Sligo GAA thread

Replying To baileeasadara:  "Thought that re the €25 too. What's the story on juvenile tickets? Don't see any option."
Disregard. They've added Juvenile/OAP options now

baileeasadara (Sligo) - Posts: 3 - 16/05/2023 11:24:43    2478909

The 20s team and management have really lifted the spirits of the black and white again. No arguing that Kildare were better side but they went at it again and kept on coming. At a stage in the first half it looked like it could be a hammering but they showed great heart. We just ran out of options.
With so many back next year an All-Ireland is a real possibility. We are losing some huge players but that extra year will be great for the guys still there. Kildare got a tanking from Tyrone last year and came back stronger from it.
Players will learn from this year. So will management. Sending players out to schools the day before to promote a charity event wasn't what you'd like to see on preparation. We looked dead on our feet in the first half especially. In fairness no team could sustain the injuries we got but learnings are there for everyone. The future is so bright!

tentonne (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 16/05/2023 23:00:21    2479131

Replying To tentonne:  "The 20s team and management have really lifted the spirits of the black and white again. No arguing that Kildare were better side but they went at it again and kept on coming. At a stage in the first half it looked like it could be a hammering but they showed great heart. We just ran out of options.
With so many back next year an All-Ireland is a real possibility. We are losing some huge players but that extra year will be great for the guys still there. Kildare got a tanking from Tyrone last year and came back stronger from it.
Players will learn from this year. So will management. Sending players out to schools the day before to promote a charity event wasn't what you'd like to see on preparation. We looked dead on our feet in the first half especially. In fairness no team could sustain the injuries we got but learnings are there for everyone. The future is so bright!"
Six points is hardly "a tanking". If a core group is remaining it's possible to get back there. We have quite a few still eligible next year too. Great year for ye this year, retaining your provincial title, like ourselves. Shame it was yourselves we had to beat as in other circumstances we would have been cheering you on. Anyway both panels a credit to their families, clubs and counties!!!

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 17/05/2023 17:36:03    2479294

13 out of 20 players that played in the all ireland final are underage again next year and when you add in Dillon Walsh we should be looking for 3 connaught titles in a row

An amazing feat by such a young team

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 18/05/2023 11:27:42    2479387

Replying To muscles:  "13 out of 20 players that played in the all ireland final are underage again next year and when you add in Dillon Walsh we should be looking for 3 connaught titles in a row

An amazing feat by such a young team"
A serious feat. It's the minor team that won Connaught plus Carden and Sloyan the key additions to that team so far. Any others?
Hopefully we get a performance from the senior team on Sunday. Very little PR on it so far. It's the biggest game in the Park since probably 2015

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 18/05/2023 13:13:08    2479418

Replying To ShellyGael:  "A serious feat. It's the minor team that won Connaught plus Carden and Sloyan the key additions to that team so far. Any others?
Hopefully we get a performance from the senior team on Sunday. Very little PR on it so far. It's the biggest game in the Park since probably 2015"
Our county board doesn't do P.R. Same all year. How many games did the U 20 team play and not one match report.Same for the minors. How they got a National P.R Award is beyond comprehension. A small county like we are needs everyone pulling together. You saw this year when we got back a few lad to the Senior set up we were a lot more forbidable and hence got promotion. The U.20 team had O Boyle and Kiernan who were'nt involved last year. Cadden who worked himself up from second choice keeper at U.17 last year to the No 1 spot this year. Casserly, Mulligan, Walsh, Henry, O Boyle, Kiernan and Byrne have played their last game at U.20. interesting to see who will play for the seniors.. They would not be near the required level of S&C yet but we potential coming along

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 18/05/2023 15:14:37    2479446

Quietest run into a championship game in a long time, maybe it suits us!!! I got a surprise when I looked on Twitter this morning to see the draws were made for the club championship. Never heard a thing about it. By looks of it Group 2 of Senior is the tough one and in Intermediate and Junior looks fairly balanced enough.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 19/05/2023 13:30:24    2479645

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Quietest run into a championship game in a long time, maybe it suits us!!! I got a surprise when I looked on Twitter this morning to see the draws were made for the club championship. Never heard a thing about it. By looks of it Group 2 of Senior is the tough one and in Intermediate and Junior looks fairly balanced enough."
I'm the same as you, I didn't know anything about the championship draw until it appeared on Facebook but as I said yesterday we don't do P.R in the Co Board. Group 2 in the senior looks to be a ding dong battle. Tourlestrane are still the team to beat and with zero representation on the Sligo Seniors, U 21 or indeed minors you would imagine that if they win the championship again the other teams should be seriously embarrassed. Too early to make a prediction yet

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 19/05/2023 16:44:57    2479682

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Quietest run into a championship game in a long time, maybe it suits us!!! I got a surprise when I looked on Twitter this morning to see the draws were made for the club championship. Never heard a thing about it. By looks of it Group 2 of Senior is the tough one and in Intermediate and Junior looks fairly balanced enough."
I'm the same as you, I didn't know anything about the championship draw until it appeared on Facebook but as I said yesterday we don't do P.R in the Co Board. Group 2 in the senior looks to be a ding dong battle. Tourlestrane are still the team to beat and with zero representation on the Sligo Seniors, U 21 or indeed minors you would imagine that if they win the championship again the other teams should be seriously embarrassed. Too early to make a prediction yet

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 19/05/2023 17:59:42    2479690

Lyons dropped for kildare match hard to understand that. Very unfair.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 21/05/2023 14:17:40    2479962

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Lyons dropped for kildare match hard to understand that. Very unfair."
Very strange surely. He didn't do much wrong all year. Spillane also dropped. Did Spillane ever play a full game for us. He always seems to be the fall guy

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 21/05/2023 15:20:26    2479979

Great result today fair play Sligo

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 21/05/2023 16:27:50    2479998

Congratulations Sligo. Well done. Exciting finish.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 21/05/2023 16:34:12    2480002

A well deserved result today. Missed a lot too…perhaps 11/12 wides but equally Kildare had some shockers too. All in all it's a fair result in my book but I'm guessing the lilywhites will feel it's more like a point lost than gained.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 21/05/2023 16:49:24    2480015

Great result for Sligo and sets things up very nicely for the Roscommon game. The play-offs are a realistic target now, which would be massive progress.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 21/05/2023 17:12:51    2480049

Couldn't make the match today as I'm currently 10,000km away from home. Listened to the match on ocean and what a brilliant result. From the radio commentary we could have won, hopefully the lads get a bit of belief from this result.

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 21/05/2023 17:50:52    2480076

Replying To letsgosligo:  "Couldn't make the match today as I'm currently 10,000km away from home. Listened to the match on ocean and what a brilliant result. From the radio commentary we could have won, hopefully the lads get a bit of belief from this result."
It was a game that should have been won. Kildare haven't one decent forward. A lot of positives to take, but we really could have won it. Kildare punished our sloppy ball handling. We're going in the right direction though

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 21/05/2023 18:48:41    2480120

Disappointed not to have won yesterday. Kildare are a big ego filled team like all the lily-white teams before them. They have a soft underbelly that we have exploited before. After the beating we got from Galway this was a great response. We will probably need to get something from our meeting with Roscommon to progress further.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1654 - 22/05/2023 08:53:55    2480295

Great performance yesterday and the better team for the vast majority. Happy enough with the draw in the end. Disappointing crowd when you think of the crowd that travelled to Cavan 8 days previous. It wasn't the most advertised game in the world and should've been bigged up a little more than it was. There was more at the New York game in the pouring rain.

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 22/05/2023 16:01:13    2480592

Sligo would have won this game if the umpires had done their job properly. Yesterday demonstrated that there is great spirit and skill in this team; great response after losing provincial final.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 22/05/2023 17:57:14    2480653