Sligo GAA thread

Great result for Sligo. I imagine the vast majority of Connacht fans wish you deepedt congratulations. In fairness after that disastrous start to turn it round was brilliant. Well done to all concerned.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 01/04/2023 20:49:12    2468193

I would much rather win a poor game than lose a cracker. That's 7 straight wins which puts us in good steed for London next weekend Congrats to the team and Mgt. Definitely the difference this year was the return of several player and the arrival of Pat Spillane. We were in the doldrums for a few years and I believe it was the Tailteann cup game against Leitrim last year that a spark was lit. Leaving Div 4 can be a springboard for success. Look at Louth, Cavan, Derry. . Onwards and upwards.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 01/04/2023 21:35:21    2468204

Replying To eoinog:  "I would much rather win a poor game than lose a cracker. That's 7 straight wins which puts us in good steed for London next weekend Congrats to the team and Mgt. Definitely the difference this year was the return of several player and the arrival of Pat Spillane. We were in the doldrums for a few years and I believe it was the Tailteann cup game against Leitrim last year that a spark was lit. Leaving Div 4 can be a springboard for success. Look at Louth, Cavan, Derry. . Onwards and upwards."
Great win. With the underage success ye are having ye are really looking good. Above any other county in Ireland apart from Roscommon I like to see Sligo doing well. Could be the strong family connection. Well done

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 01/04/2023 21:41:08    2468205

Congratulations on your win yesterday to all Sligo supporters. With your good underage structure the Connacht Championship is looking stronger and stronger.
Should be an interesting few years ahead in Connacht.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 505 - 02/04/2023 10:03:32    2468215

Solid win yesterday considering it was sandwiched between two must-win games. Five notable positives from the League: Towey, Lally, Spillane's improvement, Lyons in goals and a very strong bench. I'm giving up talking about Evan Lyons and Carrabine - they are just top class. Nathan Mullen was immense again. Unheralded Kilcoyne has had a good season too and prior to injury, Cummins was our best player. Reilly looks back to full fitness and he is a serious addition if so. McFaddens influence is notable - when we play the diagonal balls into the forwards, we are at our best. For balance, there are some negatives in that we lose our shape and game-plan by times. We need to find one or two more Evan Lyons' to keep better teams at bay. Onwards we go!

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 02/04/2023 11:02:17    2468224

Well done to Sligo from your neighbours in Leitrim. Deserved to go up as champions. Sligo football is in a good place, with the underage success and success at school level.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 02/04/2023 11:38:31    2468229

Great to win yesterday. Considering the horrible conditions and intensity of last weeks game v Leitrim it was always going to be hard to play at our usual standard this year. The first half wasn't great we weren't like ourselves at all. Second half was an excellent display. One or two lapses in concentration but other than that a very good second half performance. Our team looks very strong this year.
Luke Towey was very good his pace and athleticism is exceptional.
Nathan Mullen and Evan Lyons also excellent.
Sean Carrabine is a great talent.
Niall Murphy can still turn it on when he wants to.
Alan Reilly came off the bench and made a good impact.
I'd presume he will start against London and bring Pat Spillane out to midfield. Cian Lally to wing forward.
We this year have a lot more options than before. Our bench is helping us to win games that are still in the melting pot towards the last ten/fifteen minutes.
Overall a good year so far.
The next goal should be to get to a Connacht final and see what happens from there.
Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 02/04/2023 12:22:08    2468234

Replying To foreveryoung:  "NY will probably beat Leitrim so this first meeting in 12 years is unlikely to happen anyway."
Based on what now?? Assume you have an in depth knowledge of the New York team based on that prediction? Why do you think New York will win like? Who have they playing or where do you think they are stronger than leitrim?

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 02/04/2023 12:40:50    2468235

To all from Enniscrone to Castlegal genuine congratulations from your neighbouring county on your victory in Croke Park yesterday.

A wonderful moment it was on the pitch and it was a poignant moment when you captain mentioned Red Og Murphy.

May he Rest In Peace

You may be wondering how i know Castlegal.

It was where my late mother was from.

May she Rest She In Peace.

Hope its a Leitrim/Sligo semifinal

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 02/04/2023 14:08:54    2468252

Well done to Sligo on Saturday. For me yee started nervously . Wicklow had an opportunity to really kill the game in the 1st half but decided to sit back when yee got the black card. Hence they were punished by your well worked 1st goal.
In the second half we didn't learn and yee attacked at pace and in numbers. Yee really should have had the game wrapped up well before full time. Comhgairdeas.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 03/04/2023 09:30:50    2468457

For the U.20 game tomorrow evening I would be traveling more in hope than in expectation. Good team surely but as I mentioned before, perhaps the game is coming a week or 2 early for us. Trying to get the balance right in a short time is difficult. Some lads will have played the Leo Murphy cup and a few challenge games and will they be dropped for other lads (through no fault of their own) who have just rejoined the panel. These 2 team met in the Connacht Minor Final in monsoon conditions in Bekan during Covid. Roscommon won so they will be favourites to win tomorrow as well. Best of luck.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 04/04/2023 12:14:18    2468750

Replying To eoinog:  "For the U.20 game tomorrow evening I would be traveling more in hope than in expectation. Good team surely but as I mentioned before, perhaps the game is coming a week or 2 early for us. Trying to get the balance right in a short time is difficult. Some lads will have played the Leo Murphy cup and a few challenge games and will they be dropped for other lads (through no fault of their own) who have just rejoined the panel. These 2 team met in the Connacht Minor Final in monsoon conditions in Bekan during Covid. Roscommon won so they will be favourites to win tomorrow as well. Best of luck."
Best of luck to the u20s.
I'm sure the game will be tight with Roscommon as favourites as eoinog outlined above about how the Sligo panel haven't had a clear run up to championship and because Roscommon won the Connacht minor championship three years ago.
It is a good team so hopefully the lads can do it.
Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 04/04/2023 12:38:55    2468759

Massive win for the u20s Ros 1-8 Sligo 15. It was impressive after being 10-1 up to 12 to 1-8 up and closing it out with the last 3 scores. Congrats to all involved. All the best against Mayo.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1639 - 05/04/2023 20:14:29    2469160

Great win yesterday evening. Bit of momentum that has started at underage over the last few years is continuing. Despite coughing up 1.1 in injury tine of the first half we never allowed the Rossies to draw level. Their tactic of leaving us waiting for surely 7 or 8 mins at beginning of second half before they emerged didn't work either . Great to be heading to Castlebar next week. How on earth the U.20 semi final was played before the quarter final is beyond me.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 06/04/2023 08:53:38    2469185

Congrats to Sligo yesterday.
I had heard reports for the past few years that there were good people involved in Sligo making good decisions re development etc..
But this is now manifesting itself in results
1. U20 Connacht 2022
2. U20 v Ros last night
3. Connacht colleges A and B
4. Div 4 Champs

Wouldn't it be great if Sligo could bridge the gap and join the big 3 in Connacht.
I honestly think the future of the provincial championships is heavily dependent on at least one other province , besides Ulster, becoming competitive.
Connacht is the next in line but the triangular nature of it detracts from it being a really heavy contest i.e. only 2 big games per year.
If Sligo and/or Leitrim could bridge the gap it would be fantastic.

At the start of the League my hope was that all 3 Connacht teams would retain Div 1 status and that Sligo and Leitrim would get promoted.

Connacht teams finishing 1,2,3 in Div 1.
Sligo top in Div 4
Leitrim narrowly missed out in promotion

Also I have to say that Sligo and Leitrim both play very progressive front foot football. Leitrim top scorers across 4 divisions, Sligo not too far behind.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 06/04/2023 15:15:47    2469294

Great win for the u20s.
Very good display. Played a nice style of Football between running the ball and kickingpassing it.
Showed character when the crowd and momentum was against them. Roscommon were always going to have a period where they held the lads in but they coped with the pressure well enough. Obviously there's room for improvement but a good start all round. Looking forward to Castlebar and going in there with confidence.
Attention now turns to the seniors on Saturday
Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 06/04/2023 17:00:18    2469317

Replying To eoinog:  "Great win yesterday evening. Bit of momentum that has started at underage over the last few years is continuing. Despite coughing up 1.1 in injury tine of the first half we never allowed the Rossies to draw level. Their tactic of leaving us waiting for surely 7 or 8 mins at beginning of second half before they emerged didn't work either . Great to be heading to Castlebar next week. How on earth the U.20 semi final was played before the quarter final is beyond me."
Only John Prenty and co that runs the Connacht GAA can answer that. Never heard of situation like that before. in the league match Sligo already lost to Mayo this year by a bit to spare and the Sligo team last night had only 4 changes or be some important players missing Mark McDaniel,James Donlon,Dylan McLoughlin,Conor Johnston. Mayo could have Sam Callinan and Bob Tuohy in their team and are sure to be better preparation done and not lost at sea tactically as Roscommon was last night.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 06/04/2023 17:22:40    2469323

I hope the lads are up for the challenge Leitrim after 2 games in the league were already out of the running for promotion so they would be concentrating on this game for weeks. Sligo have played a lot of football over the last while with little or no time for rest. Hopefully they have a bit in the tank which should see them over the line. Is Devanney injured again? I see that he isn't traveling. Best of luck

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 08/04/2023 11:33:40    2469523

Good solid performance from Sligo against London. If Leitrim do get over new york match where the semi final be on?

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 08/04/2023 17:31:37    2469596

Replying To SuperSligo:  "Good solid performance from Sligo against London. If Leitrim do get over new york match where the semi final be on?"
Assuming Leitrim win we are back to Carrick, if N.Y win I have no idea where the venue is. Impressive win but a very poor London team. One more victory will leave us in a Connacht final. No sign of Cummins yet so he probably won't be available for the next game. Spillane seems to be really enjoying himself. What an acquisition he is turning out to be.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 08/04/2023 18:50:32    2469619