Wicklow GAA thread

Replying To Pat Mustard:  "350,000 euro and rising by the month"
Jeez. Have you any idea or heard if this "big" sponsorship deal announced last year is still going through ?? If it is, we are really in trouble - not that 350k isn't big trouble enough anyway. How long before Croker steps in at that rate ?? A levy on the clubs would only work once, which would only be a stopgap measure. We would be in the same boat next year if the hole can't be plugged or more sponsors brought on board. That won't happen without success at some level on the pitch.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1001 - 12/04/2024 11:22:36    2537495

Best of luck to the senior footballers tomorrow against Kildare, here's hoping for another upset. There is a big write up on RTE about our senior footballers. One thing that stood out to me was we haven't won back to back games in the Leinster championship since 1989, when we beat Carlow and Kildare. We were then defeated in the Leinster semi's by Dublin by 6 points (only). I was at the game in Newbridge, only just turned a teenager, Jaysus, we had a great team in the 80's and up to the mid to late 90's.

minor93 (Wicklow) - Posts: 74 - 13/04/2024 14:54:27    2537648

Replying To minor93:  "Best of luck to the senior footballers tomorrow against Kildare, here's hoping for another upset. There is a big write up on RTE about our senior footballers. One thing that stood out to me was we haven't won back to back games in the Leinster championship since 1989, when we beat Carlow and Kildare. We were then defeated in the Leinster semi's by Dublin by 6 points (only). I was at the game in Newbridge, only just turned a teenager, Jaysus, we had a great team in the 80's and up to the mid to late 90's."
That game v Dublin. I wasn't at it but I think that it was another with a few dubious decisions going the Dubs way. We had a few good teams between mid eighty's and mid ninety's. The team that was 9 up v Kildare at half time was good enough to win Leinster. That was the day that a certain Kildare player ran about 14 steps to score and the ref was asleep. Earlier in the 90s we held Meath to a draw, and, in the replay typical Meath "sportsmanship of that period left us playing a full game with 14 men and I think we lost by a point. Also, if memory serves Meath went on to win Sam that year. We were always a bit green in what was needed to be done to win games, but the opposition never lacked in that department. Those were the days.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1001 - 13/04/2024 16:24:11    2537664

Replying To Freethinker:  "That game v Dublin. I wasn't at it but I think that it was another with a few dubious decisions going the Dubs way. We had a few good teams between mid eighty's and mid ninety's. The team that was 9 up v Kildare at half time was good enough to win Leinster. That was the day that a certain Kildare player ran about 14 steps to score and the ref was asleep. Earlier in the 90s we held Meath to a draw, and, in the replay typical Meath "sportsmanship of that period left us playing a full game with 14 men and I think we lost by a point. Also, if memory serves Meath went on to win Sam that year. We were always a bit green in what was needed to be done to win games, but the opposition never lacked in that department. Those were the days."
I think Meath were beaten by Down by a couple of points in the All Ireland final that year, but yes, we definitely had teams that were capable of winning a Leinster back in those days.

minor93 (Wicklow) - Posts: 74 - 13/04/2024 19:02:03    2537692

Replying To minor93:  "I think Meath were beaten by Down by a couple of points in the All Ireland final that year, but yes, we definitely had teams that were capable of winning a Leinster back in those days."
You are quite right. Down won by 2pts. They were 11 up when Meath began their comeback which just fell short.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1001 - 13/04/2024 20:16:24    2537693

Replying To Freethinker:  "That game v Dublin. I wasn't at it but I think that it was another with a few dubious decisions going the Dubs way. We had a few good teams between mid eighty's and mid ninety's. The team that was 9 up v Kildare at half time was good enough to win Leinster. That was the day that a certain Kildare player ran about 14 steps to score and the ref was asleep. Earlier in the 90s we held Meath to a draw, and, in the replay typical Meath "sportsmanship of that period left us playing a full game with 14 men and I think we lost by a point. Also, if memory serves Meath went on to win Sam that year. We were always a bit green in what was needed to be done to win games, but the opposition never lacked in that department. Those were the days."
I was at the Dublin game in 89 in Newbridge, one of my earliest GAA memories. As I recall the Dubs done a 'job' on Red Pat early in the game . He played on but wasn't as effective after taking the belt. Also remember the Kildare game in Croke pk. I thought we were home & dry at half time. It seemed like Lynch ran half the length of Croke pk with neither a hop or a solo taken before crashing it into the net.

Hawkeye2 (Wicklow) - Posts: 121 - 14/04/2024 04:38:26    2537714

Replying To Hawkeye2:  "I was at the Dublin game in 89 in Newbridge, one of my earliest GAA memories. As I recall the Dubs done a 'job' on Red Pat early in the game . He played on but wasn't as effective after taking the belt. Also remember the Kildare game in Croke pk. I thought we were home & dry at half time. It seemed like Lynch ran half the length of Croke pk with neither a hop or a solo taken before crashing it into the net."
You can only imagine what would have happened to Lynch if he had been playing any of the too counties - even at the risk of being red carded. Red Pat did make a sorta grab for him but it wasn't full blooded enough. We could write a book on dodgy decisions which have gone against us when we seem to have our tails up, I suppose this is where you need the resources - players and otherwise- to keep coming back year after year, which we never seem to have been able to do.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1001 - 14/04/2024 12:15:15    2537740

Well done to the players today...they played their hearts out, left nothing on the pitch but that was a hard one to take! Will this team stay together for the Tailtean Cup?

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 14/04/2024 15:43:39    2537756

so so close..Goes to show what a bit of belief and never say die can do. Gutted for them

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 541 - 14/04/2024 15:58:44    2537758

What a disappointment today. Came so close and I am immensely proud of the team. Last Sunday and again today, they proved that they can compete with counties like Westmeath and Kildare. It would've been great to get over today but it wasn't too be. The players gave it everything they had last Sunday and again today - I can't ask for anymore. I do think that if the players stick together, they can give the Tailteann cup a crack. The team overall is young enough and I hope that the manager will stay and help the players develop further; there is potential in this group if they are managed and can improve. There's been a big improvement in these two championship matches compared to the team's performance in the league.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1911 - 14/04/2024 18:11:49    2537781

Replying To ponger:  "so so close..Goes to show what a bit of belief and never say die can do. Gutted for them"
I know it's little consolation but well done to our neighbours ... only bad luck meant you lost today .
Great fight and determination
Could go all the way in the TC

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 705 - 14/04/2024 18:20:01    2537786

Replying To Blackbog:  "I know it's little consolation but well done to our neighbours ... only bad luck meant you lost today .
Great fight and determination
Could go all the way in the TC"
Name of the game is silverware lads. Go for the TC ...you've got the momentum.

jfd (Westmeath) - Posts: 240 - 14/04/2024 19:04:38    2537799

That's a good wicklow side. Very unlucky not to snatch it. Will be contenders for the TC

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1595 - 14/04/2024 19:53:41    2537814

That sucked today and it could be a long time before we get a championship draw like that again. Wicklow made a couple of terrible hand passes in the second half and completely butchered a goal chance near the end of the game (very similar to a goal opportunity v Down in the league in Aughrim).

Albundy19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 40 - 14/04/2024 20:03:29    2537818

I would feel we beat ourselves today, very very disappointing result ultimately. I would question leaving one of the best place kickers in Ireland off the team. Even bringing Jackson on at half time was a viable option. Shane Doyle is a fine outfield player around the middle. Some "outside the box" thinking from Management could of really worked.

We were extremely ineffective from frees crucially in the second half. This cost us dearly. A Kildare team as low on confidence, down to 14, and with the injuries they picked up is as scarce as hens teeth.

On a positive, our performance today compared to the corresponding fixture last year in Dr. Cullen was Day/Night. Our direct attacking and defending in the first half was top class.

JohnnyBlaze (Wicklow) - Posts: 52 - 14/04/2024 20:16:58    2537820

Very hard luck today Wicklow, keep those heads up and carry on with the same effort.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 14/04/2024 20:31:47    2537822

Hard luck to the lads today. They will know that they left it behind. However, I think this team will take more out of the game than Kildare. As senior inter county teams go it is very young - and green. They will improve and going forward, there are a few more young lads on the u20s who will be pushing for places. Still, looking at the Dubs today, they are in a different league totally.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1001 - 14/04/2024 20:52:30    2537831

Replying To minor93:  "Best of luck to the senior footballers tomorrow against Kildare, here's hoping for another upset. There is a big write up on RTE about our senior footballers. One thing that stood out to me was we haven't won back to back games in the Leinster championship since 1989, when we beat Carlow and Kildare. We were then defeated in the Leinster semi's by Dublin by 6 points (only). I was at the game in Newbridge, only just turned a teenager, Jaysus, we had a great team in the 80's and up to the mid to late 90's."
Ye didn't heat Kildare in 1989

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 14/04/2024 21:26:33    2537844

Was at the game and glad I was, wicklow snatched defeat from the jaws of victory, cruel ending for wicklow, the dubs own leinster and 95% of the country it doesnt help. Glen will have his lads fired up for their game with louth. Commiserations and good luck in the TC.

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 14/04/2024 22:21:05    2537859

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Ye didn't heat Kildare in 1989"
And that matters? Cop yourself on kid.

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 14/04/2024 22:36:23    2537862