Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Bogger100:  "Omg.hope you do nt gamble.probaly need to go too bed for a nap after that prediction lad"
No idea what that post means. Where was your prediction before the game?. Loads of hurlers on the ditch when the game is over

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 24/09/2023 08:01:01    2505396

Great victory for Drumcliffe yesterday. Tourlestrane have been fantastic champions, and have left a phenomenal legacy after them. Doubt if we will see Ado, Gary Gaughan or James Leonard play next year. All remaining teams wll fancy their chances and with Tourlestrane eliminated it will breath new life into the championship. One thing for sure is that the winner will be a north division outfit.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 24/09/2023 08:13:05    2505397

Tour have been great champions, the wheels come off all teams in the end. Its an open championship now. Marys wil fancy themselves as always. Molaise are very well organised and will back themselves against any one. DRP and Coolera came out of the hardest group and that will stand to both of them. Can anyone call a winner now?

townietalk (Sligo) - Posts: 44 - 24/09/2023 11:11:04    2505411

A very interesting weekend completed. A shame about the weather conditions which no doubt impacted on the close games held yesterday especially. Firstly to the senior anyone know how strong an outfit Mary's had against Molaise? It seems a huge win but perhaps Mary's would prefer a go at Coolera instead of DRP?

Intermediate has never been as open. Mullinabreena while they didn't lose a game in the group stages can hardly say they had a good championship so far yet they will make the final as I don't see Pats beating them. Harps v Easkey will be a great game but I think Easkey will be too physical for a young Harps team who will come good in years to come.

Alarm bells should be going off in the St Michaels club after their relegation yesterday. No one likes to see a club fold or in bother but they need to get their act together next year and bounce back.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 25/09/2023 09:37:39    2505525

Outside of Tourlestrane there will be relief that there will be new champions this year. The stats been reported are staggering, not to mention their league run 2015-to Final 2022, it think it's fair to say it will never be matched. In their wake I believe, outside of the 4 left, that there are 4-6 teams that on paper could win a championship in the years to come. I feel that the standard in Sligo has lifted to reach Tourlestrane and Sligo football will be better for it, we may have been Div 4 for many years but I think top clubs are playing well above that standard last 2 years. It will be hard for DRP to keep going to win it out, very hard to call the Semi-finals which again reflects that levelling of standards.

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 25/09/2023 09:58:23    2505531

Outside of Tourlestrane there will be relief that there will be new champions this year. The stats been reported are staggering, not to mention their league run 2015-to Final 2022, it think it's fair to say it will never be matched. In their wake I believe, outside of the 4 left, that there are 4-6 teams that on paper could win a championship in the years to come. I feel that the standard in Sligo has lifted to reach Tourlestrane and Sligo football will be better for it, we may have been Div 4 for many years but I think top clubs are playing well above that standard last 2 years. It will be hard for DRP to keep going to win it out, very hard to call the Semi-finals which again reflects that levelling of standards.

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 25/09/2023 12:04:46    2505582

anyone know when the weekend fixtures will be fixed?

Sligosportman (Sligo) - Posts: 4 - 25/09/2023 15:50:26    2505665

Tourlestrane the last 20+ years have the most impressive club in Sligo's history. They have raised the bar in Sligo when other clubs weren't putting in the same effort with far bigger picks. They are the pinnacle for any clubs aspirations. The way its ran, the professional approach to the seniors outmatched our county set up many times from what I know. They are always thinking ahead and bringing in the best in the game to their set up. A close knit community that maximised its potential and can never be written off. They deserve all the credit. They developed players to this day from Ohara, durkin, egan, mcgowan, kelly, and the gaughans who all wore black and white and were a joy to watch among many others. I hope they feel the respect and credit from the rest of us. I just admired them from afar and myself and my Dad were there to support them in Connacht as much as Sligo or our own club when we could. Its a great club with great GAA people and no doubt they'll be back again.

From a style perspective I always enjoyed watching Tourlestrane. I always admired their defensive set up and counter attack style. I didn't find it negative. I loved how they set up traps to bring teams into contact and turnover the ball. They always showed great composure in possession. Last Saturday they got pinned back by drumcliffe from the middle third and eventually buckled and in fairness DRP defended incredibly well last 10 mins to hold Tourlestrane off. They have been great champions all these years and I am grateful to have witnessed the best club team in our history. How they kept the hunger and sacrifices all these years is beyond me especially given the playing pool. Ye are the example of commitment to the cause and egoless teams. Quite incredible to sustain the success you had. Fair play to ye.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1640 - 25/09/2023 19:33:49    2505708

Replying To Sligosportman:  "anyone know when the weekend fixtures will be fixed?"
It's very disrespectful tbh. Plenty of lads working in shift work and on weekends need adequate notice to make arrangements and same for players with small kids. Junior A pairings known 10 days ago at this stage and still no word. Even day and time would be sufficient, venue could be left to later if necessary. Who's in charge of the fixtures?

sligosham (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 26/09/2023 08:15:31    2505737

Semi final pairings are set and it's refreshing to see an open championship with all 4 teams truly believing they can win it. Personally I think we will have a final which will be a repeat of a group fixture which will be Drumcliffe Rosses Point Vs Coolera Strandhill. Mary's have really struggled to beat coolera in the championship over the last number of years losing a semi final in 2019 and a 17 point hammering in the group stages in 2021. As for Molaise, I think themselves and Mary's will suffer from coasting through the group and they haven't faced a team like DRP yet and that will ultimately be there undoing.

EastSligoGaels (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 26/09/2023 09:37:19    2505745

Replying To sligosham:  "It's very disrespectful tbh. Plenty of lads working in shift work and on weekends need adequate notice to make arrangements and same for players with small kids. Junior A pairings known 10 days ago at this stage and still no word. Even day and time would be sufficient, venue could be left to later if necessary. Who's in charge of the fixtures?"
Its an absolute joke to be totally honest. How are clubs suppose to plan training for the week for lads commuting if they dont know when games are being played? With colleges back now most clubs would ideally want a Wednesday - Friday training week if the game was Sunday to have boys available. If games are Sat eve that might not be possible.
Its extremely poor and not good enough at any stage of the year but especially not at the business end. Mayo GAA had dates and venues sorted for games being played this weekend out this day last week, yet some relegation pairings and Junior A semis in Sligo are not fixed 3/4 days out from the game?

Sligosportman (Sligo) - Posts: 4 - 26/09/2023 10:39:52    2505757

Replying To sligosham:  "It's very disrespectful tbh. Plenty of lads working in shift work and on weekends need adequate notice to make arrangements and same for players with small kids. Junior A pairings known 10 days ago at this stage and still no word. Even day and time would be sufficient, venue could be left to later if necessary. Who's in charge of the fixtures?"
Its an absolute joke to be totally honest. How are clubs suppose to plan training for the week for lads commuting if they dont know when games are being played? With colleges back now most clubs would ideally want a Wednesday - Friday training week if the game was Sunday to have boys available. If games are Sat eve that might not be possible.
Its extremely poor and not good enough at any stage of the year but especially not at the business end. Mayo GAA had dates and venues sorted for games being played this weekend out this day last week, yet some relegation pairings and Junior A semis in Sligo are not fixed 3/4 days out from the game?

Sligosportman (Sligo) - Posts: 4 - 26/09/2023 10:39:58    2505758

Are clubs not entitled to 5 days (120 hours) notice for championship games, and if so is it now the case where it is now inside the 5 days for any game to be fixed for this Friday or Saturday

Clubs would be within their rights to object to the fixture

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 443 - 26/09/2023 11:56:08    2505794

Replying To Sligosportman:  "Its an absolute joke to be totally honest. How are clubs suppose to plan training for the week for lads commuting if they dont know when games are being played? With colleges back now most clubs would ideally want a Wednesday - Friday training week if the game was Sunday to have boys available. If games are Sat eve that might not be possible.
Its extremely poor and not good enough at any stage of the year but especially not at the business end. Mayo GAA had dates and venues sorted for games being played this weekend out this day last week, yet some relegation pairings and Junior A semis in Sligo are not fixed 3/4 days out from the game?"
Agreed. I know the weather is terrible and conditions of pitches can change but at least fix the dates and times. The Junior pairings are known for 8 days at this stage. Same happened last weekend when teams didn't know what day or where they were playing within 7 days and they were for games that have been scheduled for the past 2 months. Whoever is doing the fixtures mustn't have much knowledge or worse interest in how club teams work and the other commitments players have. Even underage games I was keeping an eye out and some county finals didn't have venues down 24 and 48 hours before them.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 26/09/2023 12:15:23    2505802

O Hara was on Ocean waffling that the Tourlestrane team never got the credit it deserved. No idea where he was going with that statement. The Co Council invited the team to a reception in City Hall an invite that they didn't take up. While some players made themselves available for selection for the County team, others declined. And that's with a few different manager's involved with Sligo. Their achievements within the county have really been phenomenal, but in Connacht Club games the less said the better. Their success has cost a small fortune as they have made little or no headway with development. Before this fantastic run of titles they were probably the only pitch that had floodlights that were match standard. In the last 8 years other clubs have surpassed Tourlestrane with floodlights, spectators stand, new dressing rooms, lighted walkways around the pitch etc etc. I don't begrudge the club any of their success as they cater for men and women in football and hurling but during the glory days there was obviously no spare cash after the team expenses were looked after.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 26/09/2023 14:59:58    2505859

Replying To eoinog:  "O Hara was on Ocean waffling that the Tourlestrane team never got the credit it deserved. No idea where he was going with that statement. The Co Council invited the team to a reception in City Hall an invite that they didn't take up. While some players made themselves available for selection for the County team, others declined. And that's with a few different manager's involved with Sligo. Their achievements within the county have really been phenomenal, but in Connacht Club games the less said the better. Their success has cost a small fortune as they have made little or no headway with development. Before this fantastic run of titles they were probably the only pitch that had floodlights that were match standard. In the last 8 years other clubs have surpassed Tourlestrane with floodlights, spectators stand, new dressing rooms, lighted walkways around the pitch etc etc. I don't begrudge the club any of their success as they cater for men and women in football and hurling but during the glory days there was obviously no spare cash after the team expenses were looked after."
How many clubs can now hot floodlit games?

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 26/09/2023 16:00:38    2505868

Replying To eoinog:  "O Hara was on Ocean waffling that the Tourlestrane team never got the credit it deserved. No idea where he was going with that statement. The Co Council invited the team to a reception in City Hall an invite that they didn't take up. While some players made themselves available for selection for the County team, others declined. And that's with a few different manager's involved with Sligo. Their achievements within the county have really been phenomenal, but in Connacht Club games the less said the better. Their success has cost a small fortune as they have made little or no headway with development. Before this fantastic run of titles they were probably the only pitch that had floodlights that were match standard. In the last 8 years other clubs have surpassed Tourlestrane with floodlights, spectators stand, new dressing rooms, lighted walkways around the pitch etc etc. I don't begrudge the club any of their success as they cater for men and women in football and hurling but during the glory days there was obviously no spare cash after the team expenses were looked after."
Ignore Eamon, he likes to be controversial. The civic ceremony was postponed, im sure it can be organised again at some stage. With regard to the finance's of the club its none of your business how the funds are spent.
Less than 12 minths ago Tour played Moycullen (who had a number of poached players in their ranks) in a Connacht final. You may have forgotten that to suit your anti Tourlestrane narrative. I hope whoever wins it this year can put up as good a performance this year. In Connacht club.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 26/09/2023 20:07:11    2505902

I had an idea I would ruffle Anto. I think in previous posts I along with several other posters have been very complimentary about Tourlestrane. I don't detect any anti Tourlestrane brigade. You made no progress in Connacht. Hammered in last year's final, now that you brought it up. Everyone outside Tourlestrane (and maybe a few inside) are glad there will be new champions this year. A change is needed. My point is that the success of your fantastic achievements have seen Enniscrone open new facilities with floodlights, Eastern Harps have new dressing rooms and floodlights, Tubbercurry have a second pitch nearly finished with floodlights, Cloonacool have a lit up walkway as have the Bunnies. Molaise have a new pitch as have Coolaney. There's probably more if I think about it. Some of the club's mentioned above are junior and Intermediate. Your correct it's none of my business how you spend your money, I was making the point that your success didn't come cheap. Three different management teams, 2 that were outside the county. That's a lot of mileage for the treasurer to keep tabs on !!!!

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 27/09/2023 11:46:18    2505973

Replying To eoinog:  "I had an idea I would ruffle Anto. I think in previous posts I along with several other posters have been very complimentary about Tourlestrane. I don't detect any anti Tourlestrane brigade. You made no progress in Connacht. Hammered in last year's final, now that you brought it up. Everyone outside Tourlestrane (and maybe a few inside) are glad there will be new champions this year. A change is needed. My point is that the success of your fantastic achievements have seen Enniscrone open new facilities with floodlights, Eastern Harps have new dressing rooms and floodlights, Tubbercurry have a second pitch nearly finished with floodlights, Cloonacool have a lit up walkway as have the Bunnies. Molaise have a new pitch as have Coolaney. There's probably more if I think about it. Some of the club's mentioned above are junior and Intermediate. Your correct it's none of my business how you spend your money, I was making the point that your success didn't come cheap. Three different management teams, 2 that were outside the county. That's a lot of mileage for the treasurer to keep tabs on !!!!"
Moycullen pulled away in the end. The game was close for the majority of the game. There were goal chances to make the scoreline closer which we not taken. I will always defend the club from begrudging and jealous attacks form people like yourself. Maybe you should concentrate on your own club in getting to the standards required at competing at the top level rather than knocking the most successful club in the county.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 27/09/2023 12:15:25    2505984

Replying To eoinog:  "I had an idea I would ruffle Anto. I think in previous posts I along with several other posters have been very complimentary about Tourlestrane. I don't detect any anti Tourlestrane brigade. You made no progress in Connacht. Hammered in last year's final, now that you brought it up. Everyone outside Tourlestrane (and maybe a few inside) are glad there will be new champions this year. A change is needed. My point is that the success of your fantastic achievements have seen Enniscrone open new facilities with floodlights, Eastern Harps have new dressing rooms and floodlights, Tubbercurry have a second pitch nearly finished with floodlights, Cloonacool have a lit up walkway as have the Bunnies. Molaise have a new pitch as have Coolaney. There's probably more if I think about it. Some of the club's mentioned above are junior and Intermediate. Your correct it's none of my business how you spend your money, I was making the point that your success didn't come cheap. Three different management teams, 2 that were outside the county. That's a lot of mileage for the treasurer to keep tabs on !!!!"
So how many pitches in Sligo can now host a full floodlit game, dont see many been played? Also it's very obvious the gap between Tour and champions from D1 counties is much closer than the gap between Sligo and D1 counties...double digit vs single digit in recent years

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 27/09/2023 12:27:07    2505987