Sligo GAA thread

Wasn't at the game on Sunday, nor did I listen to it on the radio. I followed updates on Twitter. Anyone go to Aughrim? It was always a difficult place to get a result so this win steadies the ship. We have Waterford at home next, a team who beat us at home not so long ago.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 07/02/2023 17:10:37    2457119

Replying To eoinog:  "Wasn't at the game on Sunday, nor did I listen to it on the radio. I followed updates on Twitter. Anyone go to Aughrim? It was always a difficult place to get a result so this win steadies the ship. We have Waterford at home next, a team who beat us at home not so long ago."
If Waterford beat ye, ye r hopeless

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 07/02/2023 22:01:25    2457164

Replying To Zucker:  "If Waterford beat ye, ye r hopeless"
I'm just stating the facts. A win would set us up nicely going to London. We can take stock of the table at that stage if we win both games.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 08/02/2023 11:00:34    2457203

As bad as we were against Laois (and we were bad in patches) we could have still got a result. Had we got the next score after we closed the gap to two points, it could have swung the other way. Taking a positive out of that game against the favourite to win Div 4. Then we win in Aughrim which we always struggled to do before (can't recall ever winning there, but not sure) so things aren't all that bad, are they? It would be nice to see some of last years U20 more involved but games have to be won too. Davitt's absence is interesting, surely he's an option for scores? Win against WD and LN and it's shaping up for an interesting finale! Laois were no show-stoppers so I wouldn't be surprised if they drop points along the way so we need to win all games.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 08/02/2023 19:59:02    2457359

If yer n d4 for more than a year ,or get promoted and come straight back down ,then ur hopeless ,decent club teams ,wud beat the teams n d4

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 09/02/2023 07:07:35    2457368

Nice Zucker, ye beat Waterford and London and suddenly talking smack

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 09/02/2023 18:06:29    2457529

A good win away to Wicklow, but I cant help but think Wicklow aren't what they used to be. They drew with Carlow with a man extra says enough.

The most important thing for Sligo is to start winning more breaks in midfield from long kick outs, because it stops the blanket defence being set up. Short kickouts allow them to filter back and crowd the middle especially if you pick players who lack pace and ball skills.

It will be interesting to see how we push on as the next few are winnable. I still feel there's another 30% in us if the right team was selected but I think tougher opposition will only expose this, div4 might not. Waterford and Wexford at home, London, Carlow and Leitrim away. We cannot take any team for granted. The Leitrim game might actually mean something this year for a change.

All the best to St Attracta's and Summerhill in their Connacht finals. Looking forward to watching them streams on Connacht gaa.ie

All the best to the u20s who start their season against Mayo in the IT on Sunday.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1639 - 10/02/2023 19:08:19    2457738

Great double win for Summerhill and Attractas today. Not a mention of any of the games on Facebook. Whoever is in charge of that social media outlet really needs to get the finger out or pass it to someone else who might be interested. Tourlestrane and Easkey who reached the Connacht and All Ireland final respectfully hardly got a mention either. Not good enough.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 11/02/2023 20:37:06    2457866

2 Massive wins from St Attracta's and Summerhill.

Both teams are coached very well so fair play to McGee, Brehony and Bree.

The way Attracta's reeled in CBS and finished those points late on was fantastic to see. Some great scores with the FB coming up late to win. There whole spine of the team is very strong and the play some lovely football. Totally deserving winners.

Summerhills was an incredible win against a team backed with Galway All Ireland winners, they tried to blow the hill out in the first quarter but the lads just about hung in there. CG are a serious team but when the hill didn't crumble they didn't know what to do with themselves. We played them off the park 2nd half as we won primary possession in middle third.

The basic skills, the left handed handpasses, the link play and how many times the Sligo lads played themselves out of trouble was astounding at times. High football IQ making the right decisions consistently. A joy to watch both games. Lots of future stars on both teams. The second coming of O Hara is well on his way.

The most important aspect of both teams was their mental resilience and toughness, there was no fear in their belief or the expression on the field and eventually it paid dividends. These lads are clutch. Some have u20, u17 and A schools Connacht final winning medals.

Looking forward to the All Ireland semi finals and u20s matches.

Well done all, a great day for Sligo GAA.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1639 - 11/02/2023 21:26:39    2457877

Replying To Sligonian:  "2 Massive wins from St Attracta's and Summerhill.

Both teams are coached very well so fair play to McGee, Brehony and Bree.

The way Attracta's reeled in CBS and finished those points late on was fantastic to see. Some great scores with the FB coming up late to win. There whole spine of the team is very strong and the play some lovely football. Totally deserving winners.

Summerhills was an incredible win against a team backed with Galway All Ireland winners, they tried to blow the hill out in the first quarter but the lads just about hung in there. CG are a serious team but when the hill didn't crumble they didn't know what to do with themselves. We played them off the park 2nd half as we won primary possession in middle third.

The basic skills, the left handed handpasses, the link play and how many times the Sligo lads played themselves out of trouble was astounding at times. High football IQ making the right decisions consistently. A joy to watch both games. Lots of future stars on both teams. The second coming of O Hara is well on his way.

The most important aspect of both teams was their mental resilience and toughness, there was no fear in their belief or the expression on the field and eventually it paid dividends. These lads are clutch. Some have u20, u17 and A schools Connacht final winning medals.

Looking forward to the All Ireland semi finals and u20s matches.

Well done all, a great day for Sligo GAA."
How many of the St Attracta's and Summerhill teams do you expect to be starting for Sligo U20s in the championship this year?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 13/02/2023 19:43:07    2458163

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "How many of the St Attracta's and Summerhill teams do you expect to be starting for Sligo U20s in the championship this year?"
There is 5/6 on Summerhill and 3/4 on St Attracta's I would imagine would go straight into the starting team, those players would be elite in my mind and substantial upgrades. If we are competitive in the Leo Murphy cup I'd take that and we were with Mayo most of the game yesterday, 16-10 loss, 1pt in at half and 3 pts for most of the game.

Both schools are playing again on Feb 25th. Summerhill play last years defeated All Ireland finalists St Brendans of Killarney. Omagh and Naas (last years champs) play the other semi.

Roscommon in the Hyde on Wednesday April 5th is the big one for the u20s. Connacht looks very competitive at u20 this year with not a lot between any of the full strength teams. Our team this year would be better on paper than last years in my opinion.

There is a comment on the Roscommon forum from Dave 1988 "How do we really compare to Galway mayo this year both with full teams" We have beaten Roscommon a fair amount at underage the last few years to not get overlooked you would think.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1639 - 13/02/2023 21:58:28    2458188

Replying To Sligonian:  "There is 5/6 on Summerhill and 3/4 on St Attracta's I would imagine would go straight into the starting team, those players would be elite in my mind and substantial upgrades. If we are competitive in the Leo Murphy cup I'd take that and we were with Mayo most of the game yesterday, 16-10 loss, 1pt in at half and 3 pts for most of the game.

Both schools are playing again on Feb 25th. Summerhill play last years defeated All Ireland finalists St Brendans of Killarney. Omagh and Naas (last years champs) play the other semi.

Roscommon in the Hyde on Wednesday April 5th is the big one for the u20s. Connacht looks very competitive at u20 this year with not a lot between any of the full strength teams. Our team this year would be better on paper than last years in my opinion.

There is a comment on the Roscommon forum from Dave 1988 "How do we really compare to Galway mayo this year both with full teams" We have beaten Roscommon a fair amount at underage the last few years to not get overlooked you would think."
So Sligo are basically playing their B team in the league at the moment?

On your last point. I've seen that with a lot of supporters from various counties. They just support the flagship senior team and when a young lad makes his debut its the first time they see them in action.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 14/02/2023 13:50:26    2458258

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "How many of the St Attracta's and Summerhill teams do you expect to be starting for Sligo U20s in the championship this year?"
Not as simple as it seems. Firstly there are players playing with Attractas that are actually from another county. Then there are also a few from both teams that are minor. You can also throw in that for some players Gaelic isn't their first choice. The Sligo team that recently won the Manning Cup have lost 2 of their starting forwards to soccer already. I would love if both schools won the All Ireland but it also means that the longer they stay in the schools competition the more difficult it will be to have a settled U.20 team with a bit of momentum. None of those lads played last weekend, they may not play this weekend due to the semi final the following weekend so it may be difficult to integrate them with the game against Roscommon just around the corner. Two of those lads played with the U.20 team last year. How many more will be fit to step up at short notice is anyone 's guess . I'm sure Paul Henry is watching their progress intently

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 14/02/2023 21:11:43    2458348

Replying To eoinog:  "Not as simple as it seems. Firstly there are players playing with Attractas that are actually from another county. Then there are also a few from both teams that are minor. You can also throw in that for some players Gaelic isn't their first choice. The Sligo team that recently won the Manning Cup have lost 2 of their starting forwards to soccer already. I would love if both schools won the All Ireland but it also means that the longer they stay in the schools competition the more difficult it will be to have a settled U.20 team with a bit of momentum. None of those lads played last weekend, they may not play this weekend due to the semi final the following weekend so it may be difficult to integrate them with the game against Roscommon just around the corner. Two of those lads played with the U.20 team last year. How many more will be fit to step up at short notice is anyone 's guess . I'm sure Paul Henry is watching their progress intently"
The players have played a lot of football together in previous years so I'd say the integration would be quick. I doubt the schools have complete exclusivity on them? Henry is probably a bit concerned at the prep time. It will be approx 5.5 weeks to the Roscommon game if the schools lose the semi finals and 2.5 weeks if they get to the finals. I still feel its enough time to get the team to gel. Other counties like Tyrone and Kerry seem to manage it fine and Roscommon, Galway and Mayo have in the past.

Its a pity for the minors losing such talent in the forwards. I wonder could anything be done?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1639 - 15/02/2023 20:31:02    2458447

For anyone feeling complacent about tomorrow, we beat Waterford by 1pt last year and they finished the game with 12 men. They actually scored the last point with 13v15. Another indictment of this management getting so little out of us on gameday. We cannot afford the same performance as Laois although team selection and positional error did hamper us.

Well Done to the U20s beating Donegal in Ballybofey 1-12 to 0-11, even more impressive without the schools lads, hopefully a few lads stepping up. Great to see a Sligo management maximise what we have.

Summerhill and St Attracta's All Ireland Semi finals fixed for Tuam on Saturday at 12.30 and 2.15pm...All the best

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1639 - 18/02/2023 19:05:55    2458908

Promotion is completely in our own hands after today's results. A good solid performance in the Park with a lot of positives especially the supply of balls into the forward line. McFadden might be having an impact here? Main negatives were letting them back into it when we should have been out of sight and Cummins' injury. Hopefully he'll be okay.

ShellyGael (Sligo) - Posts: 105 - 19/02/2023 16:28:26    2459049

Went to the match earlier. The breeze was very strong in the first half. The pitch was very soft too, not great conditions for flowing football.

Good win but Waterford were very poor. Stand out performers for me were Towey and Carrabine. Niall Murphy was very quiet and Spillane was middling. Pity about Cummins injury, hopefully it's not too serious.

We put up a big score but to be honest we also butchered 5 or 6 brilliant goal chances. We also gave away a few soft scores at the back. If we were more clinical we could have beaten them by 15+ points.

We might regret that as score difference could well come into play later on in the league.

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 19/02/2023 19:14:16    2459165

Very poor game today. Waterford were dreadful and we weren't great either. Should have won by a lot more. Lavin came on making his debut for the seniors, he is the first of last year's U 20 team to get a run. . I wonder where Joe Keaney is. ? Nice win for the U.20 team yesterday. Not a mention of it on any Sligo social media pages except borrowing the photos that Donegal took. Western People had 3 pages of a match report on last week's game again Mayo. Sligo Champion had nothing except yet another borrowed photo from Mayo. Weekender a little bit better but not much.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 19/02/2023 20:08:18    2459192

In answer to your question Eoinog, Joe Keaney was probably in the stands watching. He is fully fit but didn't make the 26.
McEntee said after the game the u20s have brought a winning mentality into the senior setup but yet he refuses to play them or select them ahead of his favourite's who are average at best. Lavin got gametime because of injury and that's not how I want players to get selected.

All I would say to Joe, is be patient hopefully this management won't be around for much longer. Then we can get Gaughan and Kelly back in then too.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1639 - 22/02/2023 21:35:43    2459822

Best of luck to both of Sligo's schools team today. Very favourable venue so there should be lots of support especially with both schools playing at the same venue. As has become the norm Sligo Facebook page have nothing about the game, but they have a post up looking for people to join Club Sligo.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 25/02/2023 08:37:34    2460077