Sligo GAA thread

Will many Sligo people travel to London for the championship opener? Ticket prices are a bit steep and I understand that the excuse will be it's a Connaught SFC game and all prices are the same across the board but surely it doesn't make sense to change the same amount into Mayo v Galway as London v Sligo

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 28/03/2023 16:51:47    2467406

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Perhaps it's that on the day Sligo were better than Leitrim??? Did that ever occur to you?

While ya were trawling the archives you'd have found that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo in league since 2008 the year we were both relegated. Sligo were in a higher division from then on until they went to Division 4 in 2019 when Leitrim were in Division 3 and in 2020,2021,2022 were beaten by Sligo.

As for FBDs I haven't a notion how many any team has one because it's a meaningless competition. Yer good neighbours in Longford found that out with O'Byrne cup win.

My point is I find it laughable how year after year Leitrim supporters come on these forums full of gusto about how they've a great record against Sligo or find some folly excuse to explain why they lost. Sligo statistically are better than Leitrim…not that it matters a whole pile anyway bar local bragging rights as neither are near close to any of the other 3 counties in Connacht."
As for championship games since 2011 we played a qualifier in 2016 which Sligo won by 11 wiki tells me….must have been all those injuries Leitrim had.
So this is the (potential) first Provincial meeting in 12 years.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 28/03/2023 16:56:33    2467409

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "Hands up and sadly I confirm that you are factually correct that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo since 2011 in the Championship.

Remarkable that Leitrim haven't beaten Sligo since in the championship.

The only two reasons I can think of are

1. Maybe it was of injuries Leitrim had.

2. Maybe it's because Leitrim haven't
played Sligo in the championship since.

3 I'm wondering if there was another reason

If you can remember another reason please enlighten me. Thanks in advance

We have defeated Sligo in the league since
Leitrim have won TWO fbd leagues since it started.
Not sure how many times Sligo won the Fbd league.

The only thing I know it of all the five counties in the province Sligo are a commendable fifth best as the most successful county.

2."
The name says it all. And I thought that the Mayo crowd were deluded. And they are, but at least they're in Sam.

But hurrah for the mighty Leitrim. They've won 2 FBD leagues since they started (when did they start? 1927??). And Leitrim would probably have done 10 FBD leagues in-a-row (take that now Cluxo) but for the injuries. Oh the injuries! The perennial injuries to the county of Leitrim.

Practice the excuses and the complaining a tad more, and I might even mistake you as being from Donegal or Tyrone.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 28/03/2023 17:51:17    2467440

Replying To MrUnderhill:  "Maybe it's something to do with your ability to count 1-3 or general grasp of the English language?"
Why have you attempted to personally assassinate me?

Why have you commented negatively on my grasp of the English language and my mathematical ability.

Surely this is not the appropriate forum to place a comment about my ignorance to the English language.

That's just my opinion, you may not concur with me on this and naturally that's your choice.
I may be mistaken but I thought this was a forum in which GAA opinions and matters are discussed.
I humbly apologise if I'm mistaken on this forum been solely where GAA opinions and matters are discussed.

Did you not note that on my initial comment in relation to last Sundays game that I congratulated Sligo on their promotion.

I hope Sligo win this weekend.

To anyone from the Garden County reading this I'm not been prejudice towards your county.
The reason I'll be supporting our neighbours is because it would be wonderful for a weaker county to bring a trophy to the North West.

Finally no disrespect to Sligo is intended whom I have called a weaker county.
I would categorised my own county the same.

I do hope I have explained using the term weaker sufficiency.

Best of luck in Croke Park.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 28/03/2023 18:45:02    2467454

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "As for championship games since 2011 we played a qualifier in 2016 which Sligo won by 11 wiki tells me….must have been all those injuries Leitrim had.
So this is the (potential) first Provincial meeting in 12 years."
NY will probably beat Leitrim so this first meeting in 12 years is unlikely to happen anyway.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 28/03/2023 19:23:24    2467462

Just watched the game back. Not sure how it was even close. We have Murphy, Lally and Eddie added in who didn't play against them last year so we should be beating Leitrim. Andy and the Leitrim public seem to think its only because of conditioning that Sligo are winning. If anything Sligo looked flat towards the middle of the 2 half and started to play too defensively is what I saw. The goals were mistakes from players who switched off and ball watched and let them in the back door. We have better and more talented players is the simple crux of it. We moved the ball better and show better skillset. Our goal was a classy move with a great pass from carrabine to Lally who gave it to spillane who made a great run. Leitrim booing the ref at the end should go back and watch the clearest penalty not given on McNamara at the end, I have watched it about 20 times to try and understand why it wasn't given. Pretty scandolous but fair play to Finian Cawley intercepting and scoring that point straight after. Carrabine should be given the freedom of Sligo for his performance in the last 10 mins.

If you compare Sligo and Leitrims underage results in the last 10 years Leitrim are doing very well to be pushing us this close. Connacht finals in 2015, 17, 20 and winning in 21 backed up with u20 in 2022..then the schools success, if underage really mattered that much we would be miles ahead. Hopefully someday we will push on in games, game management is a an issue because we seem to think sitting back our job is done but it was too passive and we gave the ball carriers too much time. Maybe carrick is that big of a factor but Sligo need to kick on now. We always had the best squad in div4.

Tentonne is 100% right if you look objectively at the league. No one is asking for the u20s to all start but not 1 of them would have had any gametime had cummins or cox not get injured. That is not developing the u20s. That is holding them back. The other thing is Keaney and Smith aren't even making the squad and yes I know injuries happen too. Are you telling me some of subs are the future and are better than these lads coming through? That is laughable. I watched about 9 club championship games last year and some of the subs are not intercounty. The other point is this is Division 4, we played poorly in some games and still won. That wont happen in Division 3 or 2. The ceiling for the u20s is higher and should be at least making the squads. Eoghan Smith scored 0-9 in a county semi final, Joe Keaney was outstanding all year for Molaise and for the IT early this year. McEntee is way too loyal and conservative and as part of his evaluation has to be how he brings through the u20s, a penny for their thoughts? Imagine they are not patient seeing who gets picked ahead of them and we lose them?

However I thought yesterday was a good day for the management, they had Mullen on Beirne and he did outstanding, I thought McNamara's positional awareness to help him was also outstanding. Also I was impressed how we moved the ball and defended for the most part. Kickouts were good except for a bit of wobble but outfield players were too slow here. Lyons is a fine keeper. The attitude was fantastic and quite honestly the last 2 scores were incredible how composed we were. These lads can handle the pressure just need to game manage better. Its a team to be very proud of and no one can question their character. Its a great feeling to be out of div4 and knowing what players are coming through the next few years.

Overall promotion is all that matters but I would still prefer a better management in place. They made a lot of mistakes throughout the league and not including u20s outside of Lavin in the squad the last day is a mistake. If people want to compare McEntees tenure I compare to a Louth or Fermanagh and they are both div2 now. Louth's set up defensively was very good and something we should look to emulate. I am obviously hoping we get to a Connacht final now and show well but I think if you are thinking long term ambition McEntee has to show signs of developing the u20s or at least give them a chance or I wouldn't be giving him another year. Next year instead of 4 u20s stepping up, you will have 7 or 8. A new manager might get gaughan and kelly back in too which is far more important if you are serious about pushing on in Connacht.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1639 - 28/03/2023 20:28:32    2467467

Replying To 11jm11:  "Will many Sligo people travel to London for the championship opener? Ticket prices are a bit steep and I understand that the excuse will be it's a Connaught SFC game and all prices are the same across the board but surely it doesn't make sense to change the same amount into Mayo v Galway as London v Sligo"
Does Connaught set price? just that London didn't charge anyone to watch both there football and hurling teams in the league maybe why tickets our high.
London always get a good crowd for there championship games.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 28/03/2023 20:32:21    2467470

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "As for championship games since 2011 we played a qualifier in 2016 which Sligo won by 11 wiki tells me….must have been all those injuries Leitrim had.
So this is the (potential) first Provincial meeting in 12 years."
We have to get over NY first which is not a given

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 28/03/2023 21:22:23    2467473

@sligonian
Where did you watch the game back in full?
------------------------
Looking forward to the next 2/3 weeks. A league final, start of senior, u20 and minor championships also.

Sligeach Abú!

Will we play a full or weakened team against Wicklow on Saturday?

How are the u20s looking this year? Any players to look out for?

How are the minors set? Any players to look out for?

The success of Summerhill and St. Attracta's probably hampered the u20 and Minor team's preparations but hopefully they will be alright.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 29/03/2023 12:37:09    2467550

Hello to my dear friends from the County of the highly renowned poet WB Yeats.

Could I ask you to take a moment of mature reflection on your thinking of who will qualify for the Connacht semifinal from the quarter finals involving ourselves,Sligo,New York and London.

Will it be

1 The two away teams
2. The two home teams.
3. If one of the home team wins. Which
one would you think is the most likely
to forward to the semi final.

I would appreciate if on the conclusion
of your mature reflection you would give an honest answer on above.
Been presumptive I thank you for reading this post.

Anyway that enough balderdash from me.

Could you answer the questions please.

Thanks

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 29/03/2023 13:59:53    2467574

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "Hello to my dear friends from the County of the highly renowned poet WB Yeats.

Could I ask you to take a moment of mature reflection on your thinking of who will qualify for the Connacht semifinal from the quarter finals involving ourselves,Sligo,New York and London.

Will it be

1 The two away teams
2. The two home teams.

Thanks"
My mature reflection is that over the years there have been loads of daft nonsensical posts on this forum and I might have contributed some of those, but none of them were as daft as the rubbish that you have posted over the last few days.
So you can go away and reflect on that because I don't believe you warrant an answer.
Have a good day

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 29/03/2023 14:32:57    2467587

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Does Connaught set price? just that London didn't charge anyone to watch both there football and hurling teams in the league maybe why tickets our high.
London always get a good crowd for there championship games."
I believe Connaught do. I'll be there myself , looking forward to it

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 29/03/2023 18:49:52    2467681

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "Hello to my dear friends from the County of the highly renowned poet WB Yeats.

Will it be

1 The two away teams
2. The two home teams.

Thanks"
The four teams together would get hammered by ros,mayo or Galway, so ur question isn't very interesting to many...

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 29/03/2023 19:21:31    2467685

I am on the Sligo forum and the tears are running down my face. Is there any chance that " Leitrimfor Sam" is "TomSmith" in disguise?

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 29/03/2023 20:17:25    2467693

Replying To eoinog:  "My mature reflection is that over the years there have been loads of daft nonsensical posts on this forum and I might have contributed some of those, but none of them were as daft as the rubbish that you have posted over the last few days.
So you can go away and reflect on that because I don't believe you warrant an answer.
Have a good day"
I hope Sligo have success in Croke Park at the weekend.
Thank you for your reply. I appreciate you for reaching out to me and giving me guidance on what I should do going forward.
Isnt it an amazing coincidence that your advice for me is the same that I recieve regularly from a number of neighbours and work colleagues.
Again thank you.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 29/03/2023 21:57:11    2467702

The very best of luck to Sligo. Hope ye do the business and safe travelling to all the Sligo fans and fans of all teams involved at the weekend.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 31/03/2023 19:57:51    2468050

Great to be in a final and hopefully we can win it. I see that the lads that came off injured last Sundays are in the 26 man panel but Finnan Cawley is missing. We are favourites and rightly so, up to us to justify that tag now. The crowd won't be too big. Sligo GAA have done nothing to promote the game. It's like they are embarrassed to be going.
A lot of people heading to London next weekend so they won't go to both games. Best of luck

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 01/04/2023 11:56:38    2468101

Replying To ponga:  "The very best of luck to Sligo. Hope ye do the business and safe travelling to all the Sligo fans and fans of all teams involved at the weekend."
Thanks for your kind message. I also wish you luck.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 01/04/2023 13:27:19    2468120

Well done Sligo, good 2nd half performance. Winning a trophy in Croke Park should put the players in a positive mood heading to Ruislip.

Good tribute to the hugely talented Red Óg Murphy RIP.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 01/04/2023 20:01:52    2468187

Well done Sligo, enjoyable game, great point from Pat Spillane, goals made the difference.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 01/04/2023 20:48:29    2468192