Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "McEntee comments after the game was odd in regards to the current Sligo U20s.

"I don't know if those players are good or bad as I have seen them"

Surely any senior manager should be keeping a close eye of their U20s to see what's coming through? And 11 of the current starters played in last years All-Ireland final did he not watch that either."
I think he's referring to seeing them come in and train or play against seniors to see where they are at. it's ok to say that a player looks very good at u20 level but until they come into senior ranks it's hard to know where they really are at.

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 443 - 08/04/2024 13:00:50    2536563

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "McEntee comments after the game was odd in regards to the current Sligo U20s.

Surely any senior manager should be keeping a close eye of their U20s to see what's coming through? And 11 of the current starters played in last years All-Ireland final did he not watch that either."
Why do you float around on different counties forums trying to cause trouble ? If you had any little bit of a brain you would surely be able to answer your own question. Sligo have only played 2 games at U.20. They play on a Wednesday which is the same night as the seniors meet up. Do you expect MC Entee to call off training just to watch the U.20 team play ? None of that U.20 panel are in his plans.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 08/04/2024 13:04:21    2536568

Decent performance yesterday but my god were Leitrim clueless. Fair play to the lads for getting the job done. Hopefully we can make a game of it in 2 weeks against a somewhat underwhelming Galway side comparing to the last two years.

Under 20's this week will have it tough to beat Leitrim, we will need a huge improvement. I am hoping Henry has something up his sleeve. Obviously its a must win and I think we need to think outside the box a little.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 08/04/2024 15:57:36    2536644

In fairness, McEntee was at the u20 final last year for sure and he probably can't attend the midweek matches. I have never felt he was very interested in the u20s but his tone has actually changed towards them from listening to him. When he mentioned Canice, he said it doesn't matter what age you are, when you are ready, you are ready. In previous years he would deflect and say they're not ready all time. McEntee may be stubborn and a slow learner but he at least he does eventually learn. He is still making mistakes on team selection and Leitrim were never going to expose that yesterday but hopefully he can get it right against Galway because they will. The biggest thing will hopefully the players will have learned from last year and the level required.

I'd like to see Mark Walsh get more minutes would be a good starting point.

4,111 was the attendance yesterday which is very poor.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 08/04/2024 16:06:00    2536647

Replying To republican:  "Decent performance yesterday but my god were Leitrim clueless. Fair play to the lads for getting the job done. Hopefully we can make a game of it in 2 weeks against a somewhat underwhelming Galway side comparing to the last two years.

Under 20's this week will have it tough to beat Leitrim, we will need a huge improvement. I am hoping Henry has something up his sleeve. Obviously its a must win and I think we need to think outside the box a little."
Whats the story with the exodus from St Marys?

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 08/04/2024 16:07:28    2536648

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Salthill…the last time we played in 2019 it was Markievicz. Connacht final doesn't count."
Yeah was thinking the same as that a home game for Sligo. Wouldn't put it past the Gaa to pull a fast one though if they could make more money by having it in Galway. 30 euro crazy price for stand ticket for yesterday's one sided game. Really trying to price supporters out of games.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 08/04/2024 19:57:45    2536733

Replying To eoinog:  "Why do you float around on different counties forums trying to cause trouble ? If you had any little bit of a brain you would surely be able to answer your own question. Sligo have only played 2 games at U.20. They play on a Wednesday which is the same night as the seniors meet up. Do you expect MC Entee to call off training just to watch the U.20 team play ? None of that U.20 panel are in his plans."
It's online forum open to all "Trying to cause trouble" quit the nonsense talk simply because you seem to be very sensitive individual and your effort at trying to insult me is fairly pathetic.

A far more respectful reply from Sligonian and as he said he attended last years U20 All-Ireland final so should already know which players was good or not then. As I said odd comment by McEntee who like every senior manager if unable to attend U20 games should be getting up to date information on the players coming

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 08/04/2024 21:08:05    2536746

Replying To Anto:  "Whats the story with the exodus from St Marys?"
Ah no that's all we need. All of them?

Sligostyle (Sligo) - Posts: 7 - 08/04/2024 21:33:45    2536749

Congratulations Sligo; always good to keep those pretentious neighbors in smach!

Slagging aside, I like how Sligo play the game. You've an up and coming team who could potentially do quite well at Div. 2 level.

Is the Galway game in Markievicz or away? I'd give ye a fair shot at it if it is the former!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1920 - 09/04/2024 02:56:35    2536777

The delay in announcing the venue for the Galway game is interesting given that they updated the website for the other semi final. I had assumed and hopefully wrongly that because we pulled out in 2020 it wouldn't count as having been a game at all.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 09/04/2024 10:31:04    2536830

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "The delay in announcing the venue for the Galway game is interesting given that they updated the website for the other semi final. I had assumed and hopefully wrongly that because we pulled out in 2020 it wouldn't count as having been a game at all."
Behind the scenes discussion presumably?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1426 - 09/04/2024 11:05:28    2536838

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "It's online forum open to all "Trying to cause trouble" quit the nonsense talk simply because you seem to be very sensitive individual and your effort at trying to insult me is fairly pathetic.

A far more respectful reply from Sligonian and as he said he attended last years U20 All-Ireland final so should already know which players was good or not then. As I said odd comment by McEntee who like every senior manager if unable to attend U20 games should be getting up to date information on the players coming"
It's an open forum and everyone is entitled to post. I am always wary of posters who haven't the ***** to say where they are from, and don't give me the line that you are not affiliated to any one county.. I didn't hear what MC Entee said but I have no issue with his comments. There's no U.20 in his plans and he was honest enough to say he didn't know anything about them. Last summer I saw him at a lot of club games. That's good enough for me. Coming on trying to undermine him isn't helpful, because at this stage all the anti MC Entee brigade have run out of ammunition. They are now turning on the U.20 mgt .

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 09/04/2024 11:26:49    2536843

Replying To Anto:  "Whats the story with the exodus from St Marys?"
Tell us more. Who's gone

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 09/04/2024 12:28:36    2536864

Replying To eoinog:  "Tell us more. Who's gone"
Yeah I havent heard anything

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 09/04/2024 13:25:59    2536884

Replying To eoinog:  "It's an open forum and everyone is entitled to post. I am always wary of posters who haven't the ***** to say where they are from, and don't give me the line that you are not affiliated to any one county.. I didn't hear what MC Entee said but I have no issue with his comments. There's no U.20 in his plans and he was honest enough to say he didn't know anything about them. Last summer I saw him at a lot of club games. That's good enough for me. Coming on trying to undermine him isn't helpful, because at this stage all the anti MC Entee brigade have run out of ammunition. They are now turning on the U.20 mgt ."
Beating a Leirim team out of steam, with multiple players injured and with their manager prioriticing the u20 is hardly a huge feather in the cap for McEntee.
He was forced to select Mulligan due to injuries to Towey, Lavin. Players like Keaney, Marren forced out of the panel due to lack of game time and inferior players starting. Lets see how we perform against Galway.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 09/04/2024 13:38:14    2536893

Replying To Anto:  "Beating a Leirim team out of steam, with multiple players injured and with their manager prioriticing the u20 is hardly a huge feather in the cap for McEntee.
He was forced to select Mulligan due to injuries to Towey, Lavin. Players like Keaney, Marren forced out of the panel due to lack of game time and inferior players starting. Lets see how we perform against Galway."
Enough of that rubbish, you haven't told us about the exodus from Mary's

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 09/04/2024 13:50:29    2536900

Replying To eoinog:  "Enough of that rubbish, you haven't told us about the exodus from Mary's"
From what ive seen on the online transfer list Nicolson, Rooney, Phillips, Coen, Mahon, OHehir have all transferred out of Marys in recent weeks. Not many left from county final defeat of less than 2 years dgo

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 09/04/2024 15:44:03    2536934

Replying To Anto:  "From what ive seen on the online transfer list Nicolson, Rooney, Phillips, Coen, Mahon, OHehir have all transferred out of Marys in recent weeks. Not many left from county final defeat of less than 2 years dgo"
To be fair all transfers are out of the country so that would just indicate lads are just emigrating. It wouldn't spell anything untoward going on at St Mary's, Unfortunate for Sligo club football not to have a strong Marys.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 09/04/2024 17:35:04    2536958

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "The delay in announcing the venue for the Galway game is interesting given that they updated the website for the other semi final. I had assumed and hopefully wrongly that because we pulled out in 2020 it wouldn't count as having been a game at all."
Hopefully Sligo show a bit of backbone and don't let the game be moved to Galway. Gaa wouldn't let them postpone the game against Galway during COVID so Sligo gave in and gave them a bye. Was a different story when Tyrone were in similiar position and the Gaa gave in to their demands and postponed their match in similiar circumstances.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 09/04/2024 18:40:43    2536972

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Hopefully Sligo show a bit of backbone and don't let the game be moved to Galway. Gaa wouldn't let them postpone the game against Galway during COVID so Sligo gave in and gave them a bye. Was a different story when Tyrone were in similiar position and the Gaa gave in to their demands and postponed their match in similiar circumstances."
That Covid episode was embarrassing . We just rolled over and let Connacht Council plus Croke Park treat us like muck.. I don't blame Galway. They stayed out of it. It wouldn't have been hard to get support from everyone if we did a siege like Newbridge or nowhere. We then saw what Tyrone did. We appeared to learn from that as we threw down the gauntlet for the U.20 Connacht Final 2 years ago. Hopefully it's the same this time around. It's weird that the time of the game is fixed but not the venue.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 10/04/2024 09:40:08    2537052