Sligo GAA thread

Replying To SligoScot:  "As long as we beat Mayo, we will be fine. A draw between Leitrim and Ros won't improve their goal difference.
Table would be
Galway 5
Ros/Sligo 4 (depends how much we beat Mayo)
Leitrim 4
Mayo 3

That's my maths anyways"
You are correct, I got my figures wrong. It's unbelievable how tight it is. The round robin has certainly worked a treat for entertainment value.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 11/04/2024 12:43:55    2537320

Replying To eoinog:  "You are correct, I got my figures wrong. It's unbelievable how tight it is. The round robin has certainly worked a treat for entertainment value."
Isn't it great to see. All 5 teams in the hunt going in to the final round of games and all with justifiable expectations of making it through.
The number of draws only emphasises how competitive it has been. Regardless of who goes through, these games will have been very valuable in the players' development. It's so much better than the old straight knockout system.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 11/04/2024 13:01:31    2537325

Replying To eoinog:  "You are correct, I got my figures wrong. It's unbelievable how tight it is. The round robin has certainly worked a treat for entertainment value."
Great competition. To be fair, their is great fight in all the teams. If Paul Henry can get the boys refreshed in their heads and get them up for a Connacht Quarter final against Mayo, then we have a fighters chance. I genuinely believe that Sligo's run last year has upped the fight in all the Connacht teams. It's tough being the "top Dogs". I don't think the other counties liked us using that phrase. It's like they want to put us back in the corner. Time for the Dogs to let loose next Wednesday or retreat to the kennels. Sligeach Abu

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 11/04/2024 14:21:48    2537342

Replying To Sligonian:  "That's interesting. All 3 games would be draws so no score difference between teams. The next metric is scores for between teams and then Roscommon would be under pressure. Roscommon and Leitrim would have to draw and Roscommon more than 17pts to put us out.

Current scores for within teams
Sligo 26 pts for
Leitrim 17pts for
Roscommon 9pts for

If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win. I don't believe either scenario is happening as Roscommon are very defensive too.

We just need to beat Mayo which will require a huge improvement."
Other than playing a sweeper which pretty much every team does nowadays we aren't overly defensive. The weather against ye and especially last night ruined the contests. From watching the highlights of your game in Markievicz Park it looked to be game played in another country with it sunny and all.

Based on seeing Sligo and Mayo in action against us I won't be surprised if you go to MacHale Park next Wednesday and win. Very exciting and competitive Connacht round robin system the only change I'd make is for the both Connacht finalists to reach All Ireland Quarter finals like they do at minor level.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3758 - 11/04/2024 15:23:04    2537358

There were many who were saying that the round robin would remove the excitement of the knockout game and weaken the chances of the likes of Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon to prevail as you'd have beat the bigger two twice perhaps as a good chance you'd meet one of them in the final. That may well be the case but its definitely knock out football for all 4 counties next Wednesday which is great to see.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 11/04/2024 15:43:58    2537362

Sligo match just confirmed for the park sat week at 330. Good outcome....

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 11/04/2024 20:31:25    2537413

Replying To Sligonian:  "That's interesting. All 3 games would be draws so no score difference between teams. The next metric is scores for between teams and then Roscommon would be under pressure. Roscommon and Leitrim would have to draw and Roscommon more than 17pts to put us out.

Current scores for within teams
Sligo 26 pts for
Leitrim 17pts for
Roscommon 9pts for

If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win. I don't believe either scenario is happening as Roscommon are very defensive too.

We just need to beat Mayo which will require a huge improvement."
If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win

Doing my mathematics and I think you are correct in everything you say up until this point. Sligo cannot increase their points for in the head to head games having played both Leitrim and Roscommon already. So if Leitrim and Roscommon finish a draw and they both score 18 or more points, then no matter what Sligo beat Mayo by, it will not be enough. So Sligo have to hope that it isn't a high scoring draw in Roscommon and Leitrim game in order to have any chances of progressing to semi finals.

I am open to correction as its very confusing

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 443 - 11/04/2024 20:33:48    2537414

Sligo V Galway CSFC fixed for Markievicz park on Saturday April 20th at 3.30pm.

Fair play to our County Board getting the home tie.

Does anyone know why its such an unusual time on a Saturday?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 11/04/2024 20:40:35    2537417

All the best to the Sligo Minors who start the Connacht championship away to Galway on Friday at 6.30pm in Tuam.

Tough start but hopefully we can show some promise.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 11/04/2024 20:44:24    2537418

Replying To Sligonian:  "Sligo V Galway CSFC fixed for Markievicz park on Saturday April 20th at 3.30pm.

Fair play to our County Board getting the home tie.

Does anyone know why its such an unusual time on a Saturday?"
T.V.?

onthefortyfive (Sligo) - Posts: 27 - 11/04/2024 20:54:35    2537422

Replying To muscles:  "If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win

Doing my mathematics and I think you are correct in everything you say up until this point. Sligo cannot increase their points for in the head to head games having played both Leitrim and Roscommon already. So if Leitrim and Roscommon finish a draw and they both score 18 or more points, then no matter what Sligo beat Mayo by, it will not be enough. So Sligo have to hope that it isn't a high scoring draw in Roscommon and Leitrim game in order to have any chances of progressing to semi finals.

I am open to correction as its very confusing"
What you are saying is correct, muscles, I worded that part terribly. I think between us all we covered all outcomes and whilst possible its very unlikely we beat Mayo and don't go through. I feel its about the best position we could be in given the level of performance.

Its such a rare thing being from Sligo and seeing us playing so poorly but yet being so competitive and still in it. I was wondering what everyone thinks why we are playing so poor? I don't believe pace in the inside line or that these players aren't good enough is the root cause.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 11/04/2024 20:56:16    2537423

Replying To Sligonian:  "
Replying To muscles:  "If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win

What you are saying is correct, muscles, I worded that part terribly. I think between us all we covered all outcomes and whilst possible its very unlikely we beat Mayo and don't go through. I feel its about the best position we could be in given the level of performance.

Its such a rare thing being from Sligo and seeing us playing so poorly but yet being so competitive and still in it. I was wondering what everyone thinks why we are playing so poor? I don't believe pace in the inside line or that these players aren't good enough is the root cause."
Has it occurred to you that Leitrim played better and should have won by several points. Credit to Sligo who clawed their way back into the game but this was an incompetent performance from Leitrim & I hope Andy gave them the hair dryer treatment after the game. Would Sligo supporters tolerate their team leading by 6 points going into the final minutes and have it end in a draw?

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 12/04/2024 00:55:32    2537445

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "
Replying To Sligonian:  "[quote=muscles:  "If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win

Its such a rare thing being from Sligo and seeing us playing so poorly but yet being so competitive and still in it. I was wondering what everyone thinks why we are playing so poor? I don't believe pace in the inside line or that these players aren't good enough is the root cause."
Has it occurred to you that Leitrim played better and should have won by several points. Credit to Sligo who clawed their way back into the game but this was an incompetent performance from Leitrim & I hope Andy gave them the hair dryer treatment after the game. Would Sligo supporters tolerate their team leading by 6 points going into the final minutes and have it end in a draw?"]Yep Leitrim gave up a lead. Game is over when it is over. Your fouling was pure puke to witness and looked more like rugby at times in the second half. I suppose that is the dark arts that might have seen you take the win. If you were good enough you would have gotten the win. If Sligo were good enough, they would have gotten the win. The game is thee game and everything adds up to the result. Best to stop could have, would have, should have. It seems Leitrim are always at this speculating. You have a great team, enjoy them and get your result over the 60 plus minutes. Good luck v the Rossies

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 12/04/2024 09:22:33    2537459

Replying To Sligonian:  "[quote=muscles:  "If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win

Has it occurred to you that Leitrim played better and should have won by several points. Credit to Sligo who clawed their way back into the game but this was an incompetent performance from Leitrim & I hope Andy gave them the hair dryer treatment after the game. Would Sligo supporters tolerate their team leading by 6 points going into the final minutes and have it end in a draw?"]Don't blame us if you are leading by 6 points playing with a very strong wind and you can't see the game out.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 12/04/2024 09:30:21    2537463

Replying To Sligonian:  "

Pressure. Big ask to back up last year and the year before. Lads probably deep down have a fear of falling short this year. Last year was a massive run and an incredible achievement. There was never more than a kick of a ball between us and our opponents last year up to the AI final so we got the rub of thee green at times. They are only young lads so pressure can do **** things. We will keep faith and hopefully the have a right go at Mayo in connacht qf knockout. Sligeach abu

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 12/04/2024 09:31:55    2537465

Has it occurred to you that Leitrim played better and should have won by several points. Credit to Sligo who clawed their way back into the game but this was an incompetent performance from Leitrim & I hope Andy gave them the hair dryer treatment after the game. Would Sligo supporters tolerate their team leading by 6 points going into the final minutes and have it end in a draw?"]Don't blame us if you are leading by 6 points playing with a very strong wind and you can't see the game out.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 12/04/2024 10:15:36    2537475

Replying To eoinog:  "
Replying To leitrimabu1:  "[quote=Sligonian:  "[quote=muscles:  "If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win

Has it occurred to you that Leitrim played better and should have won by several points. Credit to Sligo who clawed their way back into the game but this was an incompetent performance from Leitrim & I hope Andy gave them the hair dryer treatment after the game. Would Sligo supporters tolerate their team leading by 6 points going into the final minutes and have it end in a draw?"]Don't blame us if you are leading by 6 points playing with a very strong wind and you can't see the game out."]I have no idea how those posts got welded together. I was replying to the top half

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 12/04/2024 11:10:58    2537493

Replying To eoinog:  "
Replying To eoinog:  "[quote=leitrimabu1:  "[quote=Sligonian:  "[quote=muscles:  "If its not scores for between teams Roscommon would have to 13 more pts than we score against mayo in a match we win

Has it occurred to you that Leitrim played better and should have won by several points. Credit to Sligo who clawed their way back into the game but this was an incompetent performance from Leitrim & I hope Andy gave them the hair dryer treatment after the game. Would Sligo supporters tolerate their team leading by 6 points going into the final minutes and have it end in a draw?"]Don't blame us if you are leading by 6 points playing with a very strong wind and you can't see the game out."]I have no idea how those posts got welded together. I was replying to the top half"]Same with my response to Leitrim lad. Got welded too.

Yep Leitrim gave up a lead. Game is over when it is over. Your fouling was pure puke to witness and looked more like rugby at times in the second half. I suppose that is the dark arts that might have seen you take the win. If you were good enough you would have gotten the win. If Sligo were good enough, they would have gotten the win. The game is thee game and everything adds up to the result. Best to stop could have, would have, should have. It seems Leitrim are always at this speculating. You have a great team, enjoy them and get your result over the 60 plus minutes. Good luck v the Rossies

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 12/04/2024 12:21:44    2537510

Long story short is that for some bizarre reason which I don't understand myself, the new 'mini league' rule for the teams actually level on points applies to club competitions only. It's set out in Section 11 of the 'Codes' part of the Rule Book -
https://www.gaa.ie/api/images/image/upload/t_q-best/rm0jrycjasokwfcltlfc.pdf

For inter-county competitions, the 'old way' still applies.

I had this confirmed by an official here in Wexford as the final round of the NFL approached and we were wondering about it in the Wexford Football thread. I have a feeling though that I never actually posted it there, so apologies to me oul' mate Viking66, who was waiting for an answer!

I see this posted on another topic on this forum. So it looks like our maths go out the window and comes down to old rules. This is actually a good for Sligo as now a win is enough and don't have to worry about the high scoring draw

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 443 - 12/04/2024 16:39:25    2537560

U-17 Galway 0-11 Sligo 2-5 ft

Galway equalised with the last kick of the game. Very brave display by us. Lots of great turnovers and tackling. Very impressive defensive structure. Getting scores is our issue but there are some very good footballers in this team. The intensity was where it needed to be.

Promising start with plenty to build on.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 12/04/2024 19:56:46    2537573