1500 - 05/01/2024 12:42:27    2518475

Replying To Dheen:  "It's better he isn't, only coming back from an ACL injury. Having him fit for u20 is what matters.
We are in a group with Meath and Antrim, the other group has Carlow, Kildare and Kerry."
Do the top two in each group play each other

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 98 - 05/01/2024 13:21:34    2518481

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "Do the top two in each group play each other"
Yeah exactly, top two in each group play each other. If we win our group then we play the runners up of the other group, and if successful in that then we proceed on to a quarter final.
I would say for this group of players, reaching a quarter final has to be the minimum expectation. We achieved that last year with wins over Antrim, Meath and Laois, before narrowly losing to Wexford in the quarter final after a ball of wides. So I would say the target should be to go one better and make a semi final.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 793 - 05/01/2024 13:30:33    2518484

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Dublin had three championship starters from their last championship match last year career vs Clare."
Yes, but it was a pretty experienced team, even if a few of the older guys probably not see much time later,

Westmeath seem to be in a bit of a quandry. League cannot be left go given its increased importance, but the underage should be priority. Know nothing about the logistics of the management set up but i wouldn;t be throwing in under 20s against likes of Tipp and Limerick. Madness. Concentrate on the under 20 championship.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2565 - 05/01/2024 14:38:35    2518497

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Yes, but it was a pretty experienced team, even if a few of the older guys probably not see much time later,

Westmeath seem to be in a bit of a quandry. League cannot be left go given its increased importance, but the underage should be priority. Know nothing about the logistics of the management set up but i wouldn;t be throwing in under 20s against likes of Tipp and Limerick. Madness. Concentrate on the under 20 championship."
Careful Barney, you are talking too much sense there.... That would be the right way to go about it but it won't happen. The U20 lads will be brought to all games and may or may not get on.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 98 - 05/01/2024 15:11:46    2518500

Very few under 20s will be involved in the league, Peter Clarke and David Williams at most, manager of seniors in a tough position for the league as Aonghus Clarke, Niall O' B, two Grevilles, Cormac Boyle, Jack Galvin not involved and in majority of above unlikely to be, Aaron Craig and two Doyle's injured, Jack Galvin in Australia, that's the core of the team, another issue longer term is goalkeeper, Noel Conaty and Conor Lynch the two senior keepers but long term it's a position we're lacking in, under 20 keeper is Sean Jackson who doesn't play there for his club and is a reluctant keeper.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1500 - 05/01/2024 15:25:32    2518504

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Dublin had three championship starters from their last championship match last year career vs Clare."
They had 4 who started against Clare- Crummey, Smyth, Power and O'Sullivan. And Purcell came on. Hayes would've likely started against Clare had he not been injured. Not sure why Donohue didn't play against Clare.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11885 - 05/01/2024 15:30:59    2518505

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Very few under 20s will be involved in the league, Peter Clarke and David Williams at most, manager of seniors in a tough position for the league as Aonghus Clarke, Niall O' B, two Grevilles, Cormac Boyle, Jack Galvin not involved and in majority of above unlikely to be, Aaron Craig and two Doyle's injured, Jack Galvin in Australia, that's the core of the team, another issue longer term is goalkeeper, Noel Conaty and Conor Lynch the two senior keepers but long term it's a position we're lacking in, under 20 keeper is Sean Jackson who doesn't play there for his club and is a reluctant keeper."
Jackson not goalkeeper for the U20

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 98 - 05/01/2024 19:05:40    2518536

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "Jackson not goalkeeper for the U20"
Playing outfield? Who's the keeper

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 793 - 05/01/2024 21:35:46    2518556

Replying To Dheen:  "We will have Jogger, the grevilles, the doyles and outside of that I don't know. Definitely has his work cut out."
The grevilles aren't involved this year !

Westmeath213 (Westmeath) - Posts: 332 - 06/01/2024 00:08:32    2518569

Replying To Westmeath213:  "The grevilles aren't involved this year !"
Poster on here said they were coming back at the end of the month, that's what I was going off.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 793 - 06/01/2024 09:20:12    2518579

Replying To Dheen:  "Poster on here said they were coming back at the end of the month, that's what I was going off."
Who were management going to play V Dublín?.With all the withdrawls and injuries they picked what they had.We need these experienced players back by end of the month.We wont win or even reach Mcdonagh final without at least half a dozen of them back.Two of the players on the panel are good goalkeepers but not near good enough for outfield.Management need to tell these guys the truth.Goalkeeper or out.The senior players not training have given great service but for the future of Westmeath hurling we need them for at least 2024.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1458 - 06/01/2024 14:14:02    2518623

Replying To jobber:  "Who were management going to play V Dublín?.With all the withdrawls and injuries they picked what they had.We need these experienced players back by end of the month.We wont win or even reach Mcdonagh final without at least half a dozen of them back.Two of the players on the panel are good goalkeepers but not near good enough for outfield.Management need to tell these guys the truth.Goalkeeper or out.The senior players not training have given great service but for the future of Westmeath hurling we need them for at least 2024."
Why are all these lads not there is the question I'd be asking.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 98 - 06/01/2024 18:41:23    2518678

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Very few under 20s will be involved in the league, Peter Clarke and David Williams at most, manager of seniors in a tough position for the league as Aonghus Clarke, Niall O' B, two Grevilles, Cormac Boyle, Jack Galvin not involved and in majority of above unlikely to be, Aaron Craig and two Doyle's injured, Jack Galvin in Australia, that's the core of the team, another issue longer term is goalkeeper, Noel Conaty and Conor Lynch the two senior keepers but long term it's a position we're lacking in, under 20 keeper is Sean Jackson who doesn't play there for his club and is a reluctant keeper."
Craig and Galvin wouldn't be guaranteed starters if everyone committed to the squad.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 98 - 06/01/2024 18:43:20    2518680

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "Craig and Galvin wouldn't be guaranteed starters if everyone committed to the squad."
Aaron Craig (injured)
Ciaran Doyle (injured)
Killian Doyle (injured)
Eoin Keyes (injured)
Niall O'Brien (not committing)
Aonghus Clarke (not committing)
Shane Clavin (not committing)
Joey Boyle (not committing)
Cormac Boyle (not committing)
Robbie Greville (not committing?)
Gary Greville (not committing?)
Conor Shaw (not committing)
Davy Glennon (???)
Jack Galvin (Abroad)
Liam Varley (Abroad)
Tommy Gallagher (Abroad)

Nothing can be done about the injuries obviously and lads Abroad, but that's a lot of lads not committing and questions probably should be asked.. we are going to be in for a difficult year at senior level it appears.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 793 - 06/01/2024 20:15:15    2518696

Replying To Dheen:  "Aaron Craig (injured)
Ciaran Doyle (injured)
Killian Doyle (injured)
Eoin Keyes (injured)
Niall O'Brien (not committing)
Aonghus Clarke (not committing)
Shane Clavin (not committing)
Joey Boyle (not committing)
Cormac Boyle (not committing)
Robbie Greville (not committing?)
Gary Greville (not committing?)
Conor Shaw (not committing)
Davy Glennon (???)
Jack Galvin (Abroad)
Liam Varley (Abroad)
Tommy Gallagher (Abroad)

Nothing can be done about the injuries obviously and lads Abroad, but that's a lot of lads not committing and questions probably should be asked.. we are going to be in for a difficult year at senior level it appears."
As a recently past player the regard and untruths in this post alone tell so much about how dangerous online posts can be not only to an individual but also to a team's progress. We as players are told to stay away from social media and keyboard warriors. For many years I didn't and I laughed at some posts even about myself but it's obvious here that there are underlying personal agendas here from clubs which is unfair on a group of players and backroom doing all they can do in the highest level of hurling in the country . It's needs to stop. In the football postings people are praising the use of u20 players today vs Longford whereas our current management setup are being questioned not only on giving young lads a chance in a pre season competition at inter county experience. The same posters are constantly driving a personal agenda against what's been an incredible 4 years for Westmeath hurling based on what we have available numbers wise, players wise, facility wise towards the other counties we are competing with. This needs to stop. I had an involvement with this setup (briefly) , it couldn't be better. In fact I couldn't believe after our first year they stayed on for the betterment of our hurling people. I'm happy to personally meet you or anyone else,when in the country, to explain for the personal reasons some are not available, the ones I know of. For the betterment of Westmeath hurling, absolutely have an opinion, but stop with the untruths.
An update for you:
Shane Clavin is on the panel
Cormac Boyle is on the panel
Conor Shaw is on the panel
Joey Boyle is on the panel
Aaron Craig is on the panel
Eoin Keyes is on the panel and not injured
Doyle's are also on the panel and injured
Davy Glennon is on the panel
Some of the players you mention are travelling, they have given 10 years and more, one started a new job up the country, and others haven't been involved since before we won Joe McDonagh or even last year. Why mention them? We will struggle without those players but I know first hand from the players in this panel all is being done to find new talent.
The younger players like JordySmyth, Adam Ennis, David O Reilly etc are also on the panel.

This is not an attack on you but it's not fair on the group, many I would class as friends, to have information like this in a public forum.

retiredsemi (Westmeath) - Posts: 3 - 06/01/2024 23:27:19    2518731

That's a valid point. It's good to hear a inside view!!

But I know for a fact that two you have mentioned are not on the panel as I spoke to them this week. The setup is not the way you described it either. But that's your opinion and fair play to you. The majority of lads here are hurimen who want to know what's going on and with a genuine interest in westmeath gaa. I can see their point of view when a talented U20 sits on a bench For seniors and could benefit from the 20's. No one said anything about the pre season games.

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 98 - 07/01/2024 08:20:15    2518745

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "That's a valid point. It's good to hear a inside view!!

But I know for a fact that two you have mentioned are not on the panel as I spoke to them this week. The setup is not the way you described it either. But that's your opinion and fair play to you. The majority of lads here are hurimen who want to know what's going on and with a genuine interest in westmeath gaa. I can see their point of view when a talented U20 sits on a bench For seniors and could benefit from the 20's. No one said anything about the pre season games."
Really? I only signed up to this to explain how people's comments like this are untrue and how it can affect players especially on a personal level. You spoke to no one on that list this week because they are all involved on the panel that I named. That's a fact but let's see. I agree that the majority on here care about what's going on with genuine interest in Westmeath. Others are pushing an agenda and have done for a long time. I'm only giving a players perspective to you. Say and do what you want from now.

retiredsemi (Westmeath) - Posts: 3 - 07/01/2024 08:42:56    2518751

Replying To retiredsemi:  "As a recently past player the regard and untruths in this post alone tell so much about how dangerous online posts can be not only to an individual but also to a team's progress. We as players are told to stay away from social media and keyboard warriors. For many years I didn't and I laughed at some posts even about myself but it's obvious here that there are underlying personal agendas here from clubs which is unfair on a group of players and backroom doing all they can do in the highest level of hurling in the country . It's needs to stop. In the football postings people are praising the use of u20 players today vs Longford whereas our current management setup are being questioned not only on giving young lads a chance in a pre season competition at inter county experience. The same posters are constantly driving a personal agenda against what's been an incredible 4 years for Westmeath hurling based on what we have available numbers wise, players wise, facility wise towards the other counties we are competing with. This needs to stop. I had an involvement with this setup (briefly) , it couldn't be better. In fact I couldn't believe after our first year they stayed on for the betterment of our hurling people. I'm happy to personally meet you or anyone else,when in the country, to explain for the personal reasons some are not available, the ones I know of. For the betterment of Westmeath hurling, absolutely have an opinion, but stop with the untruths.
An update for you:
Shane Clavin is on the panel
Cormac Boyle is on the panel
Conor Shaw is on the panel
Joey Boyle is on the panel
Aaron Craig is on the panel
Eoin Keyes is on the panel and not injured
Doyle's are also on the panel and injured
Davy Glennon is on the panel
Some of the players you mention are travelling, they have given 10 years and more, one started a new job up the country, and others haven't been involved since before we won Joe McDonagh or even last year. Why mention them? We will struggle without those players but I know first hand from the players in this panel all is being done to find new talent.
The younger players like JordySmyth, Adam Ennis, David O Reilly etc are also on the panel.

This is not an attack on you but it's not fair on the group, many I would class as friends, to have information like this in a public forum."
Well that's fair and good to get a proper insight from someone who has actually been close to the set up. It was never my intention to make a post that comes across as an attack, I think myself like others on this forum have just been concerned with how this season may pan out after years of excellent work and progress. Your post is very insightful and encouraging to hear.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 793 - 07/01/2024 10:35:31    2518767