Sligo GAA thread

My predictions for the weekend

Senior
Tourlestrane v Tubber - Tourlestrane win easily but I am one of those writing Tour off, Coolera and Shamrock Gaels to make it out of group
Shamrock Gaels v Coolera - Coolera with a narrow win
St Farnans v St Mary's - Mary's with a big win on way to topping the group
Calry v Curry - should be a close game, going with a draw

Intermediate
Geevagh v Harps - Can see Geevagh sneaking this one
Bunnies v Pat's - Should be a tight game also with Bunnies just doing enough
Coolaney/M v Castleconner - C/M win easily
Shamrock Gaels v Easkey - Easkey win easily

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 443 - 17/08/2023 12:26:05    2500958

Who do ye think are the players that the county management should be looking out for this year?

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 17/08/2023 13:28:31    2500977

Disappointing to read the comments of county board chairman in the Sligo Weekender when presenting the Division 1 cup. It looks like a right two fingers towards Molaise Gaels club saying that "the right decisions were made and the right teams are here". He could have acknowledged that it was an unforeseen consequence of the rule change and that Molaise had a good run but instead chose to back a decision that 90% of the good GAA folk of the county know was wrong.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 17/08/2023 20:42:36    2501080

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Disappointing to read the comments of county board chairman in the Sligo Weekender when presenting the Division 1 cup. It looks like a right two fingers towards Molaise Gaels club saying that "the right decisions were made and the right teams are here". He could have acknowledged that it was an unforeseen consequence of the rule change and that Molaise had a good run but instead chose to back a decision that 90% of the good GAA folk of the county know was wrong."
Terrible choice of words and he brought it up again at the presentation of the Div 2 cup which had nothing to do with the fiasco of Div 1. Liam Maloney in the Weekender in fairness has driven the boot into the CCC several times this week with their decision

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 18/08/2023 10:56:28    2501125

Championship Predicitions for the week ahead.

Tourlestrane v Tubbercurry: Tourlestrane by 6 or 7, they will take the foot off the pedal when they get a comfortable lead, they very rarely hammer teams, just do enough to win games.
St Farnans v St Mary's - I actually think this game will be alot closer than people think, Farnans had lads away for the summer and are back now. Don't think the Townies will like the trip out West. I think Mary's will win by the narrowest of margins!!
Calry v Curry - Calry got their act together after a few dismissal performances early in the league, Curry had an average league campaign, done enough to survive. I'm going for a narrow Calry win.
Shamrock Gaels v Coolera - Shamrock Gaels are on a high after winning their 1st league title since the 1986 but could be brought down to earth by a Coolera team who are waiting in the long grass. This will be a very closely contested game and I'm going to go for a draw.

Intermediate
Bunninadden v Pat's - One team down from Division 1 and another who was lucky not to get dragged into relegation trouble in Division 2. If Canice is back at full flight for Pats I think they will win it but if not its hard to call.
C/M v Castleconner - Carrabine to run riot but Coolaney will have enough in the tank and will win by 2 or 3.
Shamrock Gaels v Easkey - Easkey by 6 or 7.
Geevagh v Harps - This could be another close encounter, if Geevagh have Hughes and Conlon available they will cause Harps problems. Harps will just get over the line by 1 or 2 points.

InAroundTheSqaure (UK) - Posts: 7 - 18/08/2023 11:29:47    2501131

Good to see a few prepared to dip their toe with the predictions this weekend. The one certainty is that everyone will have egg on their face come tomorrow evening because it's very doubtful if anyone will get all fixtures correct. That's the beauty of the game especially championship.
I think Tourlestrane will beat Tubber.
Probably by 5 or 6. They will build up a lead, keep Tubber at arm's length and close out the game.
Mary's should beat Farnans. The town side won't be happy to have to travel so far away from the comfort of the city with probably 4 supporters to cheer them on. They will win by 2.
Curry and Calry is very difficult to call. After a horrendous start to the year Calry have certainly got the act together and I think they will shade this one. Curry not going well and apart from a very vocal (too vocal) sideline they are not showing too much form the other side of the white line.
The winner of Gaels and Coolera will take a giant step to the semi final. Coolera have only themselves to blame for the failure last year so I'm expecting a big push this time, and to start with a win here.
The intermediate should be equally as enthralling.
One or two people are adamant that Tourlestranes days are over and refuse to change their mind. Equally so I won't change my mind that Coolaney will not win the championship. They proved me wrong in the league but I can't see them doing the business in the championship. When Castleconnor got their 2 county men back for the end of the league they improved immeasurably. Coolaney got a reality check in league final last week which will stand to them.They will beat Castleconnor by about 3 points.
Easkey will have no problem beating Shamrock Gaels second team. They will have 6 to spare at the end of the game.
The Bunnies are banished to the far end of the county to play Pat's. Pat's are having a difficult year after such a promising one last year and have regressed a lot. After 8 straight losses in Div 1 the Bunnies will be very wary of this game. With no immediate sign of Mulligan to play I think Pat's aren't just going to be good enough. Bunninadden by 4.
Newly crowned Div 2 champions Eastern Harps play Geevagh in Markievicz Park. Geevagh remind me of the Wimbledon soccer team from years ago ( showing my age now) No one likes playing against them, not a lot of skill, very physical but they don't care. Harps know that if they are to progress from the group they need to lay down a marker. I think they will win by 6.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 19/08/2023 13:48:15    2501302

First things first and Kudo's to the club's who put their teams up on WTS. The club's who didn't partake might decide to participate from now on. It's brilliant to be able to follow every game as it's not possible to attend every game. Is it true that Shamrock Gaels parachuted a player straight into the team after him playing in Boston all summer. Coming from playing the Equivalent of Div 3 in Sligo which Boston intermediate is, straight into a team that won the league last week won't do much for morale in the camp. Their next game is do or die. Lose to Tourlestrane next week and they are really in trouble. Tourlestrane showed their mettle once again yesterday evening. An easy win for Mary's and an absolute tanking for Curry. Scored one point from play in the whole game.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 20/08/2023 09:11:45    2501400

After yesterday evening, the senior is as hard to call as ever! Is Tubber pushing Tour so close a sign that Tour are on the decline? Next Sunday will tell a tale as SG will be either in our out afterwards. I was in the Park and the poor crowd was disappointing to see for such a fixture. No other clashes on so you would wonder. Coolera won playing poorly so what does that say about SG? Had Lyons been let kick the last free, the outcome could have been different so it's all fine margins. I can't see CS or SG winning Owen B after what I seen of them but it's early days. There's probably more improvement in CS to come. SG were good in first half but folded when CS started to play.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 20/08/2023 10:38:14    2501410

An interesting start to the championship. In intermediate Bunninadden and Coolaney/Mullinabreena will not be happy with their results and given the draw between Harps and Geevagh perhaps this championship is more open than a lot of people thought.

As for senior the shine is gone off Shamrock Gaels controversial league cup fairly quickly. An interesting start to their game too judging by the video going around on social media. Curry will struggle to beat anyone given the hammering they got from Calry who probably were the only team they had any chance against.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 21/08/2023 14:13:02    2501611

Interesting start to the championship, Calry got off to a flyer easily dispatching of Curry who may be looking at the trapdoor back to intermediate even at this early stage. Calry were without Griffin as well I believe. I made the trip to Quigabar to see Mary's getting the job done against a depleted farnans but they will need to sharpen up if they want to go a step further. Farnans without McGee and Cawley and paddy o Connor only showing his talent when he felt like it. I watched the stream coolera and shamrock Gaels (Great Service), a good tough fiery contest, even before the ball was thrown in. Talk of CCC acting on the incident but I don't think they will. Coolera struggled in the first half with the early goal keeping them in it. The introduction of o Mahoney at half time gave them a stronger presence in attack, some score by Murphy to win it. Think coolera just deserved the win overall. McEntee has to get Kevin banks involved with county team. Ross Doherty also impressive. Gaels management may regret some changes to their starting line up with one man named to start fresh off the plane from Boston, had no impact on the game. Only going by reports of the game in Brennanaden, tour appear to have struggled a bit but always looked likely to get the winner even with 14 men. Fair play to Tubber put up a good fight. Big game next week between Gaels and Tour.

Intermediate wide open after round 1, good results for pats and castleconnor.

manfromthewest (Sligo) - Posts: 33 - 22/08/2023 01:27:25    2501708

The intermediate last weekend served up loads of surprises. The bunny boy's faltered badly out west against the local lads, in a "neutral" venue. Easkey won easily as expected which was the only prediction I got right in the intermediate championship. Judging by the WTS app Coolaney simply couldn't handle Carrabine. No idea what he finished up scoring and then Geevagh and Harps served up a draw in a dreadful game . Gaels man management went out the window last weekend. Played a lad on the senior team just back from holidays and then put a chap in midfield in the intermediate team that had also played midfield for the seniors less than 24 hours previously. If they lose to Tourlestrane this weekend they are probably gone, no one will remember that they won the league. Big weekend ahead

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 23/08/2023 09:35:11    2501854

Onwards to another weekend of action.

Senior predictions:
St Molaise and St Marys to have no difficulties. Drumcliffe and Tourlestrane to win in the other group ending Shamrock Gaels run early.

Intermediate:
Castleconnor to win easily and I'll back Easkey in the Western derby.
Going to pluck for another draw for Harps against their neighbours and a win for St Pats over St John's.

Junior:
Wins for Ballymote, Owenmore Gaels, St Molaise Gaels and St Michael's

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 23/08/2023 11:15:39    2501874

Predictions for this weekend

Senior
Easy wins for Marys and Molaise
A must win game for Shamrock Gaels and its hard to know where Tourlestrane are at. I'm still writing them off and going Shamrock Gaels win
Intriguing gamebetwwen DRP and Tubber, DRP had poor league, Tubber won last 2 league game and put it up to Tourlestrane, I still think Drumcliffe narrowly

Intermediate
Easy wins for Castleconnor, St Pats and Easkey
A must win game for Bunninadden and Harps already and I think Bunninadden will just do enough to win

Junior
St Michaels, Owenmore Gaels, Ballymote all to win easy
Cloonacool and Molaise can go either way. Cloonacool lost this fixture in the last round of the league when they had nothing to play for except objections but this will be close and I will go with the draw

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 443 - 25/08/2023 11:29:03    2502193

Junior is starting this weekend also.
Owenmore Gaels to beat Tourlestrane
Ballymote to beat Marys
. Molaise to beat Cloonacool.
That leaves Michaels v Harps
This is a must win for Michaels. Their manager parted company with them, issues were supposed to be resolved and he returned only to leave again. Their management now consists of a type of rainbow combination of a few different people. I would fear for the future of the club so they need a win and I think they will get it
Intermediate
Castleconnor will beat Shamrock Gaels
Easkey will beat Enniscrone
St Pat's will beat John's
Harps v Bunnies. These 2 teams were expected to reach the semi finals, but if the Bunnies lose that won't happen. If Harps lose their hopes of knockout is very slim. In a tight local derby I am going for bunnies.
Senior
Molaise will beat Farnans
Mary's will beat Curry
Drumcliffe v Tubber will be interesting. No Kelly's for Tubber last Sunday and it's hard to still be depending on Gilmartin in midfield. Surely Drumcliffe can't be as poor as their league form so I will go for them to win
Massive game for Shamrock Gaels when they play Tourlestrane. They have to win or they are practically gone from the championship. They got everything wrong last week with an off the ball incident before the game started, poor team selection and unable to win a game that they left for most of it. They couldn't close out the league final either when they were Winning it comfortably in normal time and again in extra time. Tourlestrane know that a win will leave them in a very good place for the knockout while at the same time putting the Gaels out of contention. Barry Judge will have his hands full, their will be loads of cards and Tourlestrane will win.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 25/08/2023 12:05:24    2502200

In the Senior championship I would expect a few straight forward results, Molaise to beat Farnans who are minus Paddy O'Connor and Finian Cawley, Mary's to beat Curry who look to be in a bad place. Every year we think Drumcliffe will come out of Division 2 but they flop but always make up for it in the Championship and I think it will be the same this year, they will get off to a winning start. Shamrock Gaels and Tourlestrane is the big one. Shamrock Gaels a youthful team after coming off the back of a one point loss last week, it will test to see where there at. Will they fold when they see the green and gold of Tourlestrane, personally I don't think so but that's depending on team selection. A few very strange decisions made recently but if they get the right team on the pitch on Sunday they are definitely capable of winning.

In the Intermediate I expect Castleconor to win but they are very reliant on Carrabine to do the scoring. Enniscrone and Easkey will be a ding dong West Sligo Derby, think it will be alot closer than people think but Easkey will just shade it. Another Derby is Harps and the Bunnies, think the Harps will win handy, a youthful side with plenty of pace who pulled a draw out of the fire last week. I expect St. Pats to beat John's with a few to spare.

In the Junior I expect win for St. Michaels, Owenmore Gaels and Ballymote. I expect Molasie to beat Cloonacool, Molaise 1st team is playing Friday night so any lad who does get a run out in that will play for the Juniors on Saturday against Cloonacool.

InAroundTheSqaure (UK) - Posts: 7 - 25/08/2023 16:10:35    2502247

A fair statement of intent from St Molaise Gaels in the senior championship with a 15 point hammering of Farnans. I'll not be surprised if there's a similar gap in the other game of this group this evening with Marys and Curry.

However perhaps the bigger surprise last night was St Michael's losing to Harps second team. I know eoinog mentioned the troubles they are going through and flagged it as a possible banana skin for them but Jesus for a first team in Junior to lose to Harps who with all respect to them will not come near winning the competition is pretty dire.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 26/08/2023 09:47:19    2502290

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "A fair statement of intent from St Molaise Gaels in the senior championship with a 15 point hammering of Farnans. I'll not be surprised if there's a similar gap in the other game of this group this evening with Marys and Curry.

However perhaps the bigger surprise last night was St Michael's losing to Harps second team. I know eoinog mentioned the troubles they are going through and flagged it as a possible banana skin for them but Jesus for a first team in Junior to lose to Harps who with all respect to them will not come near winning the competition is pretty dire."
It was a case of my heart saying Michaels to win but my head thinking that Harps would pull it off. You are correct, they won't win the A championship and I doubt very much if they will win another game but they won't get relegated. Michaels are a mess. They haven't a huge population but they should be able hold their own in Junior football. The former Co Chair is from that club and the current ass secretary so surely they should be able to get a handle on the direction of the club which is currently in freefall. In the other group games they will be beaten by Molaise and a win against Cloonacool is probably unlikely and if they won it won't be enough to prevent them playing in the relegation final.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 26/08/2023 12:07:22    2502304

Replying To eoinog:  "It was a case of my heart saying Michaels to win but my head thinking that Harps would pull it off. You are correct, they won't win the A championship and I doubt very much if they will win another game but they won't get relegated. Michaels are a mess. They haven't a huge population but they should be able hold their own in Junior football. The former Co Chair is from that club and the current ass secretary so surely they should be able to get a handle on the direction of the club which is currently in freefall. In the other group games they will be beaten by Molaise and a win against Cloonacool is probably unlikely and if they won it won't be enough to prevent them playing in the relegation final."
I cannot understand how you think those two (or any two individuals in any club) can arrest a decline. It is simply a numbers game along with proper management of same ie primarily good coaching and development at underage. Population is likely SM's main issue and amalgamation at adult level will possibly be required long term.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 27/08/2023 08:28:19    2502401

Replying To ShellyGael:  "I cannot understand how you think those two (or any two individuals in any club) can arrest a decline. It is simply a numbers game along with proper management of same ie primarily good coaching and development at underage. Population is likely SM's main issue and amalgamation at adult level will possibly be required long term."
I would expect those 2 high profile people within the club, to have the ability to put structures in place . If it was a club that didn't have experience at top level it would be difficult. But when you ran the Co Board and did a very good job you would expect that you could draw on that experience to steady the ship. The amalgamation will be in the short term not the long term if they don't sort themselves out. A manager (well respected )to leave twice in the one year is a poor reflection on the team. Another massive surprise yesterday evening with Cloonacool beating Molaise Gaels.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 27/08/2023 10:12:07    2502413

Sure who do they amalgamate with? I know at underage they are joined with Geevagh but how sustainable is that going forward either. They're not even bordering clubs. Could be a case that they would just fold and let the likes of Shamrock Gaels, St John's, Owenmore Gaels pick through what's left of it.

As regards population there's never been more people living now in the county than in recent times and that goes for all our villages and towns. Sure rural areas might be less but built up areas are bigger. Population isn't the issue it's the number of playing population that is. If you compare percentage of lads who played football in a club area 20/30 years ago to now I'd say it could have been cut in half.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 27/08/2023 12:23:57    2502431