Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To standview:  "It beggers belief, and you really have to wonder how the committee come to these decisions. Would have made sense to have the mens junior, intermediate and senior final on the Sunday and have the same ladies finals on the Saturday in Aughrim, surely would have generated more revenue for both codes, and generated a real feel of County final day for the clubs involved, in fairness to the ladies committee, this seems to be their approach.

Even taking into account for bad weather and whether the pitch would hold up, just have the mens minor and senior finals on the Sunday, and the junior and inter on the Saturday. Why did they ever move away from having the minor A final as the opener for the senior anyway, surely them young lads deserved their big day out with the men?

And what is even more baffling is the use of Hurling refs for two of the three football finals, not taking away from their abilities, but surely there are football refs well capable of taking charge, and the use of the same ref for the Hurling final replay, surely more than one Hurling ref capable of taking charge of that final. Shows utter disrespect towards other refs IMO, I would hope it doesn't affect the retention/ recruitment of referees, but I feel it will.

It really makes you wonder what is in store for the future of the county if these are the best decisions being made "for the county" , or is it individual ego massaging. Time for a big shift in attitude towards the games and clubs in the county, its up to the clubs to have a serious say going forward on what is best for the county at the board meetings."
Well thought out and articulated post. Your line 'time for a big shift in attitude towards the games and clubs in the county, it is up to the clubs to have a serious say going forward on what is best for the county at the board mettings' - this is what you would expect in a fully functioning county but is this the case in Wicklow? I would have thought that clubs would want minors playing on county final day for promotional reasons. So are the clubs happy for there to be no minor final on Sunday? And if there're not happy why has it bern this way for the last number of years?

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 05/10/2022 13:05:49    2442868

According to the county board promo socials it's BIG enough to fill Aughrim on its own, so there's the reasoning apparently.

FrankieJoe (Wicklow) - Posts: 71 - 05/10/2022 18:29:55    2442920

I also believe that whoever wins on Sunday are down to play the Carlow champions away the following Saturday. If this is the case it beggars belief that the final was not played last Sunday to give our county champions some hope of progressing in the club championship. Why wait 3 weeks to hold the final. This has happened before and it is almost as if we live in our own little bubble and don't want our teams to progress. I'm surprised that Pats and Balto didn't object to the timing of this fixture as Pats especially have experienced this scenario before to their cost. This year we had a more favourable draw and a possible chance of making progress as if our representatives were to beat Palatine we had 2 possible home draws. This debacle needs to be addressed strongly at the next county board meeting and the people responsible held to account.

Optimisticobserver (Wicklow) - Posts: 125 - 06/10/2022 07:28:05    2442931

Replying To Optimisticobserver:  "I also believe that whoever wins on Sunday are down to play the Carlow champions away the following Saturday. If this is the case it beggars belief that the final was not played last Sunday to give our county champions some hope of progressing in the club championship. Why wait 3 weeks to hold the final. This has happened before and it is almost as if we live in our own little bubble and don't want our teams to progress. I'm surprised that Pats and Balto didn't object to the timing of this fixture as Pats especially have experienced this scenario before to their cost. This year we had a more favourable draw and a possible chance of making progress as if our representatives were to beat Palatine we had 2 possible home draws. This debacle needs to be addressed strongly at the next county board meeting and the people responsible held to account."
Incorrect, first round of Leinster is the weekend of 22nd/23rd so a perfect 2 week break. Also, fixtures allowed for a free weekend last weekend to allow for possibility of hurling replay, which so happened. Little bit of credit where it's due to the fixtures maker on this rare occasion.

neutralfan (Wicklow) - Posts: 222 - 06/10/2022 10:59:09    2442951

Replying To FrankieJoe:  "According to the county board promo socials it's BIG enough to fill Aughrim on its own, so there's the reasoning apparently."
Maybe the pr people read this forum ;) but they are defienitely on a different planet if they think they will fill Aughrim with one game, were they having a pop at the LGFA with that statement?

Obviously they weren't present at the last couple of County finals, poor turn out for them, what makes them think this Sunday will be any different. Never the less, change needs to happen ASAP for the sake of the games, both hurling and football.

A recently appointed fixtures secretary and games/ fixtures are going backwards, maybe it's not a reflection on that person, but they are the front person for this fiasco, as per usual the county lags behind in the shadows of other counties when it comes to getting fixtures finished on time. I remember a time not so long ago when there was a fixtures programme issued at the start of the season, and for the foremost it was completed within reason, and fixtures were only refixed under exceptional circumstances, but the man behind that has since retired.

Yet gain this demonstrates the incompetence of the executive committee. But sure what would us mere mortals know about the games?

Anyway back to the important things, the "big one" (what defines this as the big one anyway? Is the junior D not the big one for them clubs/ officials? or the Minor B for them kids?) I think it will be a close game, could be a replay. On paper Balto' probably pip St. Pats' by the very slimmest of margins, given their current sitting, and their strength around the middle of the park. But both teams have both youth and experienced heads at their disposal, I think Balto' will play attacking football and pats' may sit back and play a defensive game, for the most. There will be man marking on both sides which will slow the game down, but I feel it may be a low scoring slow game anyway with only a point or two either way seperating them in the end. My money is on Balto' by 2 points!! My money is also on Eire Og in the inter' and Laragh in the Jun' A, this may be another slow game with a whistle happy ref (new and inexperienced hurling ref). Only time will tell.

And to be inclusive, in the LGFA finals Tinahely too strong for pats', but I think it will be tighter game than anticipated, also Tinahely in the intermediate and I think the junior game, coolkenno and kilcoole, will only be seperate by penos', but hat tip to kilcoole.

standview (Wicklow) - Posts: 20 - 06/10/2022 11:51:22    2442967

I can't fathom why anyone would think that a county final would fill Aughrim. Even in the heyday when there was large crowds at the county final: Baltinglass vs Rathnew in the 90s, these games weren't a sell out. Wicklow GAA should have the minor A final followed by the Senior final. It never ceases to amaze me how often and how badly we get the small things wrong, as a county, on a regular basis. As an outsider to local affairs; i can't work out if it is done deliberately for political reason or just pure incompetence. Maybe they'll surprise us some day and get it right.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 06/10/2022 13:04:06    2442987

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I can't fathom why anyone would think that a county final would fill Aughrim. Even in the heyday when there was large crowds at the county final: Baltinglass vs Rathnew in the 90s, these games weren't a sell out. Wicklow GAA should have the minor A final followed by the Senior final. It never ceases to amaze me how often and how badly we get the small things wrong, as a county, on a regular basis. As an outsider to local affairs; i can't work out if it is done deliberately for political reason or just pure incompetence. Maybe they'll surprise us some day and get it right."
A bit of all three is my guess. Unparalelled incompetrence.

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 06/10/2022 21:41:52    2443057

Replying To Optimisticobserver:  "I also believe that whoever wins on Sunday are down to play the Carlow champions away the following Saturday. If this is the case it beggars belief that the final was not played last Sunday to give our county champions some hope of progressing in the club championship. Why wait 3 weeks to hold the final. This has happened before and it is almost as if we live in our own little bubble and don't want our teams to progress. I'm surprised that Pats and Balto didn't object to the timing of this fixture as Pats especially have experienced this scenario before to their cost. This year we had a more favourable draw and a possible chance of making progress as if our representatives were to beat Palatine we had 2 possible home draws. This debacle needs to be addressed strongly at the next county board meeting and the people responsible held to account."
Ah for gods sake Ive heard it all now the volunteers on the county board should be held to account by who a kangaroo court ???? with the likes of you and square ball on it ????

If you dont like it put yourself forward but dont but dont expect to be elected and don't then call that undemocatic because no one voted for you because the people who get elected are the ones who do some work an awful lot of work usually volunteering all there lives gif their clubs so they earn respect the hard way not mouthing off hear under a false name of in case of square ball a whole load of different names all agreeing with himself. And anyway the volunteers "responsible " as you say actually got the fixtures right where you sitting on your backside got the fixture dates wrong Hope no one is holding you to account

I dont know why I bother looking looking in hear clue less the lot of yis all talk about lack of ambition and prioritiese every single thing but not prepared to do anything and it starts with hard work for your club not mouthing off hear about people who have done hard work and continue to do it.

Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 385 - 07/10/2022 11:18:26    2443087

Interesting articles doing the rounds about developments in Meath GAA circles. 6 or so regional panels made up
of Intermediate and junior clubs to be formed. A tournament to be played off in the next few months. At the end an All Star panel will be picked from the regions which will play the Meath Senior panel in Mr O'Rourke's first game in charge. A few heavy hitters included in the managers selected for the various regional teams also . A novel idea and one which lets the new management see the best of the rest, as it were. Can anyone seriously ever see our leadership coming up with something like this ? Colm has also invited Mr Meath GAA, Sean Boylan to join the management setup in whatever way he might think that he could contribute to the new regime. These are serious moves from a once serious county who are not afraid to try out new methods and systems in an effort to get their county back to the top tier. Plus it seems as if others are starting to buy into whatever Colm has in mind. The best of luck to them.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 997 - 07/10/2022 11:42:55    2443090

A bit of old static interference coming in there from the side. It's a bit like thunder - you have to put up with it. If you ignore it it normally goes away. I'd imagine many a watchful eye will be on the lookout for Mr McConville at Sundays game. I think his Monaghan team were knocked out at semi final stage last weekend. Like I said before, it should be tight but I expect Balto to get their noses in front - barely

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 997 - 07/10/2022 14:03:16    2443114

The county final between St. Pats and Baltinglass will be a tight game. I think much will depend on which Baltinglass turns up; if the team from the first half against An Tochar turns up, it will be Pats but if the second half team turn up then Baltinglass will be hard beaten. An Tochar has great chances to put Baltinglass away and didn't take them; I think Pats will get similar chances and I expect them to take them. There is a good article in the Irish Independent today where Oisin McConville talks about changing the culture in Wicklow; here is the article - https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/theres-improvement-that-can-happen-pretty-quickly-oisin-mcconville-looking-to-change-wicklow-culture-42047034.html. I think what he says is correct there are some decent players in the county but the turnover of players can't help with developing a team. Also, the point on four different management teams in a year, can't help with encouraging players to turn out for the county and help with continuity. Hopefully, players will commit and Oisin can be given 3 years with no interference. This is badly needed if we are to get on the right track as a county.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 07/10/2022 15:00:34    2443125

Hoping for a good game on Sunday. Another poster talked about what Baltinglass team will turn up on Sunday...I would say the same for the Pats team. If the first half team from the previous game turns up for Pats they will be in trouble but if the second half team turns up we are all in for a very tight, interesting game. I will slightly go for Pats by the minimum but could be a replay in this one! Hoping for a good game and a big crowd.

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 07/10/2022 16:47:25    2443147

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "Hoping for a good game on Sunday. Another poster talked about what Baltinglass team will turn up on Sunday...I would say the same for the Pats team. If the first half team from the previous game turns up for Pats they will be in trouble but if the second half team turns up we are all in for a very tight, interesting game. I will slightly go for Pats by the minimum but could be a replay in this one! Hoping for a good game and a big crowd."
Congrats to Pats on their victory. I had thought it was Balto's year but being from east of the hills I am happy enough to have been wrong. We all got it right about it being a tight game though. East of the hills have had a good year. Congrats also to Eire Og ( still can't figure how they got themselves into the Inter ranks ), and also congrats to Laragh on winning the Jun A. They are another team who were unlucky to get relegated last year. They are certainly strong enough for the Inter grade but I'm not too sure that they have the resources (players wise) to move any higher. Bray look strong in Jun B. From what I have seen of them, you would wonder all the more why they can't do better at senior. Anyway, lots for Oisin to chew on for a month or two.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 997 - 09/10/2022 16:34:52    2443283

Watched the game on the live stream today and have to say fair play to all those involved in this. I know there was some negative feedback for the hurling final when some issue prevented it being shown but today's production was top class. Pre-game interviews with the managers, post game interview on the pitch at full time with Tommy Kelly and really slick production throughout on what I can assume is little or no budget.

Special mention to Emmet Sullivan & Cormac Doyle on commentary. Two lads from families steeped in Wicklow GAA history and really know their stuff on the local scene.

This is the type of PR we badly need in Wicklow, giving our games a proper level of professionalism and positive media outlet.

Oisin McConville has already talked about changing our culture, so hopefully this is something that can be part of that and will be grown/expanded next year & beyond,

Well done all!

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 121 - 09/10/2022 21:33:57    2443332

Baltinglass management may take responsibility for yesterday's defeat. Congratulations to st. Pats for sticking at it

kodak13 (Wicklow) - Posts: 66 - 10/10/2022 10:11:51    2443354

Couldn't make it to the county final yesterday. Sounds as though it was well contested close game as was predicted. Seems that the game changed in favour of Pats when John McGrath had to leave the game. Baltinglass seem to be very dependent on him for leadership and scoring based upon what i saw in their game against An Tochar. Pats need to give the Leinster a good go this year, they've a reasonable draw, they're experienced and it may be the last chance in Leinster for this current team.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 10/10/2022 10:56:59    2443364

Pats much the better team. Lack of scoring power up front for Baltinglass cost them.
Had a glorious chance at the end. Can't begrudge Padge Mc and lads their title. Very good game of football.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 10/10/2022 11:02:07    2443366

Fair play to both teams on a very good game in awful conditions. A good win for Pats and good look in the Leinster championship

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 10/10/2022 17:17:26    2443457

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Couldn't make it to the county final yesterday. Sounds as though it was well contested close game as was predicted. Seems that the game changed in favour of Pats when John McGrath had to leave the game. Baltinglass seem to be very dependent on him for leadership and scoring based upon what i saw in their game against An Tochar. Pats need to give the Leinster a good go this year, they've a reasonable draw, they're experienced and it may be the last chance in Leinster for this current team."
The pendulum had swung in Pats favour long before John McGrath had to go off. No saying he wasn't a loss but Pats had solved a lot of the problems that McGrath was causing in the first half by the time he left the field.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 11/10/2022 10:08:53    2443526

Is it true Casey is coming back to the hurlers?

How ironic that before he was charged with taking us out of the gutter, and here we are again, in the gutter.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 11/10/2022 10:09:43    2443527